Connacht Championship 2019

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Really looking forward to this years connacht final between Galway and mayo in salthill."
Have ye given up already? In fairness I've never seen ye beat us in castlebar in championship but records are there to be broken....

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 21/04/2019 08:49:06    2179710

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Really looking forward to this years connacht final between Galway and mayo in salthill."
Strange. Ye have a serious chance. While Mayo look really good there is an outside chance the season for them could reverse 2016 and 2017 whereby then they played themselves into the campaign after a mixed league. This time they are on a high but no guarantee that will carry into Summer. Any of Galway Mayo or Ros could beat each other on a given day.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 21/04/2019 10:25:54    2179713

Replying To yew_tree:  "Have ye given up already? In fairness I've never seen ye beat us in castlebar in championship but records are there to be broken...."
Whats the record? A poor run of results but we had gone longer without a win Salthill. You are probably too young to remember but up to 1992 Castlebar was happy hunting ground for Roscommon

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3741 - 21/04/2019 16:38:11    2179750

Replying To kiloughter:  "Strange. Ye have a serious chance. While Mayo look really good there is an outside chance the season for them could reverse 2016 and 2017 whereby then they played themselves into the campaign after a mixed league. This time they are on a high but no guarantee that will carry into Summer. Any of Galway Mayo or Ros could beat each other on a given day."
Agree, Mayo probably have peaked already, some effort put in since last October..Roscommon will cause them big problems

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 21/04/2019 16:52:14    2179754

Replying To Belclare:  "Agree, Mayo probably have peaked already, some effort put in since last October..Roscommon will cause them big problems"
Horan has Mayo in an ideal position as it stands. He came in with the brief to oversee a transition and at the same time remain competitive if possible. His hope would be to integrate three or four players in year one, stay in the top league and reach the super eights. Of course there was some sabre rattling early on when he spoke of coming back to win an All Ireland but that was when preaching to the party faithful and he didn't stipulate when. To have won our first national title in almost twenty years while assessing a raft of new players means year one is already a success. He will hope, and expect, to reach the super eights but if he doesn't he will still take a lot of positives out of the year. Galway on the other hand are under far more pressure. Three years on from taking over from Mayo in Connacht they still haven't managed to reach an All Ireland final and anything less than a final this year will be viewed as another failure. They have had less than an ideal start to the year with injuries, club competitions etc, and Walsh, heading into the Championship, has to be unsure of what his best fifteen will be. They would expect to be a year or two ahead of Mayo at this stage and a Connacht tile should be a formality, whereas Horan has almost a free shot. Be interesting to see how Galway respond to the pressure.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 21/04/2019 21:49:51    2179779

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Horan has Mayo in an ideal position as it stands. He came in with the brief to oversee a transition and at the same time remain competitive if possible. His hope would be to integrate three or four players in year one, stay in the top league and reach the super eights. Of course there was some sabre rattling early on when he spoke of coming back to win an All Ireland but that was when preaching to the party faithful and he didn't stipulate when. To have won our first national title in almost twenty years while assessing a raft of new players means year one is already a success. He will hope, and expect, to reach the super eights but if he doesn't he will still take a lot of positives out of the year. Galway on the other hand are under far more pressure. Three years on from taking over from Mayo in Connacht they still haven't managed to reach an All Ireland final and anything less than a final this year will be viewed as another failure. They have had less than an ideal start to the year with injuries, club competitions etc, and Walsh, heading into the Championship, has to be unsure of what his best fifteen will be. They would expect to be a year or two ahead of Mayo at this stage and a Connacht tile should be a formality, whereas Horan has almost a free shot. Be interesting to see how Galway respond to the pressure."
I think Galway will be judged more on performance and whether we play to our strengths. We could reach a semi final this year and get the Dubs again. If we were very competitive and lost, it certainly wouldn't be seen as a failure. It would be real progress on last year. A team can reach an All-Ireland final without playing very well, depending on the draw. If we managed that and were handily beaten without ever having a real cut, I don't think too many would be happy.
It's a fresh start for Horan as you said. The main issue however is that most of the nucleus of the outstanding team over the past 7 years are in their 30s. It'll be gradual transition though, which we've already seen a bit of. Most of those lads have plenty left in the tank.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2033 - 22/04/2019 10:41:14    2179802

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Horan has Mayo in an ideal position as it stands. He came in with the brief to oversee a transition and at the same time remain competitive if possible. His hope would be to integrate three or four players in year one, stay in the top league and reach the super eights. Of course there was some sabre rattling early on when he spoke of coming back to win an All Ireland but that was when preaching to the party faithful and he didn't stipulate when. To have won our first national title in almost twenty years while assessing a raft of new players means year one is already a success. He will hope, and expect, to reach the super eights but if he doesn't he will still take a lot of positives out of the year. Galway on the other hand are under far more pressure. Three years on from taking over from Mayo in Connacht they still haven't managed to reach an All Ireland final and anything less than a final this year will be viewed as another failure. They have had less than an ideal start to the year with injuries, club competitions etc, and Walsh, heading into the Championship, has to be unsure of what his best fifteen will be. They would expect to be a year or two ahead of Mayo at this stage and a Connacht tile should be a formality, whereas Horan has almost a free shot. Be interesting to see how Galway respond to the pressure."
I would be happy with a Connacht win and hopefully progress to a semi and play to our potential. No pressure on Galway but a bit on KW if he is looking for an extension. Dublin ahead of the chasing pack still tbh.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 22/04/2019 13:11:08    2179815

Pressure is on Andy, Colm, Donie, Ger, Seamie, Keith, David, as another year without Sam and I'd say this is their swansong.

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 22/04/2019 14:09:07    2179818

Year one in Horan's 2nd term will not be seen as a success if Mayo don't reach the last 8 this summer. Expectations is now on both Galway and Mayo to reach the last four this August and its where I'd expect both to reach and make their exits from the championship and those exits won't due to pressure but because teams better than both will beat them IMO.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3337 - 22/04/2019 14:34:38    2179819

Replying To The_analyser:  "Whats the record? A poor run of results but we had gone longer without a win Salthill. You are probably too young to remember but up to 1992 Castlebar was happy hunting ground for Roscommon"
Derek Duggan kicking a point from what seemed like the Balla Road, another game when a Roscommon player wanted to bring the crossbar home. I think Duggan and Kevin Walsh played on the same Garda College team that won a Trench Cup. I remember the class Roscommon team of the 70s, they ruined many's a childhood Sunday for me. Seemingly Roscommon have no chance of winning Connacht, just like 2017. Hopefully Horan won't have our players too complacent and thinking a game at a time.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 22/04/2019 15:56:23    2179823

Replying To Belclare:  "Pressure is on Andy, Colm, Donie, Ger, Seamie, Keith, David, as another year without Sam and I'd say this is their swansong."
Reading between the lines I think that swan song came and went two years ago. Now you get Andy saying something like it's not about winning an All Ireland any more it's more important to prove an inspiration for the next generation of Mayo youngsters. Chris Barrett said much the same thing a couple of weeks back. Mind you they certainly have inspired the next generation even if they didn't achieve their original goal!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 22/04/2019 22:54:04    2179854

Replying To maroondiesel:  "I don't use bookies. Going by the posts on prediction threads and the pundits and a gut feeling bases on law of averages and logic, Mayo."
The law of averages also states that Dublin shouldn't win 5 in a row. No team ever has!!
I wont bet against them doing so.
I cant believe the hype being generated from winning the League.
Yer taking yer eyes off the ball lads!! Again!!!!

StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 341 - 25/04/2019 08:37:02    2180169

Replying To StopTheLights:  "The law of averages also states that Dublin shouldn't win 5 in a row. No team ever has!!
I wont bet against them doing so.
I cant believe the hype being generated from winning the League.
Yer taking yer eyes off the ball lads!! Again!!!!"
Maroon is one of your own my friend. Oddly the only ones building Mayo up are Galway lads. Now why would that be! Hmmmm.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 25/04/2019 11:44:34    2180191

Replying To Belclare:  "Agree, Mayo probably have peaked already, some effort put in since last October..Roscommon will cause them big problems"
We will need to improve drastically is so many areas we are to compete with Mayo or Galway. Defensively we started well in the league but it went from bad to worse after the Tyrone game. We don't have a top goalkeeper in the panel which is a massive worry and our midfield is non existent in most games.. hopefully Cunningham can turn it around.. for Roscommon it's all about getting past Leitrim first and then see where we are.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1043 - 25/04/2019 11:44:49    2180192

Whoever wins Connacht will end up with Dublin and possibly Donegal and Monaghan in super 8.
They will have 1 home match and 2 away.

Better to lose Connacht final and end up with Kerry, Tyrone and Meath/Another

Another Nestor Cup is not much use to Mayo and Galway. Setting yourself up for a favorable All Ireland run is the priority

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1103 - 26/04/2019 04:18:23    2180321

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "Whoever wins Connacht will end up with Dublin and possibly Donegal and Monaghan in super 8.

Another Nestor Cup is not much use to Mayo and Galway. Setting yourself up for a favorable All Ireland run is the priority"
Don't agree. Monaghan & Donegal should be beatable if you have realistic AI ambitions. And a bite at Dublin in CP is no harm. If you get out of the group you won't see the dubs until final if you get there and then you will have learnt a bit on the way. It means the group will be tough to get out of but they all are.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 26/04/2019 10:42:56    2180343

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "Whoever wins Connacht will end up with Dublin and possibly Donegal and Monaghan in super 8.

Another Nestor Cup is not much use to Mayo and Galway. Setting yourself up for a favorable All Ireland run is the priority"
I think the group with dublin would be the nicer group

tribesman125 (Galway) - Posts: 173 - 26/04/2019 16:50:59    2180445

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Maroon is one of your own my friend. Oddly the only ones building Mayo up are Galway lads. Now why would that be! Hmmmm."
yes of course I am from Galway but I am so fair and balanced that it matters not. I think given Mayo's recent results against Galway and having Horan back and the injury crisis etc, it could be Mayo this year

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 26/04/2019 20:40:07    2180480

Will the New York or London games be shown live anywhere?

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 27/04/2019 16:57:31    2180554

Replying To brisbane:  "Will the New York or London games be shown live anywhere?"
Not on tv...local radio for coverage of both. I think Newstalk are doing a championship preview show from NYC...

Heading over Thursday myself with a gang of 10 friends....can't wait.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 28/04/2019 08:27:37    2180619