Meath V Tyrone

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well that's a lie. Not one Meath person I have ever spoke to said that goal should have stood. Actually just proves my point about refs costing teams games.
But Meath should just accept Saturday without a word cause a TYRONE ref (ironically) got a call wrong. And 8 years later that should still be seen as evening out things? Yeah pathetic viewpoint"
" Not one Meath person I have ever spoke to said that goal should have stood"...WELL, THAT IS A LIE !!!!

Joe Sheridan himself said it was a good goal in his post-match interview, I do not ever recall him saying anything different at any time afterwards, he was just one of many who said that his TRY/GOAL was legit....

THE_SNAPPER (Louth) - Posts: 2019 - 11/06/2018 16:57:05    2110089

Replying To THE_SNAPPER:  "" Not one Meath person I have ever spoke to said that goal should have stood"...WELL, THAT IS A LIE !!!!

Joe Sheridan himself said it was a good goal in his post-match interview, I do not ever recall him saying anything different at any time afterwards, he was just one of many who said that his TRY/GOAL was legit...."
You missed the part where I said. I YES I have spoken to. Funny thing is that you and other bitter Louth people never blame the person who gave the goal, always blame Meath.
I for one do not blame Tyrone for the incompetent ref in Saturday, I blame the ,,,,,, wait for it,,,,, the ref.
I wish Tyrone well on their endeavors over the year and hopefully they have a good year, it is not their fault the ref was wrong, it was the refs fault.
Now why hasn't that happened with Louth ??

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/06/2018 17:02:18    2110094

Replying To The_Fridge:  "McEntee was upset about the penalty. Not the free. Tyrone and Meath were both victims of inconsistent refereeing. Time to move on."
And what about him telling Ben Brennan before he took his free kick that time was up and this was last kick of game? Yet he played on till Tyrone equalized.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/06/2018 17:05:25    2110099

Think it's time to get over it Royal Dunne and get over tho the Roscommon forum and lash them out of it for the week...your fairly well practised in it now
.lol

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1075 - 11/06/2018 17:06:03    2110100

Think it's time to get over it Royal Dunne and get over tho the Roscommon forum and lash them out of it for the week...your fairly well practised in it now
.lol

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1075 - 11/06/2018 17:08:04    2110102

Replying To royaldunne:  "And what about him telling Ben Brennan before he took his free kick that time was up and this was last kick of game? Yet he played on till Tyrone equalized."
How do you know this?

RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 11/06/2018 17:09:29    2110104

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Hold on a second, Meath have never got it easy from Refs, & you can only remember 1 instance where ref went against ye, we have a track record of dis allowed goals, penalties not been given and just bad reffing attitude towards Meath in general. When have you ever heard us "whinge" about a refs decisions before, when have you ever seen a Meath Manager lose his cool with a ref like Saturday...i will tell you...never! And this my good man is because we never had reason to cos we accept that the Ref is right even when wrong, but the lack of respect he showed for the Meath team & supporters was nothing short of a disgrace. Forgetting how appalling he was in extra time, he played on past the 5mins injury time, to allow Tyrone get the equalising point.

But don't worry we will dry our eyes and come back better and stronger next year."
Well said.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/06/2018 17:09:32    2110105

Replying To Richieq:  "If you haven't the capacity to make a call on a blatant foul 5 yards in front of you then you shouldn't be there, it's unfair on players, management teams supports and indeed the official himself if he's putting himself in a position where he can't react to the most basic and simplist of decisions, there is no excuse here, no reasonable out for him. Seeing as you feel McEntee's reaction to a match official was pathetic I would presume and your brethren would feel Connolly's reaction to a linesman lady year was just as pathetic if not worse seeing as he actually made contact with him, you could do with educating some of your own about reacting to match officials rather than coming on here and telling us......"
Excellent point. Well said

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/06/2018 17:11:13    2110106

Replying To THE_SNAPPER:  "" Not one Meath person I have ever spoke to said that goal should have stood"...WELL, THAT IS A LIE !!!!

Joe Sheridan himself said it was a good goal in his post-match interview, I do not ever recall him saying anything different at any time afterwards, he was just one of many who said that his TRY/GOAL was legit...."
Will you go back to therapy like a good man or better still turn your frustration into a positive action.....buy a few blocks some sand and a few bags of cement and start building a county ground for yourselves, by the time your bitterness has subsided you'll have the place rebuilt.......

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 11/06/2018 17:11:38    2110107

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Ah now come on dont think its fair to pin this on Biggy. The ref decided to play on for whatever reason after the 5 minutes were up to allow play continue up field until Tyrone got that equalising score. Biggy has put his blood sweat and tears into this team. He has served us well and i do hope we will see him back next year. But for now we will do what we do best, brush ourselves down and look forward to next year and concentrate on Club for now."
Don't bother even responding to that pathetic wum effort.
I didn't.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/06/2018 17:14:45    2110110

Replying To Richieq:  "
Replying To MesAmis:  "If you haven't the capacity to make a call on a blatant foul 5 yards in front of you then you shouldn't be there, it's unfair on players, management teams supports and indeed the official himself if he's putting himself in a position where he can't react to the most basic and simplist of decisions, there is no excuse here, no reasonable out for him. Seeing as you feel McEntee's reaction to a match official was pathetic I would presume and your brethren would feel Connolly's reaction to a linesman lady year was just as pathetic if not worse seeing as he actually made contact with him, you could do with educating some of your own about reacting to match officials rather than coming on here and telling us......
Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3126 - 11/06/2018 13:40:49

Of course I think Connolly's actions were pathetic. He was rightly banned for it. What type of come back is that meant to be? Giving out to the linesman over a line ball. Come on man. Pathetic.

This has nothing to do with county allegiances. It's about pathetic, idiotic behaviour. Both Connolly and McEntee's behaviour was such.

I find all giving out about referees to be, almost every single time, pathetic. Because that's what it is. I stand on the hill and hear the same people roaring at the referee over every call. Complaining and roaring in a refs face is idiotic and pathetic.

The ref making a mistake is unfair on the players and management teams? Come off it. It happens all the time in every game. You know before you go on the field that the referee will make mistakes both for you and against you. You're supposed to be an adult and should behave like one. These are the best referees we have, like it or not.

Is every mistake made by a player or manager then unfair on the players and management? That's children's logic of screaming 'it's not fair' when something goes against you. I think we can all aim a little higher than that.

You get some decisions, you don't get others. Deal with it like and adult rather than throwing a tantrum like McEntee, who was lucky his players were on hand to make sure the situation didn't escalate. Well done to them. O'Sullivan was defo one.

I say this regardless of county allegiance and will say the same about any Dubs, players, supporters etc that cry about the refereeing.

It's pathetic and makes those that do it look like petulant idiots."
Very seldom do I give out about refs or officials because rarely have I seen one cock up as bad as last Saturday. Now before I continue let me state the following;

1) Meath execution of certain things wasn't what it should have been, yes they should have seen the game out in normal time and yes they should have extended the one point lead

2) Yes the referee made bad calls for both sides, that was clearly visible and acknowledged

But the decision at the end, in my view, is unforgivable and I don't feel pathetic in any way shape or form for criticising an inter county referee who did not have the ability to call a blatant foul not 5 yards in front of him. Should McEntee have reacted the way he did, no he shouldn't, do I blame him? No because he, and his players, have parked their lives for two years to try and bring this team back up the ladder and a win on Saturday night, just like last year v Donegal, would have been a huge boost and the type of win this Meath team so desperately needs to progress itself. Yes Meath can look at themselves and things they should or shouldn't have done but as McEntee said afterwards players will pay the price for their mistakes, what price will the referee pay for his mistakes?? Each incident, a bad wide, a poor tackle, a misplaced pass etc will be judged and the influence of those incidents are discussed in the context of the game, you can recover and make amends for such errors but a referees mistake can be fatal to any team and an error like the one last Saturday night, like the one in Thurles the week before, is in my view unforgivable in 2018. Given the efforts that players and management put in nowadays getting clear basic calls like that right has to be a given, I accept mistakes can be made due to obstructed view or miscommunication or mistake of identity or being too far behind the play but there were no such influences in this decision. The only reason Meath weren't awarded that free at the end is because of incompetence, panic or fear, or just old fashioned bias in the part of the referee, I hope the latter is not the case, and that is not acceptable nowadays. I travel from Donegal to every Meath match I can, I was in Thurles and Roscommon for league matches and Longford just over two weeks back and I can accept us being beaten when it's our fault, down to playing badly or making our own mistakes etc no problem whatsoever, I've got used to it, but I cannot and will not accept us suffering losing a chance to equalise the game and go into further extra time because the referee couldn't blow the whistle for one of the most straight forward and simplest decisions he had to make all day."
Same as that. I hardly ever give out about them. But that stank of something more.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/06/2018 17:18:20    2110112

Replying To Richieq:  "Richieq it is pathetic becuase you lost that game to a free badly taken and **** poor defending at the end.

It WAS Meaths fault you needed a free at the end to win it not the refs fault for not given it!

Its like the people who blame the ref for Meath's win in 2010 but forget how bad Louth were in the last 10 minutes to let Meath comeback into it."
So let me get this straight, we can give the ref a pass on a brutally bad call because we didn't win the match in normal time!!!!!! Because we missed a free and didn't clamp the game down???? That's gives the ref a right and an allowance to make such a poor call??? Jesus sir with logic like that you should certainly be employed in Croke Park with a top notch salary, I salute you....."]Everything is Meath and mcentee fault Richie apparently.
We will leave it at that. One things for sure though, we are coming back, I will be out shouting on the u20 and 17 this year, hopefully both Winning Leinster, and some of those from 20 coming into senior, we not as bad as some would like us to be , and you know what I say to them? F### you.
It took a biased ref and our own failings to let Tyrone win on Saturday night, begrudgers enjoy it, cause we are bloody on our way back. And when we do get there. We will be the most sore winners and condescending people you have ever met.
Hon the royal.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/06/2018 17:24:32    2110116

Replying To royaldunne:  "And what about him telling Ben Brennan before he took his free kick that time was up and this was last kick of game? Yet he played on till Tyrone equalized."
We're you talking to Ben Brennan personally to confirm this? Or are you a world class lip reader? I haven't heard anyone confirm this was said. Ridiculous statement

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 11/06/2018 17:24:42    2110117

Replying To royaldunne:  "
Replying To Richieq:  "[quote=MesAmis:  "If you haven't the capacity to make a call on a blatant foul 5 yards in front of you then you shouldn't be there, it's unfair on players, management teams supports and indeed the official himself if he's putting himself in a position where he can't react to the most basic and simplist of decisions, there is no excuse here, no reasonable out for him. Seeing as you feel McEntee's reaction to a match official was pathetic I would presume and your brethren would feel Connolly's reaction to a linesman lady year was just as pathetic if not worse seeing as he actually made contact with him, you could do with educating some of your own about reacting to match officials rather than coming on here and telling us......
Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3126 - 11/06/2018 13:40:49

Of course I think Connolly's actions were pathetic. He was rightly banned for it. What type of come back is that meant to be? Giving out to the linesman over a line ball. Come on man. Pathetic.

This has nothing to do with county allegiances. It's about pathetic, idiotic behaviour. Both Connolly and McEntee's behaviour was such.

I find all giving out about referees to be, almost every single time, pathetic. Because that's what it is. I stand on the hill and hear the same people roaring at the referee over every call. Complaining and roaring in a refs face is idiotic and pathetic.

The ref making a mistake is unfair on the players and management teams? Come off it. It happens all the time in every game. You know before you go on the field that the referee will make mistakes both for you and against you. You're supposed to be an adult and should behave like one. These are the best referees we have, like it or not.

Is every mistake made by a player or manager then unfair on the players and management? That's children's logic of screaming 'it's not fair' when something goes against you. I think we can all aim a little higher than that.

You get some decisions, you don't get others. Deal with it like and adult rather than throwing a tantrum like McEntee, who was lucky his players were on hand to make sure the situation didn't escalate. Well done to them. O'Sullivan was defo one.

I say this regardless of county allegiance and will say the same about any Dubs, players, supporters etc that cry about the refereeing.

It's pathetic and makes those that do it look like petulant idiots."
Very seldom do I give out about refs or officials because rarely have I seen one cock up as bad as last Saturday. Now before I continue let me state the following;

1) Meath execution of certain things wasn't what it should have been, yes they should have seen the game out in normal time and yes they should have extended the one point lead

2) Yes the referee made bad calls for both sides, that was clearly visible and acknowledged

But the decision at the end, in my view, is unforgivable and I don't feel pathetic in any way shape or form for criticising an inter county referee who did not have the ability to call a blatant foul not 5 yards in front of him. Should McEntee have reacted the way he did, no he shouldn't, do I blame him? No because he, and his players, have parked their lives for two years to try and bring this team back up the ladder and a win on Saturday night, just like last year v Donegal, would have been a huge boost and the type of win this Meath team so desperately needs to progress itself. Yes Meath can look at themselves and things they should or shouldn't have done but as McEntee said afterwards players will pay the price for their mistakes, what price will the referee pay for his mistakes?? Each incident, a bad wide, a poor tackle, a misplaced pass etc will be judged and the influence of those incidents are discussed in the context of the game, you can recover and make amends for such errors but a referees mistake can be fatal to any team and an error like the one last Saturday night, like the one in Thurles the week before, is in my view unforgivable in 2018. Given the efforts that players and management put in nowadays getting clear basic calls like that right has to be a given, I accept mistakes can be made due to obstructed view or miscommunication or mistake of identity or being too far behind the play but there were no such influences in this decision. The only reason Meath weren't awarded that free at the end is because of incompetence, panic or fear, or just old fashioned bias in the part of the referee, I hope the latter is not the case, and that is not acceptable nowadays. I travel from Donegal to every Meath match I can, I was in Thurles and Roscommon for league matches and Longford just over two weeks back and I can accept us being beaten when it's our fault, down to playing badly or making our own mistakes etc no problem whatsoever, I've got used to it, but I cannot and will not accept us suffering losing a chance to equalise the game and go into further extra time because the referee couldn't blow the whistle for one of the most straight forward and simplest decisions he had to make all day."
Same as that. I hardly ever give out about them. But that stank of something more."]Jeez Royal. Now your onto the conspiracy theories. Why do I have a feeling you will talk about this for the next 10 years. You will make yourself ill.
As I and many others have said Meath were unlucky and played well. Time to get over it

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 11/06/2018 17:28:31    2110120

Replying To Richieq:  "Will you go back to therapy like a good man or better still turn your frustration into a positive action.....buy a few blocks some sand and a few bags of cement and start building a county ground for yourselves, by the time your bitterness has subsided you'll have the place rebuilt......."
Parc Tailteann isnt much to write home about to be fair. And by the sounds of it you are going to need a bit off therapy. Maybe give a call to RoyalDunne, you might get a 2 for 1 offer ;)

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 11/06/2018 17:33:52    2110125

Replying To moros:  "Think it's time to get over it Royal Dunne and get over tho the Roscommon forum and lash them out of it for the week...your fairly well practised in it now
.lol"
I don't need to. I just want to wish my close good friend David all
The best for Sunday.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/06/2018 17:43:11    2110132

Replying To Richieq:  "Will you go back to therapy like a good man or better still turn your frustration into a positive action.....buy a few blocks some sand and a few bags of cement and start building a county ground for yourselves, by the time your bitterness has subsided you'll have the place rebuilt......."
You are in no position to talk down your nose at anyone when it comes to a county ground, not many blocks or much sand or cement at either end of Pairc Tailteann ground, the grass looked well I must say when the sun was shining on it.

THE_SNAPPER (Louth) - Posts: 2019 - 11/06/2018 17:48:08    2110134

On balance I think most people agree that most referee 's would have given the free at the end.

But he did'nt and nothing is going to change that.

Most people understand how frustrated Andy was but the pictures of him shouting abuse at the referee at the end does not look great for him or Meath or the GAA in general.

Its time to move on lads ,most people are already looking at round 2 of the qualifiers and that Match is yesterday's news.

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 11/06/2018 18:26:06    2110156

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Parc Tailteann isnt much to write home about to be fair. And by the sounds of it you are going to need a bit off therapy. Maybe give a call to RoyalDunne, you might get a 2 for 1 offer ;)"
Look you got your undeserved win. Take it and move along. As for pt? Well since it was likely last championship game there before our new 40,000 all seater stadium is built I think the old girl did us proud, particularly the best playing surface in country. She bowed out with grace and winning, but like the Meath team, we won but we didn't.
And I've been to Omagh, let's just say you are not in any position to criticize navan.
Hon the royal.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/06/2018 18:39:21    2110168

Replying To THE_SNAPPER:  "You are in no position to talk down your nose at anyone when it comes to a county ground, not many blocks or much sand or cement at either end of Pairc Tailteann ground, the grass looked well I must say when the sun was shining on it."
Yes I am in a position for the following reasons;

1) We own a county ground
2) We have full planning permission for a complete redevelopment to begin this October

And dont worry you'll see plenty of the redevelopment stadium, it'll be your home from home so to speak, we look forward to ye stimulating the Meath economy for years to come.....

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 11/06/2018 18:57:30    2110187