Kerry V Mayo

This might have been an exciting fixture if both sides maintained their positive approach to the league, but Mayo have veered off down a side road and us supporters have no idea if they know where they're going. Kerry on the other hand look like they're firing on all cylinders and have a whole alternative full forward line of P Geaney, Clifford and JOD to try to accommodate when available. The relative energy levels of the teams in the last couple of games has contrasted enormously and if repeated down in Tralee could result in a double-digit margin for the Kingdom. JH still has to persist with trying the younger players... it's painful, but the side needs to grow so there's no avoiding it.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 08/03/2019 18:15:02    2171127

I agree with persisting with the youth....I don't think we will get relegated so use the remaining league games to keep blooding young players.

Game is a sell out already with hotels and bnbs in short supply.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 08/03/2019 18:58:19    2171131

Mayo have been very poor lately, Kerry are flying and will not want to lose a single game now. It'll take some serious transformation for the westerners to win here.
Kerry by 5.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 08/03/2019 21:27:30    2171157

We have this thing where mayo always seem to beat us in kerry and we always seem to beat them in castlebar so il go for mayo in this one.

Themall1916 (Kerry) - Posts: 98 - 09/03/2019 20:46:41    2171310

I'd be surprised if Kerry don't win this one handy enough. Mayo just seem like they have lost their way a bit and have looked very average when you consider the start they had to to the league. Kerry have continued on on the other hand and are serious contenders again for all the the silverware available this year. Kerry by 5/6.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 10/03/2019 08:31:20    2171349

I wouldnt read too much into either teams league performances so far.
Mayo are an older team looking for one or two new faces and they know its all about the summer months.
Kerry needed a good league, Give these new lads belief that we can do it at this level.
Regardless of who wins the league, Dublin in all likelihood, id love to see Kerry maintain a 100% record.
Full house, Clifford may be back, I'll go for Kerry by 4.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 10/03/2019 10:50:55    2171361

I see young Clifford is potentially in line for some game time at the weekend, although they'll need to mind him... shoulder injuries can take a long time to strengthen up. What sort of injury is keeping Paul Geaney out?

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 13/03/2019 08:30:00    2171986

Replying To Pericles:  "I see young Clifford is potentially in line for some game time at the weekend, although they'll need to mind him... shoulder injuries can take a long time to strengthen up. What sort of injury is keeping Paul Geaney out?"
Geaney has a back injury, and I can't see Keane risking Clifford when there isn't anything on the line.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 13/03/2019 11:22:13    2172012

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Geaney has a back injury, and I can't see Keane risking Clifford when there isn't anything on the line."
Thanks KB... ye might give Clifford a run for the last 10 -15 mins to ease him back. Your lads ought to have the game well sewn up by then!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 13/03/2019 13:24:34    2172038

Replying To Pericles:  "Thanks KB... ye might give Clifford a run for the last 10 -15 mins to ease him back. Your lads ought to have the game well sewn up by then!"
Jays I don't know about that Pericles games between out too counties can be awful tight, but I would love to see young Clifford out playing a bit of ball again, we have no goal threat without him or Geaney or jod.

What will you do with Aidan o'Shea? Will ye put him on big Tommy?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 13/03/2019 14:39:02    2172052

A game I would love to watch live but ill be at the Dublin game and will likely hear the score but it should be a cracker. Mayo losing games against Dublin and Galway, a win against Kerry will give them a timely confidence boost especially on Kerry territory, But I think Kerry will have too much.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 13/03/2019 15:02:10    2172055

Better to blood new players, League is over as far as Mayo are concerned, even if we win last 2 games Dublin have a better scoring difference as well as beating us on head to head, if by some fluke the dubs lose 1 of their matches then Galway will pip Mayo as they have already beaten us, Mayo's league ended with the defeat to Galway. I expect Kerry to win handy enough and will be looking to keep momentum going for the League final v Dublin. Mayo are in serious bother, a TV programme a while ago about Conor Mortimer quitting the Mayo panel in 2012 and showed the starting line up for the game after he quit, 10 of the starting 15 that day in 2012 are still first team players in this years panel, same players 8 years on the trot, where are our new backs, our new midfield, same old same old, surely we should be starting 3 new backs along with 3 experienced players, giving them a chance to stake a claim instead of starting the same lads over and over again, with 2 league games to go before New York confidence can't be high in Mayo supporters minds. League final looks like part 1 of the double act, the 2nd being All Ireland Final both involving Dublin and Kerry

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 13/03/2019 15:56:02    2172064

Any chance that James O'Donoghue will be in the squad on Saturday night?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 13/03/2019 15:57:30    2172065

Mayo ftw!

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 13/03/2019 16:29:06    2172069

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Any chance that James O'Donoghue will be in the squad on Saturday night?"
I read that Jod is training tonight and if he comes through that ok he'll make the panel I'd say.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 13/03/2019 17:48:48    2172088

Replying To riverboys:  "Better to blood new players, League is over as far as Mayo are concerned, even if we win last 2 games Dublin have a better scoring difference as well as beating us on head to head, if by some fluke the dubs lose 1 of their matches then Galway will pip Mayo as they have already beaten us, Mayo's league ended with the defeat to Galway. I expect Kerry to win handy enough and will be looking to keep momentum going for the League final v Dublin. Mayo are in serious bother, a TV programme a while ago about Conor Mortimer quitting the Mayo panel in 2012 and showed the starting line up for the game after he quit, 10 of the starting 15 that day in 2012 are still first team players in this years panel, same players 8 years on the trot, where are our new backs, our new midfield, same old same old, surely we should be starting 3 new backs along with 3 experienced players, giving them a chance to stake a claim instead of starting the same lads over and over again, with 2 league games to go before New York confidence can't be high in Mayo supporters minds. League final looks like part 1 of the double act, the 2nd being All Ireland Final both involving Dublin and Kerry"
Confidence is low among supporters but a massive mayo crowd has still managed to sell out the game and local accommodation.

I

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 14/03/2019 07:52:32    2172158

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Jays I don't know about that Pericles games between out too counties can be awful tight, but I would love to see young Clifford out playing a bit of ball again, we have no goal threat without him or Geaney or jod.

What will you do with Aidan o'Shea? Will ye put him on big Tommy?"
I'm not sure Horan's a believer in that particular one KB. Aidan has looked fit and eager enough up to this but with the usual lack of any real purpose a lot of the time. I don't think other teams really worry about him anymore, as he hardly ever pops up where the alarm bells are likely to be sounded - more often than not he's the man giving the first ball or looking to break tackles beyond the 40, when he needs to be the man giving the last ball or looking to break the last line of defence close in. Your own Tommy Walsh looks more the real deal right now, especially winning marks. Mayo under JH always struggled with big men and direct ball because we don't have a dominant FB, and I can't see things being any different on Saturday - stopping the ball going in was always the approach, which means outfield players needing to be 100% on their game, a tough ask at this time of year. I think part of your goal problem is just the fact that Tommy is winning marks and taking the easy points on offer... will be different when the rules revert and he's laying the ball off more.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 14/03/2019 09:07:15    2172168

Looking forward to this one now.
The atmosphere around Tralee and in Austin Stack's when the Dubs came to town was electric. I've never really experienced such a buzz around a League game and great credit is due to supporters and also to the Kerry GAA who in the last few years has really pulled out all the stops for these big Saturday night matches.
It looks like Saturday night will be something similar with the match sold out for weeks, another pre-match show being put on and the chance to clinch a League final place in the offering.
It's great to see life and bit of craic these games are bringing to Tralee at this time of the year when things are usually pretty quiet. Long may it last!!

As for the game, I guess it will really swing on which Mayo are turning up.
Are they, as a poster above mentioned, resigned to the fact their League is effectively over and will just look to experiment and try out some fringe players etc.
Or will they see this game as a last chance to take something positive to the League and come down with as full strength a side as possible to try and bring Kerry's run to an end and put down the marker of a win against the form team in the country in their own backyard.
As for Kerry, I'm not expecting too many changes from the Monaghan game. Rumours that JOD and possibly Clifford will be on the bench which would be great to see.
I'll go for a narrow Kerry win, but Mayo have a good record in Tralee and I doubt they'll fear coming down here. All the play for really.

Are many Mayo fans coming down for it?

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 14/03/2019 10:47:58    2172186

I think Kerry will take Mayo by 5/6 points.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 14/03/2019 11:24:08    2172194

Replying To yew_tree:  "Confidence is low among supporters but a massive mayo crowd has still managed to sell out the game and local accommodation.

I"
Interesting statistic Both counties played Donegal in 2012 and Kildare in 2018 (championship) Mayo still had 10 of the 2012 team in action last year whilst only 2 of Kerry's 2012 outfit donned the jersey in 2018 The much maligned previous Kerry backroom gave debuts to more young footballers than any other since 1975 At a time of total transition it was amazing how Kerry competed at top table from '12 to '18 The young chickens have now come home to roost so good times should roll in the Kingdom Mayo would seem to have a huge rebuild ahead with much less talent than Kerry have Tat said league form and championship form are on a different plane So good luck to our Mayo friends

37sowhat (Sligo) - Posts: 752 - 14/03/2019 14:11:59    2172228