Ulster Tyrone
Leinster Dublin
Connaught Galway
Munster Kerry

Leinster Hurling Galway
Munster Hurling Tipp

fingalman (Dublin) - Posts: 233 - 16/01/2019 13:09:18    2157563

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "The thing about farming is you have to have a bit of land to be a farmer. Then there will usually have to be a house of some vintage thrown in as ye olde hay shed isn't too comfortable. Also of course if you have any bit of work to do around the place you'll need the Ferguson 25, which I'm sure is the tractor Kingdomboy is referring to. Farms can be a distance away from the nearest town so the Morris Minor or Anglia isn't really such a luxury. The jeep now I grant you is a sign of affluence. There are no jeeps in Mayo."
That's true Llaw if you don't have a couple of hundred acres of good land you're going nowhere and the old 125 is a deadly machine for sure :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/01/2019 14:26:08    2157581

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "That's true Llaw if you don't have a couple of hundred acres of good land you're going nowhere and the old 125 is a deadly machine for sure :-)"
That should read 135 not 125 Llaw.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/01/2019 15:01:30    2157586

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Sure he probably parked it for free at Enda's gaff. Ye own half the city."
Ah the lesser spotted Enda. I'd almost forgotten about him. Hasn't been seen much around these parts since he landed the big one back in the day. Think there was a sighting or two reported in Croke Park and maybe one in Kerry but perhaps they were only rumours. Them politicians you have to admire them all the same!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 16/01/2019 18:40:05    2157624

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Ah the lesser spotted Enda. I'd almost forgotten about him. Hasn't been seen much around these parts since he landed the big one back in the day. Think there was a sighting or two reported in Croke Park and maybe one in Kerry but perhaps they were only rumours. Them politicians you have to admire them all the same!"
Probably hold up in the cute hoors club.
God knows there's a fair few members.
A hard neck is a must have if you want to join.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 16/01/2019 19:45:05    2157634

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "
Replying To bloodyban:  "[quote=TribalThing:  "Connacht Football: Mayo
Leinster Football: Dublin
Munster Football: Kerry
Ulster Football: Monaghan

All Ireland Football Winners: Dublin
Footballer of the Year: Paul Manion

Leinster Hurling: Galway
Munster Hurling: Clare

All Ireland Hurling Winners: Galway
Hurler of the Year:
Padraic Mannion"
Was that your 2018 hurling predictions aswell? Clare won't win Munster,they never do . Galway may win Leinster but there 'll be at least one day out...probably the All Ireland final where they fail to turn up again. I'd say
Leinster Hurling : Galway
Munster Hurling : Tipperary
All Ireland : Cork"
Haha.

Sure at the start of last year we could have all said

" Limerick wont win the All ireland, they never do"

Clare have been in the last two Munster finals and should have won last year. They have as much as chance as any team in Munster to win it this year."]LRH
I agree 100% with you-Clare will be a very serious threat next year. I am a little perplexed that so many people are rushing on here to tip Cork or Galway to win the All Ireland in 19. In Corks case it was cruelly exposed in last years All Semi Final that they have little strength in depth and crucially lack a physical presence in too many crucial areas of the pitch. They have also lost a string of big games in Croke Park in recent years. In Galways case I have reservations about them also. They have played in five All Ireland Finals and in the case of 1917 I just wonder if Jamie Barron was fully fit, Conor Glesson was playing or if Austin turned up or Stephen Bennett was able to finish the game if they would have even won that one. In the case of my own county they got a few breaks too last year, although that as a young team they beat Cork, Tipp and Kilkenny they should not be casually overlooked either.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 17/01/2019 10:14:36    2157700

Replying To Oldtourman:  "
Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "[quote=bloodyban:  "[quote=TribalThing:  "Connacht Football: Mayo

Hurler of the Year:
Padraic Mannion"
Was that your 2018 hurling predictions aswell? Clare won't win Munster,they never do . Galway may win Leinster but there 'll be at least one day out...probably the All Ireland final where they fail to turn up again. I'd say
Haha.

Clare have been in the last two Munster finals and should have won last year. They have as much as chance as any team in Munster to win it this year."]LRH
I agree 100% with you-Clare will be a very serious threat next year. I am a little perplexed that so many people are rushing on here to tip Cork or Galway to win the All Ireland in 19. In Corks case it was cruelly exposed in last years All Semi Final that they have little strength in depth and crucially lack a physical presence in too many crucial areas of the pitch. They have also lost a string of big games in Croke Park in recent years. In Galways case I have reservations about them also. They have played in five All Ireland Finals and in the case of 1917 I just wonder if Jamie Barron was fully fit, Conor Glesson was playing or if Austin turned up or Stephen Bennett was able to finish the game if they would have even won that one. In the case of my own county they got a few breaks too last year, although that as a young team they beat Cork, Tipp and Kilkenny they should not be casually overlooked either."]1917, how old is Jamie Barron....120?

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 705 - 17/01/2019 11:14:35    2157719

Replying To The_DOC:  "
Replying To Oldtourman:  "[quote=LohansRedHelmet:  "[quote=bloodyban:  "[quote=TribalThing:  "Connacht Football: Mayo

Hurler of the Year:
Padraic Mannion"
Haha.

I agree 100% with you-Clare will be a very serious threat next year. I am a little perplexed that so many people are rushing on here to tip Cork or Galway to win the All Ireland in 19. In Corks case it was cruelly exposed in last years All Semi Final that they have little strength in depth and crucially lack a physical presence in too many crucial areas of the pitch. They have also lost a string of big games in Croke Park in recent years. In Galways case I have reservations about them also. They have played in five All Ireland Finals and in the case of 1917 I just wonder if Jamie Barron was fully fit, Conor Glesson was playing or if Austin turned up or Stephen Bennett was able to finish the game if they would have even won that one. In the case of my own county they got a few breaks too last year, although that as a young team they beat Cork, Tipp and Kilkenny they should not be casually overlooked either."]1917, how old is Jamie Barron....120?"]Not at all Jamie Barron is 24 or 25. He was the man who was the main man in the defeat of both Cork and Kilkenny in 2017, when he was fully fit. You are probably thinking of John Barron who won an All Ireland with Waterford in 1959. Don't worry about (typo) 1917- well spotted- but you get my drift.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 17/01/2019 18:10:21    2157841

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Ah the lesser spotted Enda. I'd almost forgotten about him. Hasn't been seen much around these parts since he landed the big one back in the day. Think there was a sighting or two reported in Croke Park and maybe one in Kerry but perhaps they were only rumours. Them politicians you have to admire them all the same!"
A former Taoiseach always adapts a low key and stays very much in the background. And I am not even a supporter of Enda and never was.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 17/01/2019 18:13:49    2157842

Very early in year to make predictions, but here goes. Things could change after the leagues.

Football provincial winners
Dublin
Kerry
Mayo
Donegal
All Ireland winners. Dublin Don't rule out Donegal.

2 provinces are sure things, Leinster and Munster, not ideal but it is up to the other teams in those provinces to challenge Kerry and Dublin.

Hurling provincial champions.
Kilkenny
Clare

All Ireland Limerick.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 17/01/2019 19:17:08    2157861

Ulster: Down
Connacht: Mayo
Leinster: Dublin
Munster: Kerry

Expect a big year from Down under Paddy Tally. They remind me of us in 2013 when we won an Ulster in Malachys first year. The rest are self ex planarity.

Super 8s: Mayo, Monaghan, Dublin, Kerry, Armagh, Down, Roscommon and Meath.

Donegal could possible make the super 8s and be a massive force depending on when Paddy Mc Breatery gets back and when he hits peak fitness. Galway wont feature when Paddy Tally has left their defence will crumble and they will be shocked in a qualifier game. Armagh possibly will come good. I think Tyrone will not feature and last year was a flash in the pan and now with Mark Bradley gone hey wont have a full forward line and will possibly falter in the qualifiers or an ulster final.

All Ireland Final: Dublin and Monaghan
Winner: Dublin

Monaghan will go one better next year and make the final mainly due to having a stronger panel than kerry and Mayo and having match winner in mc manus.

POTY: Fenton
YPOTY: Conor mc carthy.

Fenton is due the poty and mc carthy is due a big year as evidenced with his performance with UCD today.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 378 - 17/01/2019 19:45:09    2157872

Replying To monaghanmad:  "Ulster: Down
Connacht: Mayo
Leinster: Dublin
Munster: Kerry

Expect a big year from Down under Paddy Tally. They remind me of us in 2013 when we won an Ulster in Malachys first year. The rest are self ex planarity.

Super 8s: Mayo, Monaghan, Dublin, Kerry, Armagh, Down, Roscommon and Meath.

Donegal could possible make the super 8s and be a massive force depending on when Paddy Mc Breatery gets back and when he hits peak fitness. Galway wont feature when Paddy Tally has left their defence will crumble and they will be shocked in a qualifier game. Armagh possibly will come good. I think Tyrone will not feature and last year was a flash in the pan and now with Mark Bradley gone hey wont have a full forward line and will possibly falter in the qualifiers or an ulster final.

All Ireland Final: Dublin and Monaghan
Winner: Dublin

Monaghan will go one better next year and make the final mainly due to having a stronger panel than kerry and Mayo and having match winner in mc manus.

POTY: Fenton
YPOTY: Conor mc carthy.

Fenton is due the poty and mc carthy is due a big year as evidenced with his performance with UCD today."
How is Fenton due a POTY? He won it this year.

Kerry15 (Kerry) - Posts: 957 - 17/01/2019 22:09:54    2157912

Replying To Oldtourman:  "A former Taoiseach always adapts a low key and stays very much in the background. And I am not even a supporter of Enda and never was."
I was speaking of his time as Taoiseach and how little, I felt, he did for his own area. Anyway the Dublin lad and myself were just shooting the breeze and Enda kind of accidentally came up. It wasn't intended as a party political broadcast or anything.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 17/01/2019 23:57:27    2157930

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "I was speaking of his time as Taoiseach and how little, I felt, he did for his own area. Anyway the Dublin lad and myself were just shooting the breeze and Enda kind of accidentally came up. It wasn't intended as a party political broadcast or anything."
No problem Liam. I know the feeling with some of the reps we have in the Mid West

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 18/01/2019 12:20:43    2157989

Replying To TribalThing:  "Connacht Football: Mayo

Hurler of the Year: