Mayo In The Big Apple

Good to see that even after a bad year, in which the county set-up has seemingly gone into terminal decline, that Galway posters are still obsessed with us.

Will be heading over to NY myself, and hope to be able to see the game. May need to camp outside Gaelic Park according to some of these comments...

As for the fundraising activities, unfortunately that's just the way that top-level GAA has gone. The growing professionalism of gaelic games (a unique form of professionalism that pays almost everyone bar the players) necessitates some corporate stuff like this to try to compete with the Dublins and Kerrys of this world.

Hopefully it will be a bit better managed than last time, mind you.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 12/02/2019 15:06:51    2164890

Replying To leitrim4sam:  "25K, they will make a ball of money come home spend it on the county team and still lose the All Ireland Final by a point after a replay!!"
and won't us Mayo supporters have some crack and days out along the way!!!!!

Always_Mayo (Mayo) - Posts: 29 - 12/02/2019 15:08:36    2164892

Counties from the west of Ireland have always benefited from ex pats around the world and huge sums of money have been raised over a number of years. This is never mentioned when people from these counties complain about the finances being the factor behind Dublin's success.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 12/02/2019 15:27:13    2164894

Thinking about this, I'm actually starting to think that Galway missed a trick here. Had they organised a similar event last year with our hurlers (All-Ireland champions at the time), it could have gone a long way to clearing the embarrassing debt on Mountain South.

25k a table? Somewhere just short of 200 tables would have done it... :)

streaker (Galway) - Posts: 497 - 12/02/2019 15:36:59    2164898

What kinda clients have that money for very saucy spaghetti? Only high rollers go to that gaff, we have Macs. I wish Mayo the best with this and hope they raise a bundle.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 12/02/2019 16:19:45    2164907

Replying To streaker:  "Thinking about this, I'm actually starting to think that Galway missed a trick here. Had they organised a similar event last year with our hurlers (All-Ireland champions at the time), it could have gone a long way to clearing the embarrassing debt on Mountain South.

25k a table? Somewhere just short of 200 tables would have done it... :)"
The farce of the whole thing is when they were here the last time hey had no time for the supporters, that was the managements decision not the players. Weren't even allowed to go out and have a chat with the crowd. Now if you can afford to pay 2,500 the management will let the players sit and eat with the supporters. I guess NY are gone back a good bit. By the way I'am from Kilkenny my lovely wife is from Mayo she and my 2 boys were greatly disappointed the last time Mayo were here.

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 12/02/2019 16:27:02    2164909

Replying To gatha:  "The farce of the whole thing is when they were here the last time hey had no time for the supporters, that was the managements decision not the players. Weren't even allowed to go out and have a chat with the crowd. Now if you can afford to pay 2,500 the management will let the players sit and eat with the supporters. I guess NY are gone back a good bit. By the way I'am from Kilkenny my lovely wife is from Mayo she and my 2 boys were greatly disappointed the last time Mayo were here."
There is a function in Mayo owned Rosie O Grady's on 7th Ave on the night before the game where members of the team and management will be present.

However and this happened last time, if your kids really want to meet the team the best time is after the game at Gaelic Park or in whichever bar the team decide to congregate in after...last time it was another Mayo owned bar called the Oldcastle on 54th street.

I think lessons have been learnt from the last time.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11225 - 12/02/2019 19:21:51    2164954

Replying To Belclare1:  "I saw Colm Boyle eating in that great Galway food emporium based in Ballindine back in September, sat beside him, cost me a tenner..."
Im guessing you stalked him

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 12/02/2019 21:48:11    2164987

Replying To Belclare1:  "I saw Colm Boyle eating in that great Galway food emporium based in Ballindine back in September, sat beside him, cost me a tenner..."
Hope they gave you plenty of Mayo for all them chips on your shoulders.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7324 - 13/02/2019 00:54:32    2165008

Personally, regardless of which county was playing, if I was in New York at that time of year there are a 100 other things I would do instead of watching a meaningless game. Go and visit all the amazing attractions and museums and watch inevitable Mayo win in your leisure on the highlights when you get home.

Miami305 (Galway) - Posts: 147 - 13/02/2019 15:38:16    2165149

Replying To Miami305:  "Personally, regardless of which county was playing, if I was in New York at that time of year there are a 100 other things I would do instead of watching a meaningless game. Go and visit all the amazing attractions and museums and watch inevitable Mayo win in your leisure on the highlights when you get home."
It's not only about the game but the social aspect of meeting your fellow county ex pats and Irish people. The drinking session ain't bad either.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11225 - 13/02/2019 16:04:34    2165164

Replying To Vishred:  "No surprises seeing 4 galway posters jumping to the front of the queue to have their say on a Mayo to topic.
Mayo living rent-free in yer heads ladies. haha"
If it's a Mayo topic, then why is it on the National Forum genius?

Lighten up man.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 13/02/2019 16:37:22    2165168

Jeez it must be a caviar by the bucket type meal with a few lobsters thrown in is it?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9104 - 13/02/2019 16:50:25    2165171

Seeing ye Mayo and Galway supporters locking horns and having a bit of the old "banter " makes me miss the craic us Kerry fans used to have with our Cork buddies before they went kapoot now we have no one to have a bit of craic with :-(

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 13/02/2019 18:22:16    2165186

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Seeing ye Mayo and Galway supporters locking horns and having a bit of the old "banter " makes me miss the craic us Kerry fans used to have with our Cork buddies before they went kapoot now we have no one to have a bit of craic with :-("
Cork had a football team?

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 14/02/2019 00:38:55    2165231

Replying To festinog:  "Cork had a football team?"
:-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 14/02/2019 09:53:41    2165247

Replying To festinog:  "If it's a Mayo topic, then why is it on the National Forum genius?

Lighten up man."
massive difference between contributing and trolling champ.
Its there for all to see

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 14/02/2019 10:30:56    2165258

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Seeing ye Mayo and Galway supporters locking horns and having a bit of the old "banter " makes me miss the craic us Kerry fans used to have with our Cork buddies before they went kapoot now we have no one to have a bit of craic with :-("
The rivalry has increased in recent years after been dormant for a number of years.

Be great to see Galway play Mayo in Croker, could well happen this summer.

JDF (Galway) - Posts: 322 - 14/02/2019 12:43:06    2165299

Replying To JDF:  "The rivalry has increased in recent years after been dormant for a number of years.

Be great to see Galway play Mayo in Croker, could well happen this summer."
Ya you would miss the old rivalry and I never thought I would when they were thumping us back in the late 80s to mid 90s.
And Galway v Mayo in crokepark now that would be a tasty affair.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 14/02/2019 14:27:46    2165332

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya you would miss the old rivalry and I never thought I would when they were thumping us back in the late 80s to mid 90s.
And Galway v Mayo in crokepark now that would be a tasty affair."
Mayo v Galway in a championship game in Croker has never happened...must be the last big rivilarg left not to have happened?

We have met in a league final and league semi I think but no championship yet....

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11225 - 14/02/2019 15:01:54    2165341