Dublin Vs Donegal

Replying To HighStoolBandit:  "God I hope Dublin win the keepball championship. I suppose we will hear Spillane on about puke football again. Will he shite. The Dubs are untouchable. I really hope Tyrone beat the life out of ye next week. Easy frees. No black cards. Refs was a joke."
And I hope we put you back in your box , Tyrone have been the epitome of what ever it takes to win and to suddenly take umbrage with how the game is played you couldn't make it up ,I mean how many hats do you have are you the custodians of the game and it's virtues or what make your bloody mind up

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 14/07/2018 21:33:21    2121750

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "lovely little bit of ladies basketball played by Dublin in the last ten minutes .."
Yeah yeah

Out in June

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 14/07/2018 21:34:28    2121752

Replying To Damothedub:  "And you'd say as much if it was Kerry?? Do you have an ounce of honesty?? Personally I hate what Dublin did it's not why I pay my bucks , I can understand last two three minutes but we started the crap way to early, as we are not professional I don't see why we are in a winner is all business, but before I dump on my own county I'd. be interested in how many Honest supporters out there actually give a crap if their team done it"
I take your point Damo, but what I don't understand is why they did it.

They were comfortably the better team & had fresh legs on. I just dont see the point.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 14/07/2018 21:34:53    2121753

Replying To DUBJOHN:  "Yeah that's a good idea, say a few prayers for the Louth team whilst you're there, they need all the help they can get!"
Nah. Louth are long past prayers. We've given up getting hockeyed by the dubs and any other county looking for a good day out.

Headtheball1 (Louth) - Posts: 66 - 14/07/2018 21:35:43    2121755

Replying To Damothedub:  "And you'd say as much if it was Kerry?? Do you have an ounce of honesty?? Personally I hate what Dublin did it's not why I pay my bucks , I can understand last two three minutes but we started the crap way to early, as we are not professional I don't see why we are in a winner is all business, but before I dump on my own county I'd. be interested in how many Honest supporters out there actually give a crap if their team done it"
Yes if it happens tomorrow I'll be disgusted. Simple.
Dublin are a fine team but that was a joke at the end. More professionalism copying the Cavs or the Golden State warriors or whom ever is in fashion at the minute.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 14/07/2018 21:38:45    2121760

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "I take your point Damo, but what I don't understand is why they did it.

They were comfortably the better team & had fresh legs on. I just dont see the point."
Think you're completely missing the point?

Why did Dublin do it?

Why did Donegal keep 15 players behind the ball when 6-7pts down with 10 minutes to play?

They barely lay a hand in Dublin....

Donegal needed the ball abd Dublin owned it.

Why did Dublin do it???

Dublin just completely exposed once again the complete futility of such tactics.. Dublin slowly smudged a cream pie into the face of such tactics

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 14/07/2018 21:41:38    2121763

Best team won and looked to be in second gear
Biggest compliment from a Donegal perspective is Dublin felt the need to protect a lead rather than putting us to the sword

If we were to have any chance we needed goals - And if Brennan scored maybe things would have been interesting.

We got destroyed on kick outs - Patton conceded six short kick outs which Dublin only half punished - consider Durcan had one in all of 2014 and lost an all Ireland.

When we went long Howard and Fenton made hay

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 14/07/2018 21:43:07    2121766

Lessons to be learned for Donegal but that's okay, we are developing nicely and we weren't overwhelmed. We were creative and forward thinking but still looked a little timid at times. Need to go straight down the throat more as we have the players to do it. McHugh and MacNiallais a bit too quiet. We need everyone of that ilk performing top notch to beat Dublin or Kerry. Felt the young lads showed up well and took the game to them. Brolly saying Murphy is a liability has to go down as the stupidest comment of the decade never mid the year.

Dublin just don't panic, looked steady and confident today as usual. There is more to come from them I think. We just didn't quite enough questions of them and there were moments where we could have. Not good enough on the day. Dublin's fielding and general aerial ability is exceptional.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 14/07/2018 21:43:17    2121767

Replying To culmore:  "whats the point in having the best Full Forward in Ireland if you have him running headless around the field and taking a few frees , just put Murphy in the square and leave him there"
If we were to get another crack at them I'd expect Murphy will go in and out like he used to. We won a few balls inside but did nothing with it.

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 217 - 14/07/2018 21:43:27    2121768

Replying To jimbodub:  "As per the norm

Dublin win = have a go at the ref

Predictable nonsense

Zzz"
No it's not per norm.... I'm a football purist and to be honest there is no better sight than a football team in full flight and Dublin have provided this many times over the years. They are a phenomenal team of athletes but I really do not see why referees feel the need to give them an advantage....is it that they are afraid of losing out on the next big game?? Dublin do not need any help from refs but they always get it. But I would also worry about the mindset of Dublin and teams that play them. Yes they win games in 2nd gear but when teams go at them and make them hit top gear they are vulnerable. Look at mayo over last few seasons. Does Jim Gavin think it's right to have a team play like they did in last 10 minutes just cos they 5 points up. Just take a look at what Tyrone did to the rossies. Someday Gavin's complacency will catch him out.

Farney1977 (Monaghan) - Posts: 59 - 14/07/2018 21:43:42    2121769

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Declan will be happy to get away with a five point defeat but truth be told Dubln were in a different class & on another day could have won by 20.

A great learning experience for our young fellas & on to Roscommon without a demoralising walloping hanging over them."
Sorry Muck but 20 pts? Wanna be some day as nowhere near that amount between the teams tonight. Granted Dublin might have been worth a couple of points more in the winning margin but nothing like 20.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 14/07/2018 21:44:32    2121771

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "I take your point Damo, but what I don't understand is why they did it.

They were comfortably the better team & had fresh legs on. I just dont see the point."
Dubs are practicing Keepball...I suspect that will be the nature of games to come.
If Dublin are 2 points up against Kerry in All Ireland with 5 minutes to go, they will start this lark.

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 14/07/2018 21:47:06    2121774

Replying To westkerry:  "Best team won, that last 15 minutes was appaling seeing out the game, call it what you want but it's poison."
Donegal kept a sweeper in front of their full back line, it was McGee by the end, and didn't push up and try and win the ball back.

If Donegal, or anyteam, don't want to play even when 5 points down I really don't see why Dublin shouldn't just keep the ball.

In the 73rd minute Donegal still had a sweeper back and weren't pushing up, they then eventually pushed up and Dublin attacked and Paul Flynn scored in the space McGee vacated.

It's how to beat teams when they won't come out to play.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 14/07/2018 21:47:13    2121775

Only saw 2nd half as was in cork, Dublin looked to have another 2 or 3 gears.

The last 15 mins was like was watching an international friendly in soccer....

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 14/07/2018 21:48:09    2121776

Replying To westkerry:  "Yes if it happens tomorrow I'll be disgusted. Simple.
Dublin are a fine team but that was a joke at the end. More professionalism copying the Cavs or the Golden State warriors or whom ever is in fashion at the minute."
Of course it'll happen tomorrow if Galway are still playing with a sweeper and sitting back whilst Kerry are 5/6 points ahead.

Neither the Kerry footballers nor Fitzmaurice are stupid.

Kerry are a team I've always associated with that type of play.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 14/07/2018 21:49:34    2121779

Replying To joeteor:  "That was my first game in the Hill v Dublin, remarkable how it went from getting threatened to be kneecapped early on to the Dubs being all pally pally when they got the second goal."
I'm sure it went EXACTLY as you described it big man.

Marse (Dublin) - Posts: 217 - 14/07/2018 21:51:33    2121780

Dublin and Donegal should win next weekend meaning Donegal and tyrone in ballybofey will be a defacto AI Quarter final

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 14/07/2018 21:52:52    2121785

Replying To westkerry:  "Best team won, that last 15 minutes was appaling seeing out the game, call it what you want but it's poison."
Donegal had 15 men in their own 45 at the time while 5/6 points. What would you suggest we do rin headlong into them and risk turning the ball over? Nonsense.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 14/07/2018 21:58:51    2121791

Replying To westkerry:  "Yes if it happens tomorrow I'll be disgusted. Simple.
Dublin are a fine team but that was a joke at the end. More professionalism copying the Cavs or the Golden State warriors or whom ever is in fashion at the minute."
Man..

Donegal needed the ball... they practically did nothing to get it back, still kept 15 behind the ball while being 6-7 Pts down

Why run the risk of running into swarm tackles and being countered? Which is exactly what they wanted..

Why did Donegal play like that when they were the ones that required possession

Unfortunately when your facing such an approach you have to adapt accordingly.

Dublin just beat the Ulster Champs in 2nd gear without even playing particularly well.. and could even afford to play keep ball without having a glove put on them for 10+ minutes....

And people are giving out about Dublin...

Pfffhh

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 14/07/2018 22:01:26    2121795

I take your point Damo, but what I don't understand is why they did it.

They were comfortably the better team & had fresh legs on. I just dont see the point.
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 4654 - 14/07/2018 21:34:53

The point is simple enough.

If Donegal didn't want to come out and play why should Dublin do what Donegal want them to do and bring the ball into contact or kick long.

I really didn't see the point in Donegal still playing a sweeper in front of their full back line in the 73rd minute and they 4 points down.

If you're gonna continue to do that against a serious team, they'll just keep the ball Muck.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 14/07/2018 22:03:12    2121796