Meath V Tyrone

Replying To Richieq:  "Wayno we don't need a briefing in the merits of Croke Park, we've been there often enough and challlenged ourselves in it and won and lost in it and also contributed handsomely to its redevelopment so we know all about it. I'm one of those old school people that believe you need to earn an appearance in Croke Park i.e. by getting to a provincial final or Super 8's, playing a provincial semi final in Croker does nothing to enhance anyone's reputation, remember the double header two years back.......more craic in a morgue. Yeah of course test yourself against one of the best, but do it in an environment that has atmosphere and a bit of a pulse, a half empty Croker has neither. The provincial championships need to go down the route that hurling does and be played off on a round robin basis home and away, and when I say home and away I mean home and away irrespective of what your grounds capacity is or how many seats you have. Every Meath footballer went out to beat Longford, if didn't happen and Longford thoroughly deserved their win and whilst some see that defeat as a watershed moment they are ignoring the work going on at underage in Meath, ignoring the excellent good results at Minor and U20 over the past month, ignoring last years U17 success. The Senior team is only one aspect of "Meath Football" and whilst its very important that the Senior team is successful it's also equally important that we have successful underage teams to maintain confidence and belief in the county and provide a stream of young successful and confident footballers to play Senior football. I've heard it said and it's true maybe drawing a "bigger" team in the first qualifier was a good thing, certainly playing at home is, but we shall see either way I think Meath supporters will have a lot to look forward to in years ahead and the doomsday merchants in the national press will have to work harder for their headlines in the future."
What a absolutely excellent post. Well said

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 31/05/2018 19:56:40    2106082

Replying To royaldunne:  "The getting rid of Brian Meade, Cain ward, joe Sheridan, juicy O'Connor, Brian Farrell, Jamie Q. Etc etc ,with lesser of quality coming in didn't help. Actually it destroyed the team. Do you not agree with that ?"
Didnt help matters anyway

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 31/05/2018 20:17:47    2106090

Replying To Richieq:  "Wayno we don't need a briefing in the merits of Croke Park, we've been there often enough and challlenged ourselves in it and won and lost in it and also contributed handsomely to its redevelopment so we know all about it. I'm one of those old school people that believe you need to earn an appearance in Croke Park i.e. by getting to a provincial final or Super 8's, playing a provincial semi final in Croker does nothing to enhance anyone's reputation, remember the double header two years back.......more craic in a morgue. Yeah of course test yourself against one of the best, but do it in an environment that has atmosphere and a bit of a pulse, a half empty Croker has neither. The provincial championships need to go down the route that hurling does and be played off on a round robin basis home and away, and when I say home and away I mean home and away irrespective of what your grounds capacity is or how many seats you have. Every Meath footballer went out to beat Longford, if didn't happen and Longford thoroughly deserved their win and whilst some see that defeat as a watershed moment they are ignoring the work going on at underage in Meath, ignoring the excellent good results at Minor and U20 over the past month, ignoring last years U17 success. The Senior team is only one aspect of "Meath Football" and whilst its very important that the Senior team is successful it's also equally important that we have successful underage teams to maintain confidence and belief in the county and provide a stream of young successful and confident footballers to play Senior football. I've heard it said and it's true maybe drawing a "bigger" team in the first qualifier was a good thing, certainly playing at home is, but we shall see either way I think Meath supporters will have a lot to look forward to in years ahead and the doomsday merchants in the national press will have to work harder for their headlines in the future."
Richie, Sorry. I wasn't trying to be patronising.

FWIW, I wasn't directing the post at any Meath fan. All I was trying to say was that the attitude of qualifiers is better than winning a provincial quarter final stinks.

And I still believe players would rather play in a half full croke park with no atmosphere than the likes of Drogheda. Just my view.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 31/05/2018 21:28:15    2106108

With all the in house unease in Tyrone they could get it hard to get a result here. If tension is high Mickie will sacrifice the game by leaving Colm Cavanagh on the bench just to show his authority. If Tyrone win this it could be their only championship win this year.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 31/05/2018 23:43:31    2106133

It's a chance of redemption for Meath, I know same applies to Tyrone , but Tyrone are a bigger scalp for Meath, than Meath are for Tyrone.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/06/2018 18:48:56    2106338

Replying To border Gael:  "With all the in house unease in Tyrone they could get it hard to get a result here. If tension is high Mickie will sacrifice the game by leaving Colm Cavanagh on the bench just to show his authority. If Tyrone win this it could be their only championship win this year."
Collie Cavanagh will start, and even though it will be hard to get a result due to injuries, suspension's, etc I still think we'll get the result. Whilst it's foolish to look beyond this game I firmly believe that it wouldn't be our only championship win if we are fortunate to progress. Tyrone traditionally do well in the back-door, players find form, games coming thick and fast, and probably the key ingredient momentum suits us,. Who knows what way things will pan out, maybe our paths will cross again, but one things for sure Tyrone won't be looking beyond Meath. The reason I think Collie will start? We need our leaders and best players on the pitch from the start, unless his injury is a lot worse than we think and is being managed so to speak I can't see argubably our best leader and best player on the bench. Time will tell

Dergforeeva (Tyrone) - Posts: 90 - 01/06/2018 21:16:43    2106359

God I'll miss these Meath threads after next week.
But hey it's just 3 months to September and he will be back in training to tell us all how he are fitter stronger faster than the team in the 90s

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 01/06/2018 22:20:12    2106373

Replying To royaldunne:  "The getting rid of Brian Meade, Cain ward, joe Sheridan, juicy O'Connor, Brian Farrell, Jamie Q. Etc etc ,with lesser of quality coming in didn't help. Actually it destroyed the team. Do you not agree with that ?"
Is there much change from mickos team now 23 lads gone its farcical really.

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 01/06/2018 23:26:07    2106384

Replying To royaldunne:  "It's a chance of redemption for Meath, I know same applies to Tyrone , but Tyrone are a bigger scalp for Meath, than Meath are for Tyrone."
oh sweet lord!

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 01/06/2018 23:27:29    2106385

Replying To Dergforeeva:  "Collie Cavanagh will start, and even though it will be hard to get a result due to injuries, suspension's, etc I still think we'll get the result. Whilst it's foolish to look beyond this game I firmly believe that it wouldn't be our only championship win if we are fortunate to progress. Tyrone traditionally do well in the back-door, players find form, games coming thick and fast, and probably the key ingredient momentum suits us,. Who knows what way things will pan out, maybe our paths will cross again, but one things for sure Tyrone won't be looking beyond Meath. The reason I think Collie will start? We need our leaders and best players on the pitch from the start, unless his injury is a lot worse than we think and is being managed so to speak I can't see argubably our best leader and best player on the bench. Time will tell"
colm cavanagh and tiernan mccann both fully fit..played last weekend for clubs..

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 01/06/2018 23:29:58    2106387

Replying To Reco:  "Is there much change from mickos team now 23 lads gone its farcical really."
What 23 have been dropped? Jones harnan not there cause of studying, Newman wanted to take year off the get fitness levels up. The Simonstown lads gone to us, colgan better keeper than por.
The rest are not mainstay players like mod got rid of

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/06/2018 08:40:36    2106651

where does all this optimism come from within meath supporters on this thread?..is it some kind of misguided hope that this meath team are about to emulate the feats of 20 or 30 years ago?
Tyrone are ranked 4 in the country wheras meath are 13.
tyrone are 1/3 on to win the game, meath are 3/1
tyrone to win by 5 or 6 points

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 03/06/2018 12:44:50    2106718

This could well be a very interesting one. Every dog on the street knows what Tyrone are going to bring to the table and if they are allowed do it, they win
Meath have to do something different. arguably Meath's best championship performance in recent years have been against Tyrone. In 2015 they went defensive in Omagh and nearly pulled off a shock against a better Tyrone team, with the McMahons, Cavanaghs and Harte (suspended) in it. Meath have to attack with width, defend well and break fast. Tyrone might be vulnerable if it is tight. This game is all about the Meath management for me if they are up for it, it could be a shock

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 03/06/2018 13:55:40    2106745

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "This could well be a very interesting one. Every dog on the street knows what Tyrone are going to bring to the table and if they are allowed do it, they win
Meath have to do something different. arguably Meath's best championship performance in recent years have been against Tyrone. In 2015 they went defensive in Omagh and nearly pulled off a shock against a better Tyrone team, with the McMahons, Cavanaghs and Harte (suspended) in it. Meath have to attack with width, defend well and break fast. Tyrone might be vulnerable if it is tight. This game is all about the Meath management for me if they are up for it, it could be a shock"
Like Fermanagh?

Dergforeeva (Tyrone) - Posts: 90 - 03/06/2018 15:39:46    2106780

Replying To Dergforeeva:  "Like Fermanagh?"
can't see there being any shocks next week but I genuinely wouldnt mind meath winning...

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 03/06/2018 15:50:33    2106801

Replying To waynoI:  "can't see there being any shocks next week but I genuinely wouldnt mind meath winning..."
Fair play to you, we'll see

Dergforeeva (Tyrone) - Posts: 90 - 03/06/2018 16:04:41    2106819

Wouldn't write Meath off at all here. Tyrone are very, very poor.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 03/06/2018 17:28:29    2106888

Replying To royaldunne:  "What 23 have been dropped? Jones harnan not there cause of studying, Newman wanted to take year off the get fitness levels up. The Simonstown lads gone to us, colgan better keeper than por.
The rest are not mainstay players like mod got rid of"
Lads gone dunne where I say dropped I know Mickey and that is a crock of dung you have just stated bout him.there is an severe amount of lads gone from panel. Questions have to b asked bout that i agree on mod he done it the week of all ireland dropping lads. I didn't say McEntee dropped anyone but surely even you need to know why these lads feel they need to walk.

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 04/06/2018 20:33:32    2107423

If Meath were to beat Tyrone it would be a masive result for Meath and leinster football. I will give reasons in another message.

First it would be a massive shock and unlikely that Tyrone double Ulster champions and top 5 or 6 team would beat a Meath team that hasnt reached a provincial final in 4 years. Tyrone have a few injuries but Meath have lost half a panel , a full team of players since last summer eg O Rourke, Toibin, Power , Harnan, Rooney, Jones, Forde, O Coilean, Toher, Mckeever, Newman Toibin. 11 of those players played in the championship for Meath last year. So this Tyrone team, which is already one of the most sucessful to come out of the county ever ( only 4 Tyrone teams have won two in a row Ulster titles eg 56 57, 95 97, 09 10, 16 17) would be massive favourites and desevedly so.

However the last two times Meath played Tyrone in championship in 13 in Croker and 15 in Omagh. Tyrone won by 2 points in both games after Meath went to toe to toe with Tyrone in both games. In 2013 the game was level with 8 or 9 mins to go and 2 handy frees for Tyrone won the game. Meath played very well that day with Eamon Wallace running riot scoring 1 -4 from play. In 2015 again it was nip and tuck coming up to the last 10 mins. Tyrone got a penalty which wasnt a penalty in any shape or orm. After Tyrone scoring the peno, Meath went up the field and Joey Wallace had the legs cut from nder him in the square , a stone wall peno, which Meath didnt win and the game was over. So the last two championship matchs have been very tight affairs and only for a few referee decisions the game was very 50 - 50. Meath played Tyrone in 2011 in the league in a cracking game which ended in a draw with Meath scoring 19 points. And of course we famously beat their great team in 07 in a quater final.

We do seem to play well v Tyrone. And Meath in the past always seemed to up their game v the top counties. And in this decade that is still part of Meath football. The games v Tyrone in 13 and 15, games v Donegal in 2014 and 2017 and games v Galway in 2014 2016 and 2017 are proof of that. But overall the fear is for Meath is our record v Ulster teams is appalling , Tyrone are a better team, very well drilled and organised and a serious ack of belief in Meath football, means Tyrone could win by 6 or 7 points with little pressure from Meath.

However because we are not as bad as people think, we always seem to play well v Tyrone and up our games v top teams so a Meath big performance is not out of the question. But truth is Meath victory is not the cards as this Tyrone team is a proven top division 1 team.

If Meath did win it would blow this believe that Meath are somewhat crap out of the water. Meath have been incredibly inconsistent. But there has been some results to indicate Meath arent as bad as people think. Meath in the last 12 months have had real good performances v top 8 teams. In the last year Meath have beaten Galway, drew with Roscommon in Roscommon, drew with Cork in Cork and lost by point to Donegal. Meath also hammered Clare twice by 12 and 14 points, hammered Down by 9 points and hammered Fermanagh by 15 points all in the last year. If u said say Offaly in the last 12 months had beaten Galway, drew with Roscommon and Cork, lost by 1 point to.Donegal and hammered Clare twice Fermanagh and Down. People would say Offaly are going well at the moment. Meath are always unrated and undervalued even when we some Sam. And unbelievably Meath were only 1 win away from promotion to div 1 . Which is the 4th time in 5 years Meath have been just 1 win away from promotion to div 1. Meath arent as off the pace as people think.

There is a serious lack of belief in Meath and problems playing a modern tactically driven game. The defeats can be explained in that v kildare and Cavan , Meath were playing at the time the two form teams in div 2 and at the time Cavan and kildare were playing some of the best football in 4 divisions. Tipp are one of the top up and coming young teams in the country. While longford in longford is one of the toughest place to win in football with a longford nearly beaten kerry Dublin Tyrone in the championship in last 10 to 12 years in Pearse Park and longford defeating Monaghan Mayo Derry Down and Meath in recent years.
T
he fact is Meaths defeats are the games which are completely focussed on while the good performances v top 8 teams and form teams are completely ignored altogether.

However if Meath were to beat Tyrone it would definatly indicate along with performances v Galway Roscommon Donegal Clare Fermanagh that Meath are not the average team many people want and so badly need to believe they are .
Another reason why a Meath victory would be massive is ..

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 05/06/2018 13:46:01    2107681

If Meath did beat Tyrone it would be a massive result for Meath football and leinster football in general Why?

1 If Meath were to beat Tyrone it would Meath biggest win in the championship since the 5 goal hammering of Dublin in 2010 or Mayo in 2009. Meaths best result in this decade and in last 10 years.

2 If Meath were to beat Tyrone it would be one of the best victories for leinster team outide Dublin outside the provience in the championship in nearly two decades.

Why? In this decade only 1 team in leinster besides Dublin have beaten a top division 1 team , a top 5 or 6 team in the country and that was longford beating Monaghan in 2016. Since 2000 only 4 times have leinster teams outside Dublin have beaten top division 1 teams in the championship outside the provience. Those victories v top division 1 teams since 2000 are Meath v kerry in 2001, Meath v Tyrone in 2007, Laois v Tyrone in 2004 and longford v Monaghan in 2016. Thats it. Meath did beat Galway in the championship in 07 and 11 but Galway in 07 and 11 were not a top division 1 team. Meath defeated Mayo in 2009 and longford defeated Mayo in 2010 in the championship but Mayo were in transition and the current Mayo team didnt take off til 2011 2012.

The fact is outside Dublin leinster teams have only beaten top opposition (division 1 top 5 or 6 teams outside leinster ) 4 times in near two decades. A Meath victory v Tyrone would be the fifth victory in 18 years. Tyrone are a top 8 team and in every ranking I have seen in the internet or papers in the last 3 years they have been in the top 4 or 5 teams in the country. They are double Ulster champions so a Meath victory would be significant for Meath football but also a very significant result for leinster football.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 05/06/2018 14:00:22    2107690