Dublin Vs Donegal

Oh blessed rosary of all that's holy!!

Why oh why did Dublin not risk what was a winning position??!

Why? *sob*

Why? When the opposition clearly want to suck the Ball into their defence to mount a counter would Dublin play keep ball?!?

*weeping*

Why would a team in the lead not allow themselves to be sucked into the spider's web?!?

Think....*sobs*... think of the children.

GROW UP PEOPLE. Donegal got served what was deserved.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 382 - 14/07/2018 22:03:46    2121797

Replying To MesAmis:  "Donegal kept a sweeper in front of their full back line, it was McGee by the end, and didn't push up and try and win the ball back.

If Donegal, or anyteam, don't want to play even when 5 points down I really don't see why Dublin shouldn't just keep the ball.

In the 73rd minute Donegal still had a sweeper back and weren't pushing up, they then eventually pushed up and Dublin attacked and Paul Flynn scored in the space McGee vacated.

It's how to beat teams when they won't come out to play."
Exactly.

It's remarkable that it has to be explained

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 14/07/2018 22:03:49    2121798

Replying To panamasam:  "Sorry Muck but 20 pts? Wanna be some day as nowhere near that amount between the teams tonight. Granted Dublin might have been worth a couple of points more in the winning margin but nothing like 20."
We conceded 6+ short kick outs and Dublin got around 4 points from that( missing one and misseda resultant 45. Could easily have been 3/4 goals

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 14/07/2018 22:06:38    2121800

Replying To Rockies:  "Dubs are practicing Keepball...I suspect that will be the nature of games to come.
If Dublin are 2 points up against Kerry in All Ireland with 5 minutes to go, they will start this lark."
If Kerry are playing with a sweeper designed to snuff out an attack and mount a counter then why would any team play into that trap?

Naïveté.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 382 - 14/07/2018 22:11:48    2121811

Wasn't the best of matches; but Donegal still have a great chance coming out on top, shame their missing McBrearty

oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 14/07/2018 22:11:51    2121812

Dublin were entitled to play and hold the ball if they are good enough to do it, which they were. Now the black card must have been taken out of the rule book. Black cards should have been given to two Dublin players, one to the corner back after 5 mins (off the ball) and the other when a Dublin player grounded the Donegal player in second half when in a one to one situation close to goals. As usual the analysis was very poor just looking at the obvious.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 14/07/2018 22:17:01    2121815

We have being using the 'keep ball' in certain games for a while now. It works whether you like it or not. I've said previously that we're not as potent as we were so we're going to play to our strengths. That's what champions do.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 14/07/2018 22:18:52    2121818

Replying To Marse:  "I'm sure it went EXACTLY as you described it big man."
Well he grabbed at my knee before he did it first. Though it was a joke but after a while I wasn't so sure considering the lads behaviour as the half went on.

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 214 - 14/07/2018 22:20:49    2121819

Really enjoyable game I thought so I do not understand some of the negativity esp if u compare to the Ros v Tyrone game. The first half was largely nip and tuck with some bad wides and decision making on both sides. The changing point in the game was the glorious opportunity Jamie Brennan gave up which Dublin converted into a goal straight from the restart. I thought in general play despite some bad wides Brennan was excellent and he is going to be some player. I have said before he really reminds me of Kevin McMennamin with his direct style and I thought he ripped the Dubs defense to shreds sometimes tonight. I think with more experience and confidence gained his finishing and sometimes decision making will improve which will make him some partner for Paddy McB in years to come. I have seen big improvements in both from league to championship already so expect that to continue.

I would have no arguments with how Dublin seen out the game. We have tried to do the same in games but fell on our arses and the Dubs showed how it is done. Unfortunately Donegal did not have the energy to really push up and were wary of conceding more as overall we would have to be happy with how we performed given the different stages of development both teams are at. Again Cluxton was sublime with his restarts and started so much that was good with Dublin's play. I thought Howard was excellent esp in the first half and Scully took his goals really well. Do I think Dublin had a couple more gears? Maybe esp after the 2nd goal went in but I would be getting too over confident from a Dublin perspective. For me one of the greatest players to play the game and would be a deal breaker in this regard is ironically playing club football in Boston for a Donegal side. I think this is something that might catch up with Dublin down the line esp that Kerry full forward line who will be a different kettle of fish to just Jamie Brennan tonight.

From a Donegal perspective I thought we showed up well but once the 2nd goal went in the game was effectively over. I thought Patton was excellent bar the first 5-10 mins but what an experience to get, some find. As mentioned before Jamie Brennan played with no fear and you would have to wonder what might have been with Paddy there beside him he was a huge loss. Again Leo was excellent getting through so much work esp defensively in tandem with big Hugh. I thought defensively we were good in large parts esp in the first half but I would not be happy with either goal. Yes the Dublin movement was excellent but we had players there just not a glove put in. Things not so tight in the 2nd half but no surprise we lost our shape when 2nd goal went in. Couple of points I was not happy with. Firstly the deployment of Michael Murphy esp in the 2nd half was bemusing. We needed a goal yet he was rudderless around the middle when could have being far more effective inside. Plus why was Ciaran Thompson taken off (if not injured)? He was excellent bar one misplaced pot shot. When we needed a goal quality ball inside esp high balls and he was the man to deliver it yet taken off. Plus we did not pay to our strengths at times esp the deployment of Eoghan Ban. He should have been one of our most dangerous assets but was not utilized like he should have been. Overall a great experience and plenty to come from this side. Next week now huge esp against a Roscommon side who will be eager to put some wrongs of today right.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 14/07/2018 22:38:02    2121830

Replying To wexico15:  "Dublin and Donegal should win next weekend meaning Donegal and tyrone in ballybofey will be a defacto AI Quarter final"
Tyrone have it all to play for next Saturday in Omagh .. a win and their superior point difference would guarantee a top two finish. Best teams won today. Feel a little sympathy for Donegal playing two away games without their leading scorer and playing Roscommon in the only game they are likely to be competitive in (Hyde Pk).

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 504 - 14/07/2018 22:49:37    2121834

Replying To jimbodub:  "Ridiculous throw in time once again

Safe travelling to Donegal support

As I've said previously yiz are a cut above most

Won't be attending the game myself so hope it's a great crowd and a good game

I've a feeling that young Con is going to have a big one.

Although wouldn't surprise me to see Donegal cause Dublin plenty of trouble

To guess the score

Dublin 1-18 - Donegal 0-16"
Well done Jimbo, spot on with Donegal 0-16 and 5 point winning margin.
What are your predictions for Sunday's double header. ?

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 504 - 14/07/2018 22:54:23    2121839

Donegal in a very difficult position now. Very much need Dublin to win in Omagh next week but there's every chance Tyrone will get something. Thought they were very impressive tonight and home advantage counts for a lot.

Not overly disappointed with the performance tonight but it puts us in all sorts of trouble regarding qualification given Tyrone's margin of victory. Would much rather be in their shoes.

Dublin played the ball around in their own back line for long periods and I cant blame them for that. In fact I could resurrect a thread from years ago where I suggested we should have done that against Tyrone in the Ulster final a few years back when double scores up rather than attacking and playing right into their hands by turning the ball over and letting them counter attack. By the same token I cant really criticise Donegal not committing more bodies forward because it would just have been folly to Dublin. They are way too good to get caught in possession that high up the field - even when 3 bodies around them they manage to recycle. So saying we just throw everyone forward is stupid - the game has advanced past that now and Dublin are experts at keeping the ball.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 14/07/2018 22:55:58    2121840

Replying To Farney1977:  "No it's not per norm.... I'm a football purist and to be honest there is no better sight than a football team in full flight and Dublin have provided this many times over the years. They are a phenomenal team of athletes but I really do not see why referees feel the need to give them an advantage....is it that they are afraid of losing out on the next big game?? Dublin do not need any help from refs but they always get it. But I would also worry about the mindset of Dublin and teams that play them. Yes they win games in 2nd gear but when teams go at them and make them hit top gear they are vulnerable. Look at mayo over last few seasons. Does Jim Gavin think it's right to have a team play like they did in last 10 minutes just cos they 5 points up. Just take a look at what Tyrone did to the rossies. Someday Gavin's complacency will catch him out."
Pure gibberish , you must be asleep when every team that plays Dublin were getting multiples of the amount of frees awarded to Dublin.
Cop on and try seeing it on an unbiased basis.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 14/07/2018 23:09:36    2121846

Replying To westkerry:  "Yes if it happens tomorrow I'll be disgusted. Simple.
Dublin are a fine team but that was a joke at the end. More professionalism copying the Cavs or the Golden State warriors or whom ever is in fashion at the minute."
It happened only last year when Dr Crokes played out the last chunk of the game against Slaughtneil doing the exact same thing.
The comments from the Kerry supporters on this same forum at the time was that it was Slaughtneil's job to come out and try to get the ball off them, and they were absolutely right. Slaughtneil were down to 14 which made it harder, but they didn't push out.
Nobody likes to see this stuff, but there's one to stop it, and that lies with the opposing team.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2034 - 14/07/2018 23:11:17    2121847

Donegal seemed happy with a 5/6 point defeat. 14 or 15 men behind the ball at times in the last 10/15 times watching Dublin play keep ball. Who should get criticised? The team at arms length or the one needing to claw back a deficit.... or maybe neither? In my opinion the team at arms length and looking comfortable shouldn't be the ones chastised.....in my opinion.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 14/07/2018 23:17:00    2121850

Replying To jimbodub:  "That'll do

Although Dublin not looking like the finished article at all. Sloppy by Dublin at times and tbh if that's the sort of performance they bring up to Omagh...

Although they just played the Ulster Champs and won without getting out of 2nd-3rd gear

That'll do for now

A good night for Leinster football

Kildare U20 beat Kerry (and smoking hot favs for title) and Munster Champs

Dublin beat the Ulster Champions in 2nd gear for most parts

Good stuff"
I don't know why your comment was red thumbed there but whatever....

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 14/07/2018 23:29:16    2121858

Replying To jimbodub:  "That'll do

Although Dublin not looking like the finished article at all. Sloppy by Dublin at times and tbh if that's the sort of performance they bring up to Omagh...

Although they just played the Ulster Champs and won without getting out of 2nd-3rd gear

That'll do for now

A good night for Leinster football

Kildare U20 beat Kerry (and smoking hot favs for title) and Munster Champs

Dublin beat the Ulster Champions in 2nd gear for most parts

Good stuff"
I think you're pretty delusional if you think Dublin were in second or third gear. Thankfully you're past your peak with Brogan, Connolly etc coming to the twilight of their careers, and being replaced by players not of the same exceptional ability. We will see when we meet again. You clearly have a dislike of Ulster given with the exception of the last few years Ulster teams have usually turned you over on the big occasions, which have been many. Fair play to Dublin for bagging a glut of All Ireland's rather than the usual one or two a decade ( We've no interest in football from the time of the hedge schools), given all the advantages you have. TBH, country people living in Dublin should reduce involvement and contribution to the Dublin football at club level. You're well within reach of a few other teams now.

DonegalAtlantic (Donegal) - Posts: 111 - 14/07/2018 23:31:03    2121859

Replying To westkerry:  "Best team won, that last 15 minutes was appaling seeing out the game, call it what you want but it's poison."
The team playing 14/15 men behind the ball and being happy with a 5/6 point defeat, Yeah??

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 14/07/2018 23:31:59    2121860

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Dublin probably would have won anyway but the amount of soft 'frees' they get is ridiculous, anyway big game is now away in the Hyde next week, win that and we have a chance of grabbing 2nd spot, I expect the Dubs to win all 3 games, next week will be tougher for them cause they have to play away from home.
How does the grouping work of teams are level in the group? does it go to points difference?
Great experience for the young lads this evening I think if we had Paddy on board we'd have made a better fist of it but it looked to me like the Dubs had plenty more in the tank still. best team won on the day."
So every free you got was justified of course, right?? Dublin's opposition frees are always spot on of course....

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 14/07/2018 23:34:04    2121861

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "I take your point Damo, but what I don't understand is why they did it.

They were comfortably the better team & had fresh legs on. I just dont see the point."
Why did Declan set up with nearly the whole team behind the ball and be settled with the 5 point defeat?

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 14/07/2018 23:48:43    2121868