Dublin V Mayo

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Harsh on O Connor he's been Mayo's best forward since '11, does the kid Fionn MacDonagh get in or is it too early to say? What about Reape at full forward?"
Well hopefully the knee operation he had will sort him out, he hasnt been at his best the last while, and his consistency from frees hasnt been there.
Too early for McDonagh, Treacy and Diskin, but they seem to be already better options than we had before.
I think Reape will be very close to starting, he has a great chance. He was a one man show for his club last year in some games and was stand out player in Chicago in the summer. He did well against Sean Andy in FBD too

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 600 - 13/02/2019 14:53:53    2165129

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Harsh on O Connor he's been Mayo's best forward since '11, does the kid Fionn MacDonagh get in or is it too early to say? What about Reape at full forward?"
Reape and McDonagh both great prospects and I guess it depends how the rest of the league and how they are going in training...if they are out performing the old guard they will start...Horan will play a lad based on that.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 13/02/2019 15:04:48    2165134

Replying To the_walls:  "Go on, throw up a few links there showing Mayo supporters getting ahead of themselves."
I was in Healy Park lad, a few around me were buck lepping around the place. Wooping like you won the all ireland.

Too be fair that was the minority.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 13/02/2019 15:08:18    2165135

Replying To The_Fridge:  "I was in Healy Park lad, a few around me were buck lepping around the place. Wooping like you won the all ireland.

Too be fair that was the minority."
Were they arrested onsite? Jesus man get a life. As I do say to people at games giving out about fans going mad...stay at f "in home if you want peace and quiet when watching a game.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 13/02/2019 15:19:21    2165141

Replying To The_Fridge:  "I was in Healy Park lad, a few around me were buck lepping around the place. Wooping like you won the all ireland.

All I can tell you Fridge is ain't seen nothing if you think you've witnessed how a Mayoman will celebrate winning an AI! There's no animal living or extinct you'll be able to compare us with!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 13/02/2019 16:25:56    2165167

Replying To Pericles:  "All I can tell you Fridge is ain't seen nothing if you think you've witnessed how a Mayoman will celebrate winning an AI! There's no animal living or extinct you'll be able to compare us with!"
There might be a few animal species extinct following the celebrations!

Watching the pain on my mates in Shrule over the years following the defeats (especially THOSE games against Meath and THAT game against Donegal) has given me some clue to their reaction should ye ever win. I'll probably hear the screaming from here on the west coast of the US!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 13/02/2019 16:51:15    2165172

Being from Tyrone this might be difficult for you to understand, but some Gaelic football teams are entertaining to watch. Go to the snooker if you want to follow a sport in peace.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 13/02/2019 17:15:44    2165178

Replying To festinog:  "There might be a few animal species extinct following the celebrations!

Watching the pain on my mates in Shrule over the years following the defeats (especially THOSE games against Meath and THAT game against Donegal) has given me some clue to their reaction should ye ever win. I'll probably hear the screaming from here on the west coast of the US!"
You'll have to lock up those maroon and white sheep Festy... basically anything exotic!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 13/02/2019 17:23:43    2165179

Replying To yew_tree:  "Were they arrested onsite? Jesus man get a life. As I do say to people at games giving out about fans going mad...stay at f "in home if you want peace and quiet when watching a game."
Yew

Maybe read posts before commenting. I didnt say you couldn't cheer your on your team, cheer away as far as im concerned.

My point was that a minority off Mayo fans were celebrating like they won the all ireland after beating Tyrone in a league game at the start of the year.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 14/02/2019 10:22:19    2165256

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Yew

Maybe read posts before commenting. I didnt say you couldn't cheer your on your team, cheer away as far as im concerned.

My point was that a minority off Mayo fans were celebrating like they won the all ireland after beating Tyrone in a league game at the start of the year."
Can you elaborate on an acceptable level of celebrating? Were they for example shouting "Mayo 4 Sam" or "We are going to win da All Ireland"?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 14/02/2019 10:25:57    2165257

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Yew

My point was that a minority off Mayo fans were celebrating like they won the all ireland after beating Tyrone in a league game at the start of the year."
maybe a few kids enjoying their day out watching their team, but....
the harsh truth of the matter is that tyrone are no-where near Mayos level and havent been for over a decade now ,

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 14/02/2019 10:37:46    2165262

Replying To yew_tree:  "Can you elaborate on an acceptable level of celebrating? Were they for example shouting "Mayo 4 Sam" or "We are going to win da All Ireland"?"
No level on the level celebrating, again read my posts, the minority of Mayo fans were celebrating like they won the all Ireland.

A bit of context, beating Tyrone in a league game is a good result but to be celebrating like madmen is embarrassing.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 14/02/2019 11:03:48    2165267

Replying To Vishred:  "maybe a few kids enjoying their day out watching their team, but....
the harsh truth of the matter is that tyrone are no-where near Mayos level and havent been for over a decade now ,"
Clearly Mayo have been better the Tyrone in the last decade. Who's disputing that? What does that have to do with the topic?

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 14/02/2019 11:07:58    2165269

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Clearly Mayo have been better the Tyrone in the last decade. Who's disputing that? What does that have to do with the topic?"
Your basically irrelevant until you step up,
and pointing towards a handful of people getting excited over our win against ye,
and then using it as a reference for our whole fan-base tells me your the one that creating the hysteria here ,
not our fanbase.

Take it on the chin and move on , we have a game against the champions to be worrying about instead of
this mularkey.

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 14/02/2019 11:50:07    2165280

Replying To The_Fridge:  "No level on the level celebrating, again read my posts, the minority of Mayo fans were celebrating like they won the all Ireland.

A bit of context, beating Tyrone in a league game is a good result but to be celebrating like madmen is embarrassing."
Maybe they were just youngsters with soup onboard and acting the eejit. If you attend most games, particularly later championship though ,or god forbid an All Ireland final you will witness every Tom ,Dick and Harry who can get a ticket attending and most of the younger ones don't have a clue where they are with alcohol.
I met a group of Tyrone fans attending a game a couple of years ago and most were well on but on poor fella was trying to convince anyone who would listen that he was American , which he clearly wasn't.
Buck lepping though ,is one I haven't witnessed.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 14/02/2019 12:15:32    2165288

Replying To Vishred:  "Your basically irrelevant until you step up,
and pointing towards a handful of people getting excited over our win against ye,
and then using it as a reference for our whole fan-base tells me your the one that creating the hysteria here ,
not our fanbase.

Take it on the chin and move on , we have a game against the champions to be worrying about instead of
this mularkey."
Take what on the chin? what are you talking about? toy arent making any sense.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 14/02/2019 12:36:29    2165293

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Maybe they were just youngsters with soup onboard and acting the eejit. If you attend most games, particularly later championship though ,or god forbid an All Ireland final you will witness every Tom ,Dick and Harry who can get a ticket attending and most of the younger ones don't have a clue where they are with alcohol.
I met a group of Tyrone fans attending a game a couple of years ago and most were well on but on poor fella was trying to convince anyone who would listen that he was American , which he clearly wasn't.
Buck lepping though ,is one I haven't witnessed."
They certainly werent youngsters and as i said it was the minority.

Completely agree about supporters not having a clue with drink in them. Ive been to many games where grown men and women clearly shouldnt have been let in. Health and safety hazard but extremely annoying if your within hearing distance of them.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 14/02/2019 12:41:27    2165297

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Take what on the chin? what are you talking about? toy arent making any sense."
You

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 14/02/2019 12:41:56    2165298

The_Fridge - I think it's time you chilled out a bit...I'll get my coat

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 14/02/2019 12:56:25    2165304

I could have sworn this was a Dublin v Mayo thread..

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 14/02/2019 13:06:05    2165307