Roscommon Vs Galway

Replying To moros:  "Well ahead of ye anyhow..lol"
What needing a penalty and a free in injury time to DRAW , in their back yard is well ahead of someone now??? Yeah lol

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/06/2018 12:04:52    2112598

Replying To kazoochka:  "if you think the ref was the star of the show after watching Shane Walsh you either need your eyes tested or this is a sign of how low Meath football has sunk that claiming the top ref is all ye have left."
The fast ones just go right over yer head don't they? Built too low to the ground. Don't tell me I have to explain it to you , now do I??

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/06/2018 12:06:54    2112599

Replying To royaldunne:  "Don't get me wrong, I admire Galway. I just don't think the blanket defense plays to your strengths.
When you went man to man in second half and pushed up on kick outs the class really showed. And that was against the wind ."
Our defensive system was destroyed yesterday because a lot of our lads were no shows . The 1st goal he strolled along the end line and lavelle could do nothing. I much prefer our attacking football and clearly so do our players and many upped their game (that could have to do with the half time talk too) but we still had a few passengers in the 2nd half.

Roscommon are better than they showed yesterday. I think the biggest worry for them is their fitness. At the end of the game Galway were clearly much fitter. That shouldn't be the case

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 18/06/2018 13:15:31    2112628

Replying To yew_tree:  "Very impressed. In fairness the score line did not reflect the majority of the game. We got two fast goals in the second half which killed it. We play Derry in the semi final next."
Derry still have to beat Armagh but unless Armagh have some success with their appeals they are going to be very depleted. I would fancy Derry alright though they made much harder work of Down in the semi final than I thought they would.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2781 - 18/06/2018 14:31:01    2112663

Replying To galwayfball:  "Our defensive system was destroyed yesterday because a lot of our lads were no shows . The 1st goal he strolled along the end line and lavelle could do nothing. I much prefer our attacking football and clearly so do our players and many upped their game (that could have to do with the half time talk too) but we still had a few passengers in the 2nd half.

Roscommon are better than they showed yesterday. I think the biggest worry for them is their fitness. At the end of the game Galway were clearly much fitter. That shouldn't be the case"
Yeah I think the players are better suited to a attacking game. As I've said many times on here, I have a huge soft spot for Galway, along with Down and Longford, would love to see them win the all ire now.
I noticed that Roscommon just didn't have the same fitness levels. Tbh it was same first game of league, they came out all guns blazing then in second half Meath took over as the superior fitness came to fore. And were 4 up with 70 mins on clock. Now that can be excused in first round of league in Jan, but in provincial final in mid June , questions have to be asked about management, I mean why ?? What's the point? This was rossie all ire final, and to be unfit (on not a very warm day) there is no excuse, surely Mc stay and mchale will be asked about this.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/06/2018 14:53:20    2112673

The simple reality is that the Galway defenders are not good enough to be left 1 on 1 with the forwards on a good team, hence the need for lads like Sean Kelly, Branigan and the midfielders to funnel back.

Its not a case of Kevin walsh setting them up defensively for the craic. He knows because he has first hand experience of watching it on the croke park sideline and Pearse stadium last year that lads like Kyne and Sweeney can get badly exposed for pace and height in 1 on 1s, and the half back line of Heaney, Bradshaw and O'Donnell are all attack minded guys who are better going forward than they are locking down their own man. That's modern half back line play anyway, look at the likes of Keegan, Boyle, McCaffrey, Powter etc.

If Kevin Walsh had Tomas Mannion and Gary Fahy in the backs, he would be happy to adopt a Jim Gavin style attacking gameplan, but he doesn't so he cant.

kazoochka (Galway) - Posts: 343 - 18/06/2018 15:31:01    2112693

Replying To Yondu:  "Galway conceded 15 points against Sligo a Div 3 team in their last game and Sligo missed a number of goal chances in the game. League football only tells you so much, won't really know how much Galway have improved until after the Super 8s (if they reach them)"
Well we've reached them whilst only conceding 2-6, the manner of both goals is very disappointing from a Galway point of view.

Good luck to Roscommon and hope they reach the super 8's, thankfully most of your support aren't as bitter as yourself.

JDF (Galway) - Posts: 322 - 18/06/2018 15:50:43    2112701

Great win for Galway . Digging out a win like that will do wonders for them. It didnt look good at half time with Shane Walsh the only guy who could be happy with his first half showing. McStay seemed to get it spot on. 2nd half was a different game. Rossies kickout went into meltdown under pressure and Tom Flynn was lording it. Roscommon were snatching at shots and ran out of steam as well which was a surprise.

After the penalty was scored Galway were level about 20 seconds later. It showed a bit of naievity on Roscommons part as you know well if it was a Dublin or a Kerry or a Tyrone or even a Mayo that quick kickout would never have happened. The dark arts would have been put into practice and a bit of push and shove to kill momentum

Its a big blow for Roscommons season but Galway are sitting pretty. They have plenty to work on and a 3 week rest. Mayo have 3 big games in 3 weeks to get that far...

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1222 - 18/06/2018 15:59:24    2112704

Replying To kazoochka:  "The simple reality is that the Galway defenders are not good enough to be left 1 on 1 with the forwards on a good team, hence the need for lads like Sean Kelly, Branigan and the midfielders to funnel back.

Its not a case of Kevin walsh setting them up defensively for the craic. He knows because he has first hand experience of watching it on the croke park sideline and Pearse stadium last year that lads like Kyne and Sweeney can get badly exposed for pace and height in 1 on 1s, and the half back line of Heaney, Bradshaw and O'Donnell are all attack minded guys who are better going forward than they are locking down their own man. That's modern half back line play anyway, look at the likes of Keegan, Boyle, McCaffrey, Powter etc.

If Kevin Walsh had Tomas Mannion and Gary Fahy in the backs, he would be happy to adopt a Jim Gavin style attacking gameplan, but he doesn't so he cant."
that's fair enough but what was killing galway yesterday was their lack of speed counter attacking and reluctance to tackle. i think a lot of people accept men filtering back to bolster the defence but if you have 12 men back behind the ball at least one of them at any given time has to be putting in tackles. when there's a turnover the counter attack has to be at pace. Jim Mc Guinness takes a lot of flack for current tactics but his benchmark for his team was from the time the ball is turned over until it goes over the bar it should be 15 seconds. that's where Galway were falling badly in the first half yesterday, different story in the second and in fairness to them it was great to watch as was Roscommons play in the first half

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 18/06/2018 16:06:15    2112705

Good second half for Galway and hardluck to Ros ye are a class team and should make the super 8. That would be the best of the provincial finals I would imagine. Congrats to Gaillimh.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 18/06/2018 17:17:48    2112744

Replying To JDF:  "Well we've reached them whilst only conceding 2-6, the manner of both goals is very disappointing from a Galway point of view.

Good luck to Roscommon and hope they reach the super 8's, thankfully most of your support aren't as bitter as yourself."
I'm not bitter or a Roscommon supporter. Did me using if they reach the 8s hit a nerve? I didn't believe Galway would blow Roscommon away like some on here thought and that's how it turned out.

2-6 a fine score to hold Roscommon too but how much was that do to with how poor Roscommon were especially in that 2nd half? they scored two goals and created 26 scoring chances and I don't think many of the other top 8 teams would be as wasteful.

Best luck you can wish Roscommon now is for them to avoid Mayo and Tyrone in the round 4 draw as if they draw them they won't be joining Galway in the super 8s

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 18/06/2018 18:11:27    2112762

also I have to agree with the RTE panel and that is a cringe for me. especially Cooper who said 16 points would win and his assessment of Galway is accurate, fair play. Brolly was right about the pointing skills of the Galway team but KW is using multiple strategies.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 18/06/2018 21:52:48    2112890

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "Good second half for Galway and hardluck to Ros ye are a class team and should make the super 8. That would be the best of the provincial finals I would imagine. Congrats to Gaillimh."
Not much between the team's but I think Galway are more capable against the big three teams. Galway had stronger bench and some star performers. Taught Burke was just as classy as Walsh a real footballer.Also Galway Cuter and more adept at the dark arts something we struggle with.
With Galway pushing up in second half we still had as many attacks put panic set in. Not working the ball in closer and wild shooting. Galway were smarter and better on the day and are a serious outfit who will get better. Fair play.

salvador (Roscommon) - Posts: 439 - 18/06/2018 22:11:05    2112901

Replying To salvador:  "Not much between the team's but I think Galway are more capable against the big three teams. Galway had stronger bench and some star performers. Taught Burke was just as classy as Walsh a real footballer.Also Galway Cuter and more adept at the dark arts something we struggle with.
With Galway pushing up in second half we still had as many attacks put panic set in. Not working the ball in closer and wild shooting. Galway were smarter and better on the day and are a serious outfit who will get better. Fair play."
Galway a good team but not as good as you portray them..if anything its a vauge attempt to deflect the reality that ye kicked the game away early in the 2nd half.
If you even took 2 of those 3 chances im not too sure Galway would have came back.

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 19/06/2018 01:21:48    2112945

I think the turning point in this game came about 10 minutes into the second half when Sean andy O Ceallaigh started his barnstorming run out of his own full back line, taking on about 4 Roscoomom players which eventually led to Shane Walshes point off his left foot. I think after this the Galway players threw off the shackles and really started to believe in themselves. Fair play to young O Ceallaigh who along with Walsh and Burke showed real maturity, what a find at full back..

SAM1998 (Galway) - Posts: 18 - 19/06/2018 11:15:10    2112992

Replying To SAM1998:  "I think the turning point in this game came about 10 minutes into the second half when Sean andy O Ceallaigh started his barnstorming run out of his own full back line, taking on about 4 Roscoomom players which eventually led to Shane Walshes point off his left foot. I think after this the Galway players threw off the shackles and really started to believe in themselves. Fair play to young O Ceallaigh who along with Walsh and Burke showed real maturity, what a find at full back.."
Great player but i taught he was lucky not to be black carded after about 10 minutes when he took a man out with a shoulder off the ball which technically is a black card. It resulted in our third point a 21 yard free

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 19/06/2018 11:53:39    2113010

Replying To Vishred:  "Galway a good team but not as good as you portray them..if anything its a vauge attempt to deflect the reality that ye kicked the game away early in the 2nd half.
If you even took 2 of those 3 chances im not too sure Galway would have came back."
Galway kicked 11 wides most in the first half. Tgeir conditioning and fitness levels were far superior to the Roszies and it showed mistly in the last 20. Wides by Roscommon didnt cost them , Galway were just better on the day , the same against Mayo..

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 19/06/2018 12:28:58    2113026

Replying To Belclare1:  "Galway kicked 11 wides most in the first half. Tgeir conditioning and fitness levels were far superior to the Roszies and it showed mistly in the last 20. Wides by Roscommon didnt cost them , Galway were just better on the day , the same against Mayo.."
Galway have the better footballers and subs made a difference..but Roscommon's terrible shooting in the second half did cost them, 3/4 shots into the keepers hands with the wind is criminal. A team tho that doest sore from play in a half of football dont deserve to win really. And why did Roscommon keeper keep kicking long down on top of Flynn it was ridiculous

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 19/06/2018 14:18:34    2113067

Interesting photograph on HS today. It is one that could be taken several times at most games but highlights a penalty foul that is rarely given. The keeper goes up to catch or punch the ball whilst the back hangs on to the forward and restricts his ability to jump. Do posters think that refs should be stricter on this type of 'tackle'? (This is not having a dig at Galway as it may well have happened at the Rossies end as well)

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 19/06/2018 14:43:26    2113079

Replying To neverright:  "Interesting photograph on HS today. It is one that could be taken several times at most games but highlights a penalty foul that is rarely given. The keeper goes up to catch or punch the ball whilst the back hangs on to the forward and restricts his ability to jump. Do posters think that refs should be stricter on this type of 'tackle'? (This is not having a dig at Galway as it may well have happened at the Rossies end as well)"
Sure you'd need some kind of trained upmires for that decision, or less blind upmires. Or umpires who knew how to umpire.

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 706 - 19/06/2018 15:25:16    2113097