Meath V Tyrone

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "Time to build a bridge lads and get over it. Such a load of whining from a county that didn't care a hoot in years gone by when decisions went their way. What was it we were all told? Oh yes. Suck it up and go away and be good boys...time to practice what you preach"
The irony of a Tyrone man saying to move on, seen that Tyrone have spent 22 years whining and whinging giving out about the 96 semi final. Tyrone telling Meath to get over it, I am honestly and literally gobsmacked by that one. In my experience the one the county that doesnt get over a result of all the counties that I have seen Meath play, the worst of the lot are Tyrone by a metric mile (they whine and whinge for decades, 22 years exactly and probaly another 20 or 30 years) .. Well that is as ironic as it gets.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 12/06/2018 19:21:41    2110690

Jimmy McGuiness wrote in Irish Times he was very impressed with Meath on Saturday. He talked about how Meath cannot keep chopping and changing managers every year. He said they were raw on Sat and that their inexperience let them down. Tyrone r more experienced. McGuiness said Meath r on the right path and with more experience can only get better. I think that is a fair analysis.

What he means is div 1 experience. Meath need promotion to div 1. Again this year people might be surprised to hear we were 1 win away from promotion as if we defeated Cavan we would have been promoted to div 1.

That is the 4th year in 5 seasons we have been 1 win away from promotion to div 1. So we r not faraway. If we could get promotion it div 1 it would be the making of this young team. And if we could stay in div 1 for a few seasons well everyone knows that would bring this team on no end and reaching Super 8 and competiting at that level would then be a genuinely possible.

If we could just get promoted I really do think we will adapt well to div 1.. Why? What happened Saturday. I think teams like Galway and Meath have no inferior complex when it comes to playing the top teams. Meaths form is incredibly inconsistent and incredibly unpredictable but we used to in the past and still today up our game v the top counties.

In the last year we have lost to Cavan kildare Tipp and longford. Cavan and kildare are not top 8 teams. Neitheir are Tipp and longford. We played 4 top 8 teams in the last year. And had our 4 best performances v top 8 teams. Actually outside Roscommon no team in div 2 3 or 4 has had better performances v top 8 teams then Meath in the last year as far as I can see. This is a good sign. I believe if we went up we would adapt to divsion 1 much better then people think. Just look at Saturday. I was not surprised by the performance and because we particularly up over game v Tyrone , I expected us to win. While Navan has always being a tough place to win and still is for opposing teams. Imagine Kerry or Mayo playing Meath in Navan, the atmosphere would be electric.

So in last year Meath performances v top 8 division teams

1 Galway are top 8 team. We defeated them last year and in the last 13 league games only Dublin and Meath have beaten Galway in the league.

2 Tyrone are a top 8 team, would be top 5 team in most rankings. Tyrone are double proviencial titles. Only for a point from Tyrone in the 6th minutes of injury time with the last kick of the game we would have beaten a division 1 team and reigning Ulster champions .

3 Roscommon are a top 8 team and provicial champions. Only for a last second goal from a penalty we would have beaten Roscommon not drew with them in Roscommon

4 Donegal are top 8 team. Donegal will possibly be provicial champions in the coming weeks. Like Tyrone game we went toe to toe with Donegal for 70 mins and Donegal won by point from brilliant point from Paddy McBreaty in injury time.

So yes promotion was not achieved and yes we r out of championship in June. But I never expected us to gain promotion this year or reach Super 8. With such strong performances v top div 1 teams and with the emergence of new players eg Colgan lavin Kennelly Brennan Gallagher Glynn O Neill. And the further development of players like Sullivan McGill J McEntee and Flanagan. And the return of Forde and hopefully more returnees eg Mckeever Rooney and new players eg Rowe under 20 players..And As the average age of the panel reachs 24 25 it means many of our players will soon peak. And as Strenght and conditioning will improve and fitness under McEntee . All these above points indicate there are grounds to be optimistic. Meath arent as bad as many people think. If they were they wouldnt be able to perform so well v the top 8 teams v Tyrone Galway Donegal and Roscommon .

And with the Meath minors and under 17 beating Dublin 4 times in 4 years in a row in leinster championship and under 20 looking as genuine contenders in leinster after beating kildare last week. Things r on the up.

In Summary, we r going in the right direction. Losing to Tyrone was a classic example of an inexperienced raw team been beaten by a more experienced team. Tyrone knew how to find the equaliser, they knew how to win extra time. We didnt know how to close out a game. With more experience over a two three year period over 2019 2020 2021, this side of the game will improve and in two years time we will deal better with a game like this. Its a slow learning curve that nearly all teams have to make to get to where they want to be. Saturday was a beginning , a result would have been massive, but the nature of the performance was stamped with old school Meath DNA, never give an inch, plenty of skill and bravery and a never say die spirit. Its pity that we have to wait another 6 months for more action.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 12/06/2018 19:33:24    2110698

Replying To Furlong1949:  "The irony of a Tyrone man saying to move on, seen that Tyrone have spent 22 years whining and whinging giving out about the 96 semi final. Tyrone telling Meath to get over it, I am honestly and literally gobsmacked by that one. In my experience the one the county that doesnt get over a result of all the counties that I have seen Meath play, the worst of the lot are Tyrone by a metric mile (they whine and whinge for decades, 22 years exactly and probaly another 20 or 30 years) .. Well that is as ironic as it gets."
Brilliant furlong. Brilliant.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/06/2018 20:13:58    2110721

Replying To RoylerKing:  "Another childish comment. It's people like you that give Meath supporters a bad name."
And it's people like you who give me or anyone who agrees with me 6 thumbs down that give this place a bad name. As I told you , you are not a Meath man. I have caught you out on many occasions. Honestly, stick to one username. And u might have some credibility. Until then you are irrelevant. Now don't forget the 6 thumbs down for this post. :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/06/2018 20:53:27    2110749

Replying To royaldunne:  "Brilliant furlong. Brilliant."
jeez lads its now tuesday..come on you need to get over it...shhhhh...it'll be ok..santa will be back at christmas

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 12/06/2018 21:40:38    2110774

Replying To royaldunne:  "And it's people like you who give me or anyone who agrees with me 6 thumbs down that give this place a bad name. As I told you , you are not a Meath man. I have caught you out on many occasions. Honestly, stick to one username. And u might have some credibility. Until then you are irrelevant. Now don't forget the 6 thumbs down for this post. :)"
Great win tonight in the Junior for Meath...maybe that might deflect focus

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1079 - 12/06/2018 22:30:03    2110798

Replying To Furlong1949:  "The irony of a Tyrone man saying to move on, seen that Tyrone have spent 22 years whining and whinging giving out about the 96 semi final. Tyrone telling Meath to get over it, I am honestly and literally gobsmacked by that one. In my experience the one the county that doesnt get over a result of all the counties that I have seen Meath play, the worst of the lot are Tyrone by a metric mile (they whine and whinge for decades, 22 years exactly and probaly another 20 or 30 years) .. Well that is as ironic as it gets."
Is that all you can say .
Surely there's another few paragraphs you can add to flesh it out a bit ;)

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 13/06/2018 08:02:04    2110852

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "jeez lads its now tuesday..come on you need to get over it...shhhhh...it'll be ok..santa will be back at christmas"
It's 2018 and you lot still complain about john macs brilliant shoulder.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/06/2018 08:05:19    2110855

Nobody complains about the result, sure in every year since we've entered the championship bar three, someone has knocked us out - we are well able to take our beatings, we were well used to it at a stage. It was the thuggery displayed by some of the Meath players and targeting of key men that day that makes that one stick in memory. Anyway that was an All-Ireland semi-final, Saturday was a first round qualifier between a team with no hope of making the super 8's and another who looks like its only a matter of time before someone puts them out of their misery - in other words in the grand scheme of things it will mean very little when the year is over. So again, honestly lads get over yourselves about Saturday.
Reply if you like but last I have to say on it.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 13/06/2018 11:20:54    2110926

Replying To benched:  "Nobody complains about the result, sure in every year since we've entered the championship bar three, someone has knocked us out - we are well able to take our beatings, we were well used to it at a stage. It was the thuggery displayed by some of the Meath players and targeting of key men that day that makes that one stick in memory. Anyway that was an All-Ireland semi-final, Saturday was a first round qualifier between a team with no hope of making the super 8's and another who looks like its only a matter of time before someone puts them out of their misery - in other words in the grand scheme of things it will mean very little when the year is over. So again, honestly lads get over yourselves about Saturday.
Reply if you like but last I have to say on it."
I agree it was thuggish on Tyrone part. Trying to tarnish the name of a player of the millennium by baseless false accusations, just cause you couldn't take your beating, same with john macs, excellent fair shoulder.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/06/2018 15:47:50    2111113

Replying To benched:  "Nobody complains about the result, sure in every year since we've entered the championship bar three, someone has knocked us out - we are well able to take our beatings, we were well used to it at a stage. It was the thuggery displayed by some of the Meath players and targeting of key men that day that makes that one stick in memory. Anyway that was an All-Ireland semi-final, Saturday was a first round qualifier between a team with no hope of making the super 8's and another who looks like its only a matter of time before someone puts them out of their misery - in other words in the grand scheme of things it will mean very little when the year is over. So again, honestly lads get over yourselves about Saturday.
Reply if you like but last I have to say on it."
But Meath were the better team. Thats why Meath won. At every level, sucess , players achievements that Meath team was better then Tyrone, Tyrone wouldnt admit that, every Tyrone supporter I have met brings up 96 and whinges and whines about it. Mick O Connell from Kerry considered one of the greatest and most stylish player ever said Meaths performance was one of the best football performances of the 90s, the Meath v Tyrone 96 game. Geraghty gave one the great wing forward performances ever seen i Croker that day. Yet Tyrone stole narrative because they couldnt take the beating. Meath were a much superior outfit to Tyone. The facts r below

1 Meath late 90s v Tyrone late 90s

Meath Played in 4 All Ireland finals (incuding replay ) losing 1 final. Tyrone played in 1 All Ireland winning 0.
Meath 2 All Irelands Tyrone O All Irelands
(And if leinster football was not as strong as it was in the late 90s Meath would have probaly won All Ireland in 97 and played in 98 final)

2 Meath were unbeaten in 4 games v Dublin in the championship between 96 and 01. This is one best winning records v Dublin in the last 100 years. Only Meath 86 to 91 had a better record v Dublin in the last 100 years with only one loss in 9 games between 86-91 v Dublin.

Tyrone couldnt beat any top teams outside Ulster. Meath defeated Dublin 4 times and outside provience Meath also defeated Mayo Tyrone Armagh and Cork. The Mayo team up to that was the best Mayo team of the last 40 years. That Armagh team would become Armagh greatest team .Meath also defeated Kerry by 15 points in 01 which is Kerrys worst defeat in championship ever in 130 years. That was the great kerry team of 00s and on the field that day was great kerry players like Maurice Fitzgerald, Dara O Se , Tomas O Se, Seamus Moyihan, Dara Cinneade, Mike Frank Russell, Tom Sullivan , Eamon Fitzmaurice.

Inside the provience Meath had the most competitive leinster championship ever to deal with with 4 top divison teams in the provience at the time. While Meath defeated the greatest Kildare team of the last 90 years in a three game saga in 97. And also hammered twice in 98 and 99 Offalys , best Offaly team in the 35 years.

They also played in second game v Kildare in 97 which is considered to be one of the best games ever and considered along with Derry v Down in 94 as the two games of the decade.

3 While Tyrone had some good footballers like McBride, Lohan. Dooher became a great But they were a one man team. Cavanan was one of the greatest players ever . But that was it .

Meath had all time great players not just 1 great player.
1 Darren Fay One of the best full back of all times , the best of his generation
2 O Connell The best number 7 wing back of all time. The only modern player on the team of the Millennium. Footballer of the year. Martin O Connell was voted Footballer of the year ( the only number 7 the only left half back with Mccaffrey to ever win footballer of the year).
3 O Reilly 1996-1999 One of the best corner backs in Ireland
4 McDermont The best midfielder in Ireland 96 97 Captain of Sucessful International rules team
5 Dowd One of the best forwards in Ireland in the mid 90s three time All Star winner
6 B Reilly Best full forward in Ireland in 1996 All Star winner
7 Trevor Giles Best footballer in Ireland at his peak,Two time footballer of the year. Footballer of the year at 21. And considered to be one of the best if not the best play maker centre forward of the last 40 years.
8 Graham Gerathy All star wing back all star wing forward all star full forward. Simply one of the most talented footballers of the last 30 years. And the most talented player ever to play for Mesth.
9 Ollie Murphy- Between 99 - 01 he was the best corner forward in Ireland. Unmarkable between 99-01.

10 Meath had 9 top class players , On the Meath teams of the late 90s, 9 Meath players won 9 All stars . The Tyrone players of that era won 3 All stars.

And don't forget they were managed by the second most successful manager ever. Boylan brought Meath to 9 All Ireland senior finals ( including replays). Tyrones management Art Mcrory brought Tyrone to two All Ireland finals eg 86 and 95

4 The Meath team of 1996-01 is one of the greatest young team ever. And is the greatest young team of the last 30 years. They won an All Ireland in 96 with 7 under 21 players. The only team to win an All.Ireland with such young players ever was Kerry in 1975 with a pile of under 21. Can you think of any team in last 30 years to win Sam with 7 under 21s other then that Meath team?

So the greatest young team of the last 30 years, managed by one of the greatest manager if not the greatest of all time . A team who had some of the best footballer ever eg best full back, midfielder, centre forward and corner forward in Ireland at the time and had the greatest Wing back in the history of the game. A team who were unbeaten v Dublin in 4 games . A team who gave Kerrys worst defeat ever and defeated strong Cork Mayo Armagh Tyrone Kildare Offaly Westmeath and louth teams . A team who played in 4 All Ireland finals losing 1 is not considered a worst team, not as good as Tyrone team of 90s which won no All Irelands and heavily dependent on the greatness of one player and defeated no strong team outside the provience eg Dublin Kerry Mayo. Meath were much superior outfit in every way, better players and manger thats why they won by 9 points. And when that team was on form it cud blow a team away, sure look at what they did kerry in 01 semi final. But the kerry lads took their beating . Not one excuse from the kingdom.

In summary Tyrone have whinged and whined about that game for 22 years. It has almost being campaign by Tyrone for 22 years. They rang up Liveline afterwards, the very few times a GAA match was talked about in detail on liveline. Even at the weekend in a national paper Tyrone ex players were moanig about 96. In Tyrone you have this image of us and call us you, you know what you call us . In Meath we see Tyrone as bad losers who cannot take a beating and whinge constanlty for over two decades and will continue for many more decades , even though the better team won.

I thought when Tyrone won Sam they would move on, if anything if they have got worse. Every single person I meet from Tyrone goes on about 96 and whinging about it. Even on sat Tyrone supporters were bringing up 96. 22 years after we won.
While Meath have spent a couple of days giving out about ref. Tyrone have spent two decades giving out. We will get over this within a week or two and all will be forgotten. If I was paid for every Tyrone person who whined, whinged and moaned about 96 game v Meath I would be a very wealthy indiivdual indeed. The better team won. Its a fact.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 13/06/2018 16:27:53    2111138

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "jeez lads its now tuesday..come on you need to get over it...shhhhh...it'll be ok..santa will be back at christmas"
Looks like Tyrone u20s cant take their beating by Armagh

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 13/06/2018 16:40:49    2111146

For the love of God will the admin put this thread out of it's misery !

KildareKelly (Kildare) - Posts: 593 - 13/06/2018 16:48:08    2111151