U21 Tipp V Galway Red Cards

hurling may not have been upto the level we are getting used to but for value for money and watchability this was some game...thought the red card issued to the Tipp forward was totally incorrect, ok he body tackled the keeper on his way out, it was the Galway keepers own hurl that accidentally flew up and hit his own helmet face on..he then fell awkwardly and hit his the back of his head...this all stemmed from a hand around the middle which would have been a straight forward free out normally...in this instance a yellow card at a push...red card fierce harsh..you could see the Tipp players anguish leaving the field...the kick in the groin by the Galway player on the Tipp player was a straight red,,the Tipp player continued to foul/pull down the Galway player after the whistle went, which should have been dealt with AFTER the sending off..I suppose those at the match only got to see these events live and may think otherwise....

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 09/08/2018 14:10:23    2131220

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "hurling may not have been upto the level we are getting used to but for value for money and watchability this was some game...thought the red card issued to the Tipp forward was totally incorrect, ok he body tackled the keeper on his way out, it was the Galway keepers own hurl that accidentally flew up and hit his own helmet face on..he then fell awkwardly and hit his the back of his head...this all stemmed from a hand around the middle which would have been a straight forward free out normally...in this instance a yellow card at a push...red card fierce harsh..you could see the Tipp players anguish leaving the field...the kick in the groin by the Galway player on the Tipp player was a straight red,,the Tipp player continued to foul/pull down the Galway player after the whistle went, which should have been dealt with AFTER the sending off..I suppose those at the match only got to see these events live and may think otherwise...."
Brian McGrath was dealt with after the sending off. Cleere booked him for hanging out of Cian Salmon and that was the right decision because he made no effort to play the ball. Salmon can have no complaints for his moment of madness, hopefully he will lead from it and control his frustration in future. Cleere overturned the free in and threw the ball in instead and that was the right thing to do too.

The Kehoe sending off was great and turned the game. I hope it is rescinded and he gets to play against Cork.

The other sending off was right too. You can't strike a guy with your Hurley anymore.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 09/08/2018 14:34:52    2131229

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "hurling may not have been upto the level we are getting used to but for value for money and watchability this was some game...thought the red card issued to the Tipp forward was totally incorrect, ok he body tackled the keeper on his way out, it was the Galway keepers own hurl that accidentally flew up and hit his own helmet face on..he then fell awkwardly and hit his the back of his head...this all stemmed from a hand around the middle which would have been a straight forward free out normally...in this instance a yellow card at a push...red card fierce harsh..you could see the Tipp players anguish leaving the field...the kick in the groin by the Galway player on the Tipp player was a straight red,,the Tipp player continued to foul/pull down the Galway player after the whistle went, which should have been dealt with AFTER the sending off..I suppose those at the match only got to see these events live and may think otherwise...."
I agree with you completely. The Tipp lad should not have been sent off. It was a yellow at worst, the contact he made with his arm was chest height.

Miami305 (Galway) - Posts: 147 - 09/08/2018 15:06:24    2131242

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Brian McGrath was dealt with after the sending off. Cleere booked him for hanging out of Cian Salmon and that was the right decision because he made no effort to play the ball. Salmon can have no complaints for his moment of madness, hopefully he will lead from it and control his frustration in future. Cleere overturned the free in and threw the ball in instead and that was the right thing to do too.

The Kehoe sending off was great and turned the game. I hope it is rescinded and he gets to play against Cork.

The other sending off was right too. You can't strike a guy with your Hurley anymore."
I must spell check my posts. The Kehoe sending off was anything but great. It was a bad call by the referee.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 09/08/2018 16:39:50    2131274

Replying To Killarney.87:  "I must spell check my posts. The Kehoe sending off was anything but great. It was a bad call by the referee."
spot on...a terrible call..

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 09/08/2018 17:55:10    2131291

I know this issue is about red cards but Tipp got under Galways skin from the off.
Everything went against Galway firstly match delayed by a few days then bus breaks down or has some trouble. Throws them completely off by throw in.
A point is waved wide at the start and Tipp get first score to sieze the momentum.
Galway lost total focus which is strange for this team they have had a great year beating KK and Wexford is no mean feat at this grade.
Didn't see this Tipp performance coming and maybe Galway were caught off guard by Tipps approach that they had a few moments of madness instead of keeping cool.
Hope Keohe gets to play in the final I don't blame the Galway keeper for his part he was the man in possession and rightly entitled to advance.
Thought the ref had a stinker few strange decisions against both teams. If I'm not wrong Sean Cleere has refereed two Tipp games this year and sent off a player in each game. Nothing against Cleere but he had a bad day at the office happens the best of refs.
As for the two Galway lads feel sorry for them but you got to keep your head. There not dirty hurlers both have been savage underage at minor and will have big futures at intercounty senior but need to just learn self control.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 09/08/2018 18:41:58    2131305

Galway had plenty of chances, just couldnt score, especially those early wides, 6 in first 6 minutes,which seemed to drain confidence. Tipps shooting was very good in first half . Both Galway reds were deserved and the Tipp red should have been a yellow, no more. Ref reacted to the unfortunate injury and not the offence of pulling down. Ref for some reason wouldnt play advantage rule in first 10 minutes, blowing instantly and not allowing 5 seconds.

conordee (Galway) - Posts: 440 - 09/08/2018 20:40:35    2131331

Replying To WildPundit:  "I know this issue is about red cards but Tipp got under Galways skin from the off.
Everything went against Galway firstly match delayed by a few days then bus breaks down or has some trouble. Throws them completely off by throw in.
A point is waved wide at the start and Tipp get first score to sieze the momentum.
Galway lost total focus which is strange for this team they have had a great year beating KK and Wexford is no mean feat at this grade.
Didn't see this Tipp performance coming and maybe Galway were caught off guard by Tipps approach that they had a few moments of madness instead of keeping cool.
Hope Keohe gets to play in the final I don't blame the Galway keeper for his part he was the man in possession and rightly entitled to advance.
Thought the ref had a stinker few strange decisions against both teams. If I'm not wrong Sean Cleere has refereed two Tipp games this year and sent off a player in each game. Nothing against Cleere but he had a bad day at the office happens the best of refs.
As for the two Galway lads feel sorry for them but you got to keep your head. There not dirty hurlers both have been savage underage at minor and will have big futures at intercounty senior but need to just learn self control."
Actually thought the ref was excellent. I can see the argument against the Tipp lads dismissal but it was a dangerous tackle. Concannon barely touched the Tipp player who rolled around the ground Neymar-like but he did stab with his hurl so he can have no complaints. It's a very expensive lesson for him since I assume it rules him out of the senior final and he is a player who most definitely could have seen action against Limerick. One option less that we have from the bench.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 09/08/2018 20:46:56    2131335

Replying To WildPundit:  "I know this issue is about red cards but Tipp got under Galways skin from the off.
As for the two Galway lads feel sorry for them but you got to keep your head. There not dirty hurlers both have been savage underage at minor and will have big futures at intercounty senior but need to just learn self control."
The sending off of the Tipp lad was extremely harsh but I had a feeling he'd give a red because Galway were down to 14 already. I don't mean that as a slight on the ref, but we see it happen so often. It should have been a yellow at worst.
Tipp were much the better team on the evening. After the hammering Cork gave Wexford, who Galway went life and death with in the Leinster final, there were signs that Munster was a lot stronger than Leinster this year.
Fair play to Tipp for bouncing back from a fairly bad beating to Cork themselves. There are some fine hurlers on that team.
It'll be interesting to see how the second meeting shapes up.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2034 - 09/08/2018 21:51:03    2131352

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Actually thought the ref was excellent. I can see the argument against the Tipp lads dismissal but it was a dangerous tackle. Concannon barely touched the Tipp player who rolled around the ground Neymar-like but he did stab with his hurl so he can have no complaints. It's a very expensive lesson for him since I assume it rules him out of the senior final and he is a player who most definitely could have seen action against Limerick. One option less that we have from the bench."
Shouldn't rule Concannon out of the senior final - different competitions.

Torcaill (Australia) - Posts: 204 - 09/08/2018 22:32:57    2131373

Galway hurlers will be ok when they get a different Coaching and a different manager. JEFF LYNSKEY of the Minors should have the lot of them. I never saw such a brand of hurling played in all my life like Galway did in the first half. bad enough GAA Football passing Backwards and going nowhere, but Hurlers?? For Pete's sake, what were they at?? Galway way better than that, but needs a proper Coach and Manager.

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 09/08/2018 23:07:11    2131387

the tipp red card was very harsh.
neither of the galway ones were undeserved,i played in manys the physical match back in the day,gave as good as i got,and got and gave plenty,over stepped the line on occasion.
i can honestly say,no opponent ever hit me in the stones,nor would i have,i think it is the lowest act any player can do.both these galway players should be ashamed of themselves.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1532 - 09/08/2018 18:41:58

well they got a point in the leinster final which was about 2 ft wide and everybody in the stand agreed,so maybe it is karma.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 10/08/2018 08:27:51    2131429

Replying To SAMMYTHEBULL:  "Galway hurlers will be ok when they get a different Coaching and a different manager. JEFF LYNSKEY of the Minors should have the lot of them. I never saw such a brand of hurling played in all my life like Galway did in the first half. bad enough GAA Football passing Backwards and going nowhere, but Hurlers?? For Pete's sake, what were they at?? Galway way better than that, but needs a proper Coach and Manager."
francis forde is with seniors and also u21s ....ye'r u 21 team isnt good enough. ye and wexford are on a par and look what cork did to wexford.

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1095 - 10/08/2018 09:09:46    2131434

Replying To perfect10:  "the tipp red card was very harsh.
neither of the galway ones were undeserved,i played in manys the physical match back in the day,gave as good as i got,and got and gave plenty,over stepped the line on occasion.
i can honestly say,no opponent ever hit me in the stones,nor would i have,i think it is the lowest act any player can do.both these galway players should be ashamed of themselves.

well they got a point in the leinster final which was about 2 ft wide and everybody in the stand agreed,so maybe it is karma."
You seem to be drawn to Galway topics like a moth to a flame.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2034 - 10/08/2018 09:29:36    2131439

Replying To munsterchamps:  "francis forde is with seniors and also u21s ....ye'r u 21 team isnt good enough. ye and wexford are on a par and look what cork did to wexford."
They were every bit good enough. Primarily the minor All Ireland champions of 3 years ago. I'd expect if they were to play that Tipp team 3 times they'd win 2 or them. That's not to take away from Tipp who deservedly won on the night. Remarkable turn around in fortunes for them but it is hard to see anything only a comfortable Cork win in the final. We didn't play to our full potential and for that there are people within the camp that should be having a look at themselves.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 10/08/2018 13:17:44    2131522

Replying To perfect10:  "the tipp red card was very harsh.

well they got a point in the leinster final which was about 2 ft wide and everybody in the stand agreed,so maybe it is karma."
Well the ref did his best for ye in the Leinster final so maybe it was karma that ye lost to a last second goal.
Karma is tough.
Also if my county had put up such a pathetic performance as ye did last Saturday I wouldn't be having a go at anyone else.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 10/08/2018 13:48:36    2131530

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "They were every bit good enough. Primarily the minor All Ireland champions of 3 years ago. I'd expect if they were to play that Tipp team 3 times they'd win 2 or them. That's not to take away from Tipp who deservedly won on the night. Remarkable turn around in fortunes for them but it is hard to see anything only a comfortable Cork win in the final. We didn't play to our full potential and for that there are people within the camp that should be having a look at themselves."
Including the bus maintenance 'backroom'!

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 10/08/2018 14:01:05    2131536