Questions we need answered

I have questions that we as county supporters need answered
Micko
addressed the county delegates every year he wAs there.
The same needs to b done now for mcentees
Why so many walking away how we goin to fix this.
What's the plans for our next season have we learned anything from this campaign.
Any changes needed etc'
Let's have a civilised debate people

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 09/07/2018 12:46:23    2119970

Replying To Reco:  "I have questions that we as county supporters need answered
Micko
What's the plans for our next season have we learned anything from this campaign.
Any changes needed etc'
Let's have a civilised debate people"
i think paddy o Rourke answered most of your questions. No belief deep down, i'm sick of listening to we should have beat Tyrone and look what they have done, we didn't beat Tyrone and what is worse we didn't beat longford, end of

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1047 - 09/07/2018 14:37:31    2120030

Replying To Reco:  "I have questions that we as county supporters need answered
Micko
Any changes needed etc'
Let's have a civilised debate people"
yes nothing wrong with that

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 09/07/2018 15:25:00    2120061

Replying To thelutch:  "i think paddy o Rourke answered most of your questions. No belief deep down, i'm sick of listening to we should have beat Tyrone and look what they have done, we didn't beat Tyrone and what is worse we didn't beat longford, end of"
it's paddy o Rourkes own feelings if he believes it was not worth his while playing for meath nobody's else can fix that. he decided Dublin was unbeatable at the start of the year and it was not worth his while nobody else can deal with his feelings. maybe he will know in time sometimes in life things are not easy and you have to fight and work for something if you want it

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 09/07/2018 15:29:58    2120064

We cannot afford to continue where we left off this year, there was no progress whatsoever, same problems exist as with previous years, no midfield. kickour strategy and poor defending. There was an unsucessful attempt to address the defending by getting everyone behind ball but that proved a failure and teams walked through us. The running game adopted worked to a point, however once we got into opposition forty we slowed up, went sideways or backwards, no option for ball into fullforwards as there was no one in there.
There must be an explaination given why so many left panel ( 20 + since 2017?) after putting in so much in early league and pre-season, I care little that stats can be used to prove this is happening in other counties, the question that concerns me is why it happened in Meath. CB and clubs must be informed of a plan to address current issues. The only explaination I have heard from management, laid the blame for both defeats at door of the ref. No good enough.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 09/07/2018 16:29:10    2120087

Replying To seadog54:  "We cannot afford to continue where we left off this year, there was no progress whatsoever, same problems exist as with previous years, no midfield. kickour strategy and poor defending. There was an unsucessful attempt to address the defending by getting everyone behind ball but that proved a failure and teams walked through us. The running game adopted worked to a point, however once we got into opposition forty we slowed up, went sideways or backwards, no option for ball into fullforwards as there was no one in there.
There must be an explaination given why so many left panel ( 20 + since 2017?) after putting in so much in early league and pre-season, I care little that stats can be used to prove this is happening in other counties, the question that concerns me is why it happened in Meath. CB and clubs must be informed of a plan to address current issues. The only explaination I have heard from management, laid the blame for both defeats at door of the ref. No good enough."
Here's a quick question , why are we so worried about those who left? (Some for very valid reason) jones harnan etc.
why not concentrate on the lads who decided to put in the effort. Take Adam Flanagan and paddy Kennelly for example, both knocking around a bit yet both kept plugging away mostly as last ten minutes subs, and then when they got their chances this year took it with both hands. These are the type of players we should be working on keeping happy, not the prima donnas who were afraid to give it their all. Look at Ben Brennan hardly just starting out , over looked by other managers, yet motm v Tyrone. Let's concentrate on those willing to put in a shift.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/07/2018 19:45:17    2120151

Andy Mcentee has another year left on his 3 year term ..i am ok with that !

Provided he improves his backroom team, But is improving his backroom team is all about a fixed mindset how to play modern day football ? Or what i world prefer the mindset how to defeat it .

Why do we have to implement a system that is starting to get old and the better teams are getting to grip with it !

The time we mastered the modern game we could well be playing football in division 4 because other teams have moved on to a new way of football !

Has Andy Mcentee any new ideas other than Jim Mcguinness doctrine of doom ?

As i said i am ok with Andy Mcentee doing another year....i am also ok if he doesn't want to do another year.

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 09/07/2018 20:36:16    2120172

Replying To royaldunne:  "Here's a quick question , why are we so worried about those who left? (Some for very valid reason) jones harnan etc.
why not concentrate on the lads who decided to put in the effort. Take Adam Flanagan and paddy Kennelly for example, both knocking around a bit yet both kept plugging away mostly as last ten minutes subs, and then when they got their chances this year took it with both hands. These are the type of players we should be working on keeping happy, not the prima donnas who were afraid to give it their all. Look at Ben Brennan hardly just starting out , over looked by other managers, yet motm v Tyrone. Let's concentrate on those willing to put in a shift."
I dont buy into that reasoning, talent pool is limited, Meath need the best players on panel. I am not suggesting management pander to anyone, just give all a fair crack of the whip. Most organisations will suggest that turnover of staff is the biggest obstacle to success. If it were just a handful I would agree with you but the numbers suggest something is amiss, which hopefully management are strong enough to rectify.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 09/07/2018 20:50:11    2120178

Replying To royaldunne:  "Here's a quick question , why are we so worried about those who left? (Some for very valid reason) jones harnan etc.
why not concentrate on the lads who decided to put in the effort. Take Adam Flanagan and paddy Kennelly for example, both knocking around a bit yet both kept plugging away mostly as last ten minutes subs, and then when they got their chances this year took it with both hands. These are the type of players we should be working on keeping happy, not the prima donnas who were afraid to give it their all. Look at Ben Brennan hardly just starting out , over looked by other managers, yet motm v Tyrone. Let's concentrate on those willing to put in a shift."
I can understand the worry because imagine we had Conlon, McKeever, S Tobin, Paddy, Newman, Harnan, Jones, O'Coilean, D Tobin for a full season. It would definitely help. At the same time, these lads never won a thing with Meath (bar Paddy in 2010 even though he was suspended) and for the most part, would almost always let you down or be very inconsistent (Even Conlon and McKeever in the league this year). It is a tough situation. We can't do well without these players, but also can't do well without the commitment McEntee requires. I would side with McEntee over the players that left but only just. I would for sure give McEntee 2 more years at least to get some of the 20's in. The 14 behind the ball has to go though, we need 4 forwards up at all times, with two inside the 45 min

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 09/07/2018 22:33:51    2120207

Replying To seadog54:  "I dont buy into that reasoning, talent pool is limited, Meath need the best players on panel. I am not suggesting management pander to anyone, just give all a fair crack of the whip. Most organisations will suggest that turnover of staff is the biggest obstacle to success. If it were just a handful I would agree with you but the numbers suggest something is amiss, which hopefully management are strong enough to rectify."
Ok who would you drop for the ones that wouldn't put the effort in this year?? , I'm always curious on this one point. Who is better that hasn't already been tried and didn't do much? Leaving aside jones and harnan , who without doubt would be on panel/team if not for study etc. and who will return when time is right for them. And I'm not having a go. I honestly think we fielded the best we have this year. There is plenty of good club players who never could make it at county level down through the years.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/07/2018 22:56:21    2120216

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ok who would you drop for the ones that wouldn't put the effort in this year?? , I'm always curious on this one point. Who is better that hasn't already been tried and didn't do much? Leaving aside jones and harnan , who without doubt would be on panel/team if not for study etc. and who will return when time is right for them. And I'm not having a go. I honestly think we fielded the best we have this year. There is plenty of good club players who never could make it at county level down through the years."
I don't want to single lads out as fair play to those who committed but you cannot be that blind to suggest that the 26 players togged out against Tyrone are the best 26 players in the county with those 2 exceptions. every line of the team could be improved, for example, a starting member of the Meath team plays on his clubs second team, now come on

longroadback (Meath) - Posts: 325 - 10/07/2018 10:19:24    2120286

Replying To longroadback:  "I don't want to single lads out as fair play to those who committed but you cannot be that blind to suggest that the 26 players togged out against Tyrone are the best 26 players in the county with those 2 exceptions. every line of the team could be improved, for example, a starting member of the Meath team plays on his clubs second team, now come on"
Who is that??

TakeYourPoints6 (Meath) - Posts: 230 - 10/07/2018 12:28:22    2120336

As far as im aware county players arent allowed play for their clubs second team so very doubtful that this is true...

TakeYourPoints6 (Meath) - Posts: 230 - 10/07/2018 12:29:19    2120339

Replying To TakeYourPoints6:  "As far as im aware county players arent allowed play for their clubs second team so very doubtful that this is true..."
Clubs name their top 8 players who cannot play Second Team Championship and 15 that cannot play b league, this player is not the number 1 in his position within his club so he is not listed in their 8 or 15. Once there are no objections from other clubs once the list is circulated there is no issue with this.

longroadback (Meath) - Posts: 325 - 10/07/2018 16:20:17    2120440

Replying To TakeYourPoints6:  "Who is that??"
Also - clubs won't name players who are injured in their first team squads. If they subsequently recover from injury and they haven't played for teh first team in championship they can play for their second team. That is the same in every county

Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 475 - 10/07/2018 16:42:26    2120448

Replying To TakeYourPoints6:  "As far as im aware county players arent allowed play for their clubs second team so very doubtful that this is true..."
Thought the same.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/07/2018 20:01:04    2120520

Replying To longroadback:  "I don't want to single lads out as fair play to those who committed but you cannot be that blind to suggest that the 26 players togged out against Tyrone are the best 26 players in the county with those 2 exceptions. every line of the team could be improved, for example, a starting member of the Meath team plays on his clubs second team, now come on"
Every line? Ok so that's at least 5 players you would drop. Name them. I'm sorry you can't say there is 5 players who left panel that are better than those who started v Tyrone without backing it up. Name the player u would drop and the player you would put in there place. If it's easier name a starting 15.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/07/2018 20:03:32    2120522

Without doubt the current manager should have to address club delegates to review 2018 and outline his plans for 2019. It could be argued that under the current regime we have played 5 championship games and only won one and we have went from being a strong division 2 team to being a poor division 2 team.

If there is a similar player turn-over in 2019 we could end up literally running out of players who are anywhere close to the required standard. The fact that so many players walked away between the start of the year and the Tyrone match meant that we had at least 2 subs who had never even played a league game and were not a realistic option to bring on against Tyrone which left us totally limited when it came to fresh legs at the critical juncture in that game. Tyrone were without a number of key men and were vulnerable on the night but we simply didn't have the players when we needed them the most.

Man management is a critical component to be a successful manager and the player turn over is a very worrying development, its alright talking about the potential of underage players with the county but if so many players have walked away over the last 18 months how many of these young players are actually going to stick the current regime. Lads need to enjoy football and if they don't they wont hang around and they can't be faulted for that. I am aware of how much effort the management team and players have put in over the last 2 years but we seem to have regressed which leads to the question... what type of training have they been doing and have lads been flogged so that there is nothing left in the tank and they no longer enjoy it? If this is the case then there needs to be a rethink because we are not like Dublin/Kerry and we cant afford anyone walking away because we need every footballer in the county.

If just some of the following players Newman, DTobin, Harnan, Power, Conlon, Mc Keever, STobin (Simonstown), Davy Mc Loughlin, Mattimoe, Daire Rowe, Hannigan, Rooney, Douglas...had chosen to stay around instead to walking away or rejecting the offer to join the squad we would be in a lot healthier position. The big question is; why are none of them playing for the county??

I honestly don't know if there is anything to be gained from changing manager again and another year would give the current regime 3 years which is a fair term for any manager to prove himself but things need to change drastically with regard to man management because another year of players walking away and general unrest could set us back years.

Thunderstruck (Meath) - Posts: 467 - 10/07/2018 20:20:57    2120528

Replying To Thunderstruck:  "Without doubt the current manager should have to address club delegates to review 2018 and outline his plans for 2019. It could be argued that under the current regime we have played 5 championship games and only won one and we have went from being a strong division 2 team to being a poor division 2 team.

If there is a similar player turn-over in 2019 we could end up literally running out of players who are anywhere close to the required standard. The fact that so many players walked away between the start of the year and the Tyrone match meant that we had at least 2 subs who had never even played a league game and were not a realistic option to bring on against Tyrone which left us totally limited when it came to fresh legs at the critical juncture in that game. Tyrone were without a number of key men and were vulnerable on the night but we simply didn't have the players when we needed them the most.

Man management is a critical component to be a successful manager and the player turn over is a very worrying development, its alright talking about the potential of underage players with the county but if so many players have walked away over the last 18 months how many of these young players are actually going to stick the current regime. Lads need to enjoy football and if they don't they wont hang around and they can't be faulted for that. I am aware of how much effort the management team and players have put in over the last 2 years but we seem to have regressed which leads to the question... what type of training have they been doing and have lads been flogged so that there is nothing left in the tank and they no longer enjoy it? If this is the case then there needs to be a rethink because we are not like Dublin/Kerry and we cant afford anyone walking away because we need every footballer in the county.

If just some of the following players Newman, DTobin, Harnan, Power, Conlon, Mc Keever, STobin (Simonstown), Davy Mc Loughlin, Mattimoe, Daire Rowe, Hannigan, Rooney, Douglas...had chosen to stay around instead to walking away or rejecting the offer to join the squad we would be in a lot healthier position. The big question is; why are none of them playing for the county??

I honestly don't know if there is anything to be gained from changing manager again and another year would give the current regime 3 years which is a fair term for any manager to prove himself but things need to change drastically with regard to man management because another year of players walking away and general unrest could set us back years."
Excellent post

longroadback (Meath) - Posts: 325 - 11/07/2018 08:42:55    2120615

Replying To royaldunne:  "Every line? Ok so that's at least 5 players you would drop. Name them. I'm sorry you can't say there is 5 players who left panel that are better than those who started v Tyrone without backing it up. Name the player u would drop and the player you would put in there place. If it's easier name a starting 15."
Hey mate, here's the team that started v Tyrone and i could certainly support the claim of at least one player per line could be dropped so I'll give it a go.

Meath
1. Andrew Colgan - Keep. Inconsistent kick outs and needs to be worked on. Gave up a couple of scores which were the difference v Tyrone

2. Seamus Lavin - Keep. Solid year as a starter and hopefully he'll develop further next year.
3. Conor McGill - Keep. Essential player on the team and should be a building block of the future.
4. Seán Curran - could go. did nothing bad but nothing of note either. Replacement - Donal Keoghan

5. James McEntee - Keep. As with McGill a building block of the future and should continue at 5 or 7 and push up the field
6. Donal Keogan - Keep. Our stand out defender and can do it all. I'm not sure he's a centre half back at this level and would prefer to keep him as our designated man marker. Replacement - Brian Menton
7. Shane Gallagher - Go. Very poor v Tyrone. Was tasked with picking up McAliskey on the day and gave hom far too much space and time and McAliskey almost had the game won before half time. Replacement - Padraic Harnan

8. Bryan Menton - Go. Drop to defence. Midfield was our worst area on the pitch and we need one athlete and one attacking player. Replacement - Ronan Jones
9. Adam Flanagan - Keep. Could be used as the screen or sitting midfielder with Jones being used as an attacking option.

10. Cillian O'Sullivan - Keep. but needs to be more consistent
11. Ben Brennan - Keep. Lets see how he develops next year
12. Mickey Burke - Go. Its way past time to carry him in the team. Replacement - Graham Reilly

22. Joey Wallace - Go. Is a better potential impact sub. Time to have natural attackers in the team who can score. Replacement - David McLoughlin or Daire Rowe
14. Graham Reilly - Go. Isn't a FF. Replacement - Michael Newman
15. Donal Lenihan - Keep but needs to have more of an impact on games.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 11/07/2018 09:04:12    2120620