Dublin Getting 2 Home Games In The Super 8s. Fair Or Unfair?

Replying To Daith:  "It's a shambles. As great as Dublin are, the continued favouritism shown towards them affects the legacy of that team.

Donegal don't stand a chance and the integrity of the competition has become a joke."
Newsflash.... blatant favouritism shown by other counties (congress) towards Dublin, effects other counties. Only in Ireland! Sounds like you have to have a word with you county boards chaps and tell your reps to vote more fairly at congress rather than whinging about it when something that they themselves voted in favour of, some 18 months previously, comes to pass. This Dublin team will take on any opposition anywhere.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 05/07/2018 18:51:28    2118900

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "Yeah thats much fairer. Sure while yer at it why dont we use Fitzgeralds stadium as our home ground and Austins Stacks as our neutral venue?"
Beacause if you read the rules you'd know that there is no mention of a neutral venue. It's home, away and Croke Park. Where would you plan to transplant Croke Park to make it a neutral venue in all cases for all counties, Sofia??

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 05/07/2018 18:57:11    2118903

Replying To Joxer:  "Newsflash.... blatant favouritism shown by other counties (congress) towards Dublin, effects other counties. Only in Ireland! Sounds like you have to have a word with you county boards chaps and tell your reps to vote more fairly at congress rather than whinging about it when something that they themselves voted in favour of, some 18 months previously, comes to pass. This Dublin team will take on any opposition anywhere."
all right then joxer so why don't they nominate an alternative home venue other than croke pk...come on dublin lets walk the walk instead of all your talk

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 05/07/2018 19:06:11    2118907

Replying To MesAmis:  "Fair play to them for taking their stance.

I wish it would've been done at the outset (not just by Donegal CB but by everyone) as this was clearly what was going to happen to one of the non Leinster provincial champions every year that Dublin win the Leinster title.

It was clear and obviously stated from the beginning what would happen. It's a shame for the Donegal team that no one spoke up earlier.

The top brass can only do what they are allowed to do by the individual counties.

That has been clear for some time despite the fact that no one bothered to try and change things."
I suspect that what has happened was that no one thought it was worth their time complaining as Croke Park were seen as this vast, immovable & all powerful entity that brooked no dissent.

We all owe Kevin McStay & Cian O'Neill an enormous debt of gratitude for showing that all it takes is a big pair of balls to face these people down & now that it has happened there will be no more of the arrogant nonsense that we have seen in the past.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 05/07/2018 19:10:11    2118909

Replying To Joxer:  "Newsflash.... blatant favouritism shown by other counties (congress) towards Dublin, effects other counties. Only in Ireland! Sounds like you have to have a word with you county boards chaps and tell your reps to vote more fairly at congress rather than whinging about it when something that they themselves voted in favour of, some 18 months previously, comes to pass. This Dublin team will take on any opposition anywhere."
Truth be told joxer, such is the limited intelligence & ability of the average delegate to Congress, I would doubt if any of them actually worked out the consequences of what they were voting for.

I well remember Albert Reynolds being asked about various conspiracy theories & he dismissed all such talk. The only theory he subscribed to was the theory of the cock up where powerful people who had barely enough brains to put their trousers on the right way ended up in positions of power solely because of the hardness of their necks. "And then we wonder why things go wrong" said Albert

Some things never change.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 05/07/2018 19:18:09    2118910

Replying To Joxer:  "Beacause if you read the rules you'd know that there is no mention of a neutral venue. It's home, away and Croke Park. Where would you plan to transplant Croke Park to make it a neutral venue in all cases for all counties, Sofia??"
All sorted now joxer, full review at the end of the year.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 05/07/2018 19:19:44    2118911

Replying To ulsterrules:  "Over the years the Gaa has changed from being a community based organisation to a money making organisation. Fair play is gone look what kildare had to go through just to get what the draw siad they should get. The sky super 8s no different .

All Ireland champions and croke park residents getting 2 home games would have the tin hat brigade screaming conspiracy .

And the only answer the people are given is the need for money it gets spread around all the counties. I love the gaa and at grass routes it remarkable but go to county level and its sickening the imbalance and pandering done to keep the big teams happy.

Dublin should have to play in a neutral venue the same as all the other teams in the sky super 8s.

More to life that money. There's a reason why people call it the grab all association."
And think of Poor Mayo, who lost a few All Irelands by a Point, Drew 1.. Home advantage "worth at least 3 Points" I quote Kevin Heffernan. Imagine if Mayo got them in Cork or somewhere. Why not Aviva, we gave Pitches to Socer. All A Farce. Their All Irelands are De-Valued with a Big Question Mark on all of them??????????????????????????????????

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 05/07/2018 19:25:01    2118912

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "I suspect that what has happened was that no one thought it was worth their time complaining as Croke Park were seen as this vast, immovable & all powerful entity that brooked no dissent.

We all owe Kevin McStay & Cian O'Neill an enormous debt of gratitude for showing that all it takes is a big pair of balls to face these people down & now that it has happened there will be no more of the arrogant nonsense that we have seen in the past."
Possibly Muckross.

In anyways hopefully next year it'll be sorted out properly and now people see that the top brass can only do what we let them.

Here's hoping for a cracker between Dublin and Donegal Sat week. Just back myself from a week on the Costa del Dún na nGall with the family, the journey's not too bad so yous'll be grand with the 7pm throw in ;)

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13703 - 05/07/2018 19:29:05    2118913

Disappointed to be honest, had a coach trip WhatsApp group going and everything. Looking like we will have to rely on Cork for our trip to PUC this year.

Hopefully and am sure it will be sorted out next year, it's very simple rotate the Croke Park games around the big provincial grounds depending on the make up of the groups depending on neutrality.

It means some teams won't play in Croke Park despite making the Super 8s but that's the choice congress will have to make. Mad thing is Dublin will end up with a game in Croke Park anyway.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4443 - 05/07/2018 19:35:55    2118914

Replying To Daith:  "It's a shambles. As great as Dublin are, the continued favouritism shown towards them affects the legacy of that team.

Donegal don't stand a chance and the integrity of the competition has become a joke."
You have to have broad shoulders when your looseing, but even broader shoulders when you are winning! ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4443 - 05/07/2018 19:39:22    2118915

Replying To MesAmis:  "Possibly Muckross.

In anyways hopefully next year it'll be sorted out properly and now people see that the top brass can only do what we let them.

Here's hoping for a cracker between Dublin and Donegal Sat week. Just back myself from a week on the Costa del Dún na nGall with the family, the journey's not too bad so yous'll be grand with the 7pm throw in ;)"
Looking forward to it MesAmis, the 2014 semi final in on 24 hour loop in MuckrossHead Towers these days!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 05/07/2018 19:44:37    2118919

Replying To TheUsername:  "You have to have broad shoulders when your looseing, but even broader shoulders when you are winning! ;)"
Ain't that the truth! ;)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 05/07/2018 20:55:08    2118932

Replying To Joxer:  "Beacause if you read the rules you'd know that there is no mention of a neutral venue. It's home, away and Croke Park. Where would you plan to transplant Croke Park to make it a neutral venue in all cases for all counties, Sofia??"
Designating Croke park for round one of this series of games is downright brazen by the GAA whether they stated it as a neutral venue or not doesn't make a blind bit of difference.

The rules favor one team over the other 7 obviously. This Parnell Park chat is nonsense.
Croke Park is Dublin's home.

I think next year the munster and leinster winners are in the same group (likely kerry and dublin) so hopefully a real neutral venue for the round one games will be implemented. The system as it stands will have Dublin playing their most difficult game every year against another provincial champion at home. Every year.

Unfortunately for the 3 other teams in Dublins group this year they are starting the competition at a major disadvantage.

Some reward for Donegal after winning Ulster to be playing a team away from home and more then likely will have to win their final two games to progress.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 05/07/2018 22:09:06    2118963

Totally unfair but no surprise. Many of us have raised the whole imbalance in the funding issue, yet the current DG stated last year that while it would be reduced there would be no vast decrease in their funding. The whole facts that show the number of games they have played in Croke Park, the whole insistence that they cannot play in certain stadia as their GAA season ticket holders & Parnell pass holders have to be accomodated so counties lose their home advantage to accomodate Dublin. The whole farce of having the same dressing room, warm up end etc is laughable. Dublin Joe to ref the final is all that is left.

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 05/07/2018 22:20:19    2118971

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "Designating Croke park for round one of this series of games is downright brazen by the GAA whether they stated it as a neutral venue or not doesn't make a blind bit of difference.

The rules favor one team over the other 7 obviously. This Parnell Park chat is nonsense.

I think next year the munster and leinster winners are in the same group (likely kerry and dublin) so hopefully a real neutral venue for the round one games will be implemented. The system as it stands will have Dublin playing their most difficult game every year against another provincial champion at home. Every year.

Unfortunately for the 3 other teams in Dublins group this year they are starting the competition at a major disadvantage.

Some reward for Donegal after winning Ulster to be playing a team away from home and more then likely will have to win their final two games to progress."
I am sure you are really worried about Donegal......

Only thing you and some of the other Kerry moaners are worried about is facing Dublin......

If we meet in All Ireland Semi Final's or Final's going forward, does this mean ye want the game played outside of our National Stadium that is Croke Park....??? Would Clones be NEUTRAL enough for you then....!!!

Did ye feel the same when we couldnt buy a win off Kerry for years - no, ye wanted to stuff the Dubs in Croker.
So cop on.....!!!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3706 - 05/07/2018 22:23:58    2118972

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "all right then joxer so why don't they nominate an alternative home venue other than croke pk...come on dublin lets walk the walk instead of all your talk"
We could nomnate the Neller but it would just about hold the ST and Parnell Park ticket holders. The next complaint would be that away fans aren't getting a ticket allocation. So we can't win. Personally I would have our home game at the Neller. The change next year should be to have the CP games played at a suitable neutral venue. Dubln will play anywhere. It doesn't bother the fans and if you look at Dunlin's aeay record, it doesn't bother our players.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 05/07/2018 22:42:11    2118975

Can a county put forward a vote in congress to say Croke Park cannot be designated a home venue by any county? We'd see who would vote for that then.

spiritofeslin (Leitrim) - Posts: 136 - 05/07/2018 22:51:52    2118977

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "Designating Croke park for round one of this series of games is downright brazen by the GAA whether they stated it as a neutral venue or not doesn't make a blind bit of difference.

Some reward for Donegal after winning Ulster to be playing a team away from home and more then likely will have to win their final two games to progress."
If only we had something like an assembly with every county having their own representative and these rules could be nipped in the bud before they happenedthrough a democratic voting systeem.

Oh wait....;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4443 - 05/07/2018 22:57:58    2118979

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Truth be told joxer, such is the limited intelligence & ability of the average delegate to Congress, I would doubt if any of them actually worked out the consequences of what they were voting for.

I well remember Albert Reynolds being asked about various conspiracy theories & he dismissed all such talk. The only theory he subscribed to was the theory of the cock up where powerful people who had barely enough brains to put their trousers on the right way ended up in positions of power solely because of the hardness of their necks. "And then we wonder why things go wrong" said Albert

Some things never change."
Think you're giving County Boards more credit than they deserve. To think no county board realised this would happen and raised concern which wasn't agreed with by enough to stop it from passing is beyond my suspension of disbelief.

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 214 - 05/07/2018 23:08:11    2118981

Just to clarify, as there is confusion.

The Super 8s are supposed to have one home, one away and one in Croke Park.

Donegal v Dublin is scheduled to be in Croke Park regardless of home and away issues. It is not a neutral or non-neutral game, it is simply a game in Croke Park.[url=]https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/explained-how-the-football-championships-new-super-8-quarterfinal-stage-will-work-in-2018-35482000.html As is Cork/Tyrone v Roscommon/Armagh in the first round of games. Donegal gets the benefit of the extra game in Croker too and that'll be good for them in the long run to succeed.

Donegal complaining is pointless as it was and is going to be in Croke Park and it's not about home or away or being neutral. Kildare had the power to take the Newbridge stance because they were within their rights to have a home fixture. Everyone should get that right and stand up to the powers that be.

The issue as I see it is the Dublin v Roscommon/Armagh tie which is very different to the Donegal game. Dublin is entitled to play at home (Parnell Park) but has the added experience of another game in Croke Park. This is seen as an advantage but whats the alternative. The only viable stance (that could lead to a change) would be for Armagh/Roscommon to take a Parnell Park or nowhere stance and it would be unusual as it would not be them losing their home advantage. The Dublin lads have played in Parnell so many times from when they were kids, Parnell would be fantastic for us. Season ticket holders would lose out and issues would arise but it is possible that an arrangement could be made that missing this game wouldn't affect an attendance record. I can't see Dublin ever taking a Parnell or nowhere stance as it would be divisive as it would mean plenty of their own season ticket holders losing out and anyone without a season ticket would be watching the telly.

The real issue from a Dublin perspective is the urgent need for a stadium for Dublin GAA that could cater for between 20-40 thousand. Parnell Park is simply not fit for purpose.

FOB (Dublin) - Posts: 912 - 06/07/2018 00:09:01    2118991