David Clifford

Hats off

What a season he had!

Great to watch and as only a young lad.. isn't he still a teenager.. he carried Kerry at times.

I think Kerry are a few more seasons away though as that defence is not going to be winning much.

But welll done young man. You offer hope to the Kerry support.

Pity so many Kerry supporters left the game early last night and declined to offer support to a young side for the next season ahead..

Many called for youth to be introduced and then fecked off early before supporting what they wanted.

Again. Hats off to David Clifford. The new DC.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 05/08/2018 13:51:58    2129346

Super player, has it all.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 05/08/2018 14:27:09    2129354

Looks to have a good temperament. No comparisons to DC please.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 05/08/2018 14:39:08    2129359

Quality player, has the attributes to be one of the best.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 05/08/2018 14:41:15    2129361

He's a big strong player that's a handful for any defender. I hope they don't lose him to Aussie rules.

XPAC (Westmeath) - Posts: 86 - 05/08/2018 14:46:04    2129365

Looking forward to watching him over the next 10 years, hopefully injury free. Stylish , classy footballer and seems to have a calm head too.

catchturnscore (Longford) - Posts: 149 - 05/08/2018 14:48:33    2129366

Replying To XPAC:  "He's a big strong player that's a handful for any defender. I hope they don't lose him to Aussie rules."
Don't think he's athletic enough for the Aussie rules so can't see them looking for him.

catchturnscore (Longford) - Posts: 149 - 05/08/2018 14:54:40    2129370

What a pure stud this lad is. Barely out of the minors and with all the hype surrounding him he only flourished under that pressure. Kerry are lucky to have him.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2119 - 05/08/2018 18:17:14    2129525

He's an exciting talent. No doubt.

We've been unlucky with some gems heading down under. Losing a player of the calibre of Tommy Walsh after 09. Mark O'Connor heading down under. Coupled with years of neglecting the youth, it's a long and winding road back. Those failings lie at our door. It's been address at minor level in recent years. The 2014 minor All-Ireland was the fruits of work in the years preceding that obviously.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7840 - 06/08/2018 10:45:52    2129903

A good player alright, fair play to him in his first year of senior football. Will be in the running for young player of the year without doubt.

Seems like a nice lad as well, he spoke very well on Sky Sports after the game and i thought it was very commendable that he backed Fitzmaurice, very classy.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 06/08/2018 12:35:20    2129950

Replying To TheUsername:  "A good player alright, fair play to him in his first year of senior football. Will be in the running for young player of the year without doubt.

Seems like a nice lad as well, he spoke very well on Sky Sports after the game and i thought it was very commendable that he backed Fitzmaurice, very classy."
Is Brian Howard young enough for YPOTY?

If not, I think it's Cliffords award all the way.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 06/08/2018 13:09:52    2129978

My favourite player to watch this year bar none. He will be unmark-able next year.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 06/08/2018 13:18:05    2129986

Replying To cavanman47:  "Is Brian Howard young enough for YPOTY?

If not, I think it's Cliffords award all the way."
I presume so he won the All Ireland U21 last year.

Be stiff competition this year, you have Howard, Cliffard, O Shea, Sean Andy, Peter Cooke, Eoghan Ban Gallagher and Ciaran Thompson all worthy of strong shouts in my opinion.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 06/08/2018 13:30:17    2129995

Class player no doubt about it when everyone else were having mare's he stood up big time. Geaney and O Donoghue really were the 2 that have let Kerry down two class players but we're brutal against Galway and Monaghan if they had of played to the standard we know Kerry should be playing Tyrone next Sunday.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 06/08/2018 13:30:33    2129996

The boy's the real deal.

The most exciting talent at this age I think I've ever seen in football.

The only equivalent I can see is Joe Canning in hurling.

It's gonna be a real pleasure to watch this lad play football, except against your own county! That'll be torture I think!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 06/08/2018 13:43:21    2130005

Replying To TheUsername:  "I presume so he won the All Ireland U21 last year.

Be stiff competition this year, you have Howard, Cliffard, O Shea, Sean Andy, Peter Cooke, Eoghan Ban Gallagher and Ciaran Thompson all worthy of strong shouts in my opinion."
In that case, I reckon Howard will win it.

Has had an excellent league and championship (As has Clifford) but crucially has most likely 2 games left and is odds on to pick up a Celtic cross.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 07/08/2018 05:42:49    2130287

Clifford is an absolute joy to watch. I wonder will he be playing AFL in the next couple of years. All the speculation last year was ended by a statement the indicated that he would be playing for Kerry in 2018. It didn't seem to close the door on the AFL long term, It reminded me a bit of Tommy Walsh, he appeared to have turned the Aussies down and then it resurfaced a year later when all the speculation seemed to have gone away.

I hope David stays, does well in football and cashes in on his profile to show that that top level GAA can be a better option than playing an alien sport on the other side of the world.

dahayeser (Cork) - Posts: 337 - 07/08/2018 10:21:37    2130333

Replying To jimbodub:  "Hats off

What a season he had!

Great to watch and as only a young lad.. isn't he still a teenager.. he carried Kerry at times.

I think Kerry are a few more seasons away though as that defence is not going to be winning much.

But welll done young man. You offer hope to the Kerry support.

Pity so many Kerry supporters left the game early last night and declined to offer support to a young side for the next season ahead..

Many called for youth to be introduced and then fecked off early before supporting what they wanted.

Again. Hats off to David Clifford. The new DC."
So your having a go at Kerry supporters, yet you posted this topic about an hour before Dublin's game last Sunday.
You must have been fairly engrossed on your smartphone up on Hill 16 Jim?????

30,000 in Croke Park on Sunday, 17,000 in Killarney - given the Dubs only have to cross the proverbial road to get to a game that attendance doesn't reflect too well on your own supporters.

And despite the Dublin meejja making great hay out of the myth of the great traveling Dublin support, how many actually made the famous Omagh road trip? A fella I meet in Clones who had attended the Tyrone game the night before was telling me there was only around 5,000 Dubs there - hardly earth shattering stuff.

Clifford is unreal and has the potential to eclipse Gooch and even Maurice the Immortal. But sadly the performance of players like Geaney and JOD - experienced and gifted lads who should have helped him carry the burden was simply not to the standards they set for themselves this past month.

It's a long winter ahead now, but with the likes of David coming through we will be back winning title 38 a lot sooner than people like Jimbo can stomach.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 07/08/2018 20:47:53    2130597

What are people's thoughts on David Clifford for an all star?

Personally i think it would be unprecedented for Munster not to receive a football all star. David Clifford is the outstanding Munster player in my view. He only scored a few points against Clare and Cork, when the sunshine players will pick up big scores, but scored heavily in the big Super 8 games.

On an aside James O'Donoghue has disappointed me as a 1 1 and a half season player. His celebration after scoring a good goal against Kildare was a bit flash and individualistic, especially as he was scoring against a 14 man Kildare team losing the game and with nothing to play for. If i was managing he would have a serious task on hand to regain his jersey and show the right attitude.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 07/08/2018 21:04:51    2130607

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "What are people's thoughts on David Clifford for an all star?

Personally i think it would be unprecedented for Munster not to receive a football all star. David Clifford is the outstanding Munster player in my view. He only scored a few points against Clare and Cork, when the sunshine players will pick up big scores, but scored heavily in the big Super 8 games.

On an aside James O'Donoghue has disappointed me as a 1 1 and a half season player. His celebration after scoring a good goal against Kildare was a bit flash and individualistic, especially as he was scoring against a 14 man Kildare team losing the game and with nothing to play for. If i was managing he would have a serious task on hand to regain his jersey and show the right attitude."
He'll be nominated without a doubt, what a debut season he has had. McManus will surely get one corner so there's another up for grabs, why not Clifford, I don't think he could have done any more. There are of course others like Ian Burke that would have a good claim and will have at least one more opportunity to shine.

JOD is not the player he was unfortunately, injuries have really taken their toll and he looks like he is short of confidence. 2013-14 seems a long time ago when he won two All Stars in a row and a POTY. Perhaps a new manager might be able to get him back closer to his best. He is a brilliant forward on his day still.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 07/08/2018 21:38:38    2130622