Galway Vs Dublin

Replying To WanPintWin:  "We did play against 14 men in both games, but only for a relatively short while. O'Gara's red in the drawn game was very late. The games were more than competitive while they were 15 vs 15 too.
Galway's team for the drawn league game was not full strength. Around 7 players who'll be playing tomorrow didn't start, including Comer and Brannigan. Ian Burke didn't play at all.
We'll need a lot to go right for us tomorrow, but every game's a new game."
Ah you're right, I forgot about the Corofin lads and they missing the game at Pearse. I actually thought Galway played better that day and Dublin really struggled to break them down. O'Gara was off the pitch for the last 10m, most crucial period in a tight game, but Dublin kicked a string of points then to take the lead with Galway levelling in extra time. No doubt Galway have a very good structure and some handy forwards but I think Dublin's experience, player quality and speed of transition will see us through. Just hope it's a good game too. Football has been getting some undeserved bad press recently.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 11/08/2018 11:10:51    2131696

Amazing all the Galway posters waxing lyrical about Ian Burke, a few years ago when many of us were calling for him to be included these very same posters were ridiculing those people. Playing him at corner back in trial games was another joke, best club footballer in Galway by a mile. His runs off the ball show the intelligent footballer he is, also one of the most skilful players in the county. If he was playing in a team where he was getting a service of quality ball, he would be a player everyone would be raving about. I think he will shine today on the biggest stage.

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 11/08/2018 11:11:53    2131697

Is that big "Gom" going to start today for the Dubs??? Wrecking his head and poking fun at him until he bites back...bookies favourite to be first man to see red

katser2 (Galway) - Posts: 41 - 11/08/2018 11:26:42    2131701

Replying To katser2:  "Is that big "Gom" going to start today for the Dubs??? Wrecking his head and poking fun at him until he bites back...bookies favourite to be first man to see red"
Ah sure it wouldn't be a Galway game if the opponents finish with 15!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 11/08/2018 11:53:32    2131708

Replying To Jackeen:  "Ah sure it wouldn't be a Galway game if the opponents finish with 15!"
Who's reffing the game for ye today?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/08/2018 12:24:08    2131714

Cmon the Tribe, and I can tell you it won't be 35 years before these counties meet in the championship again.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 11/08/2018 12:26:55    2131715

Replying To Jackeen:  "Ah sure it wouldn't be a Galway game if the opponents finish with 15!"
Hardly likely now in Croke park for Galways opponents today

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 11/08/2018 12:52:31    2131721

Replying To katser2:  "Is that big "Gom" going to start today for the Dubs??? Wrecking his head and poking fun at him until he bites back...bookies favourite to be first man to see red"
Sure ye can't beat us with an extra man anyway. Ye better hope that we have 2 sent off or 3 like 83 but sure ye couldn't even beat us with that. Up the Dubs!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 11/08/2018 13:09:05    2131725

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Who's reffing the game for ye today?"
I think Big Joe normally gets our home games so probably him. He's an honorary Dub at this stage anyway and Lord knows this 26 wins on the bounce team needs all the help it can get.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 11/08/2018 13:49:11    2131731

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "Hardly likely now in Croke park for Galways opponents today"
Last time we played in Croker it happened. All of a couple of months ago!

Try harder man, you're letting yourself down.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 11/08/2018 14:00:11    2131737

Comer plays for Galway?

;)

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 11/08/2018 14:00:39    2131738

Still at it , now there's a surprise , winter well.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 11/08/2018 14:16:27    2131741

Stay classy .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 11/08/2018 14:24:23    2131742

First semi final in such a long time involving Dublin that's not a sell out. Dublins dominance is actually negatively affecting the gaa even in Dublin. Great to see though. The only thing that will stop the majority of the funds going to Dublin is if the gaa start taking in less revenue then they should.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 11/08/2018 14:25:24    2131743

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "First semi final in such a long time involving Dublin that's not a sell out. Dublins dominance is actually negatively affecting the gaa even in Dublin. Great to see though. The only thing that will stop the majority of the funds going to Dublin is if the gaa start taking in less revenue then they should."
Is it not sold out? If we were there it would be a sell out no question...but we aren't :(

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 11/08/2018 14:44:33    2131748

Replying To MesAmis:  "Last time we played in Croker it happened. All of a couple of months ago!

Try harder man, you're letting yourself down."
Dont have to try too hard really as ye played in Croke Park last week my man.

Have you been away for the summer or what, fat chance the dubs will go a few months without playing there.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 11/08/2018 14:49:46    2131750

Replying To Joxer:  "Sure ye can't beat us with an extra man anyway. Ye better hope that we have 2 sent off or 3 like 83 but sure ye couldn't even beat us with that. Up the Dubs!"
No thuggery or kicking men in the face when they are lying on the ground. ..just good football today!

katser2 (Galway) - Posts: 41 - 11/08/2018 14:53:47    2131752

You tell me. You're more obsessed with Dublin than I am!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 11/08/2018 14:56:09    2131753

Replying To Joxer:  "I think Big Joe normally gets our home games so probably him. He's an honorary Dub at this stage anyway and Lord knows this 26 wins on the bounce team needs all the help it can get."
Sure didn't he travel on yer team bus to castlebar for yer league game with mayo this year joxer.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/08/2018 15:00:20    2131755

It's gas, not so long ago Kerry considered Croker to be their home ground and admitted to feeling more comfortable playing there than anywhere else.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 11/08/2018 15:06:23    2131757