Meath V Fermanagh

Best wishes to Andy and the team today. Looks like a good dry day so hopefully pt will be packed out.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/03/2019 09:36:06    2174634

Get the sun cream on today lads. I got scaulded v Tyrone last year and was bedbound for 3 days. The missus looked after me but we'll say no more about that!! Best of luck to the team today, I've a feeling it'll be another happy ending

JohnJoeRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 56 - 24/03/2019 10:41:26    2174648

Replying To JohnJoeRoyal:  "Get the sun cream on today lads. I got scaulded v Tyrone last year and was bedbound for 3 days. The missus looked after me but we'll say no more about that!! Best of luck to the team today, I've a feeling it'll be another happy ending"
Hahahahaha.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/03/2019 11:33:06    2174662

Replying To royaldunne:  "Lenihane gone for the year as far as I know. It's the one position we lacking in, eventually teams are going to cop on to what we doing with Reilly and mirror it with a change of their own in halfback line when he comes in. Brennan has shown what a great player he is and dardis adds something however a Lenihan type forward is needed going forward. We need a inside forward who you could put the house on getting 3/4 points a game, like Flynn of years gone by, Conlon could very well be that player but I just don't know is it a year or two away yet."
Donal Lenihane back in Ireland in May

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 24/03/2019 13:05:16    2174681

Best of luck to Andy Bryan and the lads. Incredibly nervous for this one. Great day for it. Got the Kepak Jersey on flags out the car door and ready to celebrate in style with a Supermacs after!
Hon the Royal!

Evernal (Meath) - Posts: 74 - 24/03/2019 13:10:37    2174682

Congrats Meath , great to see yea back in div.1

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 24/03/2019 16:08:45    2174740

Replying To meath1977:  "Donal Lenihane back in Ireland in May"
May perhaps be a bit late for him for Championship for this year in fairness. He'd want to be back for first round of club championship in April to put himself in contention to be called in for a few training matches with the panel maybe and things could develop from there if he's in flying form.

Great to see Dardis and Conlon doing well today but would be great to have the class of Lenihan as an option.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 24/03/2019 16:16:05    2174746

up the royals great league campaign keep the form up into next weekend and championship well done to players and management

thecraw1 (Meath) - Posts: 106 - 24/03/2019 16:21:45    2174750

Yes Yes Yes.

A league final to look forward to.

Ground out the result. Nervous after opening 5-10 minutes.

Well done to all!

Lets finish the job next week and go up as champions! Prove the ballybofey performance was a true representation of this Meath team.

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 24/03/2019 16:25:17    2174753

Replying To Crinigan:  "May perhaps be a bit late for him for Championship for this year in fairness. He'd want to be back for first round of club championship in April to put himself in contention to be called in for a few training matches with the panel maybe and things could develop from there if he's in flying form.

Great to see Dardis and Conlon doing well today but would be great to have the class of Lenihan as an option."
As far as I know he's not back till late August

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 24/03/2019 17:03:59    2174781

Replying To meath1977:  "Donal Lenihane back in Ireland in May"
Don't think he is. Think it's August/early September

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 24/03/2019 17:05:08    2174782

We really need to find a full forward with some pace. Midfield were cleaned out in the first half. Our game managment is very poor. We opened up in the first half and could have been 10 or 12 poi he down at one stage. Great to be back up but vast improvement required.

Foley91 (Meath) - Posts: 418 - 24/03/2019 17:33:58    2174799

Last year was the one of the worst ever for Meath but today is one of the best.

Huge congratulations to all involved and huge kudos goes to Andy and all the lads that stuck with it through many dark days.

Nil sine labore

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 24/03/2019 17:47:21    2174807

Replying To Foley91:  "We really need to find a full forward with some pace. Midfield were cleaned out in the first half. Our game managment is very poor. We opened up in the first half and could have been 10 or 12 poi he down at one stage. Great to be back up but vast improvement required."
Troll!

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 24/03/2019 17:50:41    2174812

Why so.

Foley91 (Meath) - Posts: 418 - 24/03/2019 18:14:48    2174827

Brilliant what a day to be a Meath supporter. Fantastic. Huge thanks to Andy and all the players, we have had many a down day since we last appeared on the top table, let's enjoy today. Well done to all. I'm bloody ecstatic.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/03/2019 18:19:16    2174835

Replying To royaldunne:  "Brilliant what a day to be a Meath supporter. Fantastic. Huge thanks to Andy and all the players, we have had many a down day since we last appeared on the top table, let's enjoy today. Well done to all. I'm bloody ecstatic.
Hon the royal"
You called it all year in fairness I didn't see promotion coming and said as much in an earlier thread this year but delighted to be proved wrong well done to all involved esp Andy Mc let's all enjoy this as we've not had much to shout about for a long time

runnerin (Meath) - Posts: 202 - 24/03/2019 18:28:50    2174842

Replying To runnerin:  "You called it all year in fairness I didn't see promotion coming and said as much in an earlier thread this year but delighted to be proved wrong well done to all involved esp Andy Mc let's all enjoy this as we've not had much to shout about for a long time"
I always felt we were in the hunt , I thought it was a 4 way thing with ourselves donegal Kildare and Armagh, Fermanagh were the surprise package, I felt with facing 2/3 of them in navan the home crowd would get us over them. That was my thinking I was worried about the on road ones as it happened we even achieved more than I thought we would, and only for a freaky goal we would be unbeaten. Bloody fantastic. As supporters we deserved that, as did the players and management.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/03/2019 18:45:34    2174855

First thing's first, thank you very much to the players, management team and all involved for getting is back to Div 1.

Hugely proud of our lads, I honestly didn't think promotion was on the cards, but we got there and deservedly so, well done to the players and management team.

We got off to a poor start today and to be fair we were a little lucky that Fermanagh left the shooting boots on the bus, but the wind was a significant factor. Once we got on top though we never really looked in any bother.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 24/03/2019 18:48:28    2174857

It was a funny old game. Meath were better; fitter, more astute, better individuals, better attitude toward attack, better quality. They were easily the better team but its easy to see how Fermanagh have caused other teams hassle in this league. Theyre very defensive and structured and when they attack they can be very direct. The first 15 minutes of that game we were cleaned out, a better side would have been 8-10 points ahead of us. Thats an issue. Midfield woke up big time in the second half so kudos to them. I think for the first time in the lifetime of blanket defenses, defending and applying pressure in waves, patience, build-up, and counter-attacking in numbers, Meath finally seem to have found a shape and system that works for them. They looked composed today at all times. When they were in posession, 95% of the time they were clinical and accurate and got the job done. Everyone seems to have a role. Whats better is that Meath are still trying at every opportunity to play good, positive football and the players can still express themselves. The caliber that was coming in off the bench was a high standard. There were goal chances spurned, bad wides kicked, wayward passes, and once or twice big runners from Fermanagh broke through on goal, but nothing major to be worried about in the context of the game. It was a very solid win and the team made it look routine. Once they were 6/7 points ahead with 55/60 minutes on the clock you could tell the job was done. No big dramatic collapse or frailty. They were solid. Very proud. Division 1 here we come. On a side note how great would it be to beat Donegal in the final? We seriously owe them a pasting.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 24/03/2019 18:50:52    2174859