Dubs 2018 - Troubling Signs

I wouldn't be confident this year atall.

The vibes from the camp are not good. The Connolly situation is a tragedy for football, and football fans. It's hard to see him coming back now. What a loss to Dublin and to football. Added to that the departure of 4 other members of the squad in the last few days, and you may say "ah they wouldn't start so let them off" but that totally flies in the face of previous JG squads and their ethos.
Shane Carthy in particular played a lot for Dublin in recent times and young Reddan would certainly have been looking at game time this summer.
Something just doesn't feel right this summer.

4/5 years ago we were going into summer with a forward 6 of
Connolly Flynn Kilkenny
Brogan Brogan Andrews/McMenamin

We certainly don't have that anymore. Fine players like Scully are just that, fine players, but do opposing managers look at a Dubs team with Niall and Brian Howard and even Deano and fear them they way they did previous units?

Perhaps our one saving grace will be how incredibly strong we are from 1-9, but past that, there are worrying signs.

If EF can sort out Kerry's 1-9. you would have to like them this year. Dubs are not what we were

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 06/06/2018 10:59:39    2107979

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "I wouldn't be confident this year atall.

The vibes from the camp are not good. The Connolly situation is a tragedy for football, and football fans. It's hard to see him coming back now. What a loss to Dublin and to football. Added to that the departure of 4 other members of the squad in the last few days, and you may say "ah they wouldn't start so let them off" but that totally flies in the face of previous JG squads and their ethos.
Shane Carthy in particular played a lot for Dublin in recent times and young Reddan would certainly have been looking at game time this summer.

Connolly Flynn Kilkenny

We certainly don't have that anymore. Fine players like Scully are just that, fine players, but do opposing managers look at a Dubs team with Niall and Brian Howard and even Deano and fear them they way they did previous units?

Perhaps our one saving grace will be how incredibly strong we are from 1-9, but past that, there are worrying signs.

If EF can sort out Kerry's 1-9. you would have to like them this year. Dubs are not what we were"
Dermo situation is nothing new , we have been preparing for it and that's a fact , the lads leaving I say best of luck to them as I said to Rory Jack etc We won the league one defeat hardly got out of second gear , I personally don't see the signs any more than any other year , one day we will be turned over and there will be a Q as long as O Connell street to say I told you so , a broken clock is right twice a day , we could easily have lost last year and there would have been many I told you so merchants , in the forward line you mention the players opposition wouldn't fear you didn't mention Con , Kilkenny Andrews Flynn Kevin Mac , as for Kerry yes they are a threat regardless of what the muppet from the kingdom keeps posting on here , but a ball has barely been kicked and after many years on the road we are in as good a place as we could expect just my take

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 06/06/2018 11:47:34    2107996

Connolly Flynn Kilkenny

If EF can sort out Kerry's 1-9. you would have to like them this year. Dubs are not what we were"
Beware Kerry.

Any team to score 32 points against any team means that they can high score from distance. They are obviously not going to be bringing the man into a turnover situation against the Dubs. I believe that they are going to do this against more than one team this year.

Dublin having players leave the panel for a year here and there is nothing new. Jack McCafferey went and came back last year.

The big difference this time is that they are facing a young Kerry team who are going to be hell bent on stopping the dubs winning 4 in a row or worse, a potential 5 in a row. They are sick of losing to Dublin and know what to do to avoid getting beaten. Fitzmaurice will be obsessing about beating Dublin this year too.

This year for Dublin is going to be more about them matching Kerry in the championship than what they are facing in their own camp. I think that Kerry's performance in the forthcoming munster final will vindicate what I mean.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 06/06/2018 11:51:09    2108000

Connolly Flynn Kilkenny

Yeah it's looking very shaky. You might not even win Leinster!!

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 06/06/2018 11:51:39    2108002

Connolly Flynn Kilkenny

Yerra

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 06/06/2018 11:53:39    2108005

Connolly Flynn Kilkenny

Good one Liam boy :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/06/2018 11:58:30    2108011

Connolly Flynn Kilkenny

Ah here, LW, the four lads who left the panel for the Summer are all excellent players but highly unlikely really impact on the first team. Shane Carthy of St Vincent's probably got the most game time in the league but didn't make the necessary impact to be considered a first team choice. I like Reddin as a player and think he has done well off the bench but think other more established players are more worthy of the jerseys 16-26. Emmet O'Conghaile was a fantastic player underage for Dublin but injuries have significantly curbed his development and he's never quite got up to the hoped / expected heights. Shane Carthy of Naomh Mearnog had his demons and has done very well to get himself back together but didn't appear in the league.

I think the opposite re the ethos - I think its good that these lads think that they can leave the periphery of the squad and enjoy their summer and, hopefully, return next year and fight for their place. Who's to say they didn't sit down with Gavin, discuss the situation and amicably agree to their withdrawal from the panel? I can't see Gavin holding a grudge when he realistically knows the players involved are down the pecking order.

We may not have exactly the same dynamism up front as four years ago, but its still a fairly formidable forward unit with plenty of options from the bench. We might not have the same game changing options as before but I think confidence in the team, overall, is still pretty high.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 06/06/2018 12:10:35    2108015

This is a tragic situation for Dublin, Longford will beat them and not even sure they will make the Super 8's. Personally I think Dublin are stronger than ever and the opposition are getting worse. The only hope of a real challenge for them comes form Kerry or Mayo. Galway could come good in the next few years but can't see it this year. The Ulster teams seem light years away.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1873 - 06/06/2018 12:39:19    2108029

Sam is Kerry's to lose, even Tomas O'Se agrees

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 06/06/2018 13:38:30    2108059

Will they have enough for a team this weekend?

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 06/06/2018 13:38:50    2108060

Yerra ya Dublin are banjacked - Kerry 4 Sam.

On a side note, why in hell are RTE bothering to show Longford getting the stuffing knocked out of them on Sunday when Down are playing Donegal at the same time. Christ there's little enough football being shown without side lining a competitive match for a turkey shoot.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/06/2018 13:47:57    2108064

Replying To TheHermit:  "Yerra ya Dublin are banjacked - Kerry 4 Sam.

On a side note, why in hell are RTE bothering to show Longford getting the stuffing knocked out of them on Sunday when Down are playing Donegal at the same time. Christ there's little enough football being shown without side lining a competitive match for a turkey shoot."
RTE booked that game pre championship, presuming it would be Dubs Meath. The Leinster semi final was etched to be shown live for weeks now
When Longford won, can you imagine the insult to Longford if RTE then turned around and gave it up, how would Longford people feel

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 06/06/2018 14:35:19    2108082

Replying To TheHermit:  "Yerra ya Dublin are banjacked - Kerry 4 Sam.

On a side note, why in hell are RTE bothering to show Longford getting the stuffing knocked out of them on Sunday when Down are playing Donegal at the same time. Christ there's little enough football being shown without side lining a competitive match for a turkey shoot."
Even if RTE don't want to show the Donegal v Down game surely the Carlow v Laois match would be a much better one to show.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1873 - 06/06/2018 14:40:45    2108085

Ah I see, still they can change their minds about what hurling game they are showing this week, they could surely do the same with the football.

And yes I agree with the poster above, given all we hear is negative stuff on the state of Leinster football these days, it would have been a great opportunity to showcase a novel, exciting and even contest between Laois and Carlow and also reward their fine efforts so far by putting them on national television. I'd say a lot of neutrals would be tuning in to see just what all the fuss is about.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/06/2018 14:52:02    2108091

Connolly Flynn Kilkenny

No harm to ya Liam, the Kerry lads do the poor mouth crap way better then you!

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 563 - 06/06/2018 15:05:05    2108098

Connolly Flynn Kilkenny

The only troubling signs for Dublin is the fact that they have a panel of 40 players and another 40 players to keep them on their toes. How does one deal with such riches? Very troubling!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 06/06/2018 15:06:12    2108099

Did you hear the one about the Dub's not winning Sam .........

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 06/06/2018 15:27:11    2108103

Replying To witnof:  "Sam is Kerry's to lose, even Tomas O'Se agrees"
A fellow countryman bigging up his own county ahead of the Championship. Never heard the like of it before, especially in Kerry.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 06/06/2018 15:51:53    2108108

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "Ah here, LW, the four lads who left the panel for the Summer are all excellent players but highly unlikely really impact on the first team. Shane Carthy of St Vincent's probably got the most game time in the league but didn't make the necessary impact to be considered a first team choice. I like Reddin as a player and think he has done well off the bench but think other more established players are more worthy of the jerseys 16-26. Emmet O'Conghaile was a fantastic player underage for Dublin but injuries have significantly curbed his development and he's never quite got up to the hoped / expected heights. Shane Carthy of Naomh Mearnog had his demons and has done very well to get himself back together but didn't appear in the league.

I think the opposite re the ethos - I think its good that these lads think that they can leave the periphery of the squad and enjoy their summer and, hopefully, return next year and fight for their place. Who's to say they didn't sit down with Gavin, discuss the situation and amicably agree to their withdrawal from the panel? I can't see Gavin holding a grudge when he realistically knows the players involved are down the pecking order.

We may not have exactly the same dynamism up front as four years ago, but its still a fairly formidable forward unit with plenty of options from the bench. We might not have the same game changing options as before but I think confidence in the team, overall, is still pretty high."
That is the difference rhe dubs are losing lads that wouldn't get on as subs in big championship matches while other counties are losing key cornerstone players.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 06/06/2018 18:34:20    2108158

Then why are the Juggernaut 1/100 to win a Province with 4 teams left standing all of whom have had excellent years so far (Laois 100% record, Carlow 2 narrow defeats, Longford seconds away from Promotion) and the plucky kids from the Kingdom 1/3 to win theirs with only 2 teams left????????

37thHeaven (Kerry) - Posts: 102 - 06/06/2018 18:37:06    2108159