Dublin Getting 2 Home Games In The Super 8s. Fair Or Unfair?

Replying To kildare73:  "They probably had to wait until they had a long hard think about whether to move the Dublin/Donegal game...............oh look, flying pigs!!"
it's like you totally missed the entirety of the last week

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 382 - 09/07/2018 16:44:17    2120093

Replying To Gavvygavgav:  "it's like you totally missed the entirety of the last week"
This from the man who said we would play Mayo in Croker!!!

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 09/07/2018 17:49:59    2120119

Replying To JoeSoap:  "I would still be hopeful that the big Donegal contingent working and living in Dublin will give us a significant enough support on Saturday, but there's no doubt the time for throw-in and being away a week later will greatly reduce the numbers from Donegal."
It's a pity we don't have the advantage of having 2 games at home in Ballybofey, easy for our supporters to get to the games, and a long journey for opposing fans, but that wouldn't be fair on other teams, us having 2 games at home like.
Great wee country all the same.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 09/07/2018 18:25:28    2120126

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "It's a pity we don't have the advantage of having 2 games at home in Ballybofey, easy for our supporters to get to the games, and a long journey for opposing fans, but that wouldn't be fair on other teams, us having 2 games at home like.
Great wee country all the same."
Suck it up lad. Some of those Donegal lads have played more games in Croke Park than Brian Howard, Con O'Callaghan and other young Dubs. Familiarisation won't be a problem for Donegal players. How many other counties can say that about the opposition at their home ground? How many games are played at Ballybofey every year not involving Donegal? If you're team is good enough, it's good enough. Stay over in Dublin on Sat night if the travelling is bothering you. Dublin fans would be delighted to be playing in Donegal on a Sat night. This is what it's all about.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 09/07/2018 23:37:13    2120229

Replying To Joxer:  "Suck it up lad. Some of those Donegal lads have played more games in Croke Park than Brian Howard, Con O'Callaghan and other young Dubs. Familiarisation won't be a problem for Donegal players. How many other counties can say that about the opposition at their home ground? How many games are played at Ballybofey every year not involving Donegal? If you're team is good enough, it's good enough. Stay over in Dublin on Sat night if the travelling is bothering you. Dublin fans would be delighted to be playing in Donegal on a Sat night. This is what it's all about."
Stay in Dublin on a Sat night in July?

Are you mad? Do you think we are made of money?

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 10/07/2018 08:42:26    2120259

Replying To Joxer:  "Suck it up lad. Some of those Donegal lads have played more games in Croke Park than Brian Howard, Con O'Callaghan and other young Dubs. Familiarisation won't be a problem for Donegal players. How many other counties can say that about the opposition at their home ground? How many games are played at Ballybofey every year not involving Donegal? If you're team is good enough, it's good enough. Stay over in Dublin on Sat night if the travelling is bothering you. Dublin fans would be delighted to be playing in Donegal on a Sat night. This is what it's all about."
Can Dublin fans stop with the "We love to travel" ........"We love a road trip" stuff on here? Dublin have had TWO chances this year alone to show that and didn't. Wicklow were told to move their game to Portlaoise, the Dublin powers that be stayed silent and didn't support their smaller neighbour. Not that Wicklow is much of a "road trip" for Dublin anyway but the fact remains Dublin haven't played an away Championship game since 2006. Likewise Dublin stayed silent as Carlow were made move their game last year, as were Laois the year before even though Portlaoise miraculously enough managed to be a good enough ground last year once the game wasn't against Laois. Then the other great mantra, "We play where we are told" which even Ciaran Whelan can't help but smile on the Sunday Game any time he has to say it. Dublin by a mile are the single most powerful county board in the country, if they wanted and were interested, they have influence in the decision making process of where games are. This Dublin team will beat most teams anywhere and they even know that themselves. But cut the bull of "we'll play anywhere " because nobody believes it. If that were true why be so touchy about leaving Croker for this Donegal game? Why not meet in Clones or somewhere and ask the GAA to facilitate it for the sake of the fairness and spirit of the competition? We all know it says a Croke Park game in the set up of the Super 8s and yes, it baffles me why it took until now for it to become an issue because Dublin were always going to be part of the Super 8s but here now is Dublin county board, players and fans opportunity to embrace the road trip they say they so much love but they cling to the Croke Park wording rigidly which is their right because it's there in black and white but please don't talk out of both sides of your mouth. Either admit you don't want to leave Croke Park, or go on the road trip you you are meant to enjoy so much because here's an opportunity to squeeze in an extra one, but don't try be too clever.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 10/07/2018 09:59:33    2120283

Replying To kildare73:  "Can Dublin fans stop with the "We love to travel" ........"We love a road trip" stuff on here? Dublin have had TWO chances this year alone to show that and didn't. Wicklow were told to move their game to Portlaoise, the Dublin powers that be stayed silent and didn't support their smaller neighbour. Not that Wicklow is much of a "road trip" for Dublin anyway but the fact remains Dublin haven't played an away Championship game since 2006. Likewise Dublin stayed silent as Carlow were made move their game last year, as were Laois the year before even though Portlaoise miraculously enough managed to be a good enough ground last year once the game wasn't against Laois. Then the other great mantra, "We play where we are told" which even Ciaran Whelan can't help but smile on the Sunday Game any time he has to say it. Dublin by a mile are the single most powerful county board in the country, if they wanted and were interested, they have influence in the decision making process of where games are. This Dublin team will beat most teams anywhere and they even know that themselves. But cut the bull of "we'll play anywhere " because nobody believes it. If that were true why be so touchy about leaving Croker for this Donegal game? Why not meet in Clones or somewhere and ask the GAA to facilitate it for the sake of the fairness and spirit of the competition? We all know it says a Croke Park game in the set up of the Super 8s and yes, it baffles me why it took until now for it to become an issue because Dublin were always going to be part of the Super 8s but here now is Dublin county board, players and fans opportunity to embrace the road trip they say they so much love but they cling to the Croke Park wording rigidly which is their right because it's there in black and white but please don't talk out of both sides of your mouth. Either admit you don't want to leave Croke Park, or go on the road trip you you are meant to enjoy so much because here's an opportunity to squeeze in an extra one, but don't try be too clever."
In all fairness I think the Dublin fans & team would be happy to play anywhere. It is the Dublin Co. Board who haven't stepped up to the mark here & let's face facts, why should they?

Their brief is to look after the affairs of Dublin football, the bigger picture is of no concern to them. If any other county board was being offered the deal the Dublin gets they would grab it with both hands,

Turkeys rarely vote for Xmas.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 10/07/2018 10:16:07    2120285

Replying To kildare73:  "Can Dublin fans stop with the "We love to travel" ........"We love a road trip" stuff on here? Dublin have had TWO chances this year alone to show that and didn't. Wicklow were told to move their game to Portlaoise, the Dublin powers that be stayed silent and didn't support their smaller neighbour. Not that Wicklow is much of a "road trip" for Dublin anyway but the fact remains Dublin haven't played an away Championship game since 2006. Likewise Dublin stayed silent as Carlow were made move their game last year, as were Laois the year before even though Portlaoise miraculously enough managed to be a good enough ground last year once the game wasn't against Laois. Then the other great mantra, "We play where we are told" which even Ciaran Whelan can't help but smile on the Sunday Game any time he has to say it. Dublin by a mile are the single most powerful county board in the country, if they wanted and were interested, they have influence in the decision making process of where games are. This Dublin team will beat most teams anywhere and they even know that themselves. But cut the bull of "we'll play anywhere " because nobody believes it. If that were true why be so touchy about leaving Croker for this Donegal game? Why not meet in Clones or somewhere and ask the GAA to facilitate it for the sake of the fairness and spirit of the competition? We all know it says a Croke Park game in the set up of the Super 8s and yes, it baffles me why it took until now for it to become an issue because Dublin were always going to be part of the Super 8s but here now is Dublin county board, players and fans opportunity to embrace the road trip they say they so much love but they cling to the Croke Park wording rigidly which is their right because it's there in black and white but please don't talk out of both sides of your mouth. Either admit you don't want to leave Croke Park, or go on the road trip you you are meant to enjoy so much because here's an opportunity to squeeze in an extra one, but don't try be too clever."
Your right can i suggest Omagh next week! :D

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 10/07/2018 10:19:26    2120287

Sure we had Damothedub on here last week saying why would the dubs want to leave crokepark and go around visiting the county cowsheds around the country.

Dubs say they love to travel and some of them probably would but after a few years and seeing how much it costs you'd see their numbers dwindling down.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/07/2018 10:21:00    2120289

To be fair the Jacks in Fitzgerald stadium could do with a bit of work.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 10/07/2018 10:29:13    2120291

So much nonsense in one post

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 382 - 10/07/2018 10:31:52    2120292

Replying To Gavvygavgav:  "So much nonsense in one post"
Ok go ahead, tell me where the nonsense is. Don't just spout a line and not back it up. That's a cop out.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 10/07/2018 10:46:10    2120299

I honestly believe the Dublin fans want to travel, the loyal fans have no problem with that. However the Dublin county board and the GAA hierarchy don't want Dublin to play outside Croke Park as it generates a load of cash.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 10/07/2018 11:14:44    2120308

Replying To kildare73:  "Ok go ahead, tell me where the nonsense is. Don't just spout a line and not back it up. That's a cop out."
It's nonsense because for Dublin supporters people asking for fairness and a level playing field in a new format are only spouting 'anti-Dublin bias' etc etc.

That is the world view of the poor beleaguered Dub these days - the GAA is their to serve them alone and anything done to upset this apple cart is meet with screams of conspiracy!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 10/07/2018 11:27:26    2120319

Replying To kildare73:  "Ok go ahead, tell me where the nonsense is. Don't just spout a line and not back it up. That's a cop out."
a) Dublin fans DO love to travel, as evidenced by the carnival they bring around the league year in year out. Attendances may not have been enormous in Nowlan or Portlaoise but, no disrespect to Wicklow, Carlow or Portlaoise it was the first round of Leinster for Dublin, and yet they were still amongst the most handsomely attended matches of a those weekends.

b) Why the hell should Dublin CB get involved in switching a match from Portlaoise to Wicklow? Do you think for one second that the kildare CB or the Meath CB would do the same? Would they hell. And even if the DCB did stick their oar in, there'd most likely be a hefty portion of bitter individuals deriding Dublin for their big heads.

c) There's nothing wrong whatsoever with the statement "We play where we are told". Again, the DCB would be derided as wielding unearned power if they did start influencing the fixtures process in such a manner, a manner I repeat no other CB would.

d) the provincial winners were always set for Croker in the first match. It's been know for nigh on 18 months. It was voted on by everyone, even Donegal's congress representatives. Croke Park gave Donegal the window for saving face. Why would the DCB elect to move this match: to please the likes of YOU? Get right over yourself.

e) Can't wait for Omagh.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 382 - 10/07/2018 11:28:41    2120320

Replying To Green_Gold:  "I honestly believe the Dublin fans want to travel, the loyal fans have no problem with that. However the Dublin county board and the GAA hierarchy don't want Dublin to play outside Croke Park as it generates a load of cash."
Dublin County board serves Dublin.
Does the Donegal County board serve Derry too? Leitrim?
Does the Kerry County Board serve Cork? Would they push for Kerry games to be played in Limerick? Semple?

The answer to all those questions is No.
So why should the Dublin County Board hold itself to different standards?

It shouldn't.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 382 - 10/07/2018 11:43:48    2120325

I am a Dub supporter.
In all honesty I view it as unfair.
But it is the GAA's fault and the other counties not Dublin's.
Why was this not brought up at congress, the same kind of craic that allowed munster counties protection from relegation in the hurling.

The time to give out about it was then.
Were were the other county boards doing humming a happy tune while the plans were made?
GAA HQ is always going to try and get the most money out of games where possible so that money can be funneled into grassroots etc.
It was up to to other counties to complain about the Super 8's planning when it was been devised not during the thing!

The whole thing smacks of incompetence from the other county boards in Ireland

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 10/07/2018 12:36:24    2120342

I think its a joke we have to play two games in Croke park too. Its unfair on the other teams and we would be much happier playing one of the games in Portlaoise. lol

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 10/07/2018 12:59:51    2120356

Replying To Gavvygavgav:  "a) Dublin fans DO love to travel, as evidenced by the carnival they bring around the league year in year out. Attendances may not have been enormous in Nowlan or Portlaoise but, no disrespect to Wicklow, Carlow or Portlaoise it was the first round of Leinster for Dublin, and yet they were still amongst the most handsomely attended matches of a those weekends.

b) Why the hell should Dublin CB get involved in switching a match from Portlaoise to Wicklow? Do you think for one second that the kildare CB or the Meath CB would do the same? Would they hell. And even if the DCB did stick their oar in, there'd most likely be a hefty portion of bitter individuals deriding Dublin for their big heads.

c) There's nothing wrong whatsoever with the statement "We play where we are told". Again, the DCB would be derided as wielding unearned power if they did start influencing the fixtures process in such a manner, a manner I repeat no other CB would.

d) the provincial winners were always set for Croker in the first match. It's been know for nigh on 18 months. It was voted on by everyone, even Donegal's congress representatives. Croke Park gave Donegal the window for saving face. Why would the DCB elect to move this match: to please the likes of YOU? Get right over yourself.

e) Can't wait for Omagh."
A) So Dublin fans love to travel but its limited to the league? And the games in Portlaoise and Nowlan Park, as you admit, weren't exactly huge attendances, so why weren't they given that Dublin fans knew this was their last travelling engagement of the year most likely? Regardless of the opposition, i thought it was all about the travelling. And why was the very thought of not playing Donegal in Croke Park met with such huge opposition on here straight away? For people who love to travel and get so little chance it was a strong backlash!!
B) DCB didn't have to get involved in any process as such but even a cursory statement of having no objection to playing home games for Wicklow or Laois might have been appreciated but a wall of silence was put up. I think most people around country would, rather than you seem to imply think it was arrogant, would have applauded Dublin on helping their smaller neighbours in a game Dublin would always win.
C) Grand stick to "We play where we are told" but don't then give us every reason under the sun as to why you shouldn't be "told " to not play two games in Croker when everyone else is getting one. This should have been sorted sooner, no problem saying that, and looks like every other county board waited to see who would get the short straw before speaking up. But if you love to travel, don't go spitting the dummy when everyone else is on the road twice in three games and it's pointed out on here Dublin aren't.
D) I am not asking Dublin county board to move a match, that's an issue I and quite a few have with Croke Park. If they were giving Donegal a face saving road as you say well face saving is something Croke Park are trying hard to gain expertise in in the last couple of weeks. And they won't be pleasing the "likes of ME" because Kildare aren't directly involved. If they were I'd be saying a lot more. But there's no law against expressing a point of view even some don't like it.
E) what's seldom is wonderful:)

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 10/07/2018 13:11:28    2120362

Replying To gormdubhgorm:  "I am a Dub supporter.
In all honesty I view it as unfair.
But it is the GAA's fault and the other counties not Dublin's.
Why was this not brought up at congress, the same kind of craic that allowed munster counties protection from relegation in the hurling.

The time to give out about it was then.
Were were the other county boards doing humming a happy tune while the plans were made?
GAA HQ is always going to try and get the most money out of games where possible so that money can be funneled into grassroots etc.
It was up to to other counties to complain about the Super 8's planning when it was been devised not during the thing!

The whole thing smacks of incompetence from the other county boards in Ireland"
Never too late to right a wrong. Nothing will happen this year which is fair enough but because of the controversy there will be changes for next year.

As for the argument about the exta money from these games going to the grassroots, that would hold more water if the money was spread out a bit more. The fact is that not alone are teams disadvantaged by playing in Croker but the extra money raised is spent largely in Dublin.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 10/07/2018 13:13:07    2120363