Dubs Drive For 5 - Who Can Stop It?

Topic: Dubs Drive For 5 - Who Can Stop It?

Answer: Nobody.

BUT - why stop at 5? I don't see any side being able to stop the county of Dublin winning the 5-in-row next year and truth be told is the idea of Dublin winning 7 or 8 All Irelands in a row that inconceivable?

I think it's highly likely now at this stage given the level of talent that is going to become available to come on stream to add to what is already there in Dublin.

Dublin have won 4 All Ireland under 21's inside 8 years in this decade and this gets very little talk compared to what you hear about Kerry winning 5 minor titles in row which is a nice achievement. However, a senior panel will always reap more from a winning under 21 (now 20) grade - no question - and we are seeing that now with Dublin.

Kingdomson (Kerry) - Posts: 244 - 07/11/2018 15:52:26    2150074

Replying To yew_tree:  "
Replying To The_DOC:  "[quote=GeniusGerry:  "[quote=waynoI:  "Again

I refer you, like GnR to the thread title ..

This is NOT an "Are galway contenders" thread, This is a who can stop Dublin, with emphasis on stop..Dublin.

weve seen Galway can beat Kerry, Weve seen Galway can beat Mayo

But as their year went on 2018, Their results against Dublin got deteriorated. Draw -> 4pt defeat playing 20 minutes with an extra man -> 9 point defeat that was 12 before their late consolation goal.

So, Can they beat a top team - Yes
Can they stop Dublin and knock them out of the championship - As delboy would say - No way Pedro."
Understand what you're saying but I didn't see any evidence this year that any of the others are in a better position to topple the Dubs in 2019. They all have issues and reasons why they probably won't beat Dublin any time soon.

Galway would need to step up another level but I'd actually argue that they are in a better position to do that in 2019 with their young panel than some of the others. It's unlikely but we'll see."
Yeah this is my point......albeit made by a Kerryman! I'm not saying Galway will win an All Ireland, but your saying that Mayo et al are the one to beat the Dub, I disagree and I think next year we will be a step closer to being able to compete with Dublin for a full game (not I didnt say beat and I didnt say win an AI)!"]Some Galway fans have been writing Mayo off for years...all the way back to that infamous game in Limerick...say something long enough and often enough and you'll eventually be right.

We will try and keep the ball kicked out to ye next summer."]Sure ye can only try...

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 705 - 07/11/2018 16:39:12    2150082

Kerry or Mayo, the rest haven't a chance, yet.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 07/11/2018 20:56:41    2150123

I meant to say I'm keeping my powder dry regarding Donegal. A side with potential but I want to see what Rochford brings to them first. If Tyrone can improve their shooting they'll cause plenty of bother also.
Galway need staying power of which they showed none of this year.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 07/11/2018 21:42:28    2150130

Replying To realdub:  "Kerry or Mayo, the rest haven't a chance, yet."
Mayo.... lol. Not a prayer.. 1951.. come on

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 07/11/2018 21:47:43    2150131

Replying To Kingdomson:  "Topic: Dubs Drive For 5 - Who Can Stop It?

BUT - why stop at 5? I don't see any side being able to stop the county of Dublin winning the 5-in-row next year and truth be told is the idea of Dublin winning 7 or 8 All Irelands in a row that inconceivable?

I think it's highly likely now at this stage given the level of talent that is going to become available to come on stream to add to what is already there in Dublin.

Dublin have won 4 All Ireland under 21's inside 8 years in this decade and this gets very little talk compared to what you hear about Kerry winning 5 minor titles in row which is a nice achievement. However, a senior panel will always reap more from a winning under 21 (now 20) grade - no question - and we are seeing that now with Dublin."
A minority of teams stay at the top for a long length of time but always digress and come back to the pack. People thought Kilkenny and Man United would never not be at the top or challenging at the top. Both have top class resources and yet maybe took their eye off the ball or just couldn't find the talent they used too. I've no doubt the same will happen to the Dubs at some point. Jim Gavin is key to that in that he is Sir Alex like in that he eases the older lads out of the team and constantly brings in new blood. Strangely enough the current team is now back boned by the minor panel that Tipp beat in 2011- who should have won that game and are an exceptionally talented bunch.
Talent drys up regardless of resources and dublin wont be dominant forever. Jim Gavin may eventually stand down when Dublin haven't the talent they have now which would hinder their chances of beating all before them as well.

Dublin will be without at least 7/8 big names in the next few years. Some of these are no longer starting but make huge impacts from the bench, which is key in all Dublin games. While I think they'll win the next two all irelands, I do think all good things come to an end eventually. The greatest GAA team I've witnessed by the way..

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 08/11/2018 00:06:42    2150141

Replying To Belclare1:  "Mayo.... lol. Not a prayer.. 1951.. come on"
They're the only team that could've beaten us in recent years and were unlucky.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 08/11/2018 13:04:28    2150194

Replying To tiobraid:  "
Replying To Kingdomson:  "Topic: Dubs Drive For 5 - Who Can Stop It?

Dublin have won 4 All Ireland under 21's inside 8 years in this decade and this gets very little talk compared to what you hear about Kerry winning 5 minor titles in row which is a nice achievement. However, a senior panel will always reap more from a winning under 21 (now 20) grade - no question - and we are seeing that now with Dublin."
A minority of teams stay at the top for a long length of time but always digress and come back to the pack. People thought Kilkenny and Man United would never not be at the top or challenging at the top. Both have top class resources and yet maybe took their eye off the ball or just couldn't find the talent they used too. I've no doubt the same will happen to the Dubs at some point. Jim Gavin is key to that in that he is Sir Alex like in that he eases the older lads out of the team and constantly brings in new blood. Strangely enough the current team is now back boned by the minor panel that Tipp beat in 2011- who should have won that game and are an exceptionally talented bunch.
Talent drys up regardless of resources and dublin wont be dominant forever. Jim Gavin may eventually stand down when Dublin haven't the talent they have now which would hinder their chances of beating all before them as well.

Dublin will be without at least 7/8 big names in the next few years. Some of these are no longer starting but make huge impacts from the bench, which is key in all Dublin games. While I think they'll win the next two all irelands, I do think all good things come to an end eventually. The greatest GAA team I've witnessed by the way.."
Mayo

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 08/11/2018 13:16:51    2150196

I can't see Kerry getting close to dublin. They need a goalie,defenders, mid fielders. They have class forwards who have just not produced lately Clifford been the notable exception. Dublin look like a team that know they're better than the rest. They don't need to blow teams away just control games and they will win. I think mayo have only realistic chance if Horan can get them going again. I'm not too sure what the trials are about. Surely they know the best prospects. Unfortunately I don't see too many atm.

theduke66 (Dublin) - Posts: 334 - 08/11/2018 14:07:53    2150204

Replying To realdub:  "They're the only team that could've beaten us in recent years and were unlucky."
Could've would've should've.... but didnt and haven't since 1951..

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 08/11/2018 15:01:20    2150219

Replying To theduke66:  "I can't see Kerry getting close to dublin. They need a goalie,defenders, mid fielders. They have class forwards who have just not produced lately Clifford been the notable exception. Dublin look like a team that know they're better than the rest. They don't need to blow teams away just control games and they will win. I think mayo have only realistic chance if Horan can get them going again. I'm not too sure what the trials are about. Surely they know the best prospects. Unfortunately I don't see too many atm."
So you think they could beat Dublin with the same team as last year.....

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 08/11/2018 15:02:41    2150220

My own county will be peaking in a year to two years time, unfortunately I cant see past Dublin winning 5 in a row. Perhaps a more interesting debate is who will join them in the final. There is big talk in Mayo but cant see the potential of an older team who had their chance. Even if they have new guns coming through it takes a few years to peak at this level. Same for Kerry with their host of retirements, very rare indeed does a new team come together in one year and win sam especially one in which the greatest team of all time is operating in …. the Dublin Harlems.

I can see only the likes of Tyrone in the final again. I think we are a step or two ahead of a new Kerry side, a rejuvenated (Yet to be seen) Mayo outfit.

Game2Halves (Tyrone) - Posts: 265 - 08/11/2018 15:25:07    2150223

Replying To Belclare1:  "Could've would've should've.... but didnt and haven't since 1951.."
Give it a rest will ya...I've noticed on this forum for a long time now that the minute any poster suggests Mayo could have an impact or do well, your the first on to shoot Mayo down....this was even when the current team was at its peak...you don't like Mayo, we get it. Move on.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 08/11/2018 16:13:54    2150239

Replying To yew_tree:  "Give it a rest will ya...I've noticed on this forum for a long time now that the minute any poster suggests Mayo could have an impact or do well, your the first on to shoot Mayo down....this was even when the current team was at its peak...you don't like Mayo, we get it. Move on."
Know how you feel, if anyone suggests Tyrone will be up there again next year its like throwing up in the cinema and causing everyone else to do the same. Truth hurts for people from underperforming counties.

Game2Halves (Tyrone) - Posts: 265 - 08/11/2018 16:30:57    2150242

Replying To Belclare1:  "Could've would've should've.... but didnt and haven't since 1951.."
They have beatent them since 1951
Were you living under a rock?

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 08/11/2018 16:55:43    2150249

Replying To tiobraid:  "They have beatent them since 1951
Were you living under a rock?"
Ok What? Yes Mayo have not won Sam since 51..

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 08/11/2018 17:48:38    2150258

Dublin fans fear Mayo more than Galway why ? Because they have given us the fright of our lives on more than one occasion, Galways fans can't understand this as they have had the upper hand on Mayo in recent games thus feel disrespected, that's how fans work. When Galway do to us in championship what Mayo have done in otherwards take us to the death of a game then they will get the respect they so obviously crave

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 08/11/2018 18:32:42    2150269

Replying To Belclare1:  "So you think they could beat Dublin with the same team as last year....."
Same players different management

theduke66 (Dublin) - Posts: 334 - 08/11/2018 18:56:06    2150272

Replying To Damothedub:  "Dublin fans fear Mayo more than Galway why ? Because they have given us the fright of our lives on more than one occasion, Galways fans can't understand this as they have had the upper hand on Mayo in recent games thus feel disrespected, that's how fans work. When Galway do to us in championship what Mayo have done in otherwards take us to the death of a game then they will get the respect they so obviously crave"
The attendance at this years Dublin v Galway game proves your point. If it were Mayo v Dublin it would have been a sell out with many left without tickets This particular Galway team won't be seen as a real threat until they beat or at least run Dublin to the edge of their lives in championship.

And I know Mayo are laughed and mocked by many and that will continue until we actually win Sam...that's a fact.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 08/11/2018 19:03:24    2150273

Replying To Belclare1:  "So you think they could beat Dublin with the same team as last year....."
No. We were badly injury-hit last year but also were playing a cautious brand of football and deserved to lose to Kildare. And ye call us Mexicans. Some Galway supporters anyway. Some might feel offended by that but it's just the craic and banter that comes from cross-border GAA hostilities! Let's all improve this year so one county from across the land can beat this mighty Dublin team. And we'll congratulate them if we can't.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 08/11/2018 19:14:59    2150276