Dublin V Mayo

Replying To TheUsername:  "Looking forward to it, but im not to bothered on the result to be honest. Personally id prefer to loose, blooding the young lads then winning playing the established players. A national league isnt going to teach us anything.

So i hope to see Comerford, Flatmann, Gavin, Mulally, O'Connor, Bugler and the other lads we have handed debuts to so far in some shape or form.

We look a little light at the back this week with Small suspended and i hear Lowdnes has an injury as well. With Cian, Cluxton, Philly and missing and Jonny in at 6, we will be doing well to be getting a result that light at the back.

But always an occasion welcoming Mayo to the city, always the best craic."
You'd prefer to lose, whaaaaaa?

It's Mayo I never ever want to lose to them.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/02/2019 15:04:04    2166966

Replying To TheFlaker:  "While this is a decent Mayo team on paper there are still at least 6 or 7 who won't start. Leaving aside the keeper contest you have Barrett and O Donoghue who I think will be starting in the summer and Plunkett pushing as well.

In midfield you have Seamie O Shea and DOC to come back in.

In the forward line you have COC and McLoughlin to come back in. I expect Dublin to win but if Mayo can keep it tight while keeping the competition for players going they are in good shape. Far better squad than last year for sure. Ryan O Donoghue could be a bolter for the summer as well if he gets back playing in April."
Mayo's six starting championship defenders should be Barrett,Harrison,Higgins,Boyle,Keegan,Durcan. So where will O'Donoghue get a starting spot there and who would drop out? Seamus O'Shea looks like more like a impact sub now while Horan will probably stick with the midfield pairing of Vaughan,D O Connor. COC,McLoughlin another two that will be championship starters and i'd expect Mcloughlin to start tomorrow.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 22/02/2019 15:30:07    2166974

Replying To Yondu:  "Mayo's six starting championship defenders should be Barrett,Harrison,Higgins,Boyle,Keegan,Durcan. So where will O'Donoghue get a starting spot there and who would drop out? Seamus O'Shea looks like more like a impact sub now while Horan will probably stick with the midfield pairing of Vaughan,D O Connor. COC,McLoughlin another two that will be championship starters and i'd expect Mcloughlin to start tomorrow."
Boyle has a lot to prove, poor last year and was run ragged. Every chance O Donoghue gets a start in the corner and someone else at 6. Barrett could play at 6, others can too.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7887 - 22/02/2019 16:10:07    2166977

Replying To clondalkindub:  "You'd prefer to lose, whaaaaaa?

It's Mayo I never ever want to lose to them."
A win would be grand, but the turn on for me during the league these years is seeing whats coming and developing it, another title isn't going to tell us anything.

If im being honest, i enjoyed watching Howard develop more last year then i did winning the whole shabang. Though the league final against Galway was a great game as was the trip down to Salthill over Paddys weekend (despite the polar bears).

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 22/02/2019 16:17:04    2166982

Replying To Yondu:  "Mayo's six starting championship defenders should be Barrett,Harrison,Higgins,Boyle,Keegan,Durcan. So where will O'Donoghue get a starting spot there and who would drop out? Seamus O'Shea looks like more like a impact sub now while Horan will probably stick with the midfield pairing of Vaughan,D O Connor. COC,McLoughlin another two that will be championship starters and i'd expect Mcloughlin to start tomorrow."
Keegan could possibly go to midfield instead of Vaughan, Barrett out to half back and O Donoghue in the corner.
But i dont think Mayo will have a set 15, it will change depending on the opposition. Like against Galway, Mayo will have to have 2 big lads midfield too compete for kickouts

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 22/02/2019 16:23:55    2166985

Replying To tommy132:  "Keegan could possibly go to midfield instead of Vaughan, Barrett out to half back and O Donoghue in the corner.
But i dont think Mayo will have a set 15, it will change depending on the opposition. Like against Galway, Mayo will have to have 2 big lads midfield too compete for kickouts"
100 per cent still 5 or 6 places up for grabs.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7887 - 22/02/2019 17:25:36    2166991

Replying To TheUsername:  "A win would be grand, but the turn on for me during the league these years is seeing whats coming and developing it, another title isn't going to tell us anything.

If im being honest, i enjoyed watching Howard develop more last year then i did winning the whole shabang. Though the league final against Galway was a great game as was the trip down to Salthill over Paddys weekend (despite the polar bears)."
What??? Ah man your messing ? Absolutely love seeing Howard play great football last season but that will never beat the feeling of winning Sam. Come on you're messing with me right?

I love seeing new lads play great but I still way prefer us beating Mayo over any new lad doing well. It's Mayo with the O Connor bros and Aido "dive" O Shea the team we love to hate.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/02/2019 17:54:24    2166994

I have a slight fancy for our neighbours to get a result on Saturday, They have 4 months of solid training under their belts apart from C O'Connor all of their key players are available for selection. Dublin only stared training a little over a month ago i believe and if they are without Cluxton,O'Sullivan,McMahon,Kilkenny it will increase Mayo's chances of winning and one thing that should be noted is James Horan also happens to be the last manager that led Mayo to victory over Dublin.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3753 - 22/02/2019 19:40:58    2167004

Mayo for me.... because they are summer time fit....have been training since knocked out by Kildare last yr. sat by to watch Dublin coast to an easy all ireland and have a lot to prove this time around. Dublin to defeated for third time this yr...

Game2Halves (Tyrone) - Posts: 265 - 22/02/2019 20:11:36    2167009

Replying To Game2Halves:  "Mayo for me.... because they are summer time fit....have been training since knocked out by Kildare last yr. sat by to watch Dublin coast to an easy all ireland and have a lot to prove this time around. Dublin to defeated for third time this yr..."
HA! Training since last July???

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 649 - 22/02/2019 20:45:29    2167021

Replying To The_analyser:  "I have a slight fancy for our neighbours to get a result on Saturday, They have 4 months of solid training under their belts apart from C O'Connor all of their key players are available for selection. Dublin only stared training a little over a month ago i believe and if they are without Cluxton,O'Sullivan,McMahon,Kilkenny it will increase Mayo's chances of winning and one thing that should be noted is James Horan also happens to be the last manager that led Mayo to victory over Dublin."
I've a feeling Cluxton and Kilkenny will be playing. Dublin will have stepped up a few notches after the 2 week break.

Hopefully it's a competitive game anyway unlike some of our recent league games against the Dubs.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 22/02/2019 21:31:16    2167032

Replying To clondalkindub:  "What??? Ah man your messing ? Absolutely love seeing Howard play great football last season but that will never beat the feeling of winning Sam. Come on you're messing with me right?

I love seeing new lads play great but I still way prefer us beating Mayo over any new lad doing well. It's Mayo with the O Connor bros and Aido "dive" O Shea the team we love to hate."
Ah no, I'm not talking about the championship, I meanthe league. The Championship is the ultimate goal and a completely different story. I enjoyed watching Howard develop and grow through the league last year more then I enjoyed winning the league. The Championship is a different story.

Howard illustrates my point, if we can develop players like him throughout the league for the summer, I'm not bothered about results,

My point Is we have won the league almost every year this decade, we will learn absolutely nothing playing our starting championship team in the league and destroying teams just to win the league. For that reason I'm not to bothered about league results as I'd prefer the starting 15 are rested now. I'd much prefer to get 4-5 players who can add to the panel in the summer, by blooding them, giving them expierence, space to make mistakes and loosing games in the league, then actually winning the league.

I'll put it this way I'd be fairly devasted if Mayo bet us in the championship, if they bet us tomorrow playing the young lads I wouldn't be that bothered.

I'm not willing Dublin to loose, but resting players and blooding others is a bigger objective and priority then winning another national league in my opinion.

Like I say winning another league isn't going to teach us anything.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 22/02/2019 21:59:49    2167038

Replying To clondalkindub:  "What??? Ah man your messing ? Absolutely love seeing Howard play great football last season but that will never beat the feeling of winning Sam. Come on you're messing with me right?

I love seeing new lads play great but I still way prefer us beating Mayo over any new lad doing well. It's Mayo with the O Connor bros and Aido "dive" O Shea the team we love to hate."
We've had a great rivalry with Mayo, but for me it's a friendly rivalry, I always have great Craic and banter when they hit town.

Wouldn't have the same edgr for me that say we had with Meath when they were playing ball.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 22/02/2019 22:04:02    2167039

Replying To TheUsername:  "Ah no, I'm not talking about the championship, I meanthe league. The Championship is the ultimate goal and a completely different story. I enjoyed watching Howard develop and grow through the league last year more then I enjoyed winning the league. The Championship is a different story.

Howard illustrates my point, if we can develop players like him throughout the league for the summer, I'm not bothered about results,

My point Is we have won the league almost every year this decade, we will learn absolutely nothing playing our starting championship team in the league and destroying teams just to win the league. For that reason I'm not to bothered about league results as I'd prefer the starting 15 are rested now. I'd much prefer to get 4-5 players who can add to the panel in the summer, by blooding them, giving them expierence, space to make mistakes and loosing games in the league, then actually winning the league.

I'll put it this way I'd be fairly devasted if Mayo bet us in the championship, if they bet us tomorrow playing the young lads I wouldn't be that bothered.

I'm not willing Dublin to loose, but resting players and blooding others is a bigger objective and priority then winning another national league in my opinion.

Like I say winning another league isn't going to teach us anything."
You seemed pretty bothered 2 weeks ago when we beat ye in Tralee , when you wrote multiple posts explaining the defeat when nobody was even asking :-0

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/02/2019 23:14:01    2167051

Replying To TheUsername:  "We've had a great rivalry with Mayo, but for me it's a friendly rivalry, I always have great Craic and banter when they hit town.

Wouldn't have the same edgr for me that say we had with Meath when they were playing ball."
It's not a friendly rivalry UN, there's a lot of hatred from both side's and both sets of supporters, now it's not hooligan stuff but we don't like each other, which is what a big rivalry is all about imo. If you liked the team that bet you and it didn't hurt then what's the point of it all?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 23/02/2019 09:19:22    2167078

Replying To clondalkindub:  "It's not a friendly rivalry UN, there's a lot of hatred from both side's and both sets of supporters, now it's not hooligan stuff but we don't like each other, which is what a big rivalry is all about imo. If you liked the team that bet you and it didn't hurt then what's the point of it all?"
Open disclosure, my better half in from Mayo, so i had have an awful lot of friendly faces coming from that direction so its all craic and banter for me and we all go for pints and the likes at the game. Id be down that direction a fair bit and go to some clubs games and the like as her Dad is really involved in their club, really fine GAA people and never once have i picked up any bitterness or resentment and id be there in my Dublin jacket and that. Id have friends involved in the minor and U21 and Womens team and one connection on the senior team. So i dont get the edge really, may be its there and i dont see it. If Dublin weren't to win the Championship id be rooting for Mayo if they were still in it. I dont see beating Dublin tonight being as important to Mayo as it was for Kerry in Tralee a couple of weeks ago, you could taste the hurt down there that night.

A loss in the championship would hurt by anyone, especially an undeserved one, but if we have objectives of bringing players on to panel and improving it this league and resting our starting 15, im not going to loose any sleep over playing ropadope in the league. Jim knows what he is at, long earnd my trust and i suspect part of this is managing the hype machine. In the media so far, we have heard that Monaghan, Kerry and Mayo are back and serious contenders this year.

Take Monaghan beating us in the league in the last game of 2018, we played a lot of young players and rested loads heading into the final, was i bothered by the result, not at all, as i thought it was for greater good.

If we say developed Darren Gavin into a Fenton for the summer and not win the national league, i would be happy enough with that outcome. We are tripping over league titles up here in recent years, my point still is we learn nothing, running CianO Sullivam, Kilkenny, Philly, Brogan, Flynn, Cluxton into the ground and beating all around us.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 23/02/2019 10:39:24    2167090

https://youtu.be/9dONChKbYKs

Come on you really want to lose to the county that produced this???

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 23/02/2019 11:13:39    2167099

I'd have a slight fancy for Mayo here. I think they'll contest the final and are going all out to build confidence this spring ahead for future showdowns. Horan will want a win over the Dubs to make a point. Mayo by 3.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 23/02/2019 11:17:13    2167102

Replying To clondalkindub:  "https://youtu.be/9dONChKbYKs

Come on you really want to lose to the county that produced this???"
HAHA, Cringe.

I hope all sharp objects were kept out of reach!

:D

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 23/02/2019 11:28:24    2167105

The Mayo v Dublin rivialry has turned nasty and the clowns on social media down help....I've seen goading and verbals at games but nothing too serious and in the bars before and after there is zero hostility or tension....it's all left during those 70 odd minutes which is as it should be.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11229 - 23/02/2019 11:41:24    2167108