Leinster Football Championship

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Yep Clane is one of the great kildare clubs. I always feel theres one club thats like spiritual club for a county. The top club in that county might not have most club titles, but is essential to county teams sucess , Where so many great players come from. While Moorfield and Sarsfield have been real superpowers in kildare club football recently , for me an outsider looking in Clane is kildares greatest and most important club for the county. I cud be wrong but I always think theres club in every county that has been so important in terms of delivering to the inter county team . In Kildare traditionaly that wud be Clane. But I could open to correction on that. U kildare lads no more about the club scene in kildare. I think there was 8 Clane players on kildares first All Ireland in 1905. Another great Clane team in the 60s. Of course in 90s with Martin lynch there was 6 Clane lads in 98 with kildare and I remember in 97 when we played u guys there was 9 Clane players on kildare panel.

In Meath while Navan clubs have been most sucessful Skyrne in my view greatest club in Meath football. Produced probaly greatest Meath team ever club in 1940s winning 6 club titles in 8 years . And of course players like Paddy O Brien Colm O Rourke Trevor Giles Liam Hayes and John McDermont all played for Skyrne. No Meath team has won an All Ireland with out Skyrne player on team and every Meath team which won a title had a Skyrne on it. Daragh Campion is the only Skyrne player on current Meath panel. But Skyrne is situated in the Tara Skyrne valley. So Tara was always going to be spiritual home of Meath football.

It always fascinates what Club is the greatest in each county in terms of not titles but of producing great players and having impact on county team. In Dublins St Vincents seems to be Dublin most important club. In Offaly its Rhodes , In Cork its Nemo Rangers, In Armagh of course its Crossmaglen , In Kerry would it be Austin Stacks. In Galway ot course Corofin is the great modern Galway club but Tuam Star would be Galways most important club with Ja Fallen Sean Purcell and Frank Stockwell and great Tuam teams of 1940s and 1950s.

I am open to correction on all the above. But what is louths most important club or Tyrones or Donegals or Mayos or Tippearey or Westmeath or Wexford. It has always interested me and I wud be interested in what people inside those counties think."
Dead right about Skyrne what a conveyor belt of talent has come through that club down through the years.

Drums4Inter (Meath) - Posts: 9 - 18/04/2019 22:13:56    2179510

Replying To royaldunne:  "You apologized for me ? One thing never EVER do that again, 2 I think you will see that I was not the one who stated that we would beat dubs or other stuff , that was two other Meath posters. Read the thread. Finally you then go on to reiterate the exact same points I was making? Looks like the verbal diarrhea is catching:)"
Point taken RD. I know you are very passionate and loyal Meath fan I just think you should bite your tongue a little more often. Up the Royal. See you in Navan for the Ofally Match.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 19/04/2019 02:55:56    2179530

Replying To logger:  "Louth will do very well to get out of Wexford Park with a win. Wexford not up to much alright but there more than capable of putting in a performance to beat Louth."
Ah Logger I know that very much. It will be a tough task for the Wee County.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 19/04/2019 11:18:20    2179551

Replying To royaldunne:  "Furlong is a fantastic poster. Honestly , I've said this before on Meath forum, himself and Ollie should get together and write all this down, give me furlong any day over the bs analysis on Sunday game league Sunday. Always fascinating and insightful."
Royaldunne as usual thank you for the nice comments.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 19/04/2019 11:23:22    2179552

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "Point taken RD. I know you are very passionate and loyal Meath fan I just think you should bite your tongue a little more often. Up the Royal. See you in Navan for the Ofally Match."
Ahh I was too sensitive in that post in hindsight. My apologies. I actually really like ur posts. Up the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/04/2019 20:22:23    2179610

Hard to look past anything other than Dublin winning Leinster at a canter again. Kildare are unfortunately on the Dublin side of the draw. Given the season Meath have had thus far they will be fancied on paper to reach the Leinster final, however Meath will need to play with the same gusto as they have in the league this year, and even then Offaly, Carlow, and Laois/Westmeath will be difficult to negotiate. Meath have shown improvement this year in every area but are not suddenly a shoo-in, and question marks still remain about them. Westmeath/Laois will fancy their chances, Offaly have nothing to lose, and Carlow are dangerous on the right day.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 20/04/2019 13:52:19    2179663

Replying To Young_gael:  "Hard to look past anything other than Dublin winning Leinster at a canter again. Kildare are unfortunately on the Dublin side of the draw. Given the season Meath have had thus far they will be fancied on paper to reach the Leinster final, however Meath will need to play with the same gusto as they have in the league this year, and even then Offaly, Carlow, and Laois/Westmeath will be difficult to negotiate. Meath have shown improvement this year in every area but are not suddenly a shoo-in, and question marks still remain about them. Westmeath/Laois will fancy their chances, Offaly have nothing to lose, and Carlow are dangerous on the right day."
While I certainly feel either Laois Or wmeath would fancy a cut of us, I really don't think either Offaly or Carlow would beat us. I'm really trying not to sound disrespectful but if Offaly can keep it to a single digit loss v Meath in navan it will have been a good game for them, maughan hasn't brought what I thought he would, and it will take another year or two of a settled panel to bring Offaly onto challenging the rest in Leinster (by rest I mean outside dubs) Carlow surprised me getting relegated and seem to stalled which can happen after a great year. And again I wouldn't want to lose much sleep over them. However either Laois or the westies will offer a stiffer test, that been said we should beat either.
The ONE thing that worries me is complacency, for too long Meath have gone into some matches already looking at who's up next , and under performed , that for me this is Andy's biggest challenge in reaching a Leinster final. Forget about Dublin, look no further than Offaly and do the job professionally, I mean destroy them. And keep that momentum going.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/04/2019 15:07:16    2179666

Hard to believe that this time in 8 weeks dublin will no longer be leinster champions.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 28/04/2019 18:16:30    2180694

We had a good run to be fair to us.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 28/04/2019 18:42:05    2180697

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Hard to believe that this time in 8 weeks dublin will no longer be leinster champions."
Ah sure look , every great team gets beaten eventually,it was great while it lasted ,
This Dublin team owe us nothing , please tell us who the new Leinster Champions will be ?

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 30/04/2019 21:31:42    2181154

There's serious arguments going on in the Meath at the minute, it is worrying to be fair, we can't seem to agree upon a route for parading the Delaney Cup.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 01/05/2019 09:06:08    2181194

I see Paul Flynn is the first to jump the sinking ship.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 01/05/2019 09:34:33    2181198

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "I see Paul Flynn is the first to jump the sinking ship."
Rory O'Carroll back to plug all the holes but you're on the wind up and Dublin will win the Leinster championship at a canter again.

gaelicgab (USA) - Posts: 878 - 01/05/2019 10:12:01    2181203

Replying To Htaem:  "There's serious arguments going on in the Meath at the minute, it is worrying to be fair, we can't seem to agree upon a route for parading the Delaney Cup."
Which one is that again, we have a few here! ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 01/05/2019 10:58:38    2181219

Oh I think the Meath boys are in for some shock in a few weeks time when they remember that league form counts for nothing come championship. It will be glorious watching !

11jm11 (Kildare) - Posts: 365 - 01/05/2019 12:26:45    2181248

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "I see Paul Flynn is the first to jump the sinking ship."
When one door closes.......! ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 01/05/2019 20:33:18    2181336

Replying To superbluedub:  "Ah sure look , every great team gets beaten eventually,it was great while it lasted ,
This Dublin team owe us nothing , please tell us who the new Leinster Champions will be ?"
2019 Leinster Champions.......Louth. No harm in dreaming.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 01/05/2019 21:26:44    2181341

Replying To OLLIE:  "2019 Leinster Champions.......Louth. No harm in dreaming."
Be careful there olly according to a few kildare supporters your not allowed dream. After meath I would love to see ye win it, allot of great gaels up there in county louth.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 01/05/2019 21:38:58    2181344

Replying To Htaem:  "There's serious arguments going on in the Meath at the minute, it is worrying to be fair, we can't seem to agree upon a route for parading the Delaney Cup."
Ballinabrackey to bettystown is my view. Only problem is it will have to travel through Kildare, ahh well at least they can take photos of it.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/05/2019 22:05:22    2181348

Replying To TheUsername:  "It's still early though a chara and Kildare have showed progression every year under Cian O Neill in one form another.

I didn't see much of them during the league, just kept an eye on results, where there many lads from the All Ireland U 20 win brought through? Some team they destroyed us and we did a job on Meath in the game before. Is Hyland seeing action? Did I hear Daniel Flynn was knocking about Johnstown Bridge again?"
Kildare were one of the worst Kildare teams I have seen in my life this year. They were absolutely dire in ballyshannon. I think that they can improve for sure, but how can their players get mentally prepared for the championship when their results and performances were so poor?

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 01/05/2019 22:11:13    2181350