Roscommon Vs Galway

Congratulations Galway. I enjoyed the game. Thought it was very keenly contested and there for the taking for either team with 20 mins to go. Roscommon missed some great chances to extend their lead when going 25 mins without scoring second half which really killed them when Galway were dominating in the middle and it gave them the initiative to take over. Last 10 minutes there looked like only one winner. 3 games now in Super 8 will give them plenty of opportunity to iron out the kinks. Roscommon looked very good for much of the game and if they can regroup still a very good bet to join them.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 17/06/2018 22:59:02    2112463

Replying To festinog:  "RD: weird comment. Connacht champions, best record in the league bar the final, and only beaten by Dublin since February: if that's our style of play not working, I'll take this type of failure every day of the week."
Don't get me wrong, I admire Galway. I just don't think the blanket defense plays to your strengths.
When you went man to man in second half and pushed up on kick outs the class really showed. And that was against the wind .

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/06/2018 07:28:29    2112485

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "The lads done 1 interview each which is expected of every team in a provincial final. Galway are coming team according to everyone its them that have been in the media all year so far and rightly so. So stop talk crap. There no one unfounded hype everyone expects us to lose despite the fact we are current champions and strolled back to D1 with little or no training done. Meath burst a gut to get promotion with their manager openly stating in january he was going all out for it. Ye barely avaoided relagation and are out of championship losing 2 outa 2 so pipe down kid"
If Galway went at it they would have bet you out the gate, delighted for Mc Hale and Mc Stay, reap what you sow

pretender (Meath) - Posts: 358 - 18/06/2018 09:14:25    2112506

Galway at their best are a joy to watch. But as all rightly pointed out this was a game of 2 halves.

The top teams, Dublin, Kerry and Mayo (in their hayday!) could switch systems every 5 minutes i.e. powerplay for 5, drop off for 5 etc keeping the opposition completely confused. I think this is where Galway need to improve. They changed at half time but could they have changed during first half and back again if required. Experience will help in this regard.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 18/06/2018 09:44:50    2112522

Tip on there Meath boy...ye are well behind Longford ..Laois and Carlow in Leinster now ..so it would be better for You to keep quiet and not embarrassing yourself.

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1077 - 18/06/2018 09:48:04    2112523

Replying To WestRules:  "Good first half try by the Rossies but as I said recently in terms of quality footie and game planning we are streets ahead!"
I have to say I didn't see any difference in class between the two teams at all. Roscommon were on top for the first 50 minutes but kicked a succession of bad wides when 4 points up and this sucked the life out of them. If Roscoommon had taken a few of those chances the game would have been out of sight. Galway had a good final 20 minutes and finished out the game well. Looking down line for challengers to Dublin, I just can't see either of these teams being in the shake up for the All-Ireland this year.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1873 - 18/06/2018 09:56:48    2112528

Replying To moros:  "Tip on there Meath boy...ye are well behind Longford ..Laois and Carlow in Leinster now ..so it would be better for You to keep quiet and not embarrassing yourself."
Not that far behind Tyrone, actually ahead of them only for a biased rossie made sure we weren't

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/06/2018 09:57:09    2112529

Replying To moros:  "Tip on there Meath boy...ye are well behind Longford ..Laois and Carlow in Leinster now ..so it would be better for You to keep quiet and not embarrassing yourself."
yes and we know it, unlike you boys. ha

pretender (Meath) - Posts: 358 - 18/06/2018 09:57:10    2112530

Replying To panamasam:  "Well done on winning the U-20 title. I must admit I did not see it happening before the championship started but the draw really opened up with Galway messing up their lines against Roscommon. How impressed were u? Likely to be Derry in the semi final esp with Armagh missing alot of players."
Very impressed. In fairness the score line did not reflect the majority of the game. We got two fast goals in the second half which killed it. We play Derry in the semi final next.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 18/06/2018 10:02:17    2112533

For a Connacht final i thought it was a poor one. Missed passes, wides, turnovers, bad kickouts etc.. i know there was a wind and ball was greasy but if both expect to challenge in the later stages this wasn't good enough.

Talk about puke football the first half was worse. In any other game Galway wouldn't get that second chance. Thought the subs in the second half made all the difference for Galway, which gives some interesting selection headaches for the next day. Couldn't figure out Roscommon in the second half , they look very leggy and a little devoid of ideas when in possesion. I know they went out of it at midfield but what worse is that they kept kick out there ..where was the short kickout or something different.

A little head-scratching that one...

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 540 - 18/06/2018 10:25:35    2112547

Replying To pretender:  "yes and we know it, unlike you boys. ha"
Well ahead of ye anyhow..lol

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1077 - 18/06/2018 10:52:16    2112561

i'm starting to think that anyone can be a manager/ trainer in Gaelic football now if you shout loud enough and for long enough. I like Kevin Walsh and this style of football he allowed Galway to play in the first half is not his style. It was the easiest game to analyse at half time and full time. Fair play to Roscommon they knew what Galway were going to bring in the first half and they capitalised but just not enough!!!! Galways use of Comer in the first half soul destroying to watch. Roscommon knew that Galway would be labouring slowly up the pitch on their counter attack so all they done was covered over on front of him with a sweeper which in turn pushed comer out to the wings. Once Comer is away from the goals his effect is essentially nil. Galways defensive structure in the first half was ineffective. You could count on one hand how many tackles went in in their own defence yet you would need a parish full of hands to count how many arms pointing this way and that way. Only for the brilliance of Walsh, Flynn and Burke (nothing to do with tactics) they'd have been at sea at half time.
It was clear what they needed to do at half time and it wasn't some tactical genius either. Move the ball fast on their counter attack, fight like dogs for the breaking balls and tackle, just tackle.simple!!!!
that's what they did and within 10 mins of the second half a fast direct ball was sent into comer on front of the goals and it took about 3 men out of the game, because that's where comer is so effective, in combat in front of the goals. this extra threat along with the brilliant ball wining of Flynn brought a dimension to Galway that was going to be hard to play against leaving Walsh Burke, Armstrong et al to make hay playing the way they want with pace!!!
But fair play to Roscommon also. they set up exactly right in the first half and played some lovely football. they're not that far away. playing the best teams in the country next year will help them a lot and if they invest the time and effort in learning they'll reach the next level easily.

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 18/06/2018 10:59:49    2112565

Replying To royaldunne:  "Not that far behind Tyrone, actually ahead of them only for a biased rossie made sure we weren't"
You couldnt still be crying over that?

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 18/06/2018 11:01:48    2112567

Replying To ponger:  "For a Connacht final i thought it was a poor one. Missed passes, wides, turnovers, bad kickouts etc.. i know there was a wind and ball was greasy but if both expect to challenge in the later stages this wasn't good enough.

Talk about puke football the first half was worse. In any other game Galway wouldn't get that second chance. Thought the subs in the second half made all the difference for Galway, which gives some interesting selection headaches for the next day. Couldn't figure out Roscommon in the second half , they look very leggy and a little devoid of ideas when in possesion. I know they went out of it at midfield but what worse is that they kept kick out there ..where was the short kickout or something different.

A little head-scratching that one..."
Hopefully we get ye in round 4 and u can scratch away.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 18/06/2018 11:02:03    2112568

I thought nothing would beat the Galway v Mayo game for puke football but the 1st half yesterday it was equally as bad by Galway. In the 2nd half when Galway ran at Roscommon they were rewarded, miles better, they are well able to play when they throw off the shackles and drive forward, subs won the game, the difference between the 2 teams was this, Roscommon scored 1.01 in the 2nd half none from play, Galway scored 0.11 and at least 0.09 came in the last 20 mins, any team that scores 11 points in the 2nd half deserves to win, they will be tough in the super 8s, All Ireland contenders? a year or 2 too early I think

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 18/06/2018 11:05:04    2112570

Replying To ponger:  "For a Connacht final i thought it was a poor one. Missed passes, wides, turnovers, bad kickouts etc.. i know there was a wind and ball was greasy but if both expect to challenge in the later stages this wasn't good enough.

A little head-scratching that one..."
In fairness to the Ros keeper, he was forced long for most of the second half. We pushed up completely, as opposed to the first half, and his options for a short one were very limited.
It certainly wasn't a high quality game overall, but being there you get a better sense of the conditions.
While the wind appeared to be favouring the team shooting into the graveyard end, it was actually blowing cross-pitch as well at that end. A lot of shots drifted wide on the small stand side. It was tricky to judge.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2034 - 18/06/2018 11:12:05    2112574

Replying To royaldunne:  "Galway made Roscommon look good for most of that game. They should have won by more.
That been said the star of the show was David coldrick, yet again proved why he is the top ref in country. Others could learn a lot from him he showed no bias, or incompetence."
if you think the ref was the star of the show after watching Shane Walsh you either need your eyes tested or this is a sign of how low Meath football has sunk that claiming the top ref is all ye have left.

kazoochka (Galway) - Posts: 343 - 18/06/2018 12:00:34    2112592

We enjoyed our trip to Roscommon and to Hyde Park. The pitch was in great shape and the facilities were in good order.
I have seen a few commentators saying that D Comer had an off day! If a player is not getting supply of ball how can he perform? He scored two points from play and got at least two frees. The one he sent wide in the first half was definitely a foul and the ref missed another blatant foul in front of the Roscommon goal in the second half. No more than the league final against Dublin, Comer was being fouled a lot and the ref wasn't giving him any protection. It's seems if you're a strong player physically, similar to Mayo's AOS or Galway's DC, unless you're rugby tackled to the ground you won't get any free.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 18/06/2018 12:02:29    2112594

Replying To theweanling:  "i'm starting to think that anyone can be a manager/ trainer in Gaelic football now if you shout loud enough and for long enough. I like Kevin Walsh and this style of football he allowed Galway to play in the first half is not his style. It was the easiest game to analyse at half time and full time. Fair play to Roscommon they knew what Galway were going to bring in the first half and they capitalised but just not enough!!!! Galways use of Comer in the first half soul destroying to watch. Roscommon knew that Galway would be labouring slowly up the pitch on their counter attack so all they done was covered over on front of him with a sweeper which in turn pushed comer out to the wings. Once Comer is away from the goals his effect is essentially nil. Galways defensive structure in the first half was ineffective. You could count on one hand how many tackles went in in their own defence yet you would need a parish full of hands to count how many arms pointing this way and that way. Only for the brilliance of Walsh, Flynn and Burke (nothing to do with tactics) they'd have been at sea at half time.
It was clear what they needed to do at half time and it wasn't some tactical genius either. Move the ball fast on their counter attack, fight like dogs for the breaking balls and tackle, just tackle.simple!!!!
that's what they did and within 10 mins of the second half a fast direct ball was sent into comer on front of the goals and it took about 3 men out of the game, because that's where comer is so effective, in combat in front of the goals. this extra threat along with the brilliant ball wining of Flynn brought a dimension to Galway that was going to be hard to play against leaving Walsh Burke, Armstrong et al to make hay playing the way they want with pace!!!
But fair play to Roscommon also. they set up exactly right in the first half and played some lovely football. they're not that far away. playing the best teams in the country next year will help them a lot and if they invest the time and effort in learning they'll reach the next level easily."
Good post. The loss of Compton in midfield was huge as well. Flynns influence which was crucial to Galways surge in the second half would not have been as great if he was still on the field. ( On a different note the loss of our best defender Mullolly was huge to Roscommon not been in the winners enclosure yesterday. While no 6 did well at times yesterday, Seans loss to us was immeasurable).

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1077 - 18/06/2018 12:04:01    2112596

First half was poor enough fare alright but I enjoyed the second half once both sides begun attacking. Roscommon can probably have few complaints apart from some of their own shot selection with the wind at their backs. Galway engineered 16 scores to Roscommon's 8 at the end of the day.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2208 - 18/06/2018 12:04:30    2112597