Meath V Tipperary NFL Rd 1

Replying To Analyst:  "Watching 14 men behind the ball playing defensive and with fear of making an error is not my idea of a good day out. There are an awful lot of people to whom €20 to watch that type of stuff is a non runner. It is not the Meath co boards call though. Take for example the option of € 20 to watch Dublin V Kerry or €20 to Watch Meath V Fermanagh...... hardly the same product. I do expect a good crowd in Navan next Sunday but they will want to see positive football which would in turn get the crowd behind the team. The last few years has been like a morgue in terms of atmosphere in navan."
Well then buy the tickets the day before in any centra or SuperValu, they cost 5 less.
Honestly some people will moan about anything.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/01/2019 08:40:04    2158343

Replying To Royalio11:  "Not a post about Meath v Tipperary but more so the recent price increase for league games.

€15 Is sufficient for such games. I would not be against paying €20 (€15 + €5) for 2/3 seasons if that €5 directly supported Pairc Tailteann redevelopment.

If you were to take €5 × 4,000 attendance × 4 league games it would bank €80,000.

I am sure plenty of people could row in behind that. But €20 for some of the games that are on offer will not be appealing.

We will see a continuation in gate receipts dropping on account of this"
But it day before in centra or SuperValu. Saves you the €5. That been said I think there is merit in Meath cb putting a levy of tickets for redevelopment of pt

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/01/2019 09:58:57    2158351

I all ready feared that attendances would be down for our home games but this will definitely have a big impact on attendances I think. €20 is far too much, even games in division one for the first few rounds aren't a great spectacle so don't know how they justify a price increase.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 20/01/2019 11:49:09    2158364

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well then buy the tickets the day before in any centra or SuperValu, they cost 5 less.
Honestly some people will moan about anything."
Says the person who is still moaning about MOD from years ago on a regular basis

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 20/01/2019 13:15:15    2158378

Replying To Analyst:  "Says the person who is still moaning about MOD from years ago on a regular basis"
Tell ya what I'll give you the extra fiber outside pt. Now can we stop talking about a bloody fiver increase (which is taken away if you buy them day before).

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/01/2019 14:37:41    2158390

Replying To Analyst:  "Says the person who is still moaning about MOD from years ago on a regular basis"
I haven't said a word about him in a year. Keep up. Are you from the Cavan border??

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/01/2019 14:38:35    2158391

Can't wait for this. Hopefully we finally achieve promotion this year although we're definitely not the favourites.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 20/01/2019 15:06:24    2158398

I too think that €20 is a bit much for League matches. Particularly to see what is on show a lot of the time. Its affordable for me, but isnt for a lot of people. Imagine a family of 4 with two adults and two teenagers going to watch a game in Pairc Tailteann and having to potentially pay €60+ to get in the gate. No doubt the adult rate of €20 also coincides with an increase in senior and student and child rates. Its too much and a lot of people arent motivated enough these days to stretch the extra few pound. And I thought the atmosphere in Navan over the last few years was dull enough.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 20/01/2019 15:09:16    2158400

Replying To Young_gael:  "I too think that €20 is a bit much for League matches. Particularly to see what is on show a lot of the time. Its affordable for me, but isnt for a lot of people. Imagine a family of 4 with two adults and two teenagers going to watch a game in Pairc Tailteann and having to potentially pay €60+ to get in the gate. No doubt the adult rate of €20 also coincides with an increase in senior and student and child rates. Its too much and a lot of people arent motivated enough these days to stretch the extra few pound. And I thought the atmosphere in Navan over the last few years was dull enough."
Under 16s is cheap, also the student card will get a discount. It's been 8 years since the last increase. Can't really complain. As I said the season tickets are the way to go. It's good value. Get one game free plus first championship game.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/01/2019 18:28:47    2158476

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "Can't wait for this. Hopefully we finally achieve promotion this year although we're definitely not the favourites."
Same as that. Counting the days , 7/1 to win it outright and 3/1 to be promoted. I put 100 on getting promotion and fifty to win outright. Hopefully have a nice pay day.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/01/2019 18:32:41    2158477

Replying To Young_gael:  "I too think that €20 is a bit much for League matches. Particularly to see what is on show a lot of the time. Its affordable for me, but isnt for a lot of people. Imagine a family of 4 with two adults and two teenagers going to watch a game in Pairc Tailteann and having to potentially pay €60+ to get in the gate. No doubt the adult rate of €20 also coincides with an increase in senior and student and child rates. Its too much and a lot of people arent motivated enough these days to stretch the extra few pound. And I thought the atmosphere in Navan over the last few years was dull enough."
U-16 bring free is a great concession but I have to say I think €20 for match day itself is a bit steep, it would be something if you had a nice stand, good toilets and other associated facilities to enjoy but €20 to numb the arse off yourself in Navan is a bit Irish, €15 was adequate and at a time when we need to encourage crowds to games I don't think this increase was well timed, certainly now the season ticket is the way to go, I'm regretting not getting one this year now

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 20/01/2019 19:12:28    2158488

Replying To Richieq:  "U-16 bring free is a great concession but I have to say I think €20 for match day itself is a bit steep, it would be something if you had a nice stand, good toilets and other associated facilities to enjoy but €20 to numb the arse off yourself in Navan is a bit Irish, €15 was adequate and at a time when we need to encourage crowds to games I don't think this increase was well timed, certainly now the season ticket is the way to go, I'm regretting not getting one this year now"
Herself got me and the kids one. Yeah it's the way to go at this stage. And tbh I think that's what gaa are trying to do with the increase. At least you won't have to travel too far for game v donegal , btw where is that scheduled to be played?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/01/2019 20:19:10    2158508

Replying To royaldunne:  "Herself got me and the kids one. Yeah it's the way to go at this stage. And tbh I think that's what gaa are trying to do with the increase. At least you won't have to travel too far for game v donegal , btw where is that scheduled to be played?"
It's a Saturday night so will be played in Ballybofey as it's Donegals floodlit venue.

jackhackett (Meath) - Posts: 773 - 20/01/2019 22:16:26    2158538

Replying To jackhackett:  "It's a Saturday night so will be played in Ballybofey as it's Donegals floodlit venue."
Yeah jack is right it's a 7pm throw in at Ballybofey, about half an hour from my exiled position so not so bad looking forward to that immensely, any man that's travelling and doing an overnight book yourselves into accommodation in Glenties and I'll stand ye a pint :-)

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 21/01/2019 01:10:24    2158554

Replying To Richieq:  "Yeah jack is right it's a 7pm throw in at Ballybofey, about half an hour from my exiled position so not so bad looking forward to that immensely, any man that's travelling and doing an overnight book yourselves into accommodation in Glenties and I'll stand ye a pint :-)"
Ahh jasus now that's a offer, hopefully I can take it up.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/01/2019 10:39:07    2158589

Anyone going to hazard a guess at the starting 15 v Tipp?

I'd imagine he's gonna go with

1 - Dardis
2 - Lavin 3 - McGill 4 - Ryan
5 - J McEntee 6 - Keoghan 7 - Kane
8 - Menton 9 - S McEntee
10 - Campion 11 - Brennan 12 - O'Sullivan
13 - G Reilly 14 - Newman 15 - T O'Reilly

16 - Colgan/ Brennan (assuming Beakey is not on squad) 17 - Glynn 18 - Gallagher 19 - Flanagan 20 - MacMahon 21 - Devine 22 - McCoy 23 - Ferguson 24 - Tobin 25 - Burke 26 - Quinn

Still leaves you with Harnan to come into the squad as his fitness gets up to scratch. Then O'Neill, Lynch, Garry, McGovern brothers, Clarke, Sean Reilly, McDonnell, Hickey and Devlin as squad options.

Wasn't sure if I should include James Conlon or not. Is he still U-20 eligible?? Anyone an idea on Sean Curran? Is he available. Not sure if I saw his name during the O'Byrne cup. And what's the story with the Ratoath lads? The Wallace's were taking the year out I believe or was that just Eamonn and Joey got injured? Is Brian Power unavailable? Are the O'Briens out too? And either of the McGowan brothers considered?

Looking at that I still think we're very light of forwards to come in and change the game up. MacMahon could run at defences but he can be hot and cold. Unless Mickey can rediscover his all star nominee form we're still short a top quality forward who teams will look to quieten. RD before you get on your horse about Graham Reilly he was anonymous v Tyrone. He would not (nor any other forward for that matter) get their place on a top 8 team. We're light in midfield too. Maybe that could be where you'd fit Padraic Harnan into the team. Pity both Breen Conlon and Harry Rooney have fallen out with Andy as they'd be immediate starters there.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 21/01/2019 15:53:41    2158675

Whats the story with Cillian O'sullivan ? I see people naming on to start against Tipp but, I dont think he played any of the O'byrne cup games ?

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 21/01/2019 16:45:44    2158692

Replying To brian:  "Anyone going to hazard a guess at the starting 15 v Tipp?

I'd imagine he's gonna go with

1 - Dardis
2 - Lavin 3 - McGill 4 - Ryan
5 - J McEntee 6 - Keoghan 7 - Kane
8 - Menton 9 - S McEntee
10 - Campion 11 - Brennan 12 - O'Sullivan
13 - G Reilly 14 - Newman 15 - T O'Reilly

16 - Colgan/ Brennan (assuming Beakey is not on squad) 17 - Glynn 18 - Gallagher 19 - Flanagan 20 - MacMahon 21 - Devine 22 - McCoy 23 - Ferguson 24 - Tobin 25 - Burke 26 - Quinn

Still leaves you with Harnan to come into the squad as his fitness gets up to scratch. Then O'Neill, Lynch, Garry, McGovern brothers, Clarke, Sean Reilly, McDonnell, Hickey and Devlin as squad options.

Wasn't sure if I should include James Conlon or not. Is he still U-20 eligible?? Anyone an idea on Sean Curran? Is he available. Not sure if I saw his name during the O'Byrne cup. And what's the story with the Ratoath lads? The Wallace's were taking the year out I believe or was that just Eamonn and Joey got injured? Is Brian Power unavailable? Are the O'Briens out too? And either of the McGowan brothers considered?

Looking at that I still think we're very light of forwards to come in and change the game up. MacMahon could run at defences but he can be hot and cold. Unless Mickey can rediscover his all star nominee form we're still short a top quality forward who teams will look to quieten. RD before you get on your horse about Graham Reilly he was anonymous v Tyrone. He would not (nor any other forward for that matter) get their place on a top 8 team. We're light in midfield too. Maybe that could be where you'd fit Padraic Harnan into the team. Pity both Breen Conlon and Harry Rooney have fallen out with Andy as they'd be immediate starters there."
Brian McMahon is injured - out for at least the first two games I've been told! Same person told me, Brian Power is not in squad, Joe Wallace is injured (not sure about Eamon), Cian O'Brien out injured and Bob O'Brien is in Australia for the past 18 months at least!
You don't have James Conlon listed - why wouldn't Beakey be in the squad?

ASaminthehand (Meath) - Posts: 422 - 21/01/2019 16:59:43    2158693

Replying To ASaminthehand:  "Brian McMahon is injured - out for at least the first two games I've been told! Same person told me, Brian Power is not in squad, Joe Wallace is injured (not sure about Eamon), Cian O'Brien out injured and Bob O'Brien is in Australia for the past 18 months at least!
You don't have James Conlon listed - why wouldn't Beakey be in the squad?"
Beakey is with the U-20 panel for the year, as is Daithí McGowan.

That's what the lads on the wearemeath podcast thingy said last week.

jackhackett (Meath) - Posts: 773 - 21/01/2019 18:49:10    2158726

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Whats the story with Cillian O'sullivan ? I see people naming on to start against Tipp but, I dont think he played any of the O'byrne cup games ?"
Carrying a knock. But not serious.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/01/2019 18:56:50    2158728