Club Championships

I'd be interested to hear from other counties this last two weekends and how the finals went
i was at the cavan final yesterday and i have to say i really enjoyed it. its a new pitch and it as well as looking fantastic it paved the way for a fast game. both teams have to be given credit, crosserlough with an average age of 22 played without fear and put together one good attack after the next with great movement and great score taking. it was a clean game but there was nothing soft about it. there was some big hits and credit to the lads they got up and kept going. well done to castlerahan i was delighted for them to finally get their hands on the senior championship and they done it by coming back from 6 points down!!! commiserations to crosserlough but theres a team there that will win championships in the coming years.

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 22/10/2018 10:11:39    2147605

Highlights of the Armagh football final for anyone who hasn't seen it yet [url=]https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/av/northern-ireland/45934807 Some great scores and proper traditional football in front of a big crowd.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 22/10/2018 10:52:31    2147622

Armagh County final
Crossmaglen 0-24 Ballymacnab 1-15

Cross finally win the title after a 2 year famine.
20 of Cross's 24 points were from play.
Aaron Kernan and Johnny Hanratty are playing great football. Oisin's nephews are all stars in the making.
You can sense there's something special happening with this Cross team.

A brilliant county final with great scoring and great fielding. Credit to Ballymacnab who really went for it and played some great stuff. To play so well in the county final, lead for around 45 minutes and not to win must be hard on them.

Dessie_Cross (Armagh) - Posts: 142 - 22/10/2018 12:55:01    2147659

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Both teams were at it in fairness , couldn't understand why Leo kept getting involved , you're the best player on the other team concentrate on the game. These pushing and shoving matches everyone in that happen in every game up and down the country are so boring now and ruin great games , can players just get on with playing the game and stop with all this macho bs were all sick of it."
Indeed they were but no need and ultimately it was Naomh Conniall who suffered. They had a free moved against them given Gweedore an easy tap over to go 3 points up before conceding another silly one there after. The incident for the red card was just dumb.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 22/10/2018 13:32:22    2147674

Replying To panamasam:  "Indeed they were but no need and ultimately it was Naomh Conniall who suffered. They had a free moved against them given Gweedore an easy tap over to go 3 points up before conceding another silly one there after. The incident for the red card was just dumb."
I wouldn't mind his first yellow was a brilliant hand in tackle where he got the ball

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/10/2018 14:23:07    2147694

Replying To Dessie_Cross:  "Armagh County final

Aaron Kernan and Johnny Hanratty are playing great football. Oisin's nephews are all stars in the making.

A brilliant county final with great scoring and great fielding. Credit to Ballymacnab who really went for it and played some great stuff. To play so well in the county final, lead for around 45 minutes and not to win must be hard on them."
Probably another 20 titles in a row for Cross. young talent coming though and the rest of the teams in Armagh seem incapable for producing teams to compete.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 23/10/2018 10:56:17    2147856

Replying To Dessie_Cross:  "Armagh County final

A brilliant county final with great scoring and great fielding. Credit to Ballymacnab who really went for it and played some great stuff. To play so well in the county final, lead for around 45 minutes and not to win must be hard on them."
Dessie, how do the current crop match up in comparison to the great Cross teams of old? Would they be seriously targeting Ulster this year or would there be a feeling that they are still a young side with a bit to learn? I've also heard rumors that Jamie Clarke might be back?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9108 - 23/10/2018 13:09:46    2147891

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Dessie, how do the current crop match up in comparison to the great Cross teams of old? Would they be seriously targeting Ulster this year or would there be a feeling that they are still a young side with a bit to learn? I've also heard rumors that Jamie Clarke might be back?"
I don't think we can compare them yet to the Cross teams of old. I think at least 7 won their first county medals on the field of play on Sunday. I still believe the Cross team of 97-00 were one of the greatest club teams of all time and won't be matched again.
I thought at the start of the Championship they were too young yet and Cullyhanna were looking really good and I thought themselves or Maghery would win it. Now that we are out of Armagh I'd have to say I'd be disappointed if we didn't do well in Ulster. Our full back line would worry me a bit though. We'll have to see how we get on against Coalisland first before any thoughts of an Ulster, them Tyrone boys won't give us anything easy!! We've been very slow out of the blocks and then putting in great second halves. We'd need to start better in Ulster to have a chance. Jamie's back somewhere in Ireland :) but can't play for Cross due to playing for NY in championship I believe, not sure on the ins and outs of the transfer. But he won't be available for Ulster club championship.
For me Gaoth Dobhair or Scotstown have to be favourites.

Dessie_Cross (Armagh) - Posts: 142 - 23/10/2018 15:39:58    2147924

Newtown Blues from Drogheda won the Louth Senior Championship last Sunday in dramatic fashion when they snatched victory from the jaws of defeat by defeating Naomh Martin from Monsterboice on a scoreline of 1-11 to 1-10. The Blues were six points down at one stage and they won the match deep in to added time with a late point. The Blues hold the record of Louth Senior Championships with 22 title's. They have done back to back titles for the first time since 2000/2001. Next up for the Blues is a home match against Eire Og from Carlow in the Leinster Senior Quarter Finals.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 24/10/2018 13:54:37    2148130

Replying To Dessie_Cross:  "I don't think we can compare them yet to the Cross teams of old. I think at least 7 won their first county medals on the field of play on Sunday. I still believe the Cross team of 97-00 were one of the greatest club teams of all time and won't be matched again.
I thought at the start of the Championship they were too young yet and Cullyhanna were looking really good and I thought themselves or Maghery would win it. Now that we are out of Armagh I'd have to say I'd be disappointed if we didn't do well in Ulster. Our full back line would worry me a bit though. We'll have to see how we get on against Coalisland first before any thoughts of an Ulster, them Tyrone boys won't give us anything easy!! We've been very slow out of the blocks and then putting in great second halves. We'd need to start better in Ulster to have a chance. Jamie's back somewhere in Ireland :) but can't play for Cross due to playing for NY in championship I believe, not sure on the ins and outs of the transfer. But he won't be available for Ulster club championship.
For me Gaoth Dobhair or Scotstown have to be favourites."
Interesting to see PP have Cross as favs at 5/2.
Gweedore 3'a and Scotstown 10/3. Not a whole pile in it at all.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9108 - 24/10/2018 14:47:07    2148135

Replying To Dessie_Cross:  "I don't think we can compare them yet to the Cross teams of old. I think at least 7 won their first county medals on the field of play on Sunday. I still believe the Cross team of 97-00 were one of the greatest club teams of all time and won't be matched again.
For me Gaoth Dobhair or Scotstown have to be favourites."
I recall watching the team of 97 and this current team has a lot of the elements of that team. Maybe not quite as strong but not far off it in my opinion. The younger lads would hold their own without a doubt. Ulster would be a tough one as there's a few seasoned teams but a win against Coalisland and ye never know. Momentum can build

RangerDanger (Armagh) - Posts: 101 - 24/10/2018 19:25:37    2148188

Some big games up for decision this weekend. I've given my predictions although I must confess to having limited knowledge of the Munster club scene,

Connacht club SFC quarter-finals
Clann na Gael (Roscommon) v Tir Chonaill Gaels (London)
Have to fancy the Roscommon boys here especially at home

Tourlestrane (Sligo) v Ballintubber (Mayo),
Ballintubber. Their manager will know Tourlestrane inside out and in the O'Connors have the firepower.

Munster club SFC quarter-finals
Adare (Limerick) v The Nire (Waterford)
Toss of a coin stuff here. I'll go with Adare to prevail.

Moyle Rovers (Tipperary) v Dr Crokes (Kerry)
Crokes to prove too strong.

Ulster club SFC quarter-finals
Cargin (Antrim) v Gweedore (Donegal)
I have a few pound on Gaoth Dobhair to win Ulster so I have to back them here.

Castlerahan (Cavan) v Coleraine (Derry)
Derry club football is very strong and Castlerahan may be content having finally got over the line in Cavan. Coleraine to win.

Burren (Down) v Scotstown (Monaghan)
This could be a cracker. Burren knocked Kilcoo off their perch and Scotstown appear to be on a roll. I'll give Scotstown the nod

Galway SFC final replay
Corofin v Mountbellew-Moylough

I fear the MM lads may have missed their chance. Corofin to do the business.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9108 - 31/10/2018 15:18:04    2148896

Crossmaglen (Armagh) v Coalisland (Tyrone)

Verdict: We haven't gone away you know.

Dessie_Cross (Armagh) - Posts: 142 - 31/10/2018 17:00:14    2148912

Replying To Dessie_Cross:  "Crossmaglen (Armagh) v Coalisland (Tyrone)

Verdict: We haven't gone away you know."
Forgot about the Cross game! It'll be a good battle that and hard to call. I'll give the Armagh men the nod! They have the know how to navigate these Ulster games.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9108 - 01/11/2018 09:38:55    2148977

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Interesting to see PP have Cross as favs at 5/2.
Gweedore 3'a and Scotstown 10/3. Not a whole pile in it at all."
Unless Scotstown have improved 100% from their hammering against Kilcar in Clones last year then I can't see them winning Ulster.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 01/11/2018 16:46:13    2149129

Most of the games went as predicted. Gaoth Dobhair lined out without MacNíallais and Odhran McFadden/Ferry, two of the standout performers in the county final. Then they lost Kieran Gillespie to injury from the throw in - he seemed to dislocate his knee or something and was stretchered off. Hopefully it's not too serious. The lad has had no luck with injuries. It'd be a disaster for Gaoth Dobhair and Donegal if he's out long term.

On the game itself Gaoth Dobhair looked to have it wrapped up at half time. They looked like opening Cargin up for a goal every time they attacked. But fair play to Carggin they gave GD some fright in the second half. The lead was down to 2 points at one stage before GD pulled away again.

Cross will be a big step up and it should be a cracker!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9108 - 05/11/2018 08:39:21    2149587

Cross beat Coalisland to move on. Not a vintage performance but a strong finish from Cross. Aaron Kernan still doing it and the 2 O'Neills getting the scores. Lots of yellows, lads acting the maggot and 2 sendings off apiece. Niggly stuff moreso than dirty. I think refs in Armagh let the game go more and get on with it. This ref was the opposite. Coalisland kicked a lot of bad wides and Cross missed a few goal chances. We were a bit lucky to shade it. But first round Ulster Championship is all about getting over the line.

Next up Gaoth Dobhair. This should be more open and a better game. Saturday nights performance would not beat them. Although I believe they let Cargin back into a game they dominated.

Verdict: Gaoth Dobhair could well be the better team but when it goes into the melting pot on 50 minutes Cross may eek out them scores to pip it. However if we don't get get going earlier this time we may run out of time. I can't choose a winner here. Its too tight to call. I just hope from a Cross perspective we play better than against Coalisland which we can. If we play the same again Gaoth Dobhair will win simple as that.

Dessie_Cross (Armagh) - Posts: 142 - 06/11/2018 16:57:19    2149921

Absolutely gutted to hear that Kieran Gillespie has done his ACL. Massive loss to Gaoth Dobhair and Donegal too. Was challenging Neil for the full back slot for the county team a couple of years back but has really struggles with injuries since and now this just when he was coming good again. Really feel for the lad

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 06/11/2018 19:02:09    2149954

Replying To benjyyy:  "Absolutely gutted to hear that Kieran Gillespie has done his ACL. Massive loss to Gaoth Dobhair and Donegal too. Was challenging Neil for the full back slot for the county team a couple of years back but has really struggles with injuries since and now this just when he was coming good again. Really feel for the lad"
Same as that. Absolutely gutted for the lad. I rate him so highly but he's just had a torturous time with injuries. Watching him in the club championship he was like a Rolls Royce covering the ground. So powerful but smooth in his movement.

I had high hopes that next year was the year the rest of the country would sit up and take notice of him. Looks like he'll have a lengthy recover period though so all we can do is wish him the best with that.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9108 - 06/11/2018 20:45:09    2149966

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Same as that. Absolutely gutted for the lad. I rate him so highly but he's just had a torturous time with injuries. Watching him in the club championship he was like a Rolls Royce covering the ground. So powerful but smooth in his movement.

I had high hopes that next year was the year the rest of the country would sit up and take notice of him. Looks like he'll have a lengthy recover period though so all we can do is wish him the best with that."
Ya gutted for the lad. Rather bad luck than his luck with injuries. I think it was hips before so hopefully he can get over this next set back with youth on his side. A terrific young player whom I hope in time will still have people taking notice of him as a player not just in Donegal.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 07/11/2018 01:23:23    2149991