Connacht Championship 2019

Replying To the_walls:  "One example of that, just one please? A few Galway lads on this thread making a show of themselves."
Go into the main forum on prediction's or mayo over celebrating forum. Baby Steps.

Fewpucks24 (Galway) - Posts: 124 - 17/04/2019 11:03:37    2179258

The pundits over the past 4 years or so have said that Mayo have no interest in the Nestor Cup and that they are only preparing for August. This year I think Mayo are trying to Ambush Connacht. Anyway, I hope they get exactly what they deserve.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 17/04/2019 12:49:32    2179277

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "The pundits over the past 4 years or so have said that Mayo have no interest in the Nestor Cup and that they are only preparing for August. This year I think Mayo are trying to Ambush Connacht. Anyway, I hope they get exactly what they deserve."
Yes which was a strange one as Cork are the last team to win through the back door in 2010 I believe.

Fewpucks24 (Galway) - Posts: 124 - 17/04/2019 14:04:19    2179285

My honest opinion and leaving out winding up mayo lads for a second (its great to see the auld rivalry and banter back with an edge though isnt it?!), I can see a reversal of current trends in that I think Mayo are fitter earlier in the year with a better idea of their starting 13 anyway and have had the use of their full team for much of 2019 so Mayo for Connacht but Galway to go further in the championship.

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 706 - 17/04/2019 14:42:47    2179291

Replying To Fewpucks24:  "I was referring to Galway beating Mayo in 2016,2017 and 2018 home and away. All in the Connacht Championship.
Yes , plenty of football to be played before then. Like the tricky Roscommon game."
How many of those games were in Pearse? Just 2017 I believe. I will accept the tacit admission of your mistake, no worries.

Roscommon can of course be tricky, and they also are long overdue (by 18 years) a victory over us in championship football. Ye should know given that they've given ye a few trimmings in recent years.

A few returnees for the Roscommunists, as recently announced, could make it a tough assignment. However, Mayo's record against them at home is good. Let's see.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 17/04/2019 15:12:36    2179297

Replying To Gleebo:  "How many of those games were in Pearse? Just 2017 I believe. I will accept the tacit admission of your mistake, no worries.

Roscommon can of course be tricky, and they also are long overdue (by 18 years) a victory over us in championship football. Ye should know given that they've given ye a few trimmings in recent years.

A few returnees for the Roscommunists, as recently announced, could make it a tough assignment. However, Mayo's record against them at home is good. Let's see."
"Tacit " , Explain that mistake :)
Yes it's a long time. Mayo haven't won the big one in nearly 3 times that figure so there's no time like the present Gleebo.
They bet us by 9 in 2017, we also gave them a trimming in the replay final of '16 so perhaps it was payback.
This could be the 4th year in a row we see a Galway Rossie's final. Sure it will be an interesting campaign.

Fewpucks24 (Galway) - Posts: 124 - 17/04/2019 17:04:13    2179326

Galway would rather play Mayo in the Connacht Final. Ros are harder to bate.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 17/04/2019 19:29:47    2179347

Replying To maroondiesel:  "Galway would rather play Mayo in the Connacht Final. Ros are harder to bate."
I don't remember any "easy" wins for Galway over Mayo in the championship....Mayo demolished Galway a few times under Horan but bar that we have always found it hard to beat Galway...both counties have always had the ability to knock each other over when it appeared the other had the upper hand.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11229 - 17/04/2019 20:08:11    2179355

Replying To maroondiesel:  "Galway would rather play Mayo in the Connacht Final. Ros are harder to bate."
There is truth in what you say. Ros seem to be able to raise their game against Galway and Mayo struggle to get past Galway of late. Losing to Galway is a habit we'd want to get out of fairly lively.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 17/04/2019 20:36:06    2179362

Replying To yew_tree:  "I don't remember any "easy" wins for Galway over Mayo in the championship....Mayo demolished Galway a few times under Horan but bar that we have always found it hard to beat Galway...both counties have always had the ability to knock each other over when it appeared the other had the upper hand."
there was one demolition alright, an aberration in 2014, typically margins are under 4 points.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 17/04/2019 21:37:28    2179375

Replying To Fewpucks24:  ""Tacit " , Explain that mistake :)
Yes it's a long time. Mayo haven't won the big one in nearly 3 times that figure so there's no time like the present Gleebo.
They bet us by 9 in 2017, we also gave them a trimming in the replay final of '16 so perhaps it was payback.
This could be the 4th year in a row we see a Galway Rossie's final. Sure it will be an interesting campaign."
Sure there's no craic in having to explain everything you ;) You may also wish to check your calculations on the years...

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 17/04/2019 23:09:47    2179389

Replying To Gleebo:  "Sure there's no craic in having to explain everything you ;) You may also wish to check your calculations on the years..."
Tell me about it. All jokes aside, Mayo for Sam !

Fewpucks24 (Galway) - Posts: 124 - 18/04/2019 09:02:18    2179401

Replying To Fewpucks24:  "Tell me about it. All jokes aside, Mayo for Sam !"
Rumours that Mc & CMort are back............ bronzed with blonde plaits............. must be the potential of a trip to Salthill that convinced them. Word is they will be wearing red swimming shorts.....

Mayo for Sam:-)

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1828 - 18/04/2019 10:33:30    2179413

Calm down Galway lads and hop over to the predictions thread...most neutrals are tipping Galway for Connacht...deep breaths

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11229 - 19/04/2019 08:23:11    2179535

Replying To yew_tree:  "Calm down Galway lads and hop over to the predictions thread...most neutrals are tipping Galway for Connacht...deep breaths"
Skip Connacht and straight for Sam this year for Mayo!

cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 184 - 19/04/2019 10:13:51    2179545

Replying To cavan.galway:  "Skip Connacht and straight for Sam this year for Mayo!"
Yeah we can take the motorway from Tuam...;)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11229 - 19/04/2019 10:41:47    2179548

Replying To yew_tree:  "Calm down Galway lads and hop over to the predictions thread...most neutrals are tipping Galway for Connacht...deep breaths"
We can't have that. We need an axe to grind and a boatload of naysayers to respond to if we win.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 19/04/2019 15:59:01    2179582

Replying To WanPintWin:  "We can't have that. We need an axe to grind and a boatload of naysayers to respond to if we win."
We know all about naysayers in Mayo...

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11229 - 19/04/2019 17:03:02    2179590

Really looking forward to this years connacht final between Galway and mayo in salthill.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 20/04/2019 12:46:00    2179658

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Really looking forward to this years connacht final between Galway and mayo in salthill."
Miaow.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 20/04/2019 13:15:05    2179659