Kerry V Dublin

Replying To Uimhir.a.3.:  "Drive for 5 not going according to plan, league defeats, media circus over Jayo & Connolly, indiscipline & suspensions, the Donegal motion about Dublin having two home games in the Super 8's which will undoubtedly pass unless Croke Park pull the motion not allowed on technicality card, the fact that most counties in the GAA will want them beaten, some things that Gavin would not want to have happened. Allied to this is that Kerry are going the right direction, picking really skillful players & good direct forward play, I think they are the ones who will put a halt to the Dubs. Gavin White & David Shaw were worth watching today, beautifully skilled players."
You're probably not far of the mark. In a word people, who will win the AI as things stand right now, and we'll check the temperature again when the league is over.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 16/02/2019 22:27:36    2165812

Replying To lilylanger:  "Nah...if anybody stops them it'll be Mayo."
I'm afraid that ship has well and truly sailed. The only team that will beat the Dubs is Kerry and that may not be this year.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 16/02/2019 23:34:21    2165824

Replying To Uimhir.a.3.:  "Drive for 5 not going according to plan, league defeats, media circus over Jayo & Connolly, indiscipline & suspensions, the Donegal motion about Dublin having two home games in the Super 8's which will undoubtedly pass unless Croke Park pull the motion not allowed on technicality card, the fact that most counties in the GAA will want them beaten, some things that Gavin would not want to have happened. Allied to this is that Kerry are going the right direction, picking really skillful players & good direct forward play, I think they are the ones who will put a halt to the Dubs. Gavin White & David Shaw were worth watching today, beautifully skilled players."
It's almost like the whole world is against us.

Just the way we like it! ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 16/02/2019 23:41:11    2165826

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "I'm talking about 2018. 2016 was 11 point beating. 2018 was 12 point beating and you did say " we were never beat like that.
Them two were decent enough but it's funny how your memory works when it suits you not to have it.
Ah well, you should probably stay quiet for a while now."
Again we were talking about the championship not the league again keep up.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/02/2019 01:51:52    2165829

Replying To jimbodub:  "Dublin v Kerry 2018

Kerry v Dublin 2019

=

Dublin by +11"
That's lovely jim but we're talking about the big time not the league bud.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/02/2019 01:53:35    2165831

Replying To TheUsername:  "It's almost like the whole world is against us.

Just the way we like it! ;)"
It's called atrophy.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/02/2019 02:20:17    2165833

So you're saying we've a chance?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 17/02/2019 08:56:57    2165840

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Again we were talking about the championship not the league again keep up."
Slept it off chief. It'll take a few hours though by the sound of it.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 17/02/2019 10:52:45    2165845

Replying To Jackeen:  "So you're saying we've a chance?"
Of course, All Ireland champions for four in a row, great team some very skilled players. But five is the Holy Grail, similarly to the famous Offaly/Kerry game, an awful lot of similarities, it's human nature that neutrals will want Dublin stopped, little signs like indiscipline & begining to take the bait from sledging, heavy legs begining to show, fast direct & young Kerry lads, the hungry edge going, you know a little nudge in the back by a corner forward sneaking in for a wining goal where the ref turns a blind eye to let the underdog win as before is not beyond the beyonds again.

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 17/02/2019 10:58:16    2165846

Im afraid the drive for 5 is very much on unless Galway and Tyrone show up and make them earn their wins.
If dublin sleep-walk their way to another semi final they will have enough energy preserved to get it over the line .

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 17/02/2019 11:34:21    2165848

Replying To Jackeen:  "So you're saying we've a chance?"
Id say you have a good chance alright... given the advantages provided to you.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 17/02/2019 12:12:03    2165851

Replying To westkerry:  "Id say you have a good chance alright... given the advantages provided to you."
Colossal advantages westkerry, if ourselves or anyother team manage to beat the dubs this year it would be like the cow that killed the hare, a pure fluke.

What the GAA have done to the 31 counties outside the pale is the equivalent of asking someone to climb Everest with their hands tied behind their backs.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/02/2019 14:04:35    2165866

Replying To westkerry:  "Id say you have a good chance alright... given the advantages provided to you."
That's genetics for you!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 17/02/2019 16:44:09    2165890

Good stuff!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 17/02/2019 16:52:44    2165895

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Colossal advantages westkerry, if ourselves or anyother team manage to beat the dubs this year it would be like the cow that killed the hare, a pure fluke.

What the GAA have done to the 31 counties outside the pale is the equivalent of asking someone to climb Everest with their hands tied behind their backs."
Tis disgraceful so it is !

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 17/02/2019 17:14:18    2165898

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Colossal advantages westkerry, if ourselves or anyother team manage to beat the dubs this year it would be like the cow that killed the hare, a pure fluke.

What the GAA have done to the 31 counties outside the pale is the equivalent of asking someone to climb Everest with their hands tied behind their backs."
31 counties outside of the pale??? Did ye bump yer head this morning lad?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 17/02/2019 17:59:27    2165913

Replying To TheUsername:  "That's genetics for you!"
You note i didnt include Natural Advantages ie genetics.
More the advantages provided to you by HQ condidering you werent dominating any championship before it started.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 17/02/2019 20:08:03    2165962

Pat Gilroy changed the landscape a lot more than money ever could, Kerry are coming, of that there is no doubt, it's just a matter of when.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 17/02/2019 23:33:07    2166027

I see the GAA chickened out yet again in relation to violence on and off the pitch, 2 players 1 from each side suspended for 1 game and both teams fined is bulls##t, last year when the same crap happened in the Galway v Mayo league match everybody me included called for all players involved to be match suspended and 2 points deducted for both teams, in that scenario Mayo would have been relegated instead of Donegal, but the GAA done the usual bury their heads in the sand, who is paying the fines both teams got Kerry/ Dublin, more than likely the clubs, that isn't punishing those players or teams involved, points deduction was a better solution, that would make players think ahead in future

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 18/02/2019 15:39:09    2166160

Replying To riverboys:  "I see the GAA chickened out yet again in relation to violence on and off the pitch, 2 players 1 from each side suspended for 1 game and both teams fined is bulls##t, last year when the same crap happened in the Galway v Mayo league match everybody me included called for all players involved to be match suspended and 2 points deducted for both teams, in that scenario Mayo would have been relegated instead of Donegal, but the GAA done the usual bury their heads in the sand, who is paying the fines both teams got Kerry/ Dublin, more than likely the clubs, that isn't punishing those players or teams involved, points deduction was a better solution, that would make players think ahead in future"
Bit over the top for pushing and shoving....that died down quickly...if there had been no cameras there nothing would have been made of it

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 20/02/2019 17:52:46    2166630