Roscommon Vs Galway

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Strikes me that Roscommon are all mouth and no trousers as they say across the water, Galway are now one of the best teams in the country, I'd put them at 2 or 3, not sure how good Kerry are, can't see the Rossies bothering them too much.
Galway by 4 or 5 points in 3rd gear."
So it's Donegal or Galway for Sam?

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 14/06/2018 16:52:23    2111567

Replying To The_analyser:  "Galway going into the Connacht final last year 15 points conceded per game right now its 13 points per game."
Div 2 vrs Div 1.. big big difference

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 14/06/2018 17:08:44    2111571

Silly stuff over and back lads. Both counties will fancy their chances. Let the best team win!

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1077 - 14/06/2018 17:25:11    2111577

Replying To salvador:  "
Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Doing fairly well in league last two years is irrelevant when it comes to championship.

salvador (Roscommon) - Posts: 428 - 22/04/2017 22:58:53 1981788

Now you are hyping up Galway based on wonderful league campaign! no consistency in any of your posts at all ....."
Excellent archive work. not sure of context though. A year is a long time in football. The big teams generally crank it up at the end of league nearer championship. The league final against Dublin was close to championship football and was a serious statement by Galway. Backed up by beating Mayo who were desperate not to fall to Galway again.

They are far stronger than Last year that's why I he bookies have the 3rd favs for Sam. We will see Sunday where we are. We have good footballers and I have faith in our management to get the best out of them."
Thanks archive work like that is an excellent tool for anyone having a little rave for themselves.

Far stronger statement remains to be seen.. you are hyping up Galway based mostly on league form going against you own past views on league form. They beat Mayo again whom are much more beatable in June than August plus if Keegan,C O Connor had started or if they had 15 men they wouldn't have beaten Mayo at all this year in the opinion of many people.

2013 Tyrone ran Dublin much closer in the Div one final yet they ended up getting well beaten by Donegal in the Ulster championship. 2001 Mayo were Div 1 league champions and ended up losing the Connacht final to Roscommon.

A true judgement can't be made on where Galway are and how much they have improved until after the championship and even winning well Sunday won't tell us as they beat Roscommon well in 2016 only to flop badly against Tipp in the next game.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 14/06/2018 17:36:42    2111583

Replying To The_analyser:  "Entitled to your opinion salvador which i won't debate with right now however i should point out you were found out before so please stop using the us and we when you are clearly not from Roscommon."
And you yours.
Because I tipped Mayo ( the most cynical team in Ireland)for Sam last year lol. And because I've said Galway are the most primed team to become top four for years.
The only ones found out were those who constantly attacked McStay and two of our players on the ros forum. Two of our most invaluable player's now I might add.

Huge respect for our talented lads and also management , il be happy as long as we play to our potential but we are really up against it on Sunday. Can't wait. Sometimes all logic and reason is thrown on its head.

salvador (Roscommon) - Posts: 439 - 14/06/2018 23:38:54    2111688

T - 48 hours before the greatest provincial championship[ of them all in the best pitch of them all as well. Looking forward to hearing the shouts of "flag, hats, cans and headbands" . Caseys Londis will be decked out for the big day ahead, hopefully we will have a good crowd in before the under 20s. Lets make the atmosphere as intimidating as those Ultra boys in Serie A and give em hell hey

WaitingInTheLongGrass (Roscommon) - Posts: 165 - 15/06/2018 09:34:58    2111724

Replying To WaitingInTheLongGrass:  "T - 48 hours before the greatest provincial championship[ of them all in the best pitch of them all as well. Looking forward to hearing the shouts of "flag, hats, cans and headbands" . Caseys Londis will be decked out for the big day ahead, hopefully we will have a good crowd in before the under 20s. Lets make the atmosphere as intimidating as those Ultra boys in Serie A and give em hell hey"
"Give them hell hay"

Is this some new kind of hey, hell hay? with us just out of the fodder crisis, I'd nearly take some of that hay off you - how much of it have you to spare?

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 705 - 15/06/2018 10:19:55    2111733

Replying To The_DOC:  ""Give them hell hay"

Is this some new kind of hey, hell hay? with us just out of the fodder crisis, I'd nearly take some of that hay off you - how much of it have you to spare?"
Tell ya one thing we are fierce jealous of those low lying fields ye have down in Athenry. However its nothing like the lovely pastures we have down in Boyle, no wonder Chris O Dowd gives back to the glorious local community there (with his New York Giants hat on of course)

Ill give ya a fair quote of it on an ad for Ireland's own there lad, hope ya saw the latest issue with the ledge himself Dr. Douglas Hyde gracing the front cover. Have ye any famous people at all to name yere pitches after?

WaitingInTheLongGrass (Roscommon) - Posts: 165 - 15/06/2018 10:28:29    2111735

Replying To WaitingInTheLongGrass:  "T - 48 hours before the greatest provincial championship[ of them all in the best pitch of them all as well. Looking forward to hearing the shouts of "flag, hats, cans and headbands" . Caseys Londis will be decked out for the big day ahead, hopefully we will have a good crowd in before the under 20s. Lets make the atmosphere as intimidating as those Ultra boys in Serie A and give em hell hey"
That's embarrassing to be honest

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1043 - 15/06/2018 10:36:43    2111737

Replying To dave1988:  "That's embarrassing to be honest"
Sorry lad, excitement is hitting Saturday Night Ever epic proportions here. Ya could say that the thunderbolt and lightning encounter is having a very very frightening impact for me while I go off and cheer on Galileo to win the 7.45 in Dundalk tonight

WaitingInTheLongGrass (Roscommon) - Posts: 165 - 15/06/2018 10:51:37    2111744

Replying To decky:  "What are you on about? It's been nothing but interviews with Kevin Walsh and Damien Comer since the league got going. They've been everywhere in the media."
Roscommon hype which is completely unfounded is blown up by the two Macs craving for media attention. cant wait to hear what they have to say after the beating they will get

pretender (Meath) - Posts: 358 - 15/06/2018 11:13:31    2111762

Replying To salvador:  "And you yours.
Because I tipped Mayo ( the most cynical team in Ireland)for Sam last year lol. And because I've said Galway are the most primed team to become top four for years.
The only ones found out were those who constantly attacked McStay and two of our players on the ros forum. Two of our most invaluable player's now I might add.

Huge respect for our talented lads and also management , il be happy as long as we play to our potential but we are really up against it on Sunday. Can't wait. Sometimes all logic and reason is thrown on its head."
The_analyser is right you were found out. That LOL Roscommon and up Galway post you made shall not be forgotten. Made the mistake that you posted that under the wrong username didn't you. We have plenty of pretend Rossies on hoganstand but at least a few of them make themselves look less obvious in their posts than you.

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 15/06/2018 11:20:37    2111769

Replying To pretender:  "You never hear a peep out of the Galway Management camp but with Roscommon they crave the publicity. Today you see Mc Hale coming out with more stuff. Can these lads not just keep quiet until the game is over? I am a neutral but Roscommon are going to get some wale up call and cant wait to hear the two Mc's then"
What are you on about?!! The spotlight has been well and truly on Galway and if there was ever a definition of a team lying in the long grass it's Roscommon throughout the Connacht cship

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 15/06/2018 11:25:54    2111775

Teams have media days and some players are more high profile than others like Comer hence all the stuff in the papers today.

I don't think McStay craves attention and neiter does Walsh but they've obviously got to do their bit, McHale is a different animal but appears to have learnt from recent years and reigned it in.

JDF (Galway) - Posts: 322 - 15/06/2018 11:31:59    2111778

Replying To tiobraid:  "What are you on about?!! The spotlight has been well and truly on Galway and if there was ever a definition of a team lying in the long grass it's Roscommon throughout the Connacht cship"
TOO right Tiobraid the long grass is just about to be cut to show off the class and quality to confound the nay sayers yet again, stir up some real passion and get us through to Nestor glory. Some sour grapes will be left behind in the pub afterwards for these lads to chew on

WaitingInTheLongGrass (Roscommon) - Posts: 165 - 15/06/2018 11:32:32    2111780

Replying To salvador:  "And you yours.

Huge respect for our talented lads and also management , il be happy as long as we play to our potential but we are really up against it on Sunday. Can't wait. Sometimes all logic and reason is thrown on its head."
No because you aren't a rossie. Thats great that an outsider like you has huge respect for our talented lads and also management, wonderful to hear! You can fire away with your tips until the cows come home but stop using us and we as the games up for you.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3742 - 15/06/2018 11:33:33    2111782

Replying To dave1988:  "That's embarrassing to be honest"
Cop yourself on..yoir making a fool out of yourself and getting carried away..lol

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1077 - 15/06/2018 11:33:39    2111783

Replying To tiobraid:  "What are you on about?!! The spotlight has been well and truly on Galway and if there was ever a definition of a team lying in the long grass it's Roscommon throughout the Connacht cship"
He's talking nonsense thats what he is on about. Roscommon 3/1 odds tells you all you need to know. What odds would they be if this game was in Salthill and they had lost by 9 points last year?

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 15/06/2018 11:39:11    2111790

Great to see the Hyde sold out 4 days ahead of the game and a bit of bite between fans on here as well. It was only 3 years ago HS posters were declaring the Connacht championship as dead with Mayo dominating. Mayo have only won 2 games out West in the last 3 years and haven't even made a Connacht final in that time though they will put that right before long. Two very proud counties going head to head Sunday who have put a huge effort into developing underage. Hoping for a great game and may the best team win.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 15/06/2018 11:39:27    2111792

Replying To Soma:  "Great to see the Hyde sold out 4 days ahead of the game and a bit of bite between fans on here as well. It was only 3 years ago HS posters were declaring the Connacht championship as dead with Mayo dominating. Mayo have only won 2 games out West in the last 3 years and haven't even made a Connacht final in that time though they will put that right before long. Two very proud counties going head to head Sunday who have put a huge effort into developing underage. Hoping for a great game and may the best team win."
The joe.ie mayo diehard lads are probably still distraught over the lack of Nestor action in Castlebar alright - we are keeping Nestor polished for the few schoops to be had Sunday night. Hopefully we can get some open top bus parade action going on the day after hitting the celebratory jagers hard in Rockfords

WaitingInTheLongGrass (Roscommon) - Posts: 165 - 15/06/2018 12:09:25    2111811