Club Championships

Replying To katser:  "Well I'm going for a Galway double in the Club All Ireland...Corofin(football) St.Thomas'(hurling)"
I hope you're right!

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 28/11/2018 18:52:02    2152753

Replying To Trump2020:  "I hope you're right!"
Me too!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2192 - 28/11/2018 20:29:31    2152766

Big game in Omagh this weekend. It'll be interesting to see how it pans out tactically. Scotstown like to press the opposition kickouts. But if they leave wide open space Gaoth Dobhair have the runners to cause major problems, as Crossmaglen found out to their cost. Beggan's kickouts, and perhaps even more importantly his sorties up the field to create overlaps give Scotstown a significant weapon. So it'll be interesting to see how they cope with that.

Predicting a Gaoth Dobhair win by a couple of points.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9108 - 29/11/2018 10:51:31    2152803

The bookies seem to think that Kilcummin of Kerry are a shoe in for the All Ireland Intermediate Football Championship. Are they very strong? Do they have any county players? Two Mile House from Kildare are quite strong and will likely win Leinster.

11jm11 (Kildare) - Posts: 365 - 29/11/2018 12:33:39    2152822

Replying To katser:  "Well I'm going for a Galway double in the Club All Ireland...Corofin(football) St.Thomas'(hurling)"
Both teams are good enough to win but the opposition is very stiff in both codes.

WoodlawnPat (Galway) - Posts: 288 - 29/11/2018 19:45:16    2152856

Replying To 11jm11:  "The bookies seem to think that Kilcummin of Kerry are a shoe in for the All Ireland Intermediate Football Championship. Are they very strong? Do they have any county players? Two Mile House from Kildare are quite strong and will likely win Leinster."
Kerry teams have been very successful in the intermediate (and junior) grades.
One reason for this is that there are only 8 actual senior clubs in Kerry. The rest are divisional teams made up of intermediate and junior clubs.
As a result, the team that wins intermediate is essentially 9th best club in Kerry that year.
In Galway we had 20 senior clubs this year (this is being reduced), so it means our team An Spidéal would be 21st in the county, if you were to rank them on the year.
That's obviously a very significant difference.
Kilcummin have Kevin McCarthy and Brendan Kealy, I believe.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2033 - 30/11/2018 11:54:01    2152899

Replying To 11jm11:  "The bookies seem to think that Kilcummin of Kerry are a shoe in for the All Ireland Intermediate Football Championship. Are they very strong? Do they have any county players? Two Mile House from Kildare are quite strong and will likely win Leinster."
Saw Kilcummin against Fermoy, they have 3 or 4 players that are absolute quality for intermediate standard, Matt Keane, Kevin McCarthy and Brendan Kealy.

They will be there or thereabouts to win the All Ireland, though the Tyrone champions are usually strong at this grade also.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 712 - 30/11/2018 13:04:23    2152907

Saw Kilcummin against Fermoy, they have 3 or 4 players that are absolute quality for intermediate standard, Matt Keane, Kevin McCarthy and Brendan Kealy.

They will be there or thereabouts to win the All Ireland, though the Tyrone champions are usually strong at this grade also.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 712 - 30/11/2018 13:06:05    2152908

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Kerry teams have been very successful in the intermediate (and junior) grades.
One reason for this is that there are only 8 actual senior clubs in Kerry. The rest are divisional teams made up of intermediate and junior clubs.
As a result, the team that wins intermediate is essentially 9th best club in Kerry that year.
In Galway we had 20 senior clubs this year (this is being reduced), so it means our team An Spidéal would be 21st in the county, if you were to rank them on the year.
Kilcummin have Kevin McCarthy and Brendan Kealy, I believe."
That's interesting. I never realised there are only 8 senior clubs in Kerry.
If Two Mile House can win Leinster next week I think they'll have every chance of winning their second All -Ireland title in four years, having won the All Ireland junior title in 2014.
From junior to senior within Four years is no mean achievement for a small rural club in Kildare.
The big test though for them will be the step up to playing senior championship football next year

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2986 - 30/11/2018 13:38:58    2152911

Replying To Past hurler:  "Saw Kilcummin against Fermoy, they have 3 or 4 players that are absolute quality for intermediate standard, Matt Keane, Kevin McCarthy and Brendan Kealy.

They will be there or thereabouts to win the All Ireland, though the Tyrone champions are usually strong at this grade also."
The Tyrone champions are gone in Ulster. It's Mullahoran (Cavan) vs Naomh Eanna (Antrim) in the decider.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9108 - 30/11/2018 13:49:25    2152912

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Kerry teams have been very successful in the intermediate (and junior) grades.
Kilcummin have Kevin McCarthy and Brendan Kealy, I believe."
By that measure, TMH are the 17th best team in Kildare. Easy to see now why Kilcummin are such hot favourites.

11jm11 (Kildare) - Posts: 365 - 30/11/2018 15:07:07    2152923

Replying To lilywhite1:  "That's interesting. I never realised there are only 8 senior clubs in Kerry.
If Two Mile House can win Leinster next week I think they'll have every chance of winning their second All -Ireland title in four years, having won the All Ireland junior title in 2014.
From junior to senior within Four years is no mean achievement for a small rural club in Kildare.
The big test though for them will be the step up to playing senior championship football next year"
A great achievement alright. Interesting enough that the team Two Mile House beat in that junior final was Fuerty of Roscommon. They won the Roscommon intermediate title this year and lost the Connacht final to An Spidéal a couple of weeks ago.
The fact that there's a provincial and All-Ireland series on offer for these clubs is great, and often pushes them on to greater success at a higher grade.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2033 - 30/11/2018 15:15:22    2152924

Replying To WoodlawnPat:  "Both teams are good enough to win but the opposition is very stiff in both codes."
That would be a great achievement. Good luck to both teams.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 30/11/2018 16:14:49    2152932

Replying To 11jm11:  "By that measure, TMH are the 17th best team in Kildare. Easy to see now why Kilcummin are such hot favourites."
In all fairness you both are being a bit hard on your Inter Champs, by my reckoning An Spideal should be ranked at least 20th and Two Mile House at least 16th. Why because they leapfrog the lowest team in Senior whom I assume are relegated.

As for the Championship structure militating against clubs competitions in Inter and Junior provincial Championships you are both spot on. Of course Kerry Intermediate and Junior clubs have a serious advantage. Their Inter Champions by my criteria would be ranked 8th (assuming that there is relegation from the Kerry Senior Championship) is a huge advantage in itself but they have another hidden advantage in that some team members most likely played with a Divisional team in the Senior Championship. Playing at a higher level a few months ago has to be an advantage.

However most counties point blank refuse to adopt the Kerry model. Any other organization in the World that is attempting to improve itself would seek out and try and emulate the Number 1 exponent of any activity. But here in Ireland we have it on our doorstep and we blindly refuse to even a quarter way down their successful path.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1061 - 30/11/2018 17:30:28    2152945

Replying To WanPintWin:  "A great achievement alright. Interesting enough that the team Two Mile House beat in that junior final was Fuerty of Roscommon. They won the Roscommon intermediate title this year and lost the Connacht final to An Spidéal a couple of weeks ago.
The fact that there's a provincial and All-Ireland series on offer for these clubs is great, and often pushes them on to greater success at a higher grade."
The man who brought in the junior and intermediate allireland championships was none other than our very own Sean Kelly when he was GAA president and would ye believe that Sean is actually a native of kilcummin himself born and starved.

Sean was also the GAA president that opened up crokepark to soccer rugby and American football.

Not a bad term by and by.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/11/2018 19:20:34    2152956

Replying To MillerX:  "In all fairness you both are being a bit hard on your Inter Champs, by my reckoning An Spideal should be ranked at least 20th and Two Mile House at least 16th. Why because they leapfrog the lowest team in Senior whom I assume are relegated.

As for the Championship structure militating against clubs competitions in Inter and Junior provincial Championships you are both spot on. Of course Kerry Intermediate and Junior clubs have a serious advantage. Their Inter Champions by my criteria would be ranked 8th (assuming that there is relegation from the Kerry Senior Championship) is a huge advantage in itself but they have another hidden advantage in that some team members most likely played with a Divisional team in the Senior Championship. Playing at a higher level a few months ago has to be an advantage.

However most counties point blank refuse to adopt the Kerry model. Any other organization in the World that is attempting to improve itself would seek out and try and emulate the Number 1 exponent of any activity. But here in Ireland we have it on our doorstep and we blindly refuse to even a quarter way down their successful path."
You are correct Miller X. Two Mile House would be regarded now as the 16th Senior team in Kildare as they replaced Leixlip who were relegated.
As regards adopting the Kerry model I don't think Senior teams whether in Kildare, Meath or elsewhere would agree to be arbitrarily being demoted to intermediate

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2986 - 01/12/2018 17:16:05    2153018

Replying To lilywhite1:  "You are correct Miller X. Two Mile House would be regarded now as the 16th Senior team in Kildare as they replaced Leixlip who were relegated.
As regards adopting the Kerry model I don't think Senior teams whether in Kildare, Meath or elsewhere would agree to be arbitrarily being demoted to intermediate"
Well there wouldn't be arbitrary relegations, as Meath county board found out. We've a lopsided 20 team Junior Championship since 2 years ago the county board tried to promote some 1st teams and relegate some 2nd teams at the stroke of a pen. The relegated teams took a case to Leinster council and won, meaning all of the teams got to stay in the Junior championship.

What should happen is a phased introduction, where the clubs will vote that 2 teams be relegated every year and only one promoted, over however many years it takes to reduce the numbers.

Won't happen in Meath though as clubs seem to take immense pride in sitting on the bottom of their grades winning one game a year to survive. If it went to a vote I'd say we'd have a 52 team Senior championship as everyone would want to be in it.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1642 - 01/12/2018 18:34:35    2153022

The Kerry model would be hard to introduce in many counties though. The geographical spread of clubs isn't the same. In Kerry there are lots of rural clubs spread all over the county.
I also don't think having only 8 senior clubs is necessarily the best approach. There's something a bit strange about over half of the senior championship being made up of representative teams.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2033 - 02/12/2018 02:18:40    2153046

Any links for t na g? In work, donegal lad is mad to see the ulster club final

just_the_facts (Cavan) - Posts: 163 - 02/12/2018 10:07:57    2153049

Replying To just_the_facts:  "Any links for t na g? In work, donegal lad is mad to see the ulster club final"
TG4 player will do it.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2033 - 02/12/2018 12:21:12    2153055