Dubs 2018 - Troubling Signs

Replying To Crinigan:  "Are Dublin fans now so bored that they are creating their own drama? You've already won the next 10 All Irelands so relax. And if ye are struggling this year, sure Joe McQuillan will be reffing anyway and will get you over the line.

Now, when is the club championship back on..."
100% , well said crinigan.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/06/2018 13:05:06    2108366

Replying To TheHermit:  "But which agenda, they have so many!!
-Dublin don't benefit at all from any advantages, we are the greatest team ever and there is nothing else to our success but that
-We only get the same proportionate amount of funding as anyone else, sure Mayo only "earned" 20k less than us last year
-Sure look we lost a game at minor level, we aren't going to keep dominating and the money is making no difference
- Oh sure our best players are leaving the panel or are past it, we are lambs to the slaughter this year, its Kerry's to win, yerra ya yerra ya

I think that covers the main ones floating around here the last month :D"
Ya the hermit you've covered the last 6 months there :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/06/2018 13:07:28    2108369

Replying To Crinigan:  "Are Dublin fans now so bored that they are creating their own drama? You've already won the next 10 All Irelands so relax. And if ye are struggling this year, sure Joe McQuillan will be reffing anyway and will get you over the line.

Now, when is the club championship back on..."
A Meath man cribbing about refs getting the Dubs over the line haha give over!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 07/06/2018 13:27:14    2108371

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Your disingenuous condescending remarks and talking down of Longford is proof of what I said.
Wanting to deny them their day and the opportunity they have earned after beating Meath is typical of the gombeenism you spout at every opportunity."
I'm so very sorry to have "insulted" Longford by predicting a result based on all available evidence over the past few years.
I can see how much Longford football must mean to you by how strongly you are defending RTE's decision to show their game live.
I mean it's surely not the case that you probably just couldn't be bothered to waddle down to Croke Park to see it and are only delighted you can watch it from the comfort of home, where I'm sure you will be on the edge of your seat all through ;D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 07/06/2018 13:48:05    2108375

Replying To TheHermit:  "I'm so very sorry to have "insulted" Longford by predicting a result based on all available evidence over the past few years.
I can see how much Longford football must mean to you by how strongly you are defending RTE's decision to show their game live.
I mean it's surely not the case that you probably just couldn't be bothered to waddle down to Croke Park to see it and are only delighted you can watch it from the comfort of home, where I'm sure you will be on the edge of your seat all through ;D"
I doubt you know that you are insulting anyone due to the ignorance you portray quiet often on here.
When Longfort beat Meath they earned their opportunity to play Dublin in Croke Park on television which I'm sure they are looking forward to and are every bit as entitled to as Meath or any other county.
For what it's worth , not that I care what you believe , I will attend on Sunday unlike fellas like yourself who took Clare for granted and patronize every county in Munster.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 07/06/2018 14:23:22    2108389

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "I doubt you know that you are insulting anyone due to the ignorance you portray quiet often on here.
When Longfort beat Meath they earned their opportunity to play Dublin in Croke Park on television which I'm sure they are looking forward to and are every bit as entitled to as Meath or any other county.
For what it's worth , not that I care what you believe , I will attend on Sunday unlike fellas like yourself who took Clare for granted and patronize every county in Munster."
What will you do now when Longford getting hammered out the gate on Sunday by Dublin and they join Westmeath, Meath and Kildare in turning their back on this farce of a championship, who will you patronize then with your false platitudes? You're running out of teams at this stage. Mind you, I'd say ye lads would still think your All Irelands are still worth celebrating even when all 31 counties give up the ghost and it will happen. Most of the Dublin lads on this fourm strike me as the kind of lads who join the kids on the green for a kickabout and then cheer wildy when they score as they've achieved something....

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 07/06/2018 14:32:31    2108395

Replying To Crinigan:  "What will you do now when Longford getting hammered out the gate on Sunday by Dublin and they join Westmeath, Meath and Kildare in turning their back on this farce of a championship, who will you patronize then with your false platitudes? You're running out of teams at this stage. Mind you, I'd say ye lads would still think your All Irelands are still worth celebrating even when all 31 counties give up the ghost and it will happen. Most of the Dublin lads on this fourm strike me as the kind of lads who join the kids on the green for a kickabout and then cheer wildy when they score as they've achieved something...."
The championship may be a farce but you're missing the point unsurprisingly.
It's about giving Longford the same opportunity as anyone else and the experience of playing in Croke Park and to have it televised.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 07/06/2018 14:54:49    2108402

Hard enough to listen to this stuff coming from Kerry.......

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 07/06/2018 15:17:59    2108409

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Hard enough to listen to this stuff coming from Kerry......."
Muck it's like this , if Kerry win the All Ireland and they could , the lads on here get to gloat , should they come up short and heaven help us Dublin do four in a row well it's better that you start tarnishing that achievement early , thus our Kerry friends who have so little to say about the Munster football championship can't lose , the lads on here are one trick ponies who remind me of Dory the fish going around and around saying the same thing , as for the comment by the Meath poster saying Longford If beaten will turn their back on Leinster , that's rewriting history Meath turned in on each other like sharks in a bowl and killed development, but it's easy to have a fall guy.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 07/06/2018 15:26:38    2108411

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Hard enough to listen to this stuff coming from Kerry......."
Yerrah we'll just go out and try our best against Longford and see where we are. Yerrah, yerrah.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 07/06/2018 15:29:09    2108414

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "I doubt you know that you are insulting anyone due to the ignorance you portray quiet often on here.
For what it's worth , not that I care what you believe , I will attend on Sunday unlike fellas like yourself who took Clare for granted and patronize every county in Munster."
Got a nice tan on Sunday on the terrace in Fitzgerald Stadium, no better place to be this time of year.
And no one was taking Clare lightly down here before the game given they are now an established divison 2 outfit. I think your own ignorance of Kerry supporters is being shown up now.
Also no one down here is putting our name on the Sam Maguire either just because we put in a good display against a side that just didn't get out of the blocks.
If we do something similar to Cork we might start dreaming of number 38, but Dublin are still the team to beat as Longford will find out on Sunday though hopefully they can give Dublin their best shot.
Enjoy the game now.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 07/06/2018 15:37:39    2108419

It's the thruth muck and we'll be proved right in September.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/06/2018 16:13:35    2108429

Replying To MesAmis:  "RTÉ are damned if they do and damned of they don't.

They decided that they wanted to show Dublin v Meath, as they thought that was likely to come to pass.

Longford put a spanner in the works. Had they have changed their minds and decided to not show the Dublin/Longford game they'd get just as much criticism (probably from the same people) that they were disrespecting Longford by not showing them in favour of more glamorous teams.

It's true and you know it. Whingers love to whinge."
The shouldn't have this game to show no matter who dublin were playing. It was always going to be one sided it made no difference whether it be longford or meath the were playing. I think peolle are been unfair to longford saying otherwise. There has been vertically no football on tv so far the should have picked a better game.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 07/06/2018 17:52:51    2108463

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "It's the thruth muck and we'll be proved right in September."
What will be proven in Sept ? Well what was proven last September? That we were a point better than a team people call bottlers , you see anyone can put spin on an argument not just a Kerryman , I've allready addressed the case made by initial poster and stated I disagree with his assessment as I have us as favorites and rightly so , these topics are far more enjoyable if you engage instead of trying to enrage all the time

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 07/06/2018 18:24:05    2108471

Dublin are triple AI champions, so have a track record of delivering and success isn't blunting the appetite for more.
Dublin are League champions, so have hit 2018 in the same positive health seen in previous years.
Kerry look promising, but only when their forwards have to spend as much time defending as shooting, and midfield and defence are under genuine pressure, will we and they know if 2018 can be their year. Will Cork provide this test... maybe?
Galway are evolving, had a good league, but look like they may be aiming for a semi-final place this year. What they do in the Connacht final could top up momentum or empty the tank. Winning in Croke Park against a strong side would be the next challenge. A lot of promise, but still a lot to prove.
Playing Meath in Navan will be tough enough for Tyrone, and if they don't turn up tuned in they'll be turned over. Assuming they survive, I can't see them having evolved enough from last year to really threaten the Dubs and losing to Monaghan won't have increased their self-belief.
Monaghan... just when things seemed to be going so well... and that's happened before.
Mayo won't likely learn anything valuable this weekend, and neither will we. One game at a time, and lot of previous knowledge about how to go about peaking later, but run into a team who doesn't care about peaking later and it will all get very ropey (again!). Tom Parsons is hard man to replace.
Roscommon can play very good football and might beat Galway. Sustaining performances is the main question mark.
Donegal look like things are running for them this year, but they're looking at 2018 as a year for development and would be outside bets for a semi-final place imo... just Down and Fermanagh in their way for a place in the Super 8s, and players who know a gift horse when they see it in front of them!
Cork... is the resurrection believable? Kill Kerry in Cork and the swagger will be back. Won't swagger past the Dubs though, but could be cocky enough to take out any other team out if they win the Munster.

So doubts all around, with the exception of the reigning and likely winners of Sam 2018... and a 4 in a row, no less!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 07/06/2018 18:49:20    2108481

Replying To Damothedub:  "What will be proven in Sept ? Well what was proven last September? That we were a point better than a team people call bottlers , you see anyone can put spin on an argument not just a Kerryman , I've allready addressed the case made by initial poster and stated I disagree with his assessment as I have us as favorites and rightly so , these topics are far more enjoyable if you engage instead of trying to enrage all the time"
Look Damo if you want to believe that ye have a load of challengers to yer crown then so be it's not up to me to burst your bubble, but my eyes are wide open and what I see ain't good.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/06/2018 22:26:23    2108535

Replying To Pericles:  "Dublin are triple AI champions, so have a track record of delivering and success isn't blunting the appetite for more.
Dublin are League champions, so have hit 2018 in the same positive health seen in previous years.
Kerry look promising, but only when their forwards have to spend as much time defending as shooting, and midfield and defence are under genuine pressure, will we and they know if 2018 can be their year. Will Cork provide this test... maybe?
Galway are evolving, had a good league, but look like they may be aiming for a semi-final place this year. What they do in the Connacht final could top up momentum or empty the tank. Winning in Croke Park against a strong side would be the next challenge. A lot of promise, but still a lot to prove.
Playing Meath in Navan will be tough enough for Tyrone, and if they don't turn up tuned in they'll be turned over. Assuming they survive, I can't see them having evolved enough from last year to really threaten the Dubs and losing to Monaghan won't have increased their self-belief.
Monaghan... just when things seemed to be going so well... and that's happened before.
Mayo won't likely learn anything valuable this weekend, and neither will we. One game at a time, and lot of previous knowledge about how to go about peaking later, but run into a team who doesn't care about peaking later and it will all get very ropey (again!). Tom Parsons is hard man to replace.
Roscommon can play very good football and might beat Galway. Sustaining performances is the main question mark.
Donegal look like things are running for them this year, but they're looking at 2018 as a year for development and would be outside bets for a semi-final place imo... just Down and Fermanagh in their way for a place in the Super 8s, and players who know a gift horse when they see it in front of them!
Cork... is the resurrection believable? Kill Kerry in Cork and the swagger will be back. Won't swagger past the Dubs though, but could be cocky enough to take out any other team out if they win the Munster.

So doubts all around, with the exception of the reigning and likely winners of Sam 2018... and a 4 in a row, no less!"
Damo won't like you saying that Pericles.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/06/2018 01:19:11    2108564

Replying To TheHermit:  "Got a nice tan on Sunday on the terrace in Fitzgerald Stadium, no better place to be this time of year.
And no one was taking Clare lightly down here before the game given they are now an established divison 2 outfit. I think your own ignorance of Kerry supporters is being shown up now.
Also no one down here is putting our name on the Sam Maguire either just because we put in a good display against a side that just didn't get out of the blocks.
If we do something similar to Cork we might start dreaming of number 38, but Dublin are still the team to beat as Longford will find out on Sunday though hopefully they can give Dublin their best shot.
Enjoy the game now."
Aren't you great now altogether not to be putting Kerry's name on Sam just yet. Jesus , but you really are laughable. Why on earth would anyone think you might be about to. I certanly haven't said that. But off you go there now lad with that idea.
You know , if indeed you do actually know anything about football and are not just a stool watcher , that Dublin winning the AI this year is going to be extremely difficult. When you have won 3 on the trot and several leagues it becomes more likely that you will loose that edge and that combined with transition is likely to mean someone else will lift Sam.
We will be favounites and that's understandable but it's highly unlikely.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 08/06/2018 08:23:47    2108571

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Look Damo if you want to believe that ye have a load of challengers to yer crown then so be it's not up to me to burst your bubble, but my eyes are wide open and what I see ain't good."
Good god man do you actually read Anything before posting WHERE did I say we have lot of challengers ? I said we won an all Ireland by a point FACT, I said we are favorites OPINION only , I said I disagreed with initial poster on strength of our forward line Again just an OPINION , you are disagreeing with people who aren't in agreement in the first place , you couldn't make this shi7 up

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 08/06/2018 08:40:13    2108576

Dublin are the team to beat really, the success speaks for itself, ive no problem owning that or the achievements of the team, as can be seen by this thread their achievements are enviable. Im personally very proud and when it ends it casts a big shadow in terms of the bar of success likely for other Dubln teams and nationally.

I think most lads are commenting on the state of the union at the moment, its true to say there has been a lot of change, new players, new tactics and a transition in rebuilding, i admire Gavin if he continues to pull it off like last year, its actually a staggering achievement by Gavin to do it and still stay at the top of the game, other counties have dissapeared for a decade and peddled an excuse of transition. But there is a vulnerability there none the less, tried and trusted is becoming less and less and mistakes and error are the currency of youth. The future proofing the team is an important and necessary step to safeguard competitiveness and hopefully success into the next decade. If its a step back to take a step forward so be it. I think if Dubln didn't win it this year, i wouldn't be to concerned about the end of cycle more latitude for development in the beginning of a new one.

Whatever way the cards fall the Dublin team this decade owe is nothing.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 08/06/2018 09:45:29    2108590