Galway Vs Dublin

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Is there still a football championship in Leinster?"
Tell you what, come to Croke Park and beat Dublin in Championship football and then you can ask the question. 27 championship games unbeaten today, that didn't all happen against Leinster teams. Any team that's mattered has had a crack now and failed. It is hilarious how people have a go at Leinster counties for not beating Dublin then get their arse handed back to them when it's their turn but somehow that's ok. Ah the double standards!

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 12/08/2018 03:12:13    2132064

Replying To lambofgod:  "Yeah it must be great fun being a professional and beating amateurs by cricket scores. Give me the intensity of tomorrow's match any day.

For the sake of football i pray that Tyrone or Monaghan beat these robots in the final."
Dublin beat Monaghan by 11 points last year and Tyrone by 14. You really think either team has bridged that gap in Croke Park? Not a bloody hope.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 12/08/2018 03:21:55    2132065

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Deep down you know that's a big deflection. We will never know the answer to that hypothetical... All we do know for a fact is that there is no Leinster championship to speak of anymore. That ended a long time ago."
Aren't you lucky to have the luxury and the get out of calling it hypothetical. Meanwhile back in the real world Leinster teams face Dublin earlier than the rest of the country, then you all get to fail in your turn. Beat Dublin in Championship football, then you earn the right to criticise. Until then enjoy your cocoon.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 12/08/2018 03:33:12    2132066

Replying To WanPintWin:  "You're embarrassing Galway supporters with your nonsense. It's up to the opposition to stop Dublin and prevent the games from being 'boring' wins.
We didn't put anywhere near enough pressure on the ball today, or do enough to create more unpredictable contests for the ball.
It's not Dublin who are boring, it's the fact that we were unable to make the game competitive when it mattered.
Some of the absolute rubbish thrown at Dublin from various quarters is cringeworthy and creates an impression that everybody else in the country thinks this way. Throwing out cliches like robotic and athletic. Dublin have better footballers than any other team at the moment. They have multiple forwards who can kick off either foot with great accuracy.
We have some fantastic players ourselves, but we have a good way to go yet. In summary, it's been a good year, but a disappointing way to sign off with a performance that lacked real intensity."
Finally someone talking sense.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 12/08/2018 03:37:04    2132067

Replying To SAMMYTHEBULL:  "Once Dublin is brought out to a neutral venue and allow other teams a fair shot, I will then acknowledge that Dublin is a better team. Impossible to take a penalty or free due to intimidation and jeering and thuggery. Galway was beaten, but not by a better team. I am proud of Galway and will judge them in Fairplay games. Come on GAA organise Neutral Venues for important games. This is a Farce and a Joke. I said the same thing about Mayo Games, so no sour Grapes."
Big games are, and always will be, in Croke Park. You better start accepting that because that is never going to change. Galway got a little dose of what being in the Leinster championship is like today. This Dublin team in Croke Park is a big beast to tame.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 12/08/2018 03:45:09    2132068

27!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 12/08/2018 08:03:18    2132074

Christ , can anyone give this lot a game ?

For all the abuse Mayo have got through the years at least Dublin came off the pitch knowing they had to earn their victory.
5 in a row is just a formality at this stage.

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 12/08/2018 08:29:07    2132080

Replying To SouthsideRossie:  "Superbluedub etc are all right to be proud of their team, it is perhaps the best team ever. They won at their leisure today, the penalty was Irrevelancy in my opinion.

However the rest of us (who love and played this game ) are just sick and bored of the monotony, the horrendously one sided nature of it all. I simply don't enjoy watching Dublin play, they meander through games in 3rd gear winning with embarrassing ease. With the demise/decline of Mayo, the gap has never been wider(worse)
My prediction :
This Dublin team will win 5 in a row pulling up ( would you get Even-money in the bookmakers on that?)
The winning margins will not reduce as their second and even third team could all reach an AI final
Other counties will simply play for second and players will lack motivation
Sponsors and fans will lose interest, attendances will wain. By the time the push for no 6 in row comes around the GAA will wake up to a hole in the Profit and Loss account.
Working group will be setup to examine why the game is dying around the country.
The groundswell for a split of Dublin into 2 or 3 teams will be unstoppable

It's an opinion, no more than that. I know of no other league or sport with such a monopoly. And monopolies are never healthy."
Totally agree. Today's game will bring great rivalry between two neighbouring ulster counties for the right to play in the final but that's where it will probably end.
The great semi finals will soon wither if things continue as is and so will our game.
Spread the money out to all the counties.
Make it an even playing field.
Its supposed to be an amateur sport.
Back to basics.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 12/08/2018 08:32:47    2132082

Replying To SouthsideRossie:  "Superbluedub etc are all right to be proud of their team, it is perhaps the best team ever. They won at their leisure today, the penalty was Irrevelancy in my opinion.

However the rest of us (who love and played this game ) are just sick and bored of the monotony, the horrendously one sided nature of it all. I simply don't enjoy watching Dublin play, they meander through games in 3rd gear winning with embarrassing ease. With the demise/decline of Mayo, the gap has never been wider(worse)
My prediction :
This Dublin team will win 5 in a row pulling up ( would you get Even-money in the bookmakers on that?)
The winning margins will not reduce as their second and even third team could all reach an AI final
Other counties will simply play for second and players will lack motivation
Sponsors and fans will lose interest, attendances will wain. By the time the push for no 6 in row comes around the GAA will wake up to a hole in the Profit and Loss account.
Working group will be setup to examine why the game is dying around the country.
The groundswell for a split of Dublin into 2 or 3 teams will be unstoppable

It's an opinion, no more than that. I know of no other league or sport with such a monopoly. And monopolies are never healthy."
This is sport. It's not business. Dublin don't have a monopoly. They're not the only senior intercounty gaelic football team. No need to hinder their progress to artificially give a chance to other counties. They're by far and away the best around for a while now. A well-oiled machine, can be great to watch and deserve to make history if they can do five in a row. Their job is to win games not to entertain. Up to everyone else to strive to get to that level. It sounds a bit like the old 'Are Kilkenny bad for hurli g' thinking. They eventually came to the end of their great cycle under Cody. This Dublin team will go past his prime and the rest will get their chance.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 12/08/2018 08:44:41    2132086

My 2 cents. No issue with result. Dub some machine. Some lazy analysis here though. Bar the last two finals we have been as close as anybody. Missed a peno, and a clear goal chance before that plus 4 more sides than the Dubs. Half that converted and reality the scoreline would not have been as comfortable. Also Dublin got 3 or 4 points near the end whereby we had committed lads forwards creating acres of space for the Dub runners. Would not necessarily see this on TV. I think there is a dearth of respect for the progress we have made albeit slow and those of you who give out about the RTE analysts ( the usual crew are poor I agree) are a bit pot kettle black. Remember Tyrone were beaten after 15 mins at the same stage last year so hammering us is armchair cringe.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 12/08/2018 09:03:51    2132089

Replying To Fionn:  "Mannion played well today.

Did anyone notice him putting out his hand to shake hands with the Galway no4 before the ball was thrown in, only for the defender push it away and punch Mannion in the midrift...
Paul took it and just smiled back at him... Classy repsonse....!

Soon afterwards Mannion scored a point but rather than goad the defender, he turned away and got in position for the kick out... The guy is a class act not matter what the provocation and lets his football be his retaliation....!"
The perception of the dubs is still that they're arrogant.
But the reason I'm such a fan of them is because they are anything but! You rarely see these lads in the media unlike other less successful counties who can't get on the radio or tv enough.
The likes of mannion, rock, mcmanamon, Fenton, o'callaghan, etc. are brilliant players but they're team players who carry themselves exceptionally well from what I can see.
It's about time neutrals stopped the begrudgery and appreciate what a great team -and men outside of football - that they are. They won't be winning forever.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 12/08/2018 09:35:06    2132098

Nursing a tender head today, managed to snag tickets in one of the boxes with an open bar.

Surprised by some of the reactions on here. Seem very despondent and defeatist. I think a lot of that is a self fulfilling prophesy. Dublin may guilty of going through routine wins, but every other county is guilty of turning up against this year and expecting to be beaten. Yesterday is a case in point. So its at home many counties need to look in my opinion. The aura around this Dublin team has had everyone this year terrified of them and not playing their natural game and going at Dublin.

As for the game yesterday, i think it was as bad as ive seen Dublin in a long time. The first half performance was massively poor and we were really there for the taking. Galway should have been seven or eight points up. The standard of football in the first half was massively poor in the first half by both teams. Philly McMahon and Johnny Cooper were terrible and to be honest very few Dublin players bar Kilkenny, Mannion and Brian Howard put in a shift. Murchan and McCarthy struggled and Galway had a free run at Dublin when O Sullivan went of and really should of opened up Dublin and took a big score into half time.

Galway hit some shockingly bad wides, you just cant do it at this stage of the championship or miss penalties. Poor shot selection and wides Its been their Achilles heal all year and it caught up with them. they had the beating of the Dublin defence time and time again and went lateral when they should have went direct.

How Dublin went in two points ahead at half time was beyond me.

Dublin were Never going to be that bad again in the second half and came out and blew Galway away after regrouping. what can you say Dublin in full flow is a thing of beauty and Galway were picked apart. Kilkenny, Mannion, Costello, Con, all had brilliant games. You can talk about the David Cliffards of this world, but i wouldn't swap Brian Howard for any other young player in the country he is an absolute superstar and has everything, his vision is a joy to behold he hit two passes yesterday that took out six defenders. Philly McMahon and Jonny Cooper were massively poor in my opinion and i didn't like the problems in our defence yesterday.

I think if Galway had a been a little bit braver and more direct in the first half yesterday and had a bit more quality up front they could have taken a healthy lead into the second half employed their defensive system and the Dubs would have been on the ropes,it was not to be though, they are lacking in the experience and bit of quality i think, you just cant miss the chances they did. What they did really well was push up on Dublins kick out and go man to man with Dublin. That really caused Dublin problems.

I know many are talking about a routine win and Dublin cantering to another All Ireland, if Dublin put in a shift like they did in the first half or a similar defensive performance im not sure im that optimistic.

However we are in another All Ireland final and they are their to be won and enjoyed, we look forward it.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 12/08/2018 09:49:20    2132105

Replying To panamasam:  "Even the most optimistic of Donegal supporters would admit that beating Dublin next year would be a massive ask but if u don't think u can especially the players then why bother? In fairness Donegal probably gave Dublin 2 of their biggest tests this year. Yes Dublin could have scored more goals against us a few weeks ago but there was enough evidence there too that Donegal can give Dublin plenty of problems. Plus when u factor in missing Paddy McB and what he brings to the team and how we play I think Done gal can at least believe on a given day with everything going in their favour that they can really put it up to Dublin.

On todays game congrats to Dublin on reaching another All Ireland final with relative ease. The talent coming off the bench alone is just phenomenal. Dublin can do it anyway they want be it a shootout or ultra defensive which just shows the quality of this team. As for Galway I was surprised to see Brannigan take the pen is he the regular taker? Poor effort esp with Walsh on the field. The 2nd half was very poor. Too many pot shots and desperate aimless balls into Comer. However ye have improved from last year and definitely have quality coming through so lots to be optimistic about."
A fair analysis. Look some counties are improving unknown to a few posters who only look at results. The three I feel as evidenced in recent times are us, Kildare and Donegal. We have a lot of youth lining themselves up and when the Dublin cycle plateau's the hope is we among a few other counties will challenge further for honours. For all the criticism of Leinster particularly by some Ulster posters I do believe Kildare will go toe to toe with the Dubs in time. It is not all bleak and we should acknowledge this great Dublin team who depth wise are better than 2 to 3 years ago. Yes the GAA have major issues regarding funding etc but that should not take from what Dublin achieved. My only little gripe on a few Dub fans is the English style jeering from the Hill when opposition free takers are lining up frees. I have little sympathy for the overpaid galactios across the water who suffer this regularly but insulting to amateur sportspeople giving their body and soul to the cause. Bit wearying and a few Dubs around me in the Cusack were embarrassed.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 12/08/2018 09:52:02    2132108

Great team performance again from the Dubs.
Galway just weren't good enough and unfortunate to hear the same old sour stuff coming out from some bucks and mentioning thuggery.
That poster should cop themselves on.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 12/08/2018 10:00:03    2132113

Replying To TheUsername:  "27!"
37, with 10% of the population!!!!.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 720 - 12/08/2018 10:01:16    2132114

Replying To tiobraid:  "The perception of the dubs is still that they're arrogant.
But the reason I'm such a fan of them is because they are anything but! You rarely see these lads in the media unlike other less successful counties who can't get on the radio or tv enough.
The likes of mannion, rock, mcmanamon, Fenton, o'callaghan, etc. are brilliant players but they're team players who carry themselves exceptionally well from what I can see.
It's about time neutrals stopped the begrudgery and appreciate what a great team -and men outside of football - that they are. They won't be winning forever."
Fair play to you tiobraid it's far too easy to come on to a forum and write some old waffle about why you hate Dublin and indeed that's what I generally expect to see when I look in. No big surprise really and posters can say whatever they like because it won't make a blind bit of difference to the team and the men involved in what they are doing. As you say , these guys don't see themselves as superstars and are a grounded decent bunch who enjoy playing and being the best they can be on and off the field.
All the best.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 12/08/2018 10:10:48    2132120

Galway style of play must change. For the first fifteen minutes the fast direct ball & runners off the shoulder had Dublin in trouble. Burke & Comer were getting service & Galway doing well. Then it all changed, Comer & Walsh back playing wing back, won't win any All Ireland with this style of play no matter how many years their given. Even with the so called system & you could hear it been called out clearly from the sideline y'day, Dublin were able to dictate the pace of the game & score at will. All that's missing now is the Defence Defence chant you would hear at Basketball games. More football needed.

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 12/08/2018 10:22:09    2132124

Replying To GDL:  "37, with 10% of the population!!!!."
?

Im talking about Championship games unbeaten.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 12/08/2018 10:51:31    2132142

Replying To SAMMYTHEBULL:  "Once Dublin is brought out to a neutral venue and allow other teams a fair shot, I will then acknowledge that Dublin is a better team. Impossible to take a penalty or free due to intimidation and jeering and thuggery. Galway was beaten, but not by a better team. I am proud of Galway and will judge them in Fairplay games. Come on GAA organise Neutral Venues for important games. This is a Farce and a Joke. I said the same thing about Mayo Games, so no sour Grapes."
Galway were the better team? Oh sweet baby Jesus.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 12/08/2018 10:53:02    2132143

Replying To kildare73:  "Dublin beat Monaghan by 11 points last year and Tyrone by 14. You really think either team has bridged that gap in Croke Park? Not a bloody hope."
Dublin beat Tyrone by 12 points last year, not by 14. 2-17 to 0-11.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2156 - 12/08/2018 11:00:49    2132145