Mayo In The Big Apple

Replying To yew_tree:  "Mayo v Galway in a championship game in Croker has never happened...must be the last big rivilarg left not to have happened?

We have met in a league final and league semi I think but no championship yet...."
Only Cork v Kerry, Dublin v Meath & Dublin v Kerry are rivalries that match Galway v Mayo.

Looking at the draw its going to be difficult to be drawn in the same group should both teams make the super 8, if Mayo beat Roscommon it can't happen.

JDF (Galway) - Posts: 322 - 14/02/2019 15:41:45    2165352

Replying To JDF:  "Only Cork v Kerry, Dublin v Meath & Dublin v Kerry are rivalries that match Galway v Mayo.

Looking at the draw its going to be difficult to be drawn in the same group should both teams make the super 8, if Mayo beat Roscommon it can't happen."
It could happen in a semi final tho.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 14/02/2019 15:47:16    2165353

2500 euro to sit beside a player from mayo what a joke.
The question I have is who out of the 9 people at the table will get to sit beside the player or will they rotate the player .
To me this sound like they are pimping out the player .

paul39 (Galway) - Posts: 22 - 14/02/2019 16:53:48    2165364

Replying To yew_tree:  "Mayo v Galway in a championship game in Croker has never happened...must be the last big rivilarg left not to have happened?

We have met in a league final and league semi I think but no championship yet...."
It would be interesting for sure, the Connacht championship is brilliant these days with 3 division 1 teams and you could see all 3 getting to super 8s even though it will be tough on the team that loses the semifinal.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 14/02/2019 19:33:28    2165393

Mayo for the "super ates" , not convinced they will make super eights

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 14/02/2019 21:24:45    2165407

Replying To JDF:  "Only Cork v Kerry, Dublin v Meath & Dublin v Kerry are rivalries that match Galway v Mayo.

Looking at the draw its going to be difficult to be drawn in the same group should both teams make the super 8, if Mayo beat Roscommon it can't happen."
Tyrone and Armagh in the noughties was more than a rivalry. Absolutely no love lost between them.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7343 - 14/02/2019 22:36:12    2165414

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Tyrone and Armagh in the noughties was more than a rivalry. Absolutely no love lost between them."
Agreed, was there in 2004 when Armagh were beaten by Fermanagh and we beat Tyrone afterwards, seemed to be a massive rivalry there.

Tyrone v Derry was big before that, not sure whether Derry's decline has diluted that somewhat.

Cavan and Monaghan seems to be a deep-seated one as well.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 15/02/2019 13:42:03    2165485

Replying To culmore:  "To all our friends in Galway and elsewhere just to let ye know that there are Two Types Of People In Ireland Those From Mayo and Those Who Want To Be From Mayo."
Or to put it another way those who lose all irelands and those who might win all irelands!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 19/02/2019 17:36:30    2166411

Replying To Always_Mayo:  "and won't us Mayo supporters have some crack and days out along the way!!!!!"
Yeah if you're happy enough knowing you're going to lose!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 19/02/2019 17:38:49    2166412

Replying To DUBJOHN:  "Yeah if you're happy enough knowing you're going to lose!"
I'm always amazed at this attitude towards Mayo from some Dublin fans. You had a team who didn't even make an All Ireland Final in 16 years and had some heartbreaking near misses along the way. There used to be jokes if Dublin played Mayo in an All Ireland Final who'd bottle it first. Now I'm not saying that this should make Dublin fans to want to see Mayo the All Ireland or anything like that but you would think there would be some understanding and a rising above the usual tired cliches when it comes to Mayo and All Ireland Finals, not for any love for Mayo, but simply by virtue of remembering their own recent history.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 20/02/2019 08:25:00    2166495

Replying To the_walls:  "I'm always amazed at this attitude towards Mayo from some Dublin fans. You had a team who didn't even make an All Ireland Final in 16 years and had some heartbreaking near misses along the way. There used to be jokes if Dublin played Mayo in an All Ireland Final who'd bottle it first. Now I'm not saying that this should make Dublin fans to want to see Mayo the All Ireland or anything like that but you would think there would be some understanding and a rising above the usual tired cliches when it comes to Mayo and All Ireland Finals, not for any love for Mayo, but simply by virtue of remembering their own recent history."
The Dubs have the chance to look down their noses on the poor culchies and you're asking them not to do it!!???

Like parking your car unlocked in D1 with a sign on it reading "Please do not steal me"

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 20/02/2019 16:14:25    2166603

Replying To cavanman47:  "The Dubs have the chance to look down their noses on the poor culchies and you're asking them not to do it!!???

Like parking your car unlocked in D1 with a sign on it reading "Please do not steal me""
It works both ways or hadn't you heard?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 20/02/2019 16:30:19    2166611

Replying To the_walls:  "I'm always amazed at this attitude towards Mayo from some Dublin fans. You had a team who didn't even make an All Ireland Final in 16 years and had some heartbreaking near misses along the way. There used to be jokes if Dublin played Mayo in an All Ireland Final who'd bottle it first. Now I'm not saying that this should make Dublin fans to want to see Mayo the All Ireland or anything like that but you would think there would be some understanding and a rising above the usual tired cliches when it comes to Mayo and All Ireland Finals, not for any love for Mayo, but simply by virtue of remembering their own recent history."
Lighten up its banter, no malice intended, us Dubs would never mock the afflicted!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 20/02/2019 17:35:00    2166626

Jesus we had 31 counties dishing it out to us for years......took it ......and turned it around.

Now we can't even wind up Mayo fans with a bit of banter.

I wouldn't be on an internet forum if you are that sensistive, they are not the most sanitised places.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 20/02/2019 17:55:59    2166633

Replying To witnof:  "Jesus we had 31 counties dishing it out to us for years......took it ......and turned it around.

I wouldn't be on an internet forum if you are that sensistive, they are not the most sanitised places."
I suppose it's easy to just knock it as banter when you have made the breakthrough and are now winning all Ireland's for fun....I remember a few of ye here in the years before 2011 self combusting...and that was during a 16 year famine....try 68 years and counting...

I've no problem and like banter but the same old cliches about Mayo over and over again are boring

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 20/02/2019 19:03:09    2166647

Replying To yew_tree:  "I suppose it's easy to just knock it as banter when you have made the breakthrough and are now winning all Ireland's for fun....I remember a few of ye here in the years before 2011 self combusting...and that was during a 16 year famine....try 68 years and counting...

I've no problem and like banter but the same old cliches about Mayo over and over again are boring"
No point in trying to reason with those Dub lads now Yew. They were grand when they hadn't an a**e in their trousers like ourselves but since all the money poured in they can't get over themselves. Next thing they'll be thinking they're as good as Kerry!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 20/02/2019 22:16:07    2166696

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "No point in trying to reason with those Dub lads now Yew. They were grand when they hadn't an a**e in their trousers like ourselves but since all the money poured in they can't get over themselves. Next thing they'll be thinking they're as good as Kerry!"
Agreed, I think we're better than them but that's just my humble opinion.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 20/02/2019 23:00:38    2166704

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "No point in trying to reason with those Dub lads now Yew. They were grand when they hadn't an a**e in their trousers like ourselves but since all the money poured in they can't get over themselves. Next thing they'll be thinking they're as good as Kerry!"
Like you lot are thinking you're better than Galway!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 21/02/2019 17:54:37    2166819

Replying To DUBJOHN:  "Like you lot are thinking you're better than Galway!"
Yeah it would be similar if it were true but we know our place. Seven All Irelands versus three, nothing much we can say really. Mind you we nearly match them in Connacht titles and against a county with twice our population. Only way we will increase our All Ireland titles is by getting a massive injection of funds and playing all our games at home against counties with populations a fraction of ours. Then again we'd still probably lose the final by a point!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 21/02/2019 19:09:08    2166828

Replying To witnof:  "Jesus we had 31 counties dishing it out to us for years......took it ......and turned it around.

I wouldn't be on an internet forum if you are that sensistive, they are not the most sanitised places."
"dishing it out to us for years"
Are you talking about abuse or grant money?

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 21/02/2019 21:50:35    2166854