Dublin Vs Donegal

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Not a wind up lads. Do you honestly think you can beat Dublin with or without McBrearty?
I feel I made valid enough points. You haven't played anyone if you are honest. Div 3-4 teams and when you played Div 1 teams you were beat and beat well. It's the same as Tyrone last year. Hype train comes along after playing poor teams, come up against an unstoppable Dublin side, whipped. I have so much respect for Donegal, most of my posts will prove this.
Full back line will get roasted without players in front of them. If you play players in front of them it will blunt your attack. And let me tell you, Declan Bonner is no Jim McGuiness.
I fully expect you to get to the semis and I was positive about other players.
McBrearty, I don't feel, is shooting the lights out this year like other years. Maybe he was carrying a knock before the awful injury (hope he comes back stronger) but he was certainly more potent in previous years. I would have him first on my team sheet obviously but just feel he hasn't been as good as previous years."
I haven't seen many Donegal posters saying we are going to beat Dublin this year. They are a well settled side with an experienced, canny manager wheras Donegal are at the start of their journey with a brand new manager.

Your assertion that Donegal only beat Div 3-4 teams is factually incorrect. Cavan are a Div 1 team Fermanagh a Div 2 team.

I have no idea at all how we will get on against Dublin but looking at comments from long term Dublin posters they are relieved Paddy is injured & were worried about the game even though they were at home.

As for Declan being no Jim you are right. Each has their strengths & it is a bit early to condemn Declan so early in his reign especially as things are going so well. As for your assertion the Declan is arrogant, I don't know where you got that from. I know Declan slightly & a less arrogant man I couldn't imagine. Mind you compared to St Mickey it is hard to look good.

You say that you fully expect us to get to the semis. That would mean us beating the other two teams in our group. If we manage, without Paddy, I will call that a very successful year.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 27/06/2018 19:35:17    2116114

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Not a wind up lads. Do you honestly think you can beat Dublin with or without McBrearty?
I feel I made valid enough points. You haven't played anyone if you are honest. Div 3-4 teams and when you played Div 1 teams you were beat and beat well. It's the same as Tyrone last year. Hype train comes along after playing poor teams, come up against an unstoppable Dublin side, whipped. I have so much respect for Donegal, most of my posts will prove this.
Full back line will get roasted without players in front of them. If you play players in front of them it will blunt your attack. And let me tell you, Declan Bonner is no Jim McGuiness.
I fully expect you to get to the semis and I was positive about other players.
McBrearty, I don't feel, is shooting the lights out this year like other years. Maybe he was carrying a knock before the awful injury (hope he comes back stronger) but he was certainly more potent in previous years. I would have him first on my team sheet obviously but just feel he hasn't been as good as previous years."
I don't think too many were suggesting that Donegal would beat Dublin. Personally I don't think we will with or without Paddy but it will give us more of an idea where we are at. I would have similar worries about us coping with Dublin's pace in one on one situations and up the middle. However Donegal are a work in progress but it is looking like an exciting project esp from where we came last year. Donegal done quite well in the league and don't agree that we got beat well in any of the games played. You might point to the Tyrone and Monaghan games but actually Donegal were more than competitive against Tyrone bar a few mins before and after HT. In the Monaghan game Donegal played a very experimental side and created alot of chances not taken. Maybe the paths taken are similar between Tyrone last year and Domegal this year but u are talking about 2 totally different teams stylistically. As for Declan Bonner I don't think anybody has suggested that he is Jim McGuinness. But there is no doubt that he has brought a togetherness and wisely surrounded himself with a very strong management team. Again with Paddy ur just plain wrong he has without question been in the form of his life the last calendar year.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 27/06/2018 20:39:50    2116138

Another point that I noticed which I find very disconcerting is the relationship the Donegal players still have with Jim Mc. I seen an interview there where Jim said the senior players rang before and after the Ulster. I also seen rumours that he was brought in to training sessions and talked to the players before a game.
Does this not undermine Declan Bonner? I get players talking to their old managers but to bring him in to talk to the players I don't get it. Especially the influence Jim has over them players. I mean I've never heard of say, Stephen Roachford bringing in James Horan to chat to the players.
Was it Rio Ferdinand said about David Moyles reading a management self help book and the players losing respect for him.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 27/06/2018 21:06:46    2116143

Donegal like Galway and Kerry are the coming team but to lose a player as good as McBrearty who averages 7 points a game is just too big a lost for this season he's only 24 so when he's back next year with the cousin Mchugh Donegal will be lightening up front. They'll still take beating this year but without Paddy that's the end of any All Ireland this year imo.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/06/2018 21:44:42    2116164

Just pity about p McBrearty; would have been good to see them potentially test Dublin; there is little or nothing out there which has added to the plaudits of this Dublin team; would like to have seen them in the noughties; in my opinion they would not have lived with Kerry Tyrone and Armagh from this era

hithimhard (Tyrone) - Posts: 20 - 27/06/2018 21:45:40    2116166

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Another point that I noticed which I find very disconcerting is the relationship the Donegal players still have with Jim Mc. I seen an interview there where Jim said the senior players rang before and after the Ulster. I also seen rumours that he was brought in to training sessions and talked to the players before a game.
Does this not undermine Declan Bonner? I get players talking to their old managers but to bring him in to talk to the players I don't get it. Especially the influence Jim has over them players. I mean I've never heard of say, Stephen Roachford bringing in James Horan to chat to the players.
Was it Rio Ferdinand said about David Moyles reading a management self help book and the players losing respect for him."
Another nonsense post. How is it disconcerting or undermining when I am sure this was Declan's call to do so. In fact quite the opposite. Jim McGuinness is one of the biggest commodities within Donegal football so why not use him. He has a great relationship with alot of the players after the journey they all went on and has a brilliant mind for gaelic football. How can u compare James Horan and Stephen Roachford when there was probably no relationship there to begin. Jim and Declan would have played together and worked alongside each other when minor and senior managers. Plus alot of Declan's backroom team are close and have worked with Jim also. I think it is very smart management on Declan's part and also shows an openness for the good of Donegal football something you cannot say about the previous regime.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 27/06/2018 22:15:21    2116186

The boys among the bushes are very active on this thread.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1056 - 27/06/2018 22:28:38    2116194

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Donegal like Galway and Kerry are the coming team but to lose a player as good as McBrearty who averages 7 points a game is just too big a lost for this season he's only 24 so when he's back next year with the cousin Mchugh Donegal will be lightening up front. They'll still take beating this year but without Paddy that's the end of any All Ireland this year imo."
Don't think we were ever in the running for Sam this year. All the ingredients are there but they need another year or two to challenge for top honours.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 27/06/2018 22:44:00    2116207

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Another point that I noticed which I find very disconcerting is the relationship the Donegal players still have with Jim Mc. I seen an interview there where Jim said the senior players rang before and after the Ulster. I also seen rumours that he was brought in to training sessions and talked to the players before a game.
Was it Rio Ferdinand said about David Moyles reading a management self help book and the players losing respect for him."
The image of a Tyrone man being "disconserted" at the thought of Donegal players talking to JMcG is so funny it would bring a tear to a glass eye.

I didn't think Tyrone men even knew words like disconserting.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 27/06/2018 22:46:30    2116209

Even in the games we lost in the league I don't think we were ever "beaten well" as you put it.

But to obliterate your point about Paddy not being on form, he was man of the match in both away games against Kerry and Dublin where I believe he scored a combined total of 15 points. He got injured mid way through the league but on his return for the Mayo game he had them on toast as well.

The lady doth protest too much I think. Seeing as how you boys haven't had an inside forward to speak of since Stevie O'Neill packed it in.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9115 - 27/06/2018 22:47:03    2116210

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "The image of a Tyrone man being "disconserted" at the thought of Donegal players talking to JMcG is so funny it would bring a tear to a glass eye.

I didn't think Tyrone men even knew words like disconserting."
Not sure what Tyrone has to do with a topic about Dublin vs Donegal? Maybe you could enlighten me?

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 27/06/2018 23:03:51    2116215

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Even in the games we lost in the league I don't think we were ever "beaten well" as you put it.

But to obliterate your point about Paddy not being on form, he was man of the match in both away games against Kerry and Dublin where I believe he scored a combined total of 15 points. He got injured mid way through the league but on his return for the Mayo game he had them on toast as well.

The lady doth protest too much I think. Seeing as how you boys haven't had an inside forward to speak of since Stevie O'Neill packed it in."
Again please enlighten me what Tyrone has to do with a topic about Dublin vs Donegal?

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 27/06/2018 23:05:35    2116216

Losing Paddy McBreaty for the rest of the year is a massive blow, he one of our established players, an automatic starter. I just hope it doesn't get his spirits down too much, he will be back next year, but he has a tough year ahead.

Any outside hopes of us winning an All Ireland this year may have taken a knock, but we are still in the Super 8's, we have 3 games against really top sides and that's the kind of experience we badly need for our younger players. I'm still confident we can give Dublin a rattle, and looking at the qualifiers and provincial runners up, nothing overly worrying there.

It's the All Ireland QF's, we aren't in it to make up the numbers, might as well have a crack at it.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1106 - 28/06/2018 01:37:30    2116260

Speaking of Stevie, Neil McGee is still finding bits of him in his back pocket.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9jSWZcgg14c

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 28/06/2018 09:17:52    2116288

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Again please enlighten me what Tyrone has to do with a topic about Dublin vs Donegal?"
I believe a Tyrone man drew you guys into this topic about Donegal and Dublin if you look back through this thread.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 28/06/2018 10:19:38    2116307

Well in fairness that David Moyles bloke probably never managed a team so he might have needed a coaching self help manual.

I hear there are good ones in the shop at the minute on 'how to construct a logical and coherent argument.'

Would do you good to put down the 'trolling for idiots: beginner's guide.'

ballboy101 (Donegal) - Posts: 204 - 28/06/2018 10:20:30    2116308

Lads I seem to have rattled a few cages and it honestly wasn't my intention. Just wanted to open I debate about Donegal and the hype that's surrounding them.
I just don't think they have played anyone of note, you have to admit it was an easy Ulster, probably the easiest in a long while. I can admit Tyrone had an easy Ulster last year, we thought the Donegal was going to be tough but we annihilated you, then played weak each other teams to get to the semis. Then you see what happened.
As I said you should get to the semi without Paddy. You are actually lucky enough you have the Dubs in the super 8's because you can recover from the defeat you are most likely going to receive.
It will be interesting to see the tactics Declan employs without Paddy. Will he go defensive with two sweepers, probably. That's certainly not a criticism, it's actually smart. If that's the case you wouldn't trouble the scoreboard as you did against poor teams.
I remember I lot of you criticising Declan during his u21 tenure and his poor tactics etc.
Maybe he will get Jim in to sort the players out.
Again I didn't mean to upset Donegal fans, just an opinion. And remember this isn't about Tyrone!!!!!!

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 28/06/2018 11:36:10    2116348

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Lads I seem to have rattled a few cages and it honestly wasn't my intention. Just wanted to open I debate about Donegal and the hype that's surrounding them.
I just don't think they have played anyone of note, you have to admit it was an easy Ulster, probably the easiest in a long while. I can admit Tyrone had an easy Ulster last year, we thought the Donegal was going to be tough but we annihilated you, then played weak each other teams to get to the semis. Then you see what happened.
As I said you should get to the semi without Paddy. You are actually lucky enough you have the Dubs in the super 8's because you can recover from the defeat you are most likely going to receive.
It will be interesting to see the tactics Declan employs without Paddy. Will he go defensive with two sweepers, probably. That's certainly not a criticism, it's actually smart. If that's the case you wouldn't trouble the scoreboard as you did against poor teams.
I remember I lot of you criticising Declan during his u21 tenure and his poor tactics etc.
Again I didn't mean to upset Donegal fans, just an opinion. And remember this isn't about Tyrone!!!!!!"
Ah now fridge, don't come the innocent with us! Some of us have been around long enough to recognise a man stirring it when we see it & no harm in that. There is no hype around Donegal, just a recognition that they are playing well & look to have a promising team coming down the tracks. Having played the conservative way for so long what we are watching now is like a breath of fresh air & on top of that we are not alone beating teams but blowing them away, one after the other.

Yes, the Super8's will be interesting. If we do get through them it will be some achievement by everyone involved considering the mess we were in last year. Walking away from both the Tyrone/Galway games it was hard to see this renaissance on the horizon.

As I have already said I don't think we are ready for Dublin but will give any other team we are likely to meet in the group a good game & I will live with that for 2018.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 28/06/2018 11:57:55    2116361

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Lads I seem to have rattled a few cages and it honestly wasn't my intention. Just wanted to open I debate about Donegal and the hype that's surrounding them.
Again I didn't mean to upset Donegal fans, just an opinion. And remember this isn't about Tyrone!!!!!!"
I think the thing is that if you look at a lot of posts from Donegal posters, we're all saying the same things you are in terms of nobody laying a hand on us in Ulster, it'll be a big test now and bring the lads on a long way playing in the Super 8s. But I don't think it's fair to compare this team to either the Donegal of last year or Tyrone. We are playing a much different style and you were just wrong to suggest Paddy hadn't been in form this year. Any outside chance we had of beating the Dubs I would say is gone now as Paddy has been brilliant all year and is worth 5 or 6 points on his own, whether through scoring himself, providing for others or just creating space.

We're excited by the team because they are playing good football and the likes of Murphy seem really re-energised. And yes we have been critical of Declan in the past, just look at any of panamasam's posts in this thread about good underage sides getting caught when out of Ulster, we're all well aware of what you're saying. But so far Declan has handled things quite well and we are all excited and encouraged by the potential of this squad.

I think we will go with two sweepers but to be honest I think that's how we've played most of the year, but there's so much switching of positions that it can be hard to keep track of that. I think Declan is developing something interesting in trying to impose our plan on the opposition, rather than prepping for the opposition's style of play. It's something the Dubs have done excellently over the years and I think that's what we're trying by pulling Paddy McGrath to full forward and seeing Jamie Brennan in at corner back at times. But I think you will see McGlynn and Hugh McFadden providing cover down the middle because we can be caught for pace by the Dubs, so I think Declan will try and prevent that by having bodies there.

Nobody in Donegal expects us to win Sam, everything from now on is a bonus and we all understand that our opposition in Ulster was weak enough. But an Ulster title is still a rare thing in the Hills so we're immensely proud to have won it.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 28/06/2018 12:02:46    2116365

Sure didn't Bonner not win last years ulster u21s beating a certain Tyrone team along the way. Bonner has win every title from u16s to senior as manager of donegal. So he must be doing something right. Going by a good friend of mine Bonner is not popular in tyrone. And we all know what that was about. Truth hurts

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2391 - 28/06/2018 12:03:12    2116366