Galway Vs Dublin

Replying To katser2:  "Your 100% correct...the most boring team ever to win All Irelands, they remind me of Fr. Paul Stone from Father Ted....so boring that you loose concentration"
Did you honestly find Dublin's performance today boring?

Outstanding play. 1-24!

Sheer class 2nd half performance..

Clutching at straws fellas..

Obviously quality football being played at the greatest level of all time isn't for you wha.. :)

#Fantastic4stillon

Class. Sheer class.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 11/08/2018 19:42:55    2131887

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "Jack McCaffrey gave a lovely smiling, pleasant interview and used the word fun.

A word seldom associated with Ulster football!"
Is there still a football championship in Leinster?

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 11/08/2018 19:44:08    2131888

Replying To PyatPree:  "Boring game, but Dublin can only play whats put of from of them, its up to the rest to catch up"
This is true, I'd say the Dublin A v B games are a lot better than we seen today, the whole thing is boring.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 11/08/2018 19:45:06    2131889

Yep, Kilkenny made the hurling championship boring for a while too didn't they, didn't matter a tap that they were the best team of all time.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 11/08/2018 19:49:40    2131890

Replying To katser2:  "Your 100% correct...the most boring team ever to win All Irelands, they remind me of Fr. Paul Stone from Father Ted....so boring that you loose concentration"
That doesn't say a whole lot for the "pretenders", mind.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 11/08/2018 19:49:42    2131891

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Football standards have dropped, there is no one to challenge Dublin since Mayo failed time after time to beat them, I'm hoping Tyrone can give them a test in the final but I think Dublin are getting their 4 in a row at a canter, I thought Kerry might have put up a good challenge this year but they are way of the mark too, Donegal should have a better panel next year and if Paddy Mc Brearty gets back to his best form we have the players to hopefully beat them if everything goes right for us, it's funny everyone was crying years ago about Ulster football etc, but Ulster games mostly were competitive and exciting to watch, that stuff today was a borefest, from the football to the punditry to the interviews."
I disagree with you on many things but yes that was boring. Donegal the team to beat them next year will ya cop on to yourself. But one thing I would say that Dublin have a huge advantage with the amount of subs that can be used during a game. I think it should be taken back that all teams are only allowed 3. It would even give the black card a bit more significance

DragHimDown (Monaghan) - Posts: 73 - 11/08/2018 19:52:30    2131894

What would that make yourselves then? Fr. Stone's comatose great grandfather?

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 11/08/2018 19:52:58    2131895

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "This is true, I'd say the Dublin A v B games are a lot better than we seen today, the whole thing is boring."
Then don't watch. Simple.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 11/08/2018 19:54:47    2131897

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Is there still a football championship in Leinster?"
Just because ye're all the one standard in Ulster doesn't make looking at it any easier..

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 11/08/2018 19:54:48    2131898

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "Congrats Dublin, super stuff, boring final quarter. What was Marty at in the man of the match award, awkward and weird.
Galway will know this was not their A game but the season had many plusses."
this is the only game they have thought last
week they were minding themselves proved
otherwise today Galway are not as good as we
thought they were they believed there own
hype dont have the forwards or the same intelligence
as Dublin when they are on the ball back to the
drawing board for Galway

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 11/08/2018 19:56:20    2131899

Replying To jimbodub:  "Did you honestly find Dublin's performance today boring?

Outstanding play. 1-24!

Obviously quality football being played at the greatest level of all time isn't for you wha.. :)

#Fantastic4stillon

Class. Sheer class."
Look like professionals against amateurs Jimbo, or maybe that's what it really is. Dublin pro's against an amateur selection from the rest of Ireland might get a few more Dubs into the home venue for an evening.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 11/08/2018 19:56:21    2131900

Mick Fitz, MDMA, Kev Mc, Costello, Paul Flynn. The Dublin subs today. Never mind Brogan, O'Gara and Connolly. How are you meant to compete with that?

Pantani (Dublin) - Posts: 48 - 11/08/2018 19:59:06    2131901

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Football standards have dropped, there is no one to challenge Dublin since Mayo failed time after time to beat them, I'm hoping Tyrone can give them a test in the final but I think Dublin are getting their 4 in a row at a canter, I thought Kerry might have put up a good challenge this year but they are way of the mark too, Donegal should have a better panel next year and if Paddy Mc Brearty gets back to his best form we have the players to hopefully beat them if everything goes right for us, it's funny everyone was crying years ago about Ulster football etc, but Ulster games mostly were competitive and exciting to watch, that stuff today was a borefest, from the football to the punditry to the interviews."
Paddy McBrearty was a huge loss to ye and ye are going in the right direction.

I don't see Tyrone beating Dublin this year. If they can't beat them in Omagh.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 11/08/2018 20:01:49    2131904

Replying To realdub:  "Truth is they're not as good a team as Mayo who could rise to the occasion at the business end of the championship despite taking their eye off the ball in Connacht."
I think that sums it up. Especially around halfback and midfield and then Keith Higgins. And under rated Mayo forwards like Jason Doherty and McLoughlin.

No real on field leaders either.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 11/08/2018 20:05:30    2131907

Replying To jimbodub:  "Did you honestly find Dublin's performance today boring?

Outstanding play. 1-24!

#Fantastic4stillon

Class. Sheer class."
The only exciting thing I found was the road out of Dublin today!!

katser2 (Galway) - Posts: 41 - 11/08/2018 20:10:52    2131911

The begrudgery towards Dublin is worse than expected.

They don't smile enough, if they do they're smug or arrogant.

Can people not acknowledge that they are a great team who have cruised to the All-ireland final and may equal Kerry and Wexford's 4 in a row team, possibly surpass them?

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 11/08/2018 20:11:42    2131912

Replying To realdub:  "Ye can yawn all ya want lads, great stuff from Dublin against a gallant Galway."
Realdub I told you after the final last year that football was dead and I was correct, we would have a seriously brilliant championship if Dublin weren't in it where anyone of 4/5 teams could win it. Ye need to enter the railway cup.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/08/2018 20:12:15    2131913

If Mayo had some luck they would have won the all ireland last year. Why can we beat Mayo and struggle against Dublin?
Thanks to the Galway players and management for their effort. We had a good run. We just have to wait a few years for Dublin to slow down.

Sheedy (Galway) - Posts: 107 - 11/08/2018 20:14:14    2131914

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Do the Dublin players and management EVER smile or look as if they are enjoying winning? Definitely a cold, unemotional, mechanical, manufactured, robotic look about them. They have the Nick Faldo exterior about them. This is why most GAA folk can't and don't warm to them."
I don't have any problem with the Dublin players. They are an excellent team - so good at finding space that they look robotic at times, but that is hardly their fault. With one or two exceptions they always play the game in a sporting and positive manner. The ref today could have pulled the backs for 'crossing' (player running between the defender in possession and the would-be tackler) on a number of occasions but otherwise you could have no complaint their play.
The crap from some Dublin posters shouldn't reflect on the team in any way.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 11/08/2018 20:15:26    2131915

Replying To Vishred:  "What an awful attendance for an All Ireland semi final.
Shame on both counties for not making an effort."
Well Galway have an excuse as they're a dual county and they have to travel long distances.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/08/2018 20:15:54    2131916