Dublin V Mayo

Replying To realdub:  "Admin obviously turns a blind eye to bestiality :D"
Well, in fairness it was either that or stand and stare. Which would be both odd and pretty weird.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 15/02/2019 22:51:24    2165592

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "I see, I was going to suggest perhaps Seamus Darby as a possible exponent of this rural pastime but I see you are somewhat more learned and cultured in the finer traits of this fine art.
Christy Hennessy, ah yes , I can see him now with his tall and awkward gait doing that jig after scoring.
I bow to you're superior knowledge oh wise one."
Christy Hennessy the singer from Tralee? Jays your obsession with Kerry knows no bounds dubh linn :-)

He had some good tunes though.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/02/2019 09:27:45    2165617

Is there some reason why again you decided not to put up my post here. It's a bit of crack with a Mayo poster and you seem to be playing silly buggers again.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 16/02/2019 13:12:07    2165651

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Is there some sort of an issue with you putting up my posts. I have better things to be doing if you cannot even be bothered doing this."
Please, attend to the better things you have for doing.

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 16/02/2019 13:30:00    2165653

:D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 16/02/2019 13:45:16    2165656

Replying To festinog:  "Well, in fairness it was either that or stand and stare. Which would be both odd and pretty weird."
Voyeur :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 16/02/2019 13:47:28    2165657

Replying To Uimhir.a.3.:  "Please, attend to the better things you have for doing."
Like English lessons perhaps.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 16/02/2019 14:01:27    2165662

Replying To The_Fridge:  "They certainly werent youngsters and as i said it was the minority.

Completely agree about supporters not having a clue with drink in them. Ive been to many games where grown men and women clearly shouldnt have been let in. Health and safety hazard but extremely annoying if your within hearing distance of them."
Absolutely agree - I was up in Omagh for the championship game and there was a fellow dub fairly well on wondering aloud to his embarrassed daughter as to why the scoreboard was changing so quickly...until she pointed out it was the game clock...

dubdec99 (Dublin) - Posts: 180 - 16/02/2019 14:25:38    2165672

Replying To realdub:  "Admin obviously turns a blind eye to bestiality :D"
That's too subtle for me Realdub... perhaps we might ask Fridge what exactly he observed Mayo supporters doing in the stands? I was just assuming some show of exuberance... nothing more!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 18/02/2019 09:28:02    2166053

Ignore that reposting... don't know how it happened. Time to concentrate on the football match.

If the weather forecasts are accurate it could be as mild as early summer come Saturday evening, which will mean that the ball will carry better and speed up the game. A lot of sides look to be operating at a reasonably high level of fitness for the time of year and, while the Dubs always seem to be that way, it makes a change for Mayo to be moving well so early. The last few times they met in the league all Mayo seemed to be capable of trying to do was some sort of effort at containment, and not very successfully either. Should at least be an open game next Saturday and more like the league games between Dubs and Mayo prior to the last 3 or 4 years.

Are any of the missing Dubs players expected back for Saturday?

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 18/02/2019 13:24:27    2166125

Replying To Pericles:  "Ignore that reposting... don't know how it happened. Time to concentrate on the football match.

If the weather forecasts are accurate it could be as mild as early summer come Saturday evening, which will mean that the ball will carry better and speed up the game. A lot of sides look to be operating at a reasonably high level of fitness for the time of year and, while the Dubs always seem to be that way, it makes a change for Mayo to be moving well so early. The last few times they met in the league all Mayo seemed to be capable of trying to do was some sort of effort at containment, and not very successfully either. Should at least be an open game next Saturday and more like the league games between Dubs and Mayo prior to the last 3 or 4 years.

Are any of the missing Dubs players expected back for Saturday?"
Really looking forward to it. When these two teams play man to man we normally see an electric game of football. It will be interesting to see how young Comerford does, assuming he starts, if Mayo press the kickouts. Will also be keeping a close eye on Gavin if he starts in the middle. I think the wide open space may suit him and a game like this, after Tralee, would bring him on in spades. Will Andy start for Mayo? Always a thorn in the side but I love watching him play. I can't see there being much between them. Dublin may react following the defeat to the dark side but Mayo are on a roll it seems.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 18/02/2019 14:30:02    2166142

I wouldn't read too much into this game, Dublin are still recovering from holidays and are only getting back into training according to Jim Gavin and with Mayo 4 league points ahead of the dubs they can afford to lose this game, yes a victory over Dublin would boost morale in the Mayo camp but the manager may decide to give new players a chance and never mind if you win or lose, you don't win All Ireland's in February, I'd say Dublin by 4pts with Mayo fielding an experimental team with 3 other League games ahead against Galway and Monaghan at home and the Kingdom away

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 18/02/2019 15:45:41    2166162

Replying To riverboys:  "I wouldn't read too much into this game, Dublin are still recovering from holidays and are only getting back into training according to Jim Gavin and with Mayo 4 league points ahead of the dubs they can afford to lose this game, yes a victory over Dublin would boost morale in the Mayo camp but the manager may decide to give new players a chance and never mind if you win or lose, you don't win All Ireland's in February, I'd say Dublin by 4pts with Mayo fielding an experimental team with 3 other League games ahead against Galway and Monaghan at home and the Kingdom away"
This nonsense about Dublin only being back a few weeks, Sorry but they are hardly out on the lash for weeks on end.
These guys keep themselves in fantastic shape.
They may not be peak summer fit but they are not carrying a condition as we use to call it.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 18/02/2019 16:39:38    2166182

Replying To westkerry:  "This nonsense about Dublin only being back a few weeks, Sorry but they are hardly out on the lash for weeks on end.
They may not be peak summer fit but they are not carrying a condition as we use to call it."
They spent the best part of a month away in January. Later than any holiday theyve had before and it's factually correct that they are only back to training a few weeks. Not sure what narrative you're trying to swing? How long are Kerry back?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 18/02/2019 17:07:05    2166187

Should be a good game
I would have been more confident of Mayo winning it if it was the weekend following the Tyrone game but momentum is gone so Dublin should win it by 3 or 4..the bit of a break will help the Dubs sort themselves out.
Next few games will test the new lads Mayo have in, ppl saying its a free swing against Dublin, it is kind of but theres still pressure on the players and Dublin, Kerry and Galway is the big tests for the new lads.
Cant see much change to defence and mid field for Mayo, Hennelly will prob start in goals and he Cant be going long with kickouts.
Id prefer to see Andy coming on as impact sub, and Aidan O Shea in at full forward or switching into full forward alot more.

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 18/02/2019 18:18:08    2166202

Replying To westkerry:  "This nonsense about Dublin only being back a few weeks, Sorry but they are hardly out on the lash for weeks on end.
They may not be peak summer fit but they are not carrying a condition as we use to call it."
If the Dubs had been out on the lash David Brady would've been on to them by now...

theblackcard (Mayo) - Posts: 47 - 18/02/2019 18:59:16    2166210

Replying To Jackeen:  "They spent the best part of a month away in January. Later than any holiday theyve had before and it's factually correct that they are only back to training a few weeks. Not sure what narrative you're trying to swing? How long are Kerry back?"
Kerry were back start of November apparently, according to the OTB panel.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/02/2019 21:43:56    2166239

Why are people so obsessed with when teams started back training?

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 18/02/2019 21:58:19    2166242

Replying To Jackeen:  "They spent the best part of a month away in January. Later than any holiday theyve had before and it's factually correct that they are only back to training a few weeks. Not sure what narrative you're trying to swing? How long are Kerry back?"
Jackeen best poster on Hs after my homie Waynol.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 18/02/2019 21:58:26    2166243

Replying To tommy132:  "Why are people so obsessed with when teams started back training?"
Headroom for progression in the summer I suppose.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/02/2019 22:38:29    2166254