Leinster Football Championship

Some effort from Offaly, played a nice brand of attacking football in contrast to Meath who at times had 13 behind the ball. Offaly had two glorious goal chances that they didn't take and some of their points were very good scores. The atmosphere in Navan seemed very nervous and the team seemed the same. Carlow up next for Meath which won't be easy either, Meath need to up the effort hugely if they think they will challenge the Dubs. As for Offaly they should get a bit of a run in qualifiers they look fit and put together well by Maughan

ke40 (Kildare) - Posts: 209 - 12/05/2019 18:30:40    2183333

Replying To ke40:  "Some effort from Offaly, played a nice brand of attacking football in contrast to Meath who at times had 13 behind the ball. Offaly had two glorious goal chances that they didn't take and some of their points were very good scores. The atmosphere in Navan seemed very nervous and the team seemed the same. Carlow up next for Meath which won't be easy either, Meath need to up the effort hugely if they think they will challenge the Dubs. As for Offaly they should get a bit of a run in qualifiers they look fit and put together well by Maughan"
Only thing that saved us today was Offaly running out of gas in last ten minutes, we need to up our effort hugely just to get past Carlow,as for challenging the Dubs, not a hope in foreseeable future.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2136 - 12/05/2019 18:38:25    2183336

Congrats to Louth we will see you in a couple weeks.

Port Loaise again, at this rate it's going to challenge Croke Park as our home ground. ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 12/05/2019 18:49:01    2183340

Replying To lilylanger:  "Ah yeh the oul "I hear all is not well in the camp" BS. Its amazing the amount of people who claim to know what goes on inside the camp."
Ah here the works and his mother knows been going on in Kildare camp so take your head out of the sand will you. If ye squeeze past Longford the Leinster semi could get really ugly against the Dubs. Seriously Dublin could easily hit 6/7 goals in that game such are the problems in Kildare.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 12/05/2019 18:50:43    2183341

Replying To 11jm11:  "Oh I think the Meath boys are in for some shock in a few weeks time when they remember that league form counts for nothing come championship. It will be glorious watching !"
I'm not here to have a go at meath but im telling you lads now, meath have already peaked. Being flying fit in April is no good come the heat of summer.

11jm11 (Kildare) - Posts: 365 - 12/05/2019 18:54:26    2183344

Replying To seadog54:  "Only thing that saved us today was Offaly running out of gas in last ten minutes, we need to up our effort hugely just to get past Carlow,as for challenging the Dubs, not a hope in foreseeable future."
Meath only won because of their fitness?

Surely that can't be right.

Maybe they're just waiting to peak in a Leinster final or the Super 8's?

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 12/05/2019 20:05:12    2183372

Replying To ke40:  "Some effort from Offaly, played a nice brand of attacking football in contrast to Meath who at times had 13 behind the ball. Offaly had two glorious goal chances that they didn't take and some of their points were very good scores. The atmosphere in Navan seemed very nervous and the team seemed the same. Carlow up next for Meath which won't be easy either, Meath need to up the effort hugely if they think they will challenge the Dubs. As for Offaly they should get a bit of a run in qualifiers they look fit and put together well by Maughan"
It was a great display by Offaly, but u fortunately they came up short. A little more experience in the last 15 minutes, might have got us over the line. Meath looked anything but comfortable today, but they won.
John Maughan could be on to something.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 12/05/2019 20:08:48    2183373

Replying To 11jm11:  "I'm not here to have a go at meath but im telling you lads now, meath have already peaked. Being flying fit in April is no good come the heat of summer."
We won though, HUP DA ROYAL ;-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 12/05/2019 20:13:17    2183375

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "Meath only won because of their fitness?

Surely that can't be right.

Maybe they're just waiting to peak in a Leinster final or the Super 8's?"
That's my reading in it. Said before this match on Meath forum that if Meath were 50% for this game. Would be tops. There was no need to be 100%, Heavy training in past 2 weeks and a challenge last week against Kerry. Hardly setting up to be peak at this time. Trust me I'm extremely happy with where we are at the moment, and where we will be come super 8s. Job done today against a team playing their all ire against a team with bigger fish to fry , firing on half cylinders.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/05/2019 20:15:53    2183376

Replying To thelongridge:  "It was a great display by Offaly, but u fortunately they came up short. A little more experience in the last 15 minutes, might have got us over the line. Meath looked anything but comfortable today, but they won.
John Maughan could be on to something."
Any chance of Cian Johnson playing senior this year at all or will be playing under 20's again only? He's eligible for under 20 again next year I think, pity if Maughan can't get him onto the senior time in the next year or so. Exceptional talent there that deserves a chance to get senior experience.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 12/05/2019 20:16:12    2183378

Fair play to offaly, put it up to meath. Further proof that leinster football outside dublin is pretty competitive. I am glad to see that it is levelling out, I hope this trend continues as I would prefer for the provincial championship to continue as oppose to a second tier championship.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1909 - 12/05/2019 20:22:46    2183380

Replying To royaldunne:  "That's my reading in it. Said before this match on Meath forum that if Meath were 50% for this game. Would be tops. There was no need to be 100%, Heavy training in past 2 weeks and a challenge last week against Kerry. Hardly setting up to be peak at this time. Trust me I'm extremely happy with where we are at the moment, and where we will be come super 8s. Job done today against a team playing their all ire against a team with bigger fish to fry , firing on half cylinders.
Hon the royal"
Look you will have all of Ireland laughing at US. Yes we can play better . But we didn't today in our home in navan . We were awful and we need to keep our mouths shut and hope we get better

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 12/05/2019 20:43:50    2183392

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "Any chance of Cian Johnson playing senior this year at all or will be playing under 20's again only? He's eligible for under 20 again next year I think, pity if Maughan can't get him onto the senior time in the next year or so. Exceptional talent there that deserves a chance to get senior experience."
Cian Johnson is playing with his club in the u20 championship at the moment, there is a rule in Offaly that u20 players only play county football in that grade. It gives rise to a lot of comment in Offaly.
He is a bright prospect, I hope when he is eligible he will line out for Offaly. There are a couple of other players who opted off the panel for their own reasons. Had some of them played today, we might have won.

Maybe we have turned a corner today.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 12/05/2019 20:50:14    2183394

Replying To royaldunne:  "That's my reading in it. Said before this match on Meath forum that if Meath were 50% for this game. Would be tops. There was no need to be 100%, Heavy training in past 2 weeks and a challenge last week against Kerry. Hardly setting up to be peak at this time. Trust me I'm extremely happy with where we are at the moment, and where we will be come super 8s. Job done today against a team playing their all ire against a team with bigger fish to fry , firing on half cylinders.
Hon the royal"
Meath looked very ordinary today. Game there for taking by Offaly.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 12/05/2019 20:52:51    2183397

Replying To meath1977:  "Look you will have all of Ireland laughing at US. Yes we can play better . But we didn't today in our home in navan . We were awful and we need to keep our mouths shut and hope we get better"
Couldn't agree more. And I think this is how the vast majority of Meath supporters.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 12/05/2019 21:25:23    2183407

Replying To thelongridge:  "Meath looked very ordinary today. Game there for taking by Offaly."
They are very ordinary.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 12/05/2019 21:29:44    2183409

Replying To thelongridge:  "Meath looked very ordinary today. Game there for taking by Offaly."
Indeed, I never felt we would lose, with what we were bringing off the bench I thought they would settle the game. And they did. Offaly did extremely well , and our back 6 was the worst I have seen in a long time. Newman wasn't too bad but below what he can do. Midfield was completely cleaned out in fairness. And less said about 4 kick out disasters in a row if you don't mind, the better

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/05/2019 21:39:54    2183416

Replying To lilylanger:  "They are very ordinary."
We know we are. How did Kildare get on last night against Wicklow

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 12/05/2019 21:51:26    2183422

Replying To meath1977:  "We know we are. How did Kildare get on last night against Wicklow"
Led the whole way through, should have been out of sight by half time with the chances we created and never really looked like we were giving close to 100% at all during the second half.

But I'm sure you already knew that...

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 12/05/2019 22:25:15    2183430

Hon the royal"
That's some patronising guff

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 12/05/2019 22:32:57    2183435