Dublin Getting 2 Home Games In The Super 8s. Fair Or Unfair?

Replying To gormdubhgorm:  "
Replying To GreenandRed:  "'Dublin rent Croke Park the neutral venue.' Neutral for all counties except Dublin you mean?"
It is a neutral venue for all counties they are free to rent it as weii. The Dublin hurlers have suffered in CP when Parnell Pk was not used."
So if tipp decide clonmel or nenagh is their home ground but too small to hold matches and we play every single game in semple stadium could we claim it as neutral?

tipp11 (Tipperary) - Posts: 353 - 11/07/2018 14:22:15    2120727

Replying To Fionn:  "Every county board needs to share some of the blame on this Super 8's issue...
Why didn't they all speak up at Congress when all this was agreed.??

This should have been very clear from the offset instead of all this nonsense...."
What are you talking about?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 11/07/2018 14:33:13    2120732

Replying To tipp11:  "
Replying To gormdubhgorm:  "[quote=GreenandRed:  "'Dublin rent Croke Park the neutral venue.' Neutral for all counties except Dublin you mean?"
It is a neutral venue for all counties they are free to rent it as weii. The Dublin hurlers have suffered in CP when Parnell Pk was not used."
So if tipp decide clonmel or nenagh is their home ground but too small to hold matches and we play every single game in semple stadium could we claim it as neutral?"]Of course you can. But then you not inderstand the term 'neutral' as it seems some Dublin posters also struggle with that term. I know rightly Tipp11 you definitely know what neutral means.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 11/07/2018 14:37:16    2120736

Replying To ulsterrules:  "there is no doubt that congress were at fault here but it was a room full of delegates from every county including the executive at the top table . Surely when the Galway delegate miss spoke about 1 home 1 away and 1 neutral they would have corrected him .

But they did not correct him , you can portray him as doddery to help your argument but any competition is about fairness.. imagine this format was used in the Dublin County Championship and St Vincent's for example used Parnell Park week in week out and they got to play 2 games at home in their group, I'm sure kilmacud/Ballymun etc would not sit on their hands.

But again why have fairness when you can have an advantage….."
I was talking about Gilroy hinting at an asterisk next to Dublin's recent success. Baloney.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 382 - 11/07/2018 15:04:01    2120746

Replying To GreenandRed:  "
Replying To tipp11:  "[quote=gormdubhgorm:  "[quote=GreenandRed:  "'Dublin rent Croke Park the neutral venue.' Neutral for all counties except Dublin you mean?"
So if tipp decide clonmel or nenagh is their home ground but too small to hold matches and we play every single game in semple stadium could we claim it as neutral?"]Of course you can. But then you not inderstand the term 'neutral' as it seems some Dublin posters also struggle with that term. I know rightly Tipp11 you definitely know what neutral means."]I think it is you that is confused Croke Park is GAA HQ it is a neutral venue which happens to be situated in Dublin.
Dublin's home ground is Parnell Park it always has been.
The Dublin footballers have not had a 'home' game in Parnell Park since 2009.
They used in Parnell Park prior to the advent of the 'Spring Series'.

All of this inofmation should not be a surprise to you nor should be a surprise to anyone who was at the GAA congress.
Dublin hurlers played Tipp in semple last year in the championship, I had no problem with it was pre-arranged, the KK v Waterford game was on after it.
Big crowd great atmosphere.
In fact Dublin played Kerry in Semple when Croke Park was being redeveloped by in 2001 it was pre-arranged there was no problem with it.
Why the issue now?
All these greivence's you have could have been aired at Congress by delegates.
But not ONE delegate put thier hand up and questioned it.
Congress at fault not Dublin's.
This is just Donegal led by the likes of Jim McGuinness trying to create a belated story, to whip up a 'them v us' narrative.

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 11/07/2018 15:25:19    2120750

Replying To GreenandRed:  "[quote=tipp11:  "[quote=gormdubhgorm:  "[quote=GreenandRed:  "'Dublin rent Croke Park the neutral venue.' Neutral for all counties except Dublin you mean?"
So if tipp decide clonmel or nenagh is their home ground but too small to hold matches and we play every single game in semple stadium could we claim it as neutral?"]Of course you can. But then you not inderstand the term 'neutral' as it seems some Dublin posters also struggle with that term. I know rightly Tipp11 you definitely know what neutral means."]I think it is you that is confused Croke Park is GAA HQ it is a neutral venue which happens to be situated in Dublin.

All of this inofmation should not be a surprise to you nor should be a surprise to anyone who was at the GAA congress.
Dublin hurlers played Tipp in semple last year in the championship, I had no problem with it was pre-arranged, the KK v Waterford game was on after it.
In fact Dublin played Kerry in Semple when Croke Park was being redeveloped by in 2001 it was pre-arranged there was no problem with it.
Why the issue now?
This is just Donegal led by the likes of Jim McGuinness trying to create a belated story, to whip up a 'them v us' narrative."]Dublin have played all of their HOME games in Croke Park for nearly 10 years, and Croke Park is in Dublin. I dont see how that dosent point to 'home ground' at this stage

NaomhNaille (Donegal) - Posts: 124 - 11/07/2018 16:05:42    2120760

Replying To GreenandRed:  "[quote=tipp11:  "[quote=gormdubhgorm:  "[quote=GreenandRed:  "'Dublin rent Croke Park the neutral venue.' Neutral for all counties except Dublin you mean?"

Why the issue now?
This is just Donegal led by the likes of Jim McGuinness trying to create a belated story, to whip up a 'them v us' narrative."]Not confused. Only an idiot waould claim a Dublin venue for a Dublin team is neutral.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 11/07/2018 16:08:02    2120761

Why the issue now?
This is just Donegal led by the likes of Jim McGuinness trying to create a belated story, to whip up a 'them v us' narrative."]Here we go with this Parnell park rubbish again, the last time ye played there in the championship was 2004 against London, it has never been or never will be Dublin's home ground. Nobody was sure who would be in what group for this stage of the competition so no objections were made at Congress. Donegal did recently as it effects them the most and fair play to them for doing so.

I'm sure if the 'rules' stated that teams playing Dublin had to have one hand tied behind there back then you wouldn't have a problem with that either.

That's the issue the rules are favouring one team over the other 7 at this stage of the competition, but it'll be changed hopefully for next year.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 11/07/2018 16:12:08    2120765

Launching the Super 8s with two double headers in Croke Park makes sense in so many ways. Its also a very attractive package for neutral fans over the week-end.
Do Dublin have an advantage playing two games out of three in Dublin? YES , Will it ever be changed ? UNLIKELY
Donegal players/management have not make an issue of it. Their county board have as is their right seeked clarification on how a venue could be both a neutral and home venue for one team. They accepted the committee's response and moved on from there. This will never be an issue for more than one county in any given year.Its Donegal's problem this year and some other county (Connacht/Munster champions) next year. As a result I cant see there being a huge groundswell movement for change in congress next year. Its a good but not ideal arrangement and none of the two participating counties are to blame.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 504 - 11/07/2018 16:32:54    2120768

As Eamonn Sweeney put it dubgrugers will always find something to cling onto. I for one hope Dublin play more games away from croke park as I believe it is the venue they are most likely to be caught in. For someone like mcguiness to suggest it will affect there legacy just smacks of bitterness.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 11/07/2018 17:32:49    2120781

Replying To GreenandRed:  "
Replying To gormdubhgorm:  "[quote=GreenandRed:  "[quote=tipp11:  "[quote=gormdubhgorm:  "[quote=GreenandRed:  "'Dublin rent Croke Park the neutral venue.' Neutral for all counties except Dublin you mean?"

Why the issue now?
This is just Donegal led by the likes of Jim McGuinness trying to create a belated story, to whip up a 'them v us' narrative."]Not confused. Only an idiot waould claim a Dublin venue for a Dublin team is neutral."]Do you not understand under the GAA rules
Croke Park is deemed as a neutral venue
Parnell Park is Dublin's home ground.
This is ALREADY a known fact - why complain now?
I can't put it clearer then that.

I can't remember the Dublin hurlers crying about having to play a championship game against Tipp last year in Semple stadium 'The Home of Hurling'
Croke Park is GAA HQ/'The Home of football'

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 11/07/2018 17:52:54    2120784

Replying To jacktheDub:  "As Eamonn Sweeney put it dubgrugers will always find something to cling onto. I for one hope Dublin play more games away from croke park as I believe it is the venue they are most likely to be caught in. For someone like mcguiness to suggest it will affect there legacy just smacks of bitterness."
Yeah but even Sweeney drowning in a sea of ignorance did state that Dublin had a huge advantage playing at 'home'. Seemed to used the article as an opportunity to not for the first time have a cheap shot at Donegal which didnt add much to the debate.
Both teams are focused on next Saturdays match and the venue will be a non issue next Monday morning. I think the majority of people have moved on by now.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 504 - 11/07/2018 17:55:32    2120785

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "
Replying To gormdubhgorm:  "[quote=GreenandRed:  "[quote=tipp11:  "[quote=gormdubhgorm:  "[quote=GreenandRed:  "'Dublin rent Croke Park the neutral venue.' Neutral for all counties except Dublin you mean?"

Why the issue now?
This is just Donegal led by the likes of Jim McGuinness trying to create a belated story, to whip up a 'them v us' narrative."]Here we go with this Parnell park rubbish again, the last time ye played there in the championship was 2004 against London, it has never been or never will be Dublin's home ground. Nobody was sure who would be in what group for this stage of the competition so no objections were made at Congress. Donegal did recently as it effects them the most and fair play to them for doing so.

I'm sure if the 'rules' stated that teams playing Dublin had to have one hand tied behind there back then you wouldn't have a problem with that either.

That's the issue the rules are favouring one team over the other 7 at this stage of the competition, but it'll be changed hopefully for next year."]If there was any problem with it, it should be aired when the fixtures are designed in Congresss.
Why are people in GAA so reactionary after the fact?

'The NCT syndrome' - don't get the car fixed fail wait for the problems to show - then fix themselv
Again it is already known that Parnell Park is Dublin's home ground.
Croke Park is a neutral venue, but the DCB now rent Croke Park.

This is not new. Congress at fault.
Let's be honest if Dublin played Donegal in Ballybofey twice they would more then likely still win anyway.
This is just creating hype for the game and stir interest that is all.
Fellas like Jim Mc playing mind games as usual.

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 11/07/2018 18:01:01    2120789

Replying To jacktheDub:  "As Eamonn Sweeney put it dubgrugers will always find something to cling onto. I for one hope Dublin play more games away from croke park as I believe it is the venue they are most likely to be caught in. For someone like mcguiness to suggest it will affect there legacy just smacks of bitterness."
What has JmcG got to be bitter about? The point he was making is that while Dublin may well go on to win 4 or 5 or 6 in a row, people will say "sure look at all the advantages they had"
Now you may well disagree with him & fair enough if you do but to call our Jim bitter is hurtful in the extreme & will no doubt be used in the Donegal dressing room as a rallying cry.
I'm sure you don't want that on your conscience so I would apologise straight away if I were you.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 11/07/2018 18:01:40    2120790

Replying To NaomhNaille:  "it's even worse than that, spurs only went one season with no home games but dublin havent had a home championship game since 2004. it's so tough on them they're at such a disadvantage."
Would you rather play the Dubs away in Croke Park or away in Parnell Park? Ask your players that and they'll tell you Croke Park every time. In fact other counties vote for it all the time. Talk to your CB and then come back to us.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 11/07/2018 18:18:50    2120792

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "[quote=gormdubhgorm:  "[quote=GreenandRed:  "[quote=tipp11:  "[quote=gormdubhgorm:  "[quote=GreenandRed:  "'Dublin rent Croke Park the neutral venue.' Neutral for all counties except Dublin you mean?"

Why the issue now?

That's the issue the rules are favouring one team over the other 7 at this stage of the competition, but it'll be changed hopefully for next year."]If there was any problem with it, it should be aired when the fixtures are designed in Congresss.

'The NCT syndrome' - don't get the car fixed fail wait for the problems to show - then fix themselv

Let's be honest if Dublin played Donegal in Ballybofey twice they would more then likely still win anyway.
Fellas like Jim Mc playing mind games as usual."]Im not going to argue with anyone who thinks Parnell park is Dublins home ground as its pointless. If ye did play twice in Ballybofey and won by a million points it doesnt matter, the structure of the competition isnt fair on three teams in the group with one team having an extra home game.

Anyway it should be rectified for next year as i said.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 11/07/2018 18:31:47    2120794

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "[quote=gormdubhgorm:  "[quote=GreenandRed:  "[quote=tipp11:  "[quote=gormdubhgorm:  "[quote=GreenandRed:  "'Dublin rent Croke Park the neutral venue.' Neutral for all counties except Dublin you mean?"

Why the issue now?

Fellas like Jim Mc playing mind games as usual."]Why are you chatting about a game in Semple 17 years ago? Kerry don't even play there what does it have to do with anything? Some amount of rubbish in that post.

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 214 - 11/07/2018 18:42:55    2120798

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "What has JmcG got to be bitter about? The point he was making is that while Dublin may well go on to win 4 or 5 or 6 in a row, people will say "sure look at all the advantages they had"
Now you may well disagree with him & fair enough if you do but to call our Jim bitter is hurtful in the extreme & will no doubt be used in the Donegal dressing room as a rallying cry.
I'm sure you don't want that on your conscience so I would apologise straight away if I were you."
Sure luck Muck. Move us out of CP and they'll use the money excuse. Make us paupers and they'll use the population excuse. This is a great Dublin team. Look at our away record. The people who know their stuff with no axe to grind will determine their legacy, not a wannabe sports hack whose own team's record at home against this Dublin team was ???? It's 15 v 15 afterall.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 11/07/2018 18:51:43    2120800

Replying To Joxer:  "Sure luck Muck. Move us out of CP and they'll use the money excuse. Make us paupers and they'll use the population excuse. This is a great Dublin team. Look at our away record. The people who know their stuff with no axe to grind will determine their legacy, not a wannabe sports hack whose own team's record at home against this Dublin team was ???? It's 15 v 15 afterall."
2014 still cuts deep I see

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 214 - 11/07/2018 19:04:44    2120804

Most of the Dublin team weren't even shaving the last time Dublin played a championship game in Parnell park. Would they know where it even is?

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 11/07/2018 19:04:44    2120805