Dubs Drive For 5 - Who Can Stop It?

Replying To GreenandRed:  "How can there be training when a squad hasn't been picked yet? Here's my own take on the difference between trials and training.

Trials:

Scouting for a list of candidates who could be good enough to be county players. Having trial games to narrow down the field for smaller group to make the county squad. 'Yer man had trials for Mayo but he wasn't good enough this year to make the squad'.

Training:

Group manoeuvres designed to improve skills, fitness and teamwork, usuall y, but not inclusively including foitball.
'Yer man was very good at the Mayo trials. He was picked for the FBD squad but he'll need to improve to make the squad for the league. He's training with the squad twice a week.'.

Slagging aside I wouldn't be so quick to rule out Galway. They toke great strides in 2018 and if they improve at the same rate in 2019 will definitely be contenders, plus any team that has Damien Comer should be feared and respected. Hard to know what we'll do under James Horan this time around. We need to get more from play from our forwards while we try to get better replacements. Too much emphasis on scores from Andy and Cillian. We need two or three freetakers to free up Cillian to contribute more from play. Hopefully Horan will have learned from how Rochford peaked us for the '16 and '17 finals whereas he seemed to peak us earlier and we can still be contenders."
I saw the new squad named the other night.. The only players gone are Conor O Shea, Shane Nally, Cian Hanley ( who everyone in Mayo was building up as the great new hope) so all the expierienced older lads stay.. He has brought in a host of new lads . But you know and i know Horan will be getting that squad together very very soon, as in this weekend.. finally i never mentioned Galway but with Mc Daid and Silke back to shore up our half back line I'd be hopeful of a fairly productive year.

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 06/11/2018 12:01:03    2149833

Don't understand the negativity around Galway myself there is huge potential in that panel, young team with very good players in every department, semi final last year was a big let down but they should learn from it. Some good players like McDaid to hopefully come in as well.

Under the right setup I feel there is an All Ireland in them.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 06/11/2018 12:01:54    2149834

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Don't understand the negativity around Galway myself there is huge potential in that panel, young team with very good players in every department, semi final last year was a big let down but they should learn from it. Some good players like McDaid to hopefully come in as well.

Under the right setup I feel there is an All Ireland in them."
Again

I refer you, like GnR to the thread title ..

This is NOT an "Are galway contenders" thread, This is a who can stop Dublin, with emphasis on stop..Dublin.

weve seen Galway can beat Kerry, Weve seen Galway can beat Mayo

But as their year went on 2018, Their results against Dublin got deteriorated. Draw -> 4pt defeat playing 20 minutes with an extra man -> 9 point defeat that was 12 before their late consolation goal.

So, Can they beat a top team - Yes
Can they stop Dublin and knock them out of the championship - As delboy would say - No way Pedro.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 06/11/2018 12:17:23    2149840

Sorry GnR and GeniusKerry

I don't meant to come across as a **** ..

I just think youre answering different questions to the topic of the thread.

Galway are contenders for me, but only if Dublin aren't there.

While Dublin are in the mix, Galway aren't in that mix and hey, that's just my opinion, not meant to offend. My opinion is generally as irrelevant as everyone elses lol

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 06/11/2018 12:35:47    2149845

Replying To waynoI:  "Again

This is NOT an "Are galway contenders" thread, This is a who can stop Dublin, with emphasis on stop..Dublin.

But as their year went on 2018, Their results against Dublin got deteriorated. Draw -> 4pt defeat playing 20 minutes with an extra man -> 9 point defeat that was 12 before their late consolation goal.

Can they stop Dublin and knock them out of the championship - As delboy would say - No way Pedro."
Understand what you're saying but I didn't see any evidence this year that any of the others are in a better position to topple the Dubs in 2019. They all have issues and reasons why they probably won't beat Dublin any time soon.

Galway would need to step up another level but I'd actually argue that they are in a better position to do that in 2019 with their young panel than some of the others. It's unlikely but we'll see.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 06/11/2018 12:53:18    2149858

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "The first time I heard of those type of trials was in the early seventies when Kevin Heffernan took over in Dublin. He contacted all the clubs and asked them to send in two or three of their best players, with an emphasis on the big and mobile rather than the small and skilful. I don't know how many new players the trials threw up but it was the beginning of a very productive era for the Dubs. It was clever on Horans part to include some of the experienced campaigners to give him an idea of where the young lads were at in their development. Personally I'm glad to see Horan back to oversee the rebuilding process. I don't think we will be any danger to the Dubs over the next couple of years, I can't see any bar Kerry troubling them, but hopefully we'll be back in the mix in three or four years time!"
Gilroy was convinced there was hungry players that hadn't been taped into and equally believed you didn't have to be playing div one in Dublin , so I and others found ourselves watching national league games in Parnell Park oh yes and set our eyes on a raw speedy Kevin mc how showed his acceleration before getting sent off , mc cauley showed incredible athleticism, O Sullivan his reading of the game , O Gara oh what a bald head , it's something I think every county probably do these days or at least you would hope so

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 06/11/2018 13:43:11    2149867

Replying To waynoI:  "GnR

The thread is asking who can stop Dublin not about them being contenders. They can put it up to anyone, they can beat a Mayo, or a Kerry on their day which weve seen, but can they beat Dublin ? That's where im ruling them out point blank. They wont beat Dublin in an all Ireland semi final or a final next summer. They just wont and im sorry if that opinion irks a few Galway men on here, I just don't think they have it even if a few players come back from the other side of the world. Dublin will be ravenous next year and they can even afford to lose a couple of games before making a semi final, And the way I see it now is that IF Dublin make it to the semi finals next year, Itll be very hard to see anyone beat them, but if they are, itll be Mayo, Kerry, Tyrone or Donegal."
Sure Dublin could go unbeaten in next years championship and not win the All Ireland. Highly unlikely but it's possible.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 06/11/2018 14:21:52    2149876

Replying To Belclare1:  "I saw the new squad named the other night.. The only players gone are Conor O Shea, Shane Nally, Cian Hanley ( who everyone in Mayo was building up as the great new hope) so all the expierienced older lads stay.. He has brought in a host of new lads . But you know and i know Horan will be getting that squad together very very soon, as in this weekend.. finally i never mentioned Galway but with Mc Daid and Silke back to shore up our half back line I'd be hopeful of a fairly productive year."
I didn't realise you know everyone in Mayo. Respect......

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 06/11/2018 14:24:15    2149878

Replying To GreenandRed:  "I didn't realise you know everyone in Mayo. Respect......"
They're everywhere..

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 06/11/2018 15:01:07    2149889

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "
Replying To waynoI:  "Again

Can they stop Dublin and knock them out of the championship - As delboy would say - No way Pedro."
Understand what you're saying but I didn't see any evidence this year that any of the others are in a better position to topple the Dubs in 2019. They all have issues and reasons why they probably won't beat Dublin any time soon.

Galway would need to step up another level but I'd actually argue that they are in a better position to do that in 2019 with their young panel than some of the others. It's unlikely but we'll see."
Yeah this is my point......albeit made by a Kerryman! I'm not saying Galway will win an All Ireland, but your saying that Mayo et al are the one to beat the Dub, I disagree and I think next year we will be a step closer to being able to compete with Dublin for a full game (not I didnt say beat and I didnt say win an AI)!

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 705 - 06/11/2018 15:45:46    2149905

Saucers of milk all round and we're only in November should be an interesting summer

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 06/11/2018 16:10:47    2149915

Honestly, I couldn't give a toss. I enjoy the days out with family and friends & that is the most important part of it all for me. I am thankful to support a team that is still amatuer in essence & integrity.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 06/11/2018 17:59:07    2149938

Replying To The_DOC:  "
Replying To GeniusGerry:  "[quote=waynoI:  "Again

Galway would need to step up another level but I'd actually argue that they are in a better position to do that in 2019 with their young panel than some of the others. It's unlikely but we'll see."
Yeah this is my point......albeit made by a Kerryman! I'm not saying Galway will win an All Ireland, but your saying that Mayo et al are the one to beat the Dub, I disagree and I think next year we will be a step closer to being able to compete with Dublin for a full game (not I didnt say beat and I didnt say win an AI)!"]Some Galway fans have been writing Mayo off for years...all the way back to that infamous game in Limerick...say something long enough and often enough and you'll eventually be right.

We will try and keep the ball kicked out to ye next summer.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 06/11/2018 18:03:54    2149939

Some of that milk is pretty sour already and it's only November.
You can only imagine what it'll be like next summer.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 06/11/2018 18:04:05    2149940

Replying To greysoil:  "Honestly, I couldn't give a toss. I enjoy the days out with family and friends & that is the most important part of it all for me. I am thankful to support a team that is still amatuer in essence & integrity."
Good post , I'm lucky enough to support the Dubs , I love hurling and we're not the best at that , as for my club less said the better both codes but watch my misplaced enthusiasm come club fixtures next Jan honestly winning is a by product , while I'm loving Dublin's wins I enjoyed the Craic in our barren years

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 06/11/2018 18:31:37    2149945

Replying To greysoil:  "Honestly, I couldn't give a toss. I enjoy the days out with family and friends & that is the most important part of it all for me. I am thankful to support a team that is still amatuer in essence & integrity."
Me too.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/11/2018 18:43:59    2149950

Agree....days going to games with friends, all over the country and abroad....memories for life.

Though it would be nice to win one....I guess your perspective changes depending on which county your from.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 06/11/2018 18:57:37    2149952

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Don't understand the negativity around Galway myself there is huge potential in that panel, young team with very good players in every department, semi final last year was a big let down but they should learn from it. Some good players like McDaid to hopefully come in as well.

Totally agree with you. Of all the contenders to beat us next year, I think Galway have the best chance. They will have to change tactics but I believe the players and belief is there. I certainly wouldn't rule out Kerry or Mayo either given their new management teams but if Galway get motoring I'd fear them the most. Na Dubs abu

CaogaCuig (Dublin) - Posts: 63 - 06/11/2018 23:54:20    2149986

Agree. But personally i think Kevin will give it one more year so our next manageril appointment will be crucial

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 07/11/2018 10:33:51    2150028

Replying To Belclare1:  "Agree. But personally i think Kevin will give it one more year so our next manageril appointment will be crucial"
An Alan Flynn, John Divley, PJ combination management/coaching team would be ideal

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 705 - 07/11/2018 15:10:51    2150064