Questions we need answered

Replying To royaldunne:  "Every line? Ok so that's at least 5 players you would drop. Name them. I'm sorry you can't say there is 5 players who left panel that are better than those who started v Tyrone without backing it up. Name the player u would drop and the player you would put in there place. If it's easier name a starting 15."
I can say what I want to be honest, you are not the sensor of the Hogan Stand Forum but for the craic

Our keeper is not even his clubs first choice, the goalkeeping situation was handled terribly last year, and we paid for that this year, do you honestly think that the 2 keepers we had togged out v Tyrone are the 2 best in the county? There are 10 better

Shane Gallagher played against Tyrone only was because Shane McEntee was suspended. He should have been playing against Longford and maybe we have won a championship game this year. McGuill and Lavin should be playing. No harm to Shane but he is not worth his place on the team

Niall Kane Simonstown or Padraig Harnan would improve our half back line. James McEntee and Keoghan are excellent obviously.

Adam Flanagan is good in the air, his use of the ball and his mobility are big problems, he has been on the panel for 4 or 5 years and has not done enough, Jones is a better option.

O'Caoilean a better option than either Wallace or Brian McMahon

Not only that but the manager obviously did not trust the lads he had togged out, the thought it better to bring back on exhausted players over other fresh fellas sitting on the bench, All of the lads that have left the panel in the past 18 months would obviously improve it or why the hell were they on it in the first place?

I will say this again I do not see any point in replacing Andy, time needs to be given, but he has questions to answer. the reality is that we have beaten Louth and Sligo in the championship since he took over, that is no where near good enough.

longroadback (Meath) - Posts: 324 - 11/07/2018 09:14:28    2120622

Replying To longroadback:  "I can say what I want to be honest, you are not the sensor of the Hogan Stand Forum but for the craic

Our keeper is not even his clubs first choice, the goalkeeping situation was handled terribly last year, and we paid for that this year, do you honestly think that the 2 keepers we had togged out v Tyrone are the 2 best in the county? There are 10 better

Shane Gallagher played against Tyrone only was because Shane McEntee was suspended. He should have been playing against Longford and maybe we have won a championship game this year. McGuill and Lavin should be playing. No harm to Shane but he is not worth his place on the team

Niall Kane Simonstown or Padraig Harnan would improve our half back line. James McEntee and Keoghan are excellent obviously.

Adam Flanagan is good in the air, his use of the ball and his mobility are big problems, he has been on the panel for 4 or 5 years and has not done enough, Jones is a better option.

Not only that but the manager obviously did not trust the lads he had togged out, the thought it better to bring back on exhausted players over other fresh fellas sitting on the bench, All of the lads that have left the panel in the past 18 months would obviously improve it or why the hell were they on it in the first place?

I will say this again I do not see any point in replacing Andy, time needs to be given, but he has questions to answer. the reality is that we have beaten Louth and Sligo in the championship since he took over, that is no where near good enough."
Well said, I'd add Mickey Newman into that list as well.

Meathmaster (Meath) - Posts: 251 - 11/07/2018 11:59:13    2120662

Replying To Meathmaster:  "Well said, I'd add Mickey Newman into that list as well."
But the real issue is not so much what individuals are selected on the panel at this point. This thread started about what questions we need to ask. .I dont think there is any point in changing the manager. There is a dire necessity to ask questions around management style , coaching, player welfare, quality of training sessions rather than just quantity of sessions. So yes a lot of questions relate to Andy and his backroom. So What ??? He carried the can up to this point. Without any doubt The CO. Board need to review the situation now. That can NOT just be done under any other business at a monthly meeting..I would see this as a special meeting convened to address our current status. REMEDIAL THEME where the focus is on HELPING Andy with the enormous task now ahead . Andy Mc Entee stays but given the development he needs to meet the demands required of the modern day manager. He deserves that at least for his courage to take the job as a novice ,at a time when we are at a low ebb anyway. I and others have been critical of Andy in his role at times. Any manager knows that goes with the territory anyway. Andy is big enough to know that. We could easily list the man,s positive points courage ,passion for Meath football, etc. etc.. But really for now the CO. BOARD say thanks to Andy so far, but now we have to raise the bar, To do this we will invest in development for you and others .We have a lot of talking to do ,a lot of questions. We suggest starting by asking you why have so many players opted out ? We know some of the answers .etc etc. We have a plan to assist matters from here . We need you to review ,and be part of this action plan.
in this way the county board are taking charge by being pro active, Accepting there is a problem. Involving Andy in any action plan to improve matters. What is the alternative ? none i suggest !!

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1223 - 11/07/2018 13:16:57    2120690

Replying To brian:  "Hey mate, here's the team that started v Tyrone and i could certainly support the claim of at least one player per line could be dropped so I'll give it a go.

Meath
1. Andrew Colgan - Keep. Inconsistent kick outs and needs to be worked on. Gave up a couple of scores which were the difference v Tyrone

2. Seamus Lavin - Keep. Solid year as a starter and hopefully he'll develop further next year.
3. Conor McGill - Keep. Essential player on the team and should be a building block of the future.
4. Seán Curran - could go. did nothing bad but nothing of note either. Replacement - Donal Keoghan

5. James McEntee - Keep. As with McGill a building block of the future and should continue at 5 or 7 and push up the field
6. Donal Keogan - Keep. Our stand out defender and can do it all. I'm not sure he's a centre half back at this level and would prefer to keep him as our designated man marker. Replacement - Brian Menton
7. Shane Gallagher - Go. Very poor v Tyrone. Was tasked with picking up McAliskey on the day and gave hom far too much space and time and McAliskey almost had the game won before half time. Replacement - Padraic Harnan

8. Bryan Menton - Go. Drop to defence. Midfield was our worst area on the pitch and we need one athlete and one attacking player. Replacement - Ronan Jones
9. Adam Flanagan - Keep. Could be used as the screen or sitting midfielder with Jones being used as an attacking option.

10. Cillian O'Sullivan - Keep. but needs to be more consistent
11. Ben Brennan - Keep. Lets see how he develops next year
12. Mickey Burke - Go. Its way past time to carry him in the team. Replacement - Graham Reilly

22. Joey Wallace - Go. Is a better potential impact sub. Time to have natural attackers in the team who can score. Replacement - David McLoughlin or Daire Rowe
14. Graham Reilly - Go. Isn't a FF. Replacement - Michael Newman
15. Donal Lenihan - Keep but needs to have more of an impact on games."
I thought Shane Gallagher was one of the few positives for 2018, made a few mistakes in first half but played himself into game and put in a good shift. Inexperienced and needs more game time to develop but looked like a good prospect to me.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 11/07/2018 16:40:50    2120770

Replying To seadog54:  "
Replying To brian:  "Hey mate, here's the team that started v Tyrone and i could certainly support the claim of at least one player per line could be dropped so I'll give it a go.

Meath
1. Andrew Colgan - Keep. Inconsistent kick outs and needs to be worked on. Gave up a couple of scores which were the difference v Tyrone

2. Seamus Lavin - Keep. Solid year as a starter and hopefully he'll develop further next year.
3. Conor McGill - Keep. Essential player on the team and should be a building block of the future.
4. Seán Curran - could go. did nothing bad but nothing of note either. Replacement - Donal Keoghan

5. James McEntee - Keep. As with McGill a building block of the future and should continue at 5 or 7 and push up the field
6. Donal Keogan - Keep. Our stand out defender and can do it all. I'm not sure he's a centre half back at this level and would prefer to keep him as our designated man marker. Replacement - Brian Menton
7. Shane Gallagher - Go. Very poor v Tyrone. Was tasked with picking up McAliskey on the day and gave hom far too much space and time and McAliskey almost had the game won before half time. Replacement - Padraic Harnan

8. Bryan Menton - Go. Drop to defence. Midfield was our worst area on the pitch and we need one athlete and one attacking player. Replacement - Ronan Jones
9. Adam Flanagan - Keep. Could be used as the screen or sitting midfielder with Jones being used as an attacking option.

12. Mickey Burke - Go. Its way past time to carry him in the team. Replacement - Graham Reilly

22. Joey Wallace - Go. Is a better potential impact sub. Time to have natural attackers in the team who can score. Replacement - David McLoughlin or Daire Rowe
I thought Shane Gallagher was one of the few positives for 2018, made a few mistakes in first half but played himself into game and put in a good shift. Inexperienced and needs more game time to develop but looked like a good prospect to me."
I would also agree Shane Gallagher had a positive 2018 and hopefully get better in 2019

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 11/07/2018 17:32:37    2120780

Replying To seadog54:  "

Meath

I thought Shane Gallagher was one of the few positives for 2018, made a few mistakes in first half but played himself into game and put in a good shift. Inexperienced and needs more game time to develop but looked like a good prospect to me."
His man scored 1-3 from play, along with 5 frees of which he won a few himself. Not really good enough IMO.

TakeYourPoints6 (Meath) - Posts: 230 - 11/07/2018 18:42:46    2120797

Replying To longroadback:  "I can say what I want to be honest, you are not the sensor of the Hogan Stand Forum but for the craic

I will say this again I do not see any point in replacing Andy, time needs to be given, but he has questions to answer. the reality is that we have beaten Louth and Sligo in the championship since he took over, that is no where near good enough."
Ahh please. Colgan has been the first good keeper we have had since bantys time. You want to drop him after that performance? Maybe those that you mentioned would have been better. If we didn't persist with a man who cost us so so many games, mostly cause he was mates with the manager.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/07/2018 07:41:30    2120872

Meath

Fair enough but you mostly have a problem with position of players. The 3 main ones you mentioned harnan, Jones who are away studying wouldn't have played this year if Jim Gavin were in charge and a certain Leinster or all ire medal was there, nothing to do with management, Newman also publicly stated that he wanted to take a year off after all the injuries to get himself fit, actually he had high praise for management , Rowe and McLoughlin certainly could be panel members but I'm not too sure about certain starters. But did either walk away from panel? Maybe Rowe did.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/07/2018 07:49:46    2120873

Replying To royaldunne:  "

Meath

Fair enough but you mostly have a problem with position of players. The 3 main ones you mentioned harnan, Jones who are away studying wouldn't have played this year if Jim Gavin were in charge and a certain Leinster or all ire medal was there, nothing to do with management, Newman also publicly stated that he wanted to take a year off after all the injuries to get himself fit, actually he had high praise for management , Rowe and McLoughlin certainly could be panel members but I'm not too sure about certain starters. But did either walk away from panel? Maybe Rowe did."
Hey Royal, might've misread your original point in the post asking for 5 players who walked away or could improve things and would've started if available v Tyrone. In effect the players i mentioned all took a year out for study (Jones and Harnan) or to allow injuries to clear (Newman). Rowe was involved with the U20's (i think) and has been transparent he didn't want to jump to senior too early. McLoughlin is a mystery to me as to why he's not involved in the senior panel. He's consistently one of the best club players for the last three years and is worthy of a try at least but maybe he's not willing to give commitment and its why he's never been included.

I think we have the bones of a very good squad and could push on next year and to the point of questions which need answering Andy does need to address them.

I was talking to a member of Simonstown over the weekend and he raised two of the big ones which need answering
1) It was known Tobin and McKeever were going abroad for the summer. Why were both of those players included during the League when other lads who would be available for the summer sat out. and will these players be brought back in next season on their return form a summer abroad?
2) Players not in match day 26's were not allowed play league matches with their clubs. Why was this allowed to happen. How are they supposed to be match sharp from training games?
3) Will the players who walked away be jettisoned for 2019 and onward under this manager? I.E Conlon, McCabe

Aside from these

4) What players will be allowed to return after study/injury/time abroad absence? I.E. Harnan, Jones, O'Coilean, Newman, Tobin, McKeever
5) Will there be discussions with the players who left the panel before the championship and why they did so? Will they be reintroduced during 2019? I'd be thinking in terms of James Toher, Alan Douglas, Harry Rooney, Brian Power, Barry Dardis
6) What is our primary and achievable goal for 2019? If these are not met what is the potential income?
7) How do we plan to achieve the stated goals for 2019?
8) What is the teams style of play? Will there be joined up thinking with the U-17's and U20's team management?
9) What is the role of the management team members? This seems very unclear to me and needs some more defined role's
10) What are the plans for identifying new players for 2019 and integrating them into the panel. For the life of me i don't understand how Niall Kane, David McLoughlin, James Conlon, Seamus Mattimoe Gavin McGowan, James Conlon and Ethan Devine are not involved in the panel at all. I know some were U20 this year but will they warrant inclusion in 2019.
11) What was the role of bringing David Gallagher back onto the panel?

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 12/07/2018 11:22:16    2120930

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ahh please. Colgan has been the first good keeper we have had since bantys time. You want to drop him after that performance? Maybe those that you mentioned would have been better. If we didn't persist with a man who cost us so so many games, mostly cause he was mates with the manager."
What I said was that he was not the seen as the best keeper within his own club, he is not in a million years the best in the county. I said that the goalkeeping situation was handled shockingly bad last year and we paid for it this year. That is not based on 1 performance. I think that you are basing your view on 2 things, your blinkers and the fact he had one good game where is kickouts were excellent. Fair play to him he stepped into the breach and gave full commitment, but that does not change the facts.

I note you have no comment on the rest of my post, does that mean you agree?

longroadback (Meath) - Posts: 324 - 12/07/2018 13:52:14    2121002

Replying To royaldunne:  "

Meath

Fair enough but you mostly have a problem with position of players. The 3 main ones you mentioned harnan, Jones who are away studying wouldn't have played this year if Jim Gavin were in charge and a certain Leinster or all ire medal was there, nothing to do with management, Newman also publicly stated that he wanted to take a year off after all the injuries to get himself fit, actually he had high praise for management , Rowe and McLoughlin certainly could be panel members but I'm not too sure about certain starters. But did either walk away from panel? Maybe Rowe did."
Thats not why Newman left the panel...his injuries were done and dusted by the start of this year. He had his operation in the Autumn and has been flying for Kilmainham this year. He left the panel for a different reason which I am not going to say on a forum.

Meathmaster (Meath) - Posts: 251 - 12/07/2018 14:27:35    2121013

Replying To brian:  "
Replying To royaldunne:  "[quote=brian:  "Hey mate, here's the team that started v Tyrone and i could certainly support the claim of at least one player per line could be dropped so I'll give it a go.

Meath

Hey Royal, might've misread your original point in the post asking for 5 players who walked away or could improve things and would've started if available v Tyrone. In effect the players i mentioned all took a year out for study (Jones and Harnan) or to allow injuries to clear (Newman). Rowe was involved with the U20's (i think) and has been transparent he didn't want to jump to senior too early. McLoughlin is a mystery to me as to why he's not involved in the senior panel. He's consistently one of the best club players for the last three years and is worthy of a try at least but maybe he's not willing to give commitment and its why he's never been included.

I think we have the bones of a very good squad and could push on next year and to the point of questions which need answering Andy does need to address them.

I was talking to a member of Simonstown over the weekend and he raised two of the big ones which need answering
1) It was known Tobin and McKeever were going abroad for the summer. Why were both of those players included during the League when other lads who would be available for the summer sat out. and will these players be brought back in next season on their return form a summer abroad?
2) Players not in match day 26's were not allowed play league matches with their clubs. Why was this allowed to happen. How are they supposed to be match sharp from training games?
3) Will the players who walked away be jettisoned for 2019 and onward under this manager? I.E Conlon, McCabe

Aside from these

4) What players will be allowed to return after study/injury/time abroad absence? I.E. Harnan, Jones, O'Coilean, Newman, Tobin, McKeever
5) Will there be discussions with the players who left the panel before the championship and why they did so? Will they be reintroduced during 2019? I'd be thinking in terms of James Toher, Alan Douglas, Harry Rooney, Brian Power, Barry Dardis
6) What is our primary and achievable goal for 2019? If these are not met what is the potential income?
7) How do we plan to achieve the stated goals for 2019?
8) What is the teams style of play? Will there be joined up thinking with the U-17's and U20's team management?
9) What is the role of the management team members? This seems very unclear to me and needs some more defined role's
10) What are the plans for identifying new players for 2019 and integrating them into the panel. For the life of me i don't understand how Niall Kane, David McLoughlin, James Conlon, Seamus Mattimoe Gavin McGowan, James Conlon and Ethan Devine are not involved in the panel at all. I know some were U20 this year but will they warrant inclusion in 2019.
11) What was the role of bringing David Gallagher back onto the panel?"]A few bits of information you posted is wrong. Some of them players you named did not leave the panel.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 12/07/2018 17:05:33    2121072

will they return ....

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 13/07/2018 16:13:27    2121377

Replying To Meath_True:  "will they return ...."
Do we want them to?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/07/2018 07:57:03    2121489

Less questions after today's game.
Only question we should be asking is what does Andy need for next couple of years.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/07/2018 19:49:50    2121683

Replying To royaldunne:  "Less questions after today's game.
Only question we should be asking is what does Andy need for next couple of years."
He needs the best players in the county.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 14/07/2018 21:01:50    2121731

The problem is the best players are not committing. The reason is simple. Dublin. And I cant blame them. The gaa didn't give too craps about the likes of meath when Dublin were given all the money needed to become a professional outfit.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 14/07/2018 22:04:36    2121799

Jones is gone for two years as has been said not one, and Power was injured during champ he didn't leave.

Anyway this that and the other can be argued on here til the cows come home, but no one else would run Tyrone that close with this group of players, or Donegal for that matter. Our two exits. If you think otherwise you're mad, shouldn't even be up for debate.

dunboynelad (Meath) - Posts: 227 - 15/07/2018 09:14:26    2121931

Replying To browncows:  "He needs the best players in the county."
And who are the best players in county. And who are they better than?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/07/2018 09:48:30    2121935

Replying To dunboynelad:  "Jones is gone for two years as has been said not one, and Power was injured during champ he didn't leave.

Anyway this that and the other can be argued on here til the cows come home, but no one else would run Tyrone that close with this group of players, or Donegal for that matter. Our two exits. If you think otherwise you're mad, shouldn't even be up for debate."
Well said.
We have improved of that there is no doubt, but luck of the draw etc has been against us, and getting a few calls that should have went our way but didn't , fine margins.
Let's hope next year we get rub of the green.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/07/2018 09:57:52    2121940