Dublin Vs Donegal

Donegal are now looking for game to be moved out of Croke Park.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 1611 - 03/07/2018 21:23:50

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 03/07/2018 21:31:25    2118213

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Donegal are now looking for game to be moved out of Croke Park.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 1611 - 03/07/2018 21:23:50"
So they should. And Dublin shouldn't protest but they will. Their monopoly on the GAA and advantages has to come to an end at some stage. Fair play Donegal

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 03/07/2018 21:56:22    2118219

I'd love it to be moved but it won't be it's already been voted in last year by Congress last year.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/07/2018 22:19:04    2118230

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "7.00 in the evening ffs. It will be 2.00 in the morning before we get home!

So it goes on."
2 in the morning wha , I don't get home til 5am after a Dublin game , Cassidy's coppers then zaytoon's to finish it off with a kebab.

Great when donegal are in town after Cassidy's does he wedged. Always great craic with the donegal crowd.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/07/2018 22:25:35    2118234

Replying To The_Fridge:  "So they should. And Dublin shouldn't protest but they will. Their monopoly on the GAA and advantages has to come to an end at some stage. Fair play Donegal"
Move it to Parnell Park so and ensure that the ST holders get their allocation. The atmosphere would be unbelievable at the Neller to welcome Donegal. Into the Lions den.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 03/07/2018 22:30:14    2118237

Ah sure to hell with it all, best thing that ever happened the GAA. Dub's should go ahead and build their own stadium and keep as much of their earning power as they can. Better still Dublin should object to playing it anywhere else from were the GAA stipulated it must be played as is our right. A walk over either way, whether they turn up or not, but sure who cares. Will never happen to hurlers best stick to proper code.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 03/07/2018 22:45:01    2118241

Replying To Joxer:  "Move it to Parnell Park so and ensure that the ST holders get their allocation. The atmosphere would be unbelievable at the Neller to welcome Donegal. Into the Lions den."
So Donegal still get two away games... brilliant idea

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 214 - 03/07/2018 22:53:50    2118243

Replying To panamasam:  "In the case of Ryan McHugh that should have been done a long long time ago. He is persistently one of the most targeted players in the game and has gotten some brutal treatment off the ball on many occasions. He said something that should have been highlighted long before that."
McHugh manufactures more frees than any other player in the game.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 03/07/2018 22:59:23    2118248

Replying To clondalkindub:  "I'd love it to be moved but it won't be it's already been voted in last year by Congress last year."
Clond
I know you and other dubs will travel. We know that and you are excited to tell everyone in the whole wide world you can't wait to trawl all over Ireland to support the dubs.
But it's the year in year out travelling that wear in the end from time to time. Not always but it's tbe constant organising over the summer. Wedding, parties etc. Should I go to this with the game on? Oh everyone will know you aren't going because the games on. Money, stress of driving though traffic jams in towns in the back arse of no where etc. It grinds Clond, however I won't change it for the world!!!!

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 03/07/2018 23:02:30    2118251

I don't mind playing the Dubs in Croker, it will be great experience and if we are intending to win Sam again at some stage we'll have to do it there so the more times we play there the better.
Most Donegal fans I know are delighted with the way Declan has us playing after the negative rubbish RG was fixated on,
I think the best we can hope is to finish second and have a crack at the AI semi, Dublin will likely win all 3 super 8 games, great to be there and pit our wits against the best in the business, should be a great night in the capital.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2738 - 03/07/2018 23:02:49    2118252

Replying To Joxer:  "Move it to Parnell Park so and ensure that the ST holders get their allocation. The atmosphere would be unbelievable at the Neller to welcome Donegal. Into the Lions den."
That would be your home game at Parnell Park, either Kildare or Roscommon, but the Donegal game should be half way at a neutral venue. Donegal don't need a game at Croke Park they have played there plenty of times. Clones or Castlebar would be fairly central, Castlebar would suit ye better, there is a train and they need a big game to break up the summer in Mayo.

EDH (Galway) - Posts: 367 - 03/07/2018 23:10:56    2118261

Everyone knew that the provincial champions meet each other in croke park for the first super 8 game I can't see the problem its not as if its a new development and was moved from another venue to croke park to give the dubs an advantage .
The only teams that should be looking to play Dublin in a neutral venue are the winners of Roscommon armagh which will be dublins 2nd croke park game

Galwayjoe86 (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 03/07/2018 23:13:39    2118262

This game is not the problem. It's the croke park game and like it or not it's considered a neutral venue. The problem is dublins home game should be in parnell park.

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 765 - 03/07/2018 23:17:55    2118263

Thurles Thurles Thurles :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 03/07/2018 23:30:07    2118266

So do Donegal want their game against us on the 14th moved or our home game against Roscommon/Armagh moved? Shouldn't it be the Rossies or Armagh who put in an objection? Can we play in Parnell Park against Roscommon/Armagh and still play Donegal in Croker? Win win, right? Right?

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 04/07/2018 00:00:58    2118274

It was bound to happen that a county protest. The likelihood is that nothing will come of it other than stating some rule or other from the minutes of a meeting from a room in Croke park named after an early 20th century trade unionist.

But out of principle, it is definitely worth drawing attention to.

Bottom line is that capacity will be used as a reason to have Dublin play 2 games in Croke park. There is no doubt that Sky and other suitors will want this to remain so - business is business.

I disagree that it is a factor in Dublin's dominance in recent years as they would yield the same success away from home. But they are not going to kick up much of a stink either...as they might not be let. see the above paragraph for the reason.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 04/07/2018 00:03:15    2118275

Parnell park isnt a neutral venue either. I know the dubs keep bringing up Parnell park to deflect from the advantage of 95% of home championship games. Croke park is dublins home ground yer not fooling anyone with that rubbish.

Fair play to donegal but little chance the dubs will be made compete on a level playing field like everyone else.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 04/07/2018 00:21:39    2118279

Personally I hope it goes on in Croke Park but I fully back the Donegal stance as I am sure most Dublin supporters do too. For too long Dublin have had an unfair advantage (in many facets) and will still get to play any AI semi final and final in Croke Park anyways. Hopefully the game will be played in Croke Park but looking forward games at a neutral venue should be just that, same for everyone. These so called delegates that vote things in are obviously clueless as to what they are voting in no doubt blinded by whatever amount of money they are promised to pay off mismanaged county board debts. The changing of U-21 to U-20 plus the introduction of the U-17 instead of minor has been an absolute farce. Players due to be U-21 this year just forgotten, clueless scheduling and of course players being ineligible then eligible if knocked out just a few examples. It is about time that people copped and started making a stance to some of the nonsense.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 04/07/2018 00:36:08    2118282

It is nothing to do with Donegal as the provincial winners were all due to meet in CP.

Have lost a lot of respect for Donegal for this grandstanding.

Its Roscommon or Armagh who will be impacted. So we bring the winners of this game to 'neller and we will crucify them.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 04/07/2018 08:09:57    2118297

Replying To Galwayjoe86:  "Everyone knew that the provincial champions meet each other in croke park for the first super 8 game I can't see the problem its not as if its a new development and was moved from another venue to croke park to give the dubs an advantage .
The only teams that should be looking to play Dublin in a neutral venue are the winners of Roscommon armagh which will be dublins 2nd croke park game"
Stop speaking sense for crying out loud man, your type is not wanted around here!

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 04/07/2018 09:10:40    2118311