Is Limerick's Success False, Tarnished And Bought?

Replying To jimbodub:  "JP wouldnt have a brass cent left..."
But I thought cause Dublin have all the sponsorship and money or is it just why ye win football, people have to make that excuse and can't just say ye are brilliant footballers.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 05/09/2018 20:30:22    2139641

Replying To shoulderghost:  "Oh Jaysus, Oldtourman (almost always like your posts on Limk forum) will you relax and stop showing your age. This just a humorous, smart, and enjoyable thread. That's if you get where it's coming from!

Enjoy it. It's good banter!"
All right you are right. However I was glad to get a chance to have a cut at those LImerick bussnesses who have supported GAA anyway. As far as showing is concerner, isn't that what I got my antiquity for.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4315 - 05/09/2018 21:37:56    2139663

Replying To slayer:  "Being perfectly honest ............

I wouldn't care if we as a county had to spend 25Bn on winning the All-Ireland hurling title.

Thankfully it was only somewhere between 1973 - 2018 million Euro.

Up Limerick!"
25 billion???. We got way,way more than boy- you cant train a team on peanuts.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4315 - 05/09/2018 21:39:43    2139665

Nothing will tarnish Limericks All-Ireland success. They won the most difficult
hurling championship ever, beating the top traditional hurling teams on route
i.e. Kilkenny, Cork and Tipperary, beating the All-Ireland champions 2017, Galway
and the All-Ireland runners up, Waterford. Considering their average is only 23,
the future is bright for Limerick hurling.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 597 - 06/09/2018 13:36:08    2139816

Baseball's championship is known as the "World Series" because it was originally sponsored by the New York World newspaper.

It's not because our yankee friends assumed baseball is played in and popular all over the world.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11225 - 06/09/2018 15:42:06    2139845

Replying To fainleog:  "Nothing will tarnish Limericks All-Ireland success. They won the most difficult
hurling championship ever, beating the top traditional hurling teams on route
i.e. Kilkenny, Cork and Tipperary, beating the All-Ireland champions 2017, Galway
and the All-Ireland runners up, Waterford. Considering their average is only 23,
the future is bright for Limerick hurling."
Not even winning Munster?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 06/09/2018 18:38:41    2139909

Replying To jimbodub:  "Not even winning Munster?"
No,not even to the slightest degree. It did not tarnish the victories of Offaly (98), Cork (04), Tipp (10) Kk (12) or Clare (13) so why it tarnish ours?

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4315 - 06/09/2018 21:40:34    2139959

Replying To Concerned_Supp:  "I mean all this money billionaire JP McManus and his brother Gerry under the banner "Sporting Limerick" have been pumping into Limerick GAA at all levels over the past 20 years to become "World Champions"."
OMG the football disease "Dublinitis" is now infecting Hurling - I have honestly heard it all.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4893 - 07/09/2018 00:04:51    2140002

Replying To cityman73:  "But I thought cause Dublin have all the sponsorship and money or is it just why ye win football, people have to make that excuse and can't just say ye are brilliant footballers."
Oh no Cityman73 you can't have lads admitting that. The only reason we are so good is because everyone else is crap.
The only reason we're winning is because of money.
The only reason we're so good is because we never win anywhere only Croke Park.
Let the begrudgers keep saying all those things because they have actually helped drive this group on.
What a bunch of clowns.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 07/09/2018 07:48:18    2140014

Replying To Oldtourman:  "No,not even to the slightest degree. It did not tarnish the victories of Offaly (98), Cork (04), Tipp (10) Kk (12) or Clare (13) so why it tarnish ours?"
Ahh it does

Sure isn't the Munster Hurling Championship not one of the greatest features of the GAA?

Isn't that what we've had to listen to for decades?

You can't be champions of ALL when you're not even champions of your own highly prestigious home province championship

Enjoy it of course but Galway lost the same amount of games as yourselves in the 2018 Championship

Ever since this back door stuff was introduced unfortunately over certain years it's diminished the once great title of ALL Ireland Champion.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 07/09/2018 11:37:21    2140082

Go aisy now Jimbo, go Aisy!!!

Limerick won Liam this year by being the best team in the country. Lets not forget the same Cork couldn't beat limerick, in Cork, with an extra man for the bones of 50 minutes
Limerick had an off day V Clare, in Clare and got caught. That's what happens when teams have to go out of their comfort zones of their home surrounds to play a decent side, you get me Jimbo!!! ;)

Go Aisy now Jimbo !

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 07/09/2018 11:45:20    2140084

Replying To jimbodub:  "Ahh it does

Sure isn't the Munster Hurling Championship not one of the greatest features of the GAA?

You can't be champions of ALL when you're not even champions of your own highly prestigious home province championship

Enjoy it of course but Galway lost the same amount of games as yourselves in the 2018 Championship

Ever since this back door stuff was introduced unfortunately over certain years it's diminished the once great title of ALL Ireland Champion."
Ah, but they lost the one that really mattered.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4315 - 07/09/2018 18:30:34    2140211

Whatever was in that ice cream van after training won them the all Ireland!!!
That's my guess anyway!!
Again well done to Limerick the buzz around the place is fantastic around here.
Best team by a country mile all year.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 07/09/2018 18:51:42    2140215

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Oh no Cityman73 you can't have lads admitting that. The only reason we are so good is because everyone else is crap.
The only reason we're winning is because of money.
The only reason we're so good is because we never win anywhere only Croke Park.
Let the begrudgers keep saying all those things because they have actually helped drive this group on.
What a bunch of clowns."
Couldn't agree with you more,I remember when we were playing ye in the league in the football, good few years ago in limerick and ye out numbered us, couldn't of met nicer fans.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 07/09/2018 21:24:38    2140240

Replying To Concerned_Supp:  "Thread was posted purely jest with the one about Dublin! Limerick's All Ireland was truly earned. JP McManus has supported Limerick all his life and I admire him for that. Money can't buy success on the pitch but would Limerick be where they are now without JP?"
All right. You rose a great 'auld' hare there.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4315 - 07/09/2018 21:28:50    2140242

Replying To jimbodub:  "Ahh it does

Ever since this back door stuff was introduced unfortunately over certain years it's diminished the once great title of ALL Ireland Champion."
Sure someday Dublin might win the ALL Ireland football championship if ourselves in Kilkenny take part in it. We currently don't, so it's not an ALL Ireland.

Dublin went 16 years without an All Ireland, there would be riots in Kilkenny if we went that long without an All Ireland!

Number 37 can't be far away for us, Cody will deliver in next 3 years again.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 709 - 07/09/2018 22:17:13    2140253