2019 Predictions

Replying To Belclare:  "If Mayo win Sam I'll meet you buy you a pint and shake your hand half way between Belclare and Castlebar!
On the other hand if Galway win you have to come to Tuam for the homecoming wearing your Mayo Jersey.."
Deal but your coming to Castlebar if Sam is won. Also I wore my mayo jersey as a young buck at the 2001 final...

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 02/04/2019 22:57:48    2177396

Replying To Belclare:  "If Mayo win Sam I'll meet you buy you a pint and shake your hand half way between Belclare and Castlebar!
On the other hand if Galway win you have to come to Tuam for the homecoming wearing your Mayo Jersey.."
What's the craic if Derry win Sam Belclare?

oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 02/04/2019 22:58:41    2177398

If monaghan ever win ye all can come to monaghan in whatever jersey ye like and we will go on the lash for as long as the liver allows us to :-)

farneygael (Monaghan) - Posts: 277 - 03/04/2019 00:27:02    2177419

Replying To sam1884:  "Connacht -Mayo
Leinster - Dublin
Ulster - Donegal
Munster - Kerry

Followed in the Super 8's by:
Tyrone
Monaghan
Galway
Kildare

To me these are the best 8 teams come Championship but the draw may pit these teams together at some stage which may open the door for teams rated 8 - 12th such as Roscommon, Cavan etc."
The super 8 draw is below
Group 1
Munster champ
Ulster Champ
Connacht ru/qualifier
Leinster ru/qualifier

Group 2
Connacht champ
Leinster champ
Munster ru/qualifier
Ulster RU/qualifier

So taking provincial draws, home advantage and league form you'll likely have

Group 1
Kerry
Monaghan
Qualifier team/Meath
Mayo

Group 2
Dublin
Galway
Tyrone
Qualifier team

Qualifier teams will likely come from Roscommon, Donegal, Kildare and Cavan.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 03/04/2019 05:04:13    2177425

Replying To realdub:  "I promise not to gloat if we do it only if you promise not to gloat if we don't :D"
Fair enough :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/04/2019 07:24:41    2177430

Replying To oakleafersir:  "What's the craic if Derry win Sam Belclare?"
Ah here, I'll be pushing up daisies at that stage...

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 03/04/2019 08:58:32    2177435

Just adding my opinion. Football championship
Leinster Dublin
Connacht Mayo
Munster. Kerry
Ulster. Donegal

Super 8s
Dublin
Mayo
Kerry
Donegal
Galway
Meath
Tyrone
Armagh

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1741 - 03/04/2019 12:01:50    2177464

Leinster Dublin
Connacht Galway
Ulster Tyrone
Munster Kerry

2 qualifiers mayo and Donegal
Other 2 will come from who beat Leinster and Munster finalists between Monaghan Roscommon Armagh cavan
*who ever gets the luck of draw in playing them 2 provincial finalists.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 03/04/2019 13:34:54    2177485

Too many on here are predicting Meath to the reach the last eight. Yes they will likely reach the Leinster final but after losing to Dublin which could be a damaging defeat who knows where Meath will stand after it? and in round 4 they could draw one of Monaghan,Tyrone or Donegal.

All we know for certain is that Kerry and Dublin will reach the last 8 as they won't be beaten in their provincial championships. Of what I seen of Kerry last Sunday I'll be surprised if they make the last 4.

My predictions.

Ulster Tyrone
Connacht Mayo
Leinster Dublin
Munster Kerry

Other super 8 teams Galway,Monaghan,Donegal,Cavan

Semi finals

Dublin v Galway
Tyrone v Mayo

AI final

Dublin v Tyrone with Dublin winning a 5th AI in row.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 03/04/2019 16:40:18    2177534

Leinster: Dubs
Munster: Kerry
Connacht: Mayo
Ulster: Tyrone

Super 8's:
Dubs
Kerry
Mayo
Tyrone
Meath
Donegal
Monaghan
Galway

Dubs v Kerry All Ireland Final:
Kerry to win it.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 03/04/2019 17:05:31    2177543

Replying To royaldunne:  "Kerry
Mayo
Donegal
And unfortunately Dublin

Joined in super 8s by
Tyrone
Galway
Monaghan
Meath.

Winners , I honestly don't care once it's not Dublin as having to listen to them doing 5 in a row would be akin to England 66. So I'll pop for mayo. As I genuinely think the dubs will crumble under the pressure"
I genuinely think your wrong , this Dublin team don't crumble under pressure , if they are beaten it will be by a team playing better .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 03/04/2019 18:05:34    2177558

Replying To superbluedub:  "I genuinely think your wrong , this Dublin team don't crumble under pressure , if they are beaten it will be by a team playing better ."
it will take a combination of a few teams and wear them down.
They will almost certainly get to a final so im guessing its all about their physical and mental well-being.

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 03/04/2019 18:18:05    2177560

Replying To superbluedub:  "I genuinely think your wrong , this Dublin team don't crumble under pressure , if they are beaten it will be by a team playing better ."
100%. The Dubs never panic anymore. It'll take a ferocious team to stop them but they can be beaten.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 03/04/2019 18:25:58    2177561

Don't think the gap is as big as people thought before the league started which is a good thing. Connaught and ulster very competitive and the super 8's should certainly be better than last year as a number of team's are at the same level.

dublin5 (Dublin) - Posts: 30 - 03/04/2019 18:44:52    2177567

Replying To dublin5:  "Don't think the gap is as big as people thought before the league started which is a good thing. Connaught and ulster very competitive and the super 8's should certainly be better than last year as a number of team's are at the same level."
The gap was supposedly closing last year too. It will be interesting to see how the trend is bucked this year if at all. Dublin tried out so many players through the league it would be pure ignorance to draw anything from their league performances as a yardstick for the summer.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 03/04/2019 23:07:59    2177602

Dublin won 3 of their 4 All Ireland's by 3 points or less. Saying they'll crumble under pressure is laughable. Last time that happened was v Donegal in 2014 and that's 5 years ago. What's going to possibly stop Dublin this year is that same thing that stopped Kilkenny in 2010 and Kerry in 1982, 5 in a row is just incredibly hard to do.

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 563 - 04/04/2019 05:52:58    2177615

I think Dublin can potentially crumble when the pressure is put on, they're only human. It's just going to take a very good team to capitilize. Cluxton's kickouts have been brutal at times when the screw is really turned on Dublin too, during games against Donegal and Mayo in particular.

oakleaflad (Derry) - Posts: 46 - 04/04/2019 09:49:22    2177630

Dubs are the benchmark.

Kerry are not physically mature enough.

Tyrone and Mayo are the only others with the physical capacity to touch them.

in_a_bind (USA) - Posts: 62 - 04/04/2019 10:13:09    2177637

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "The super 8 draw is below
Group 1
Munster champ
Ulster Champ
Connacht ru/qualifier
Leinster ru/qualifier

Group 2
Connacht champ
Leinster champ
Munster ru/qualifier
Ulster RU/qualifier

So taking provincial draws, home advantage and league form you'll likely have

Group 1
Kerry
Monaghan
Qualifier team/Meath
Mayo

Group 2
Dublin
Galway
Tyrone
Qualifier team

Qualifier teams will likely come from Roscommon, Donegal, Kildare and Cavan."
I like the thought gone in to this.

Though I think Tyrone will win Ulster and Mayo Connacht so I'd swap them 4 around...and Donegal is the best of the rest. I hope Meath make it to Super 8s. They should make Leinster Final and hopefully avoid a banana skin. Banana skins are probably Cavan, Roscommon, Armagh, maybe Kildare, maybe Tipp?

That's all assuming there's no surprises. Roscommon could find themselves in a Connacht final and Armagh could find themselves in an Ulster Final...

MalsBalls (Monaghan) - Posts: 180 - 04/04/2019 10:26:14    2177639

Cork footballers not to win all Ireland, as for the hurlers, it's for hard to predict hurling

PyatPree (Cork) - Posts: 376 - 04/04/2019 10:49:27    2177643