Meath V Fermanagh

Absolutely brilliant today. Honestly didn't see it coming with last year in the league and then Longford in Leinster but credit to all the players and management for putting in a serious amount of work to get us to this stage.

Apart from the first 10 minutes me managed the game really well. It must be very hard to pick the team at the minute with all the quality players we have on the panel at the minute.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 24/03/2019 18:51:27    2174861

Replying To Foley91:  "We really need to find a full forward with some pace. Midfield were cleaned out in the first half. Our game managment is very poor. We opened up in the first half and could have been 10 or 12 poi he down at one stage. Great to be back up but vast improvement required."
Your a negative man

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 24/03/2019 19:13:25    2174878

Great to finish with a win. Promotion is the main objective i know but getting a competitive game in Croke park next week is also a good thing I think for this team as it is a long time since we appeared there really and for this group it could be a valuable learning opportunity.

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 24/03/2019 19:19:28    2174882

Replying To ROYALOPTIMIST:  "Great to finish with a win. Promotion is the main objective i know but getting a competitive game in Croke park next week is also a good thing I think for this team as it is a long time since we appeared there really and for this group it could be a valuable learning opportunity."
That's true royaloptimist, whats been great about this campaign is that all the downbeat negative post are few and far between, even the most negative posters are starting to back this team. Are you going next Saturday.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 24/03/2019 19:29:23    2174890

Replying To royaldunne:  "I always felt we were in the hunt , I thought it was a 4 way thing with ourselves donegal Kildare and Armagh, Fermanagh were the surprise package, I felt with facing 2/3 of them in navan the home crowd would get us over them. That was my thinking I was worried about the on road ones as it happened we even achieved more than I thought we would, and only for a freaky goal we would be unbeaten. Bloody fantastic. As supporters we deserved that, as did the players and management."
I saw where you were coming from when you said that before the league started I just couldn't see it coming but sure we'll enjoy tonight for what it is and we certainly deserve it and we'll leave the championship and wondering how we'll cope in div 1 for another day

runnerin (Meath) - Posts: 202 - 24/03/2019 19:47:17    2174900

Great win well done to the team. Is it too early to claim we're back? Some great games to look forward to against top class opposition next year in div 1.

cabbage (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 24/03/2019 20:08:56    2174924

A very positive campaign overall, a few things went in our favour but the main thing was we took advantage and pushed on to gain promotion. Should be a huge boost to confidence for championship. Really looking forward to playing Donegal in CP, they seemed to haved upped their game in recent weeks. Congrats to management and players they did us proud.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2136 - 24/03/2019 20:16:02    2174928

Replying To runnerin:  "I saw where you were coming from when you said that before the league started I just couldn't see it coming but sure we'll enjoy tonight for what it is and we certainly deserve it and we'll leave the championship and wondering how we'll cope in div 1 for another day"
Exactly.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/03/2019 20:53:05    2174960

Replying To seadog54:  "A very positive campaign overall, a few things went in our favour but the main thing was we took advantage and pushed on to gain promotion. Should be a huge boost to confidence for championship. Really looking forward to playing Donegal in CP, they seemed to haved upped their game in recent weeks. Congrats to management and players they did us proud."
I'd slightly disagree with you, I don't think anything went our way, I think we made our own luck and actually think a few things (donegal) went against us, the Armagh comeback in that storm force wind, how we coped with that, the Kildare game where we were by far the better team but just couldn't put ball over the bar, other years we would have failed to get anything out of those games, but we kept settled and focused. Sometimes in football you get what you deserved and we deserved promotion.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/03/2019 20:58:55    2174965

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "That's true royaloptimist, whats been great about this campaign is that all the downbeat negative post are few and far between, even the most negative posters are starting to back this team. Are you going next Saturday."
Hopefully yes. I would quite like to see the first game as well.

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 24/03/2019 21:53:28    2175000

Like other posters have said - great credit to the players and management. It's obvious a huge amount of work has been done to get the team to where it is now. We mightn't be in the top three or four teams yet but we're a proper team that knows what it's about and will prove hard to beat. Just like last week we had a poor enough spell in the first half but the team gradually worked out what needed to be done and the defense tightened up. The first point by Cillian O'Sullivan was top class and he had another cracking game. With more exposure on TV it will be shown that Meath have five or six players who are as good as any in the country. It would have been good to see more clinical finishing in the last 10-15 minutes but maybe they're saving it up for Croke Park next Saturday.....

born2broyal (Meath) - Posts: 5 - 24/03/2019 22:58:32    2175033

Great achievement , after the first 30 minutes of the league against Tipp I wouldn't have seen this .
This Meath team has improved massively this year and I believe Croke Park will suit them .
James McEntee gave as good a display at wing back today as I've seen for a long time he was outstanding .
Two things we need to improve to become a real top team .
1 We do not convert enough of the chances that we create we just need to be more clinical in front of goal
2 Meath move the ball that quick now we need to speed up our kick outs . The first 15 was awful today and it all came from our kick outs way to slow and then left with no option but to kick long .
Colgan needs to have the ball on the tee a lot faster
I'm looking forward to watching this team play in a Croke Park it's the first time in years we have a team fit enough to use the open space there .
Well done to all the Lads on the team and Panel and also to the a Management great to see the crowds back in a Navan .

mmc (Meath) - Posts: 266 - 24/03/2019 23:45:14    2175057

What a fantastic campaign. Saturday is a bonus and I am very interested to see how we perform in Croker.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 24/03/2019 23:49:32    2175060

How many thought it at the start of the year?? Really?? That we would have Division 1 football to look forward to in 2020, I thought we would have a chance providing we beat one of Donegal or Kildare, as it turned out we should have beaten both of them and being honest quite handily but for a misfortunate error and some bad shooting in front of goal, this team has grown immensely over the past few months and the difference in workrate, intensity, spirit and consistency is quite impressive. Not many teams have been promoted from Division 2 in recent years with 12 points and as I say we could have had a full 14 but what odds, 13 years of wait is over and we can look forward to some great games next year. The squad has surpassed even my own ever optimistic views in this league and all the players deserve huge credit, now let's push on and take Donegal and get some silverware and give Lsinster a good rattle, from what I've seen this year Meath in the Super 8's is now a real possibility and that would only help to improve us further!!!

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 25/03/2019 01:46:19    2175083

Well done to all the team and management. Even the shakey starts don't worry me like they used to as I know the lads are well able to get to grips with it. Just relishing the thought of playing Kerry, Dublin, Mayo and Tyrone next year. Whatever way it goes it will be great to see.

Next weekends game will be a really tough challenge. Donegal are a different prospect than before and they'll have experience of playing us now.

Also how many of our current team have played senior football in Croke Park? Reilly, Menton, Keoghan, Newman, O'Sullivan? Any others? Not much anyway compared to previous Meath teams.

LoyalRoyal (None) - Posts: 452 - 25/03/2019 03:30:21    2175088

Yea what few things went our way seadog?? Jesus sometimes you just have to give credit where it's due. Donegal didn't have their full compliment when we played them alright, but other then that, we had players injured, we were losing games, we had games pulled while down in the area......I'm struggling to think of anything major that went our way??????More went again us I would have thought

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 885 - 25/03/2019 06:19:11    2175090

Replying To cabbage:  "Great win well done to the team. Is it too early to claim we're back? Some great games to look forward to against top class opposition next year in div 1."
Well we are back in division one, and that's all that matters, the rest will come. Not this year probably but over the next couple of years.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/03/2019 07:17:03    2175093

That was a refreshing campaign, No way did I see that coming to win 6 out 7 games. I taught we might have out side chance of promotion. The key games for me where Armagh game after the loss to Donegal it was very important to win, and not loss 2 in a row. Also the Kildare game was always going to massive. We passed both of them tests. So fair play to all involved Players and management. And supporters played a small part according to Andy and Team.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 25/03/2019 07:45:07    2175101

So proud of yesterdays big win. It took 15 mins to get used to fermanaghs system and runners but once we did we were well on top. We were surprised at fermanaghs lack of attacking.,they needed to beat us by a good bit yesterday but all they could do was play 15 behind the ball not any other way. We were cutting them open fairly often and could have had 5 goals. With a packed crowd in pt like yesterday the lads were always going to give everything for the jersey and hard to see them lose. Fans are now looking forward to meath games again hopefully we can win the cup on saturday. I think beating Donegal would bring them on a good bit again. It brings such a great buzz to the county . Fantastic

SheridansTry (Meath) - Posts: 180 - 25/03/2019 08:36:31    2175115

Well done on the win and promotion

Caoimhog88 (Kildare) - Posts: 82 - 25/03/2019 09:27:38    2175135