Why No Red Card For Austin GLEESON?

Replying To Coopers_Helmet:  "After Austin Gleeson pulled the helmet off Bonner Maher why was he not given his marching orders it is after all a red card offense? It's not like he doesn't have form for such adangerous action. This incident was never commented upon. It seemed to have been overlooked due to other incidents."
Only Clare players get done for this.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2475 - 06/06/2018 04:29:05    2107922

Replying To Canuck:  "The Austin Gleeson lynch mob are out again. There is photo in the independent today rightly showing Gleeson with his hand by Maher's helmet no pulling action. A shot in time. What is does not show is the next frame where Maher pulls his own helmet off. In a live radio commentary the presenter stated that Bonner Maher has just ripped his helmet off trying to get Gleeson sent off. Went on to say there is no place in the game for this carry on. In fairness again to Tipp people they are taking this for what it was and saying nothing.
However if he did do this review it and suspend him. We will find someone else to step in against Limerick. While reviewing it review the score and award the match to the proper winner. No you are not interest in fair play just bias against Gleeson.
Then you go to cast dispersion on his status in the game. He is 23 years old. Has an All-Ireland minor and under 21 medal. Stared in both campaigns . Young hurler of the year and an All-star. Did the media do all this ?"
This photo https://www.sportsfile.com/id/1513328/ followed by this photo https://www.sportsfile.com/id/1513324/ provide two "shots in time" that would suggest that Gleeson once again was lucky to escape without punishment

Heftydickonem (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 06/06/2018 12:22:25    2108020

Replying To Coopers_Helmet:  "After Austin Gleeson pulled the helmet off Bonner Maher why was he not given his marching orders it is after all a red card offense? It's not like he doesn't have form for such adangerous action. This incident was never commented upon. It seemed to have been overlooked due to other incidents."
SSaw the incident, or the aftermath but no replay, comments during analysis or the Sunday Game so can't comment on that one but it seems half the tackles in most matches are red card offenses. The quality of refs is shocking but I'd guess they're getting 'advice' from ...somewhere. Also it really looks like they're helping to get draws at times. Might be the fair result, but don't make it down to a refs decision. Time for two refs on the pitch!

Gowran_Yank (Kilkenny) - Posts: 96 - 06/06/2018 12:48:08    2108035

Replying To WildPundit:  "Hard one to call I'm sure if there was something in it CCCC would have become involved now. I actually don't think Bonnar was trying to get him sent off either and I had a pretty good view where I was sitting.
Austin is not the best hurler in the country and probably never was even when he won hurler of the year problem that year was that two tipp lads were nominated with him and that split a vote but look he got the most votes of his peers and that's what counts.
Don't think anything will come of this incident he was already hard done by with the goal so this would be a right kick into the rocks.
Just off topic not sure why Jason Forde is getting credited with the goal if Austin touched it and supposed to have deemed carrying it over the goal line surely that's an OG against him!!!! Lol!!"
WildPundit I have never heard Austin Glesson claiming to be the best hurler in the country or anyone else that knows him. He is the most unassuming young man you could meet. It is only a month ago TJ Reid was been hailed as the best. Now that is gone dormant. However where was TJ when he was Austin age ? Was he even on the Kilkenny team ? Joe Canning was a revelation at a young age and then probable because of injury was no where for years. How was Henry Sheflin rated when he was Austin's age?
People just take a dislike to a player and try to bring his status down. For anyone that has seen Austin as a kid week in week out knows he is something special.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 06/06/2018 13:51:41    2108066

Canuck, it is not a lynch mob, that would imply they were unfairly targeting the player for something he didn't do.....

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 06/06/2018 19:31:46    2108177

Replying To Pinkie:  "Canuck, it is not a lynch mob, that would imply they were unfairly targeting the player for something he didn't do....."
Your probably right but all the best players are from Tipp,Kilkenny,Cork. There is no way we could have it said that a player from Limerick, Clare, Waterford Carlow, Antrim etc. including your own Wexford is the best player in the game. It is always subjective who is the best anyway but some poster have to be adamant who is not. So the point has to be made strongly that Austin is not as good as anyone might say. That is just the way it always was and will be. It was no different when Ken McGrath was the best.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 06/06/2018 22:54:06    2108244

Replying To Canuck:  "WildPundit I have never heard Austin Glesson claiming to be the best hurler in the country or anyone else that knows him. He is the most unassuming young man you could meet. It is only a month ago TJ Reid was been hailed as the best. Now that is gone dormant. However where was TJ when he was Austin age ? Was he even on the Kilkenny team ? Joe Canning was a revelation at a young age and then probable because of injury was no where for years. How was Henry Sheflin rated when he was Austin's age?
People just take a dislike to a player and try to bring his status down. For anyone that has seen Austin as a kid week in week out knows he is something special."
However where was TJ when he was Austin age ?

TJ was captain of the Kilkenny senior team at 23. He had 2 All-Ireland u21 medals and 2 senior medals at that point.

How was Henry Sheflin rated when he was Austin's age?

Henry was POTY at Gleeson's age. He'd won an U21 All-Ireland and 2 senior titles as well as two All Star awards.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 07/06/2018 08:07:39    2108270

A picture can be very misleading. I didn't see the video but if he did it he should be suspended if he didn't he shouldn't. Lynch mob me arse. Very simple.

There does need to be an overhaul of disciplinary system in GAA in general. Some very dangerous tackles/assaults getting minimum sanction i.e. red card and 1 game ban while other incidents with less serious consequences could have longer bans. I'm specifically thinking about the "tackle" on Lee Keegan, the "tackle" on Hugh Pat McGeary in the same game (TyronevMayo) and Diarmuid O'Connor's elbow smash into Paul Conroys face.

These type of incidents have the potential to do serious damage to someone yet they get a one match suspension.

In rugby they categorise the incident then grade how serious it is i.e. striking might be the category but it may be graded with minimum force, medium force or maximum force. The more serious grading carrying sanctions with no upper limit. This stops the guy who breaks someones jaw and the guy who tickles someone getting the same punishment.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 07/06/2018 09:16:54    2108283

Replying To Canuck:  "Your probably right but all the best players are from Tipp,Kilkenny,Cork. There is no way we could have it said that a player from Limerick, Clare, Waterford Carlow, Antrim etc. including your own Wexford is the best player in the game. It is always subjective who is the best anyway but some poster have to be adamant who is not. So the point has to be made strongly that Austin is not as good as anyone might say. That is just the way it always was and will be. It was no different when Ken McGrath was the best."
The best players are the naturally considered to be the ones that consistently deliver on the biggest stage.
Henry Shefflin did it for years, from the age of 19 in 2000 to 2012 when he pretty much single-handedly pulled Kilkenny to a draw in the All Ireland final against Galway.

TJ has consistently performed to the highest level, rarely letting his standard drop, until last year.

Over the years there have been players from most of those counties up there with the best, Johnny Dooley, Brian Lohan, Gary Kirby, Seannie McMahon, Ken McGrath. These lads would have walked on to any team in the country and been one of the main men. But it is only natural that opinion of who is the best is directed towards those that consistently play in All Ireland finals.

Over the years I have always felt that Joe Canning was an excellent hurler but was a little lacking but that if he was from Kilkenny during the noughties and up to 2015 that he would be an absolutely unbelievable hurler. My reasoning being, that in Galway there was always too much pressure on him to be the hero every day and teams knew that if you stop Joe you stop Galway so double-marked him. In that great Kilkenny team he would just have been another excellent hurler who could have cut loose as not all the pressure was on him and teams couldn't afford to double-mark. He is playing his best hurling in years now Galway have 5 other top forwards around him.

The problem Austin Gleeson has is that there is too much pressure on him, whether that is from himself or Waterford hurling in general. He is trying to do everything which isn't possible. He can get some great scores but also has some horrific misses from real hit and hope shots that he shouldn't take on. It brings extra scrutiny on himself. He has the potential to be a savage hurler at centre back in my opinion if he focuses on the job. When centre back at under 21 he was exceptional because he just won the ball and picked out a man in space, none of this monster scores / misses craic. With the hype surrounding him because he is an excellent hurler, his transgressions are naturally going to be highlighted. He landed himself in hot water last year stupidly for grabbing the helmet and has put himself in a situation again just 9 months later, whether guilty or not. The best players learn from mistakes but he has yet to show he can do that.

KK4Life (Kilkenny) - Posts: 56 - 07/06/2018 11:14:07    2108309

Replying To KK4Life:  "The best players are the naturally considered to be the ones that consistently deliver on the biggest stage.
Henry Shefflin did it for years, from the age of 19 in 2000 to 2012 when he pretty much single-handedly pulled Kilkenny to a draw in the All Ireland final against Galway.

TJ has consistently performed to the highest level, rarely letting his standard drop, until last year.

Over the years there have been players from most of those counties up there with the best, Johnny Dooley, Brian Lohan, Gary Kirby, Seannie McMahon, Ken McGrath. These lads would have walked on to any team in the country and been one of the main men. But it is only natural that opinion of who is the best is directed towards those that consistently play in All Ireland finals.

Over the years I have always felt that Joe Canning was an excellent hurler but was a little lacking but that if he was from Kilkenny during the noughties and up to 2015 that he would be an absolutely unbelievable hurler. My reasoning being, that in Galway there was always too much pressure on him to be the hero every day and teams knew that if you stop Joe you stop Galway so double-marked him. In that great Kilkenny team he would just have been another excellent hurler who could have cut loose as not all the pressure was on him and teams couldn't afford to double-mark. He is playing his best hurling in years now Galway have 5 other top forwards around him.

The problem Austin Gleeson has is that there is too much pressure on him, whether that is from himself or Waterford hurling in general. He is trying to do everything which isn't possible. He can get some great scores but also has some horrific misses from real hit and hope shots that he shouldn't take on. It brings extra scrutiny on himself. He has the potential to be a savage hurler at centre back in my opinion if he focuses on the job. When centre back at under 21 he was exceptional because he just won the ball and picked out a man in space, none of this monster scores / misses craic. With the hype surrounding him because he is an excellent hurler, his transgressions are naturally going to be highlighted. He landed himself in hot water last year stupidly for grabbing the helmet and has put himself in a situation again just 9 months later, whether guilty or not. The best players learn from mistakes but he has yet to show he can do that."
I agree with you there about Austin when he hurled U21, he was a man amongst boys. I think this was because he was in one consistent position in that grade, while being shunted all over the pitch at senior level .

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 07/06/2018 12:50:41    2108356

Replying To KK4Life:  "The best players are the naturally considered to be the ones that consistently deliver on the biggest stage.

The problem Austin Gleeson has is that there is too much pressure on him, whether that is from himself or Waterford hurling in general. He is trying to do everything which isn't possible. He can get some great scores but also has some horrific misses from real hit and hope shots that he shouldn't take on. It brings extra scrutiny on himself. He has the potential to be a savage hurler at centre back in my opinion if he focuses on the job. When centre back at under 21 he was exceptional because he just won the ball and picked out a man in space, none of this monster scores / misses craic. With the hype surrounding him because he is an excellent hurler, his transgressions are naturally going to be highlighted. He landed himself in hot water last year stupidly for grabbing the helmet and has put himself in a situation again just 9 months later, whether guilty or not. The best players learn from mistakes but he has yet to show he can do that."
I was not taking one bit of the gloss off TJ or Henry and they deserve every accolade the games has to offer. Kilkenny is my second team living there for 15 years. All I am saying is for people to leave Austin alone and make up your mind about him in 10 years time. He is constantly under the micro- scope for his play or if he farts near someone's helmet. He did not pull the helmet off Bonner. We see incidents of helmets dislodged week in week out and nothing like the coverage. How about asking Austin how is his back after taking a pull across it after the phantom goal. Pulling helmets is dangerous and so is pulling across someone's back. No doubt it is known about his back injury.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 08/06/2018 22:56:57    2108831

Replying To perfect10:  "no red cards for helmet pulling this year,liam rushe should have got one v wexford for pulling liam ryans helmet too.
gaa seem to be burying their head in the sand on helmet pulling this year."
They are ostriches! Bury their heads in the sand, ...or peat as it were, on so many issues. ZERO CONSISTENCY. My biggest gripe, while probably not the most serious issue is calling for over carrying when the opposition has their free hand holding back one or both arms preventing the player in possession to play the ball in any way other than maybe dropping it and kicking it to a teammate/space. Infuriating but more than that, puzzling. Seems most tackles are fouls now and refs just pick and choose. While I feel the standard of ref's needs to improve I can't be too harsh on them until the GAA wake up and realize the "modern game" needs TWO REFS. One just isn't enough, the game is too fast and is not the same game it was. GAA need to adapt like any business or organization etc does as things change.
Just my 00.02

Gowran_Yank (Kilkenny) - Posts: 96 - 18/06/2018 15:37:40    2112696

You want consistency????

Then get rid of referees because it is impossible for humans to be consistent. Never seen anyone in any sport perform the same week to week.

Video Technology does not work....look at the issues in rugby this weekend.

Two referees are only going to make it more inconsistent (and remember due to all the abuse they get there are not enough refs.

So I say get rid of ther refs and all problems are gone, as they are the only ones that cause issues.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 18/06/2018 16:38:36    2112721