Meath V Fermanagh

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "That was a refreshing campaign, No way did I see that coming to win 6 out 7 games. I taught we might have out side chance of promotion. The key games for me where Armagh game after the loss to Donegal it was very important to win, and not loss 2 in a row. Also the Kildare game was always going to massive. We passed both of them tests. So fair play to all involved Players and management. And supporters played a small part according to Andy and Team."
Your right about the Armagh game, that was pivotal and having a 9 point lead whittled down to 1 but being able to respond to win by 6 showed the newfound composure and confidence in this squad

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 25/03/2019 10:48:01    2175185

Such an improvement on last year it is crazy. The Andy McEntee, Colm Nally duo is working a treat and they seem a perfect compliment for each other. The new lads have made an enormous impact this year. Ronan Ryan, Campion, Ethan Devine especially have added energy and confidence. But for me, the biggest thing is the improvement in existing players. McGill is absolutely brilliant. Seamus Lavin, Shane McEntee, Cillian and James McEntee have improved so much and are bringing consistency now where in previous years they only showed flashes

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 25/03/2019 12:09:19    2175223

The really encouraging thing about going up to Division 1 is that unlike Roscommon and Cavan we are getting there before most of the underage talent comes in. Cavan went up off the back of 4 Ulster 21's, Roscommon off 3 Connacht 21's in 2012,2014 and 2015. We are getting there with a lot of lads who wouldn't commit and with the Leinster 17 winning age groups (2000's,2001's) still to come. I'm really hoping that this along with the tradition and belief of Meath football will see us be more like Galway than like a Roscommon or Cavan and that we can stay up and keep building

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 25/03/2019 12:14:13    2175226

A lot of people homing in on the amount of wides Fermanagh kicked, fair enough they did kick a lot....but so did we in the second half v Kildare, but it was Meath that collected the 4 points on offer. See I treat/see the League as a campaign where there are swings and roundabouts and at the end you take stock so it has been an 90% + success. Apart from new players coming on board the main difference between this year and others has been the fact that there was a high level of continuity from one game to the next with injuries being the main reason for change, admittedly there were some other changes but they were kept to a minimum while at the same time getting match time for the panel.
Now a win over Donegal next Saturday would give a real pointer as to where we are with regards to Division 1 football as I am 90% sure that Donegal were relegated last year on score difference, a very fine line indeed.
Good Luck to all on Saturday evening.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1063 - 25/03/2019 13:34:16    2175264

A few things that have jumped out at me from watching any of the highlights on tv:
- we look strong but mobile;
- we are doing things at a good pace;
- we're not panicking when things go wrong.

Looking ahead to the summer, we should be able to gradually step things up as we go through Leinster. At this stage we should be confident enough to say that we should have too much for Offaly and Carlow. That brings us to Westmeath which will be a serious challenge. If we get over that, we're in a Leinster final against the auld enemy. No point making predictions about what could or should happen at that point. If we're in a Leinster final, there should be great positivity in the camp about the year to date which you would hope would set us up for a crack at making the Super 8's even if we can't dethrone Dublin.

gwanyagudthing (Meath) - Posts: 88 - 25/03/2019 13:47:52    2175278

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Such an improvement on last year it is crazy. The Andy McEntee, Colm Nally duo is working a treat and they seem a perfect compliment for each other. The new lads have made an enormous impact this year. Ronan Ryan, Campion, Ethan Devine especially have added energy and confidence. But for me, the biggest thing is the improvement in existing players. McGill is absolutely brilliant. Seamus Lavin, Shane McEntee, Cillian and James McEntee have improved so much and are bringing consistency now where in previous years they only showed flashes"
I'd agree with this mostly however I think James McEntee has been doing it for the last number of years. Himself and Keogan have been the two players who have been consistently superb regardless of how the team has been performing.

Royal_Gunner (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 25/03/2019 13:49:37    2175280

Congrats to Meath on their well deserved promotion to Division One. Its been a long time coming.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 25/03/2019 14:00:36    2175290

Players management deserve great credit as we fully deserved promotion. i was at the TIpp/Armagh/ Kildare/ and Fermanagh match and the improvement shown has been great. They have learned how to close out a game not to panic and have at least 20 players well able to hold their own. While some posts slagged the contributor who said full forward was slow i intend to agree with him and newman needs to distribute the ball quicker. Leinster final and hopefully super 8's would make a great season

belladon (Meath) - Posts: 9 - 25/03/2019 15:13:58    2175319

Replying To gwanyagudthing:  "A few things that have jumped out at me from watching any of the highlights on tv:
- we look strong but mobile;
- we are doing things at a good pace;
- we're not panicking when things go wrong.

Looking ahead to the summer, we should be able to gradually step things up as we go through Leinster. At this stage we should be confident enough to say that we should have too much for Offaly and Carlow. That brings us to Westmeath which will be a serious challenge. If we get over that, we're in a Leinster final against the auld enemy. No point making predictions about what could or should happen at that point. If we're in a Leinster final, there should be great positivity in the camp about the year to date which you would hope would set us up for a crack at making the Super 8's even if we can't dethrone Dublin."
Good post but would also advocate that the team need to stay grounded. This is just as important as consistency at this stage.

Jimin10 (Meath) - Posts: 783 - 25/03/2019 15:52:56    2175333

Replying To OLLIE:  "Congrats to Meath on their well deserved promotion to Division One. Its been a long time coming."
Bet of luck to Louth in their chase for promotion, big win last day in Newry, winner take all in the re-fixed match.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 25/03/2019 17:41:58    2175368

Replying To OLLIE:  "Congrats to Meath on their well deserved promotion to Division One. Its been a long time coming."
Fair play Ollie.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/03/2019 17:50:28    2175370

Replying To moylagh:  "Bet of luck to Louth in their chase for promotion, big win last day in Newry, winner take all in the re-fixed match."
Cheers Moylagh. Yes a massive massive win for the Wee County. It was their first league win in Ulster since 2013 and probably their best away win in the league since beating Tipp down in Semple in 2017 to clinch promotion.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 26/03/2019 12:19:57    2175516

Replying To royaldunne:  "Fair play Ollie."
No probs Royaldunne. Leinster needs Meath and Kildare to put it up to the Dubs like the good oule days.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 26/03/2019 12:22:15    2175518

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "The really encouraging thing about going up to Division 1 is that unlike Roscommon and Cavan we are getting there before most of the underage talent comes in. Cavan went up off the back of 4 Ulster 21's, Roscommon off 3 Connacht 21's in 2012,2014 and 2015. We are getting there with a lot of lads who wouldn't commit and with the Leinster 17 winning age groups (2000's,2001's) still to come. I'm really hoping that this along with the tradition and belief of Meath football will see us be more like Galway than like a Roscommon or Cavan and that we can stay up and keep building"
The real key to success is another 3 or 4 years of solid u17 teams. That's where the real battle lies. And realistically to get back above Dublin in 10 years or so you'll need to be producing better u17 teams then them for the guts of the next decade.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 26/03/2019 15:40:16    2175582

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "The real key to success is another 3 or 4 years of solid u17 teams. That's where the real battle lies. And realistically to get back above Dublin in 10 years or so you'll need to be producing better u17 teams then them for the guts of the next decade."
Yes, its really important to keep the recent progress at under age going, which no doubt has helped this year promotion. with the likes of Devine and Campion. The exposure Meath will hopefully get next year been in div 1 team. Should inspire young players coming though to keep playing, rather than drifting off to play other sports. So hopefully the rising tide lifts all boats.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 26/03/2019 16:02:49    2175590

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Yes, its really important to keep the recent progress at under age going, which no doubt has helped this year promotion. with the likes of Devine and Campion. The exposure Meath will hopefully get next year been in div 1 team. Should inspire young players coming though to keep playing, rather than drifting off to play other sports. So hopefully the rising tide lifts all boats."
Campion, Devine and Conlon all came out of the same Minor team which was managed by Barry Callaghan. They were the 'unlucky' ones losing in extra time to Kildare and not getting a back door run! Kildare went all the way to the All Ireland Final that year where they lost to Kerry! But that was a very good Meath team!
That team were coming through as Dunganny was being developed and subsequently a number of these lads were integrated into training pods (for strength and conditioning in particular) with some of the Senior panelists.
I think the facilities in Dunganny have really helped to encourage young lads to commit to the Meath set up! I know too that there has been a lot of work done to encourage interaction between the Senior squad, Under 20's and Minor squads in the past few years. Dunganny has enabled this interaction to be increased. Again, this is giving lads a sense of being part of something big! It is important to continue that back ground work and keep the momentum going. Young lads are inspired by interacting with the Senior players they look up. This is all work the Management of Senior, 20's and Minor have been involved in! It is the background work outside of picking panels, training players etc that goes unnoticed - but it is hugely important! Being part of any Meath Squad is a big deal again!

ASaminthehand (Meath) - Posts: 422 - 26/03/2019 16:35:23    2175601

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "The real key to success is another 3 or 4 years of solid u17 teams. That's where the real battle lies. And realistically to get back above Dublin in 10 years or so you'll need to be producing better u17 teams then them for the guts of the next decade."
Agreed. Beat Dublin at minor at 98 age, 00 did it twice and 01. The 99's threw away a 10 point lead. Hopefully our minor keeps producing. For me the key though is the 20's. We need to keep the success of the 2 17's Leinster going and hopefully push on for national

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 26/03/2019 22:33:36    2175709

Replying To ASaminthehand:  "Campion, Devine and Conlon all came out of the same Minor team which was managed by Barry Callaghan. They were the 'unlucky' ones losing in extra time to Kildare and not getting a back door run! Kildare went all the way to the All Ireland Final that year where they lost to Kerry! But that was a very good Meath team!
That team were coming through as Dunganny was being developed and subsequently a number of these lads were integrated into training pods (for strength and conditioning in particular) with some of the Senior panelists.
I think the facilities in Dunganny have really helped to encourage young lads to commit to the Meath set up! I know too that there has been a lot of work done to encourage interaction between the Senior squad, Under 20's and Minor squads in the past few years. Dunganny has enabled this interaction to be increased. Again, this is giving lads a sense of being part of something big! It is important to continue that back ground work and keep the momentum going. Young lads are inspired by interacting with the Senior players they look up. This is all work the Management of Senior, 20's and Minor have been involved in! It is the background work outside of picking panels, training players etc that goes unnoticed - but it is hugely important! Being part of any Meath Squad is a big deal again!"
Yeah, hopefully young lads will be attracted to play with county underage development squads, 5 years ago I was helped my local underage team, and I was asking guys to go for trails with the Meath u16s where interested some where not bothered. And not many new much a the Meath senior team at the time. Hopefully the tide is turning now though.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 27/03/2019 10:55:44    2175767

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Yeah, hopefully young lads will be attracted to play with county underage development squads, 5 years ago I was helped my local underage team, and I was asking guys to go for trails with the Meath u16s where interested some where not bothered. And not many new much a the Meath senior team at the time. Hopefully the tide is turning now though."
Yeah - I had a similar experience myself.

I also had an experience of a young lad at a Minor training session in Aras Tailteain (Pre Dunganny) and teh Senior team were doing some training too. He went to talk to one of the Senior players and was totally blanked!

From talking with lads in my club - that doesn't happen now! The Seniors, 20's and minors all sit together, in the same area, after training and mix with one another! The way it should be!!

ASaminthehand (Meath) - Posts: 422 - 27/03/2019 11:44:54    2175779

Seamus kenny has to b given appreciation for this set up to.dunganny is running a fair show at the minute long may it last.

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 27/03/2019 14:20:59    2175813