Allianz Hurling League Prediction Thread

Replying To heartbroken:  "
Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "...most other counties think limerick were lucky all Ireland winners especially counties Clare, cork and Kilkenny .
heartbroken (Galway) - Posts: 237 - 3/17/19 5:51:18 PM 2173144

I'm calling you out. Show me the evidence for "Kilkenny " thinking Limerick were "lucky All Ireland winners"?"
KK would have been disappointed to draw with Galway in QF and in replay they were without Walter Walsh. So KK feel they should have been in all Ireland S/F . Clare kicking themselves as they were within a puck of a ball on both days in S/f . And of course cork will feel they took the foot of the gas and did not play to the final whistle"
I was in KK a few weeks ago for KK and LK and Walter played reasonably well but he was hardly awe inspiring. You seem to have forgot that the KK goalie gave a fantastic display of goalkeeepng that day and LK still won.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 17/03/2019 21:21:30    2173229

Replying To heartbroken:  "
Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "...most other counties think limerick were lucky all Ireland winners especially counties Clare, cork and Kilkenny .
heartbroken (Galway) - Posts: 237 - 3/17/19 5:51:18 PM 2173144

I'm calling you out. Show me the evidence for "Kilkenny " thinking Limerick were "lucky All Ireland winners"?"
KK would have been disappointed to draw with Galway in QF and in replay they were without Walter Walsh. So KK feel they should have been in all Ireland S/F . Clare kicking themselves as they were within a puck of a ball on both days in S/f . And of course cork will feel they took the foot of the gas and did not play to the final whistle"
Well forget about the Cork part of that argument.. They have played in four semi finals in Croke Park in this decade and only for Ryan O'Dwyer getting himself sent off they would have won none of them. They have been beaten in major games in Croke Park in this decade by every team in Munster and they have not beaten a single one of them there. They got a lucky goal this year in the 53rd minute against LK (Dan Morrissey was first to the ball on his own, but inexplicably missed it and Lehane goaled) thus giving Cork the advantage at a critical stage. However from the 63 minute to the end of extra time LK outscored Cork by a clear 10 points-well 13 really- as the game was over when the last goal went in. Cork did not take their feet off the gas. Anyone watching the course of the game would see they had no gas left in the tank and their panel was so poor that they had to bring two injured back on to the field. To suggest a team that swept a team that so often had an Indian sign on them so effectively off the field, were not a better panel is absurd. Every sub Lk brought on that day played at least ok and men like Casey and Dowling were outstanding. Not one Cork sub seemed to make an impression.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 17/03/2019 21:44:32    2173240

Replying To superbluedub:  "Well done , lol..."
im heartbroken

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 17/03/2019 21:55:58    2173247

Replying To heartbroken:  "Your right, Galway very poor at the back, flannery did not show confidence yesterday but we have to stick with him . Johnny cone and Connor Coney will take up back position this year me think. So far JC has been in the best form of his life. Cathal Mannion suited to midfield. Glennon will be in the forwards . Hanbury is a warrior, not a stylish hurler but gives everything for the jesery so I would see him having a influence this year"
Cathal Mannion is not suited to midfield in my opinion. He's a class act but he is never going to mark a man and rarely give rarely you 70 mins. He's a forward or at best a 3rd midfielder. Not sure how you think Conor Cooney will take up a back position.

Blackberry (Galway) - Posts: 23 - 18/03/2019 04:29:35    2173299

Replying To someday:  "I'd agree poolsturgeon from a Limerick perspective if we were to meet in championship I'd love to see hanbury and tuohy return"
Tuohy is an option at midfield, and apart from the final (for which he was clearly injured) john Hanbury had a great year for Galway and was excellent in the 17' final. So id have no problem seeing them lads back in the team. Can't agree with you on Glynn either. Look at the 17' final again. He set up 3 points early on and kept 2 Waterford defenders busy while the rest of our forwards did the damage.

Blackberry (Galway) - Posts: 23 - 18/03/2019 04:38:21    2173300

Replying To updwell:  "How many of last year's team wil start Tuohy Glynn and Hanbury may not start while Flannery, Loftus and maybe 2 new forwards will start. My point is ye probably had 10/ 11 of your first team playing yesterday.Thanks blackberry at least you answered the question unlike the original poster who many a comment and as usual couldn't back it up. See ye in the final hopefully"
We had 7 definite starters on Sunday. But Grealish, Loftus, Niall Burke and Concannon are only Maybe's at this stage. So i hear think the truth lies somewhere in the middle.

Blackberry (Galway) - Posts: 23 - 18/03/2019 04:53:16    2173301

Replying To heartbroken:  "I agree Limerick are a young team and they have made a statement with the way they have played in this year's league. It is very hard to win back to back All Ireland's . Limericks greatness will be proven or on proven when the championship starts in a few weeks. most other counties think limerick were lucky all Ireland winners especially counties Clare, cork and Kilkenny ."
let it go now its 7 months since the all ireland .....limerick won the greatest ever hurling championship .....get over it. ye had 2 goes at us last year and we gave ye a 9 point head start in yer own bkyard and ye still couldnt beat us......this is a new year and a new championship i'm sure our paths will cross before the year is over.

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1095 - 18/03/2019 09:01:40    2173316

Replying To heartbroken:  "Your right, Galway very poor at the back, flannery did not show confidence yesterday but we have to stick with him . Johnny cone and Connor Coney will take up back position this year me think. So far JC has been in the best form of his life. Cathal Mannion suited to midfield. Glennon will be in the forwards . Hanbury is a warrior, not a stylish hurler but gives everything for the jesery so I would see him having a influence this year"
Flannery was a bit dodgy between the sticks and P. KILEEN at no 3(disaster ) I don't think Dancing Davy Glennon will be starting either.... C. Mannion C. Cooney C. Wheelan N.Burke JC J.Flynn all in the forwards J.Cooney P.Mannion G.Mac half back line J.Coen D.Burke Harte full back line Loftus David Burke midfield

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2192 - 18/03/2019 09:32:10    2173320

Replying To Blackberry:  "Tuohy is an option at midfield, and apart from the final (for which he was clearly injured) john Hanbury had a great year for Galway and was excellent in the 17' final. So id have no problem seeing them lads back in the team. Can't agree with you on Glynn either. Look at the 17' final again. He set up 3 points early on and kept 2 Waterford defenders busy while the rest of our forwards did the damage."
Yeah I see your point about Glynn. But I would argue the main reason why he was effective in the '17 final is because Waterford were scared of him and put too much emphasis on stopping him which opened it up for our other forwards. It worked then (and that is mostly because he was introduced from the bench iirc) but not since. We had problems with going short in last years final but another aspect of it is when we went long we were predictable and aimed for Glynn nearly every time. Limerick were ready for that and were able to snuff him out.
I would see Glynn as probably a first team starter for us this year, especially given the absence of Joseph Cooney, but not a certain one.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 18/03/2019 09:36:26    2173324

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Yeah I see your point about Glynn. But I would argue the main reason why he was effective in the '17 final is because Waterford were scared of him and put too much emphasis on stopping him which opened it up for our other forwards. It worked then (and that is mostly because he was introduced from the bench iirc) but not since. We had problems with going short in last years final but another aspect of it is when we went long we were predictable and aimed for Glynn nearly every time. Limerick were ready for that and were able to snuff him out.
I would see Glynn as probably a first team starter for us this year, especially given the absence of Joseph Cooney, but not a certain one."
He started the 17 final poolsturgeon but your bang on about last year and the predictability of hitting long balls into him. If he playes it should be in the half forward line in my opinion where he could win puckouts. And your also right that he may not start at all. But we'll need a few forwards to up their game fairly soon if Glynn is going to be on the bench.

Blackberry (Galway) - Posts: 23 - 18/03/2019 13:10:28    2173385

League semi finals
Limerick v Dublin... Limerick
Galway v Waterford... Waterford

Should be 2 excellent games.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1056 - 18/03/2019 14:10:06    2173401

Replying To skillet:  "League semi finals

Should be 2 excellent games."
Pity about the venue.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 589 - 18/03/2019 14:51:24    2173410

Replying To heartbroken:  "First of limerick are deserving All Ireland winners and are the best team in the country at the moment.

My post was a response to a limerick posters tongue and cheek remark that he would love to see hanbury and touhy in the Galway team the next time they met.

As I said Galway carried injuries into all Ireland final. The replays and early final date because of the popes visit all worked against Galway, but yes we lost and were beaten by a better team on the day.

To win a all Ireland you need luck and a fully fit team, talking to people around the panel Galway players were struggling for form no player on the panel were showing up in training so Galway management went with the 2017 team . Lessons to be learned for all teams if a player is not 100% he should not be on the pitch."
Heartbroken it was me who said I'd like to see tuohy and hanbury in yer full back line im sorry you're mistaken I didn't say it tongue and cheek I 100% meant it I certainly didn't mean any offence plus I wasn't rating them on just their performance in the final I'm around too long to do that of course the long year could have affected their performances but my original point was made on what I saw last yr in total not just the final. Maybe this yr I might be proven wrong and maybe not I'd expect a big push from Galway this yr as well as a lot of other teams for me it's wide open. And by the way I agree with you when you say you need luck to win an all ireland i think we got a bit thank god but nobody could say we were lucky to win the all ireland

someday (Limerick) - Posts: 1104 - 19/03/2019 00:02:36    2173566

Replying To katser:  "Flannery was a bit dodgy between the sticks and P. KILEEN at no 3(disaster ) I don't think Dancing Davy Glennon will be starting either.... C. Mannion C. Cooney C. Wheelan N.Burke JC J.Flynn all in the forwards J.Cooney P.Mannion G.Mac half back line J.Coen D.Burke Harte full back line Loftus David Burke midfield"
Where is Callanan gone - as in the 2017 goalie.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 19/03/2019 10:21:32    2173621

Dublin V Limerick
Galway V Waterford

Should be two great games

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 19/03/2019 11:18:41    2173641

Limerick

Draw

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 19/03/2019 12:04:48    2173658

Galway Limerick

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 19/03/2019 13:56:54    2173699

Replying To skillet:  "League semi finals

Should be 2 excellent games."
Dublin will struggle against Limerick, maybe a 6 to 10 + point beating, Waterford by 2 to 4 points over Galway.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1061 - 19/03/2019 15:44:57    2173728

Galway and Dublin to win

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2192 - 19/03/2019 18:55:42    2173774

Replying To carlovia:  "Limerick

Draw"
No draws, extra time and penalties

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 20/03/2019 02:15:54    2173842