Ulster Team Allege Sectarian Abuse.

All the posters whinging about PC gone mad/"both sides are at it"/chip on shoulder/move on etc should maybe check their privilege and stfu.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 19/06/2018 12:07:34    2113019

Replying To jimbodub:  "Please explain to me how I don't know our history..

How far back do you want to go? Last ice-age? Ancient Irish? The Celts? Viking invasion/influence? Anglo-Norman conquest... I mean what are you talking about exactly?

What aspect or time frame are you referring to? This bit of dirt we're floating around on goes back a long way..

Please educate me. (Seriously doubt your ability to do so but go on give her a go)

This should be good :)"
No need to go back to the ice-age, a good understanding of the recent history of our island would be a good starting point and judging by some of your comments your may be gone past being educated on the said topic.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 19/06/2018 12:16:48    2113022

Replying To browncows:  "No need to go back to the ice-age, a good understanding of the recent history of our island would be a good starting point and judging by some of your comments your may be gone past being educated on the said topic."
What recent events?

Brexit border issues?

The troubles? There was a peace agreement signed in 1998. There's has been vast improvements since, Our Taoiseach was up with the Orange Order last week. Things aren't perfect, it's a work in progress but again vastly improved. There was a recent poll suggesting that among young people the desire for a United Ireland is gaining popularity.

This is progression. Focusing on the past is not going to bring on the peace process and enhance relations. I want to see an United Ireland but it won't be brought about by hard line Nationalism.

Listen I've nothing but respect for the people up north and I have family on both sides of that particular divide.

But what Ulsterman is suggesting here is very much up for debate and the chap has had an agenda on here for years.

I've been directly called West Brit/jackeen/freestater/from the pale by Ulster/ country posters on this site

I've never said anything on that level to an Ulster poster.

There's plenty of discrimination bounded about and especially for Ulsterman given his own comments over the years to be bemoaning such is a bit rich.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/06/2018 12:40:47    2113032

Replying To jimbodub:  "What recent events?

Brexit border issues?

The troubles? There was a peace agreement signed in 1998. There's has been vast improvements since, Our Taoiseach was up with the Orange Order last week. Things aren't perfect, it's a work in progress but again vastly improved. There was a recent poll suggesting that among young people the desire for a United Ireland is gaining popularity.

This is progression. Focusing on the past is not going to bring on the peace process and enhance relations. I want to see an United Ireland but it won't be brought about by hard line Nationalism.

Listen I've nothing but respect for the people up north and I have family on both sides of that particular divide.

But what Ulsterman is suggesting here is very much up for debate and the chap has had an agenda on here for years.

I've been directly called West Brit/jackeen/freestater/from the pale by Ulster/ country posters on this site

I've never said anything on that level to an Ulster poster.

There's plenty of discrimination bounded about and especially for Ulsterman given his own comments over the years to be bemoaning such is a bit rich."
Well said.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/06/2018 17:34:17    2113150

Replying To Crinigan:  "Exactly.
And maybe they could read up a little bit on the history of the middle east before another Ulster team's fans turns Navan into some sort of disgusting ISIS rally with all the Palestinian flags..."
What exactly have the Palestinians got to do with ISIS? I have seen Syrian, Iraqi, Confederate, Japanese WWII War Flags but no ISIS flags or are you confusing the the Black ISIS flag with the Palestinian flag?

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 19/06/2018 18:25:30    2113162

To Admin

Is that not the sort of level of language and bigotry to get a user booted no?

All well and good deleting the post but it was still said. It was still posted. It was seen.

It's not on. What are you going to do about it?

Surely that level of discriminatory language is not acceptable and it's not the first time Ulsterman has gone to that level on this site.

Honestly now lads/lasses that's simply not on.

I would appreciate a response on this.

[email protected]

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/06/2018 19:36:10    2113177

Replying To jimbodub:  "To Admin

Is that not the sort of level of language and bigotry to get a user booted no?

All well and good deleting the post but it was still said. It was still posted. It was seen.

It's not on. What are you going to do about it?

Surely that level of discriminatory language is not acceptable and it's not the first time Ulsterman has gone to that level on this site.

Honestly now lads/lasses that's simply not on.

I would appreciate a response on this.

[email protected]"
It wasn't directed at you personally jimbo. It was more a general thing and if you took that personally I withdraw it.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9696 - 19/06/2018 20:14:25    2113186

Could I just add that the most offensive post on this thread was that about "Ulster fans turning Navan into an ISIS rally". That was disgraceful so we can all take offence at various things. If Jimbo is offended I apologise if he is hurt by a few words.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9696 - 19/06/2018 20:25:10    2113189

Replying To browncows:  "I would have expected that the Garda should have more important things to deal with than arresting a guy holding up a flag considering all the robberies with old folk being attacked in their homes.

jimbodub does not even know his history - poor chap"
I think you'll find the guy was 'arrested?' in Navan because he refused to take down the flag all during the game and therefore blocking the people behind him from seeing the game. The Gardai acted on a complaint from a member of the public and when he continued to interfere with other people's right to watch the game he was simply ejected from the grounds as per regulations.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1061 - 19/06/2018 22:40:54    2113222