Galway Vs Dublin

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Is there still a football championship in Leinster?"
If Dublin were in Ulster there wouldn't be much of a championship there either.

jimski (Kildare) - Posts: 381 - 11/08/2018 20:18:09    2131918

Galway and Branigan penalty miss (or save) was big turning point imho. Galway needed this score. But an inept attempt really. Dubs just powered away in second half. Some of these Galway lads have played their last games too. Good news, Minors win and also Corofin win in club final. But overall, where was the "Mayo" style fight? Should Galway GAA contact Holmes and Conneely?? Or maybe Mayo man James Horan!

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 11/08/2018 20:23:10    2131924

Peno miss (or save) was turning point. A really poor attempt by Eamon Branigan. Should Galway contact James Horan now- as Kevin Walsh maybe has had his chance? But good news Galway minors in final and also Corofin are club champions. Who is their manager? Slán

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 11/08/2018 20:29:11    2131926

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "Jack McCaffrey gave a lovely smiling, pleasant interview and used the word fun.

A word seldom associated with Ulster football!"
Yeah it must be great fun being a professional and beating amateurs by cricket scores. Give me the intensity of tomorrow's match any day.

For the sake of football i pray that Tyrone or Monaghan beat these robots in the final.

lambofgod (Mayo) - Posts: 116 - 11/08/2018 20:30:21    2131927

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Who's reffing the game for ye today?"
Was the ref ok for you today lad?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 11/08/2018 20:47:16    2131933

Replying To katser2:  "Your 100% correct...the most boring team ever to win All Irelands, they remind me of Fr. Paul Stone from Father Ted....so boring that you loose concentration"
Ah so that's your excuse, loss of concentration. No shame in being hammered by the best team to ever play the game. Stick to the small ball lad.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 11/08/2018 20:49:32    2131934

Best team won. Dublin besides having great players have a great mentality. If they have a poor wide or if a decision goes against them their heads don't drop they just go again. If a handful of other teams including Galway did that there would be a proper fight for Sam

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 11/08/2018 20:51:32    2131935

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Is there still a football championship in Leinster?"
Ask Armagh.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 11/08/2018 20:55:03    2131937

Replying To lambofgod:  "Yeah it must be great fun being a professional and beating amateurs by cricket scores. Give me the intensity of tomorrow's match any day.

For the sake of football i pray that Tyrone or Monaghan beat these robots in the final."
You'll need more than prayers bud. You guys may actually see silverware some day. I'd recommend the Newbridge factory outlet in Kildare. You do remember where Kildare is don't you?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 11/08/2018 20:58:52    2131939

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Realdub I told you after the final last year that football was dead and I was correct, we would have a seriously brilliant championship if Dublin weren't in it where anyone of 4/5 teams could win it. Ye need to enter the railway cup."
Yes great logic. Remove Real Madrid from club football also and Man City from the premiership. It's lonely at the top but the weaker counties need something to aim at.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 11/08/2018 21:01:59    2131940

That same excuse doesnt seem to apply when talking about cork

PyatPree (Cork) - Posts: 376 - 11/08/2018 21:02:27    2131941

Replying To jimski:  "If Dublin were in Ulster there wouldn't be much of a championship there either."
Deep down you know that's a big deflection. We will never know the answer to that hypothetical... All we do know for a fact is that there is no Leinster championship to speak of anymore. That ended a long time ago.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 11/08/2018 21:02:51    2131942

Replying To galwayford:  "Galway and Branigan penalty miss (or save) was big turning point imho. Galway needed this score. But an inept attempt really. Dubs just powered away in second half. Some of these Galway lads have played their last games too. Good news, Minors win and also Corofin win in club final. But overall, where was the "Mayo" style fight? Should Galway GAA contact Holmes and Conneely?? Or maybe Mayo man James Horan!"
Good post.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 11/08/2018 21:03:32    2131944

Replying To lambofgod:  "Yeah it must be great fun being a professional and beating amateurs by cricket scores. Give me the intensity of tomorrow's match any day.

For the sake of football i pray that Tyrone or Monaghan beat these robots in the final."
More begrudging BS. Mayo were amateurs and went toe to toe with Dublin.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 11/08/2018 21:05:54    2131946

Replying To wfkerry:  "this is the only game they have thought last
week they were minding themselves proved
otherwise today Galway are not as good as we
thought they were they believed there own
hype dont have the forwards or the same intelligence
as Dublin when they are on the ball back to the
drawing board for Galway"
That's harsh. This is a young Galway team with a lot of lads in their early twenties, their level of improvement from last year was very impressive over the season. They will surely improve further and I think they'll be a top team for years to come. They have a look of Donegal 2011 about them where they were hugely improved but just not quite there yet.

They are a long way off Dublin at the minute, but so is everyone else. Gavin has built a dynasty like none that have ever come before it. As well as having brilliant players they are so well prepared and conditioned it's unbelievable, better than many professional teams in other sports IMO, and their bench is ridiculous. They look like they would run through walls for the jersey as well, that's rare after so much success. Credit where it is due.

If they have a weakness it's at the back where they will always give you a chance. I think the team that will beat them will have to have huge physicality, lethal forwards, and the balls to push right up and turn it in to a shootout. Mayo almost succeeded in this but a mixture of bad luck and profligacy in front of the posts cost them dear, you simply have to take most of your chances. Easier said than done of course. Not sure if anybody has the tools to do that and win at the moment.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 11/08/2018 21:27:40    2131950

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Marty Morrissey joining the erotic Dublin love in party as well."
Hard to beat a Marty Party :-)

JUNIOR_B_SUB (Donegal) - Posts: 25 - 11/08/2018 21:27:47    2131951

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "The begrudgery towards Dublin is worse than expected.

They don't smile enough, if they do they're smug or arrogant.

Can people not acknowledge that they are a great team who have cruised to the All-ireland final and may equal Kerry and Wexford's 4 in a row team, possibly surpass them?"
Doing well with your love in with the Dubs like another former Laois poster..............

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 11/08/2018 21:27:52    2131952

Replying To katser2:  "Your 100% correct...the most boring team ever to win All Irelands, they remind me of Fr. Paul Stone from Father Ted....so boring that you loose concentration"
You're embarrassing Galway supporters with your nonsense. It's up to the opposition to stop Dublin and prevent the games from being 'boring' wins.
We didn't put anywhere near enough pressure on the ball today, or do enough to create more unpredictable contests for the ball.
It's not Dublin who are boring, it's the fact that we were unable to make the game competitive when it mattered.
Some of the absolute rubbish thrown at Dublin from various quarters is cringeworthy and creates an impression that everybody else in the country thinks this way. Throwing out cliches like robotic and athletic. Dublin have better footballers than any other team at the moment. They have multiple forwards who can kick off either foot with great accuracy.
We have some fantastic players ourselves, but we have a good way to go yet. In summary, it's been a good year, but a disappointing way to sign off with a performance that lacked real intensity.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2030 - 11/08/2018 21:30:33    2131954

Replying To neverright:  "I don't have any problem with the Dublin players. They are an excellent team - so good at finding space that they look robotic at times, but that is hardly their fault. With one or two exceptions they always play the game in a sporting and positive manner. The ref today could have pulled the backs for 'crossing' (player running between the defender in possession and the would-be tackler) on a number of occasions but otherwise you could have no complaint their play.
The crap from some Dublin posters shouldn't reflect on the team in any way."
Can you tell us the Rule on crossing, wasn't aware their was such a rule ?

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 11/08/2018 21:31:09    2131955

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Realdub I told you after the final last year that football was dead and I was correct, we would have a seriously brilliant championship if Dublin weren't in it where anyone of 4/5 teams could win it. Ye need to enter the railway cup."
Your begrudgery towards Dublin is ridiculous , your county with 80 Munster titles and 37 all Irelands and you bitch about Dublin , yous will be winning All Irelands soon enough stop the whinging its not healthy.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 11/08/2018 21:32:38    2131956