Meath V Tyrone

Replying To Jinxie:  "Any ideas why the throw in time is being kept secret? The GAA have confirmed it's on Sat 09 and confirmed its not being televised, so whats delaying the confirmation of a time?
Potential double header with Meath u17/20?"
Meath are fixed to play Laois in the final round of the Joe McDonagh Cup on Saturday 9th June at 3.00 in Navan. As it is the last round all games must start at the same time.

So the football will have to be after the hurling as draw after 70 mins in the football would mean extra time and then there is a possibility that the hurling may not start at 3.00, so the rule regarding the starting times would not be complied with.

My guess is that the delay in announcing the starting time is because the CCCC are deciding what the best course of action is, start the football at say 4.45 or bring the hurling forward? The latter would possibly require the co-operation of the five other counties involved in the Joe McDonagh Cup which might not be received all that well.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1061 - 29/05/2018 18:31:04    2105380

Look lads we have a chance against Tyrone, I fully acknowledge they are favourites and hold plenty of advantages over us but this is certainly not a lost cause. We all desperately want to see a performance, I'd imagine it's highly frustrating for management and the players that they just can't get things going.

But this is an opportunity to give us all a lift and should be targeted for that reason, we still have a tonne of work to do in Meath just to bring us up to modern standards after years of neglect but this would be a very welcome shot in the arm.

We see some green shoots at underage level at present but at senior level there's been nothing for a very long time. This has been highly frustrating for many Meath fans but let's get a big crowd out in Navan on June 9th and give the lads some support and encouragement.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 29/05/2018 18:43:54    2105384

Replying To MillerX:  "Meath are fixed to play Laois in the final round of the Joe McDonagh Cup on Saturday 9th June at 3.00 in Navan. As it is the last round all games must start at the same time.

So the football will have to be after the hurling as draw after 70 mins in the football would mean extra time and then there is a possibility that the hurling may not start at 3.00, so the rule regarding the starting times would not be complied with.

My guess is that the delay in announcing the starting time is because the CCCC are deciding what the best course of action is, start the football at say 4.45 or bring the hurling forward? The latter would possibly require the co-operation of the five other counties involved in the Joe McDonagh Cup which might not be received all that well."
your spot on

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 29/05/2018 19:13:44    2105391

As a neutral and sometimes the neutral view is often worth some value without bias etc anyone who thinks Tyrone just have to show up do not really get the big picture. Most counties are as fit as one another so this a non argument. Meath are at home and Tyrone are missing some key players. I think this is 50 50. That result to Longford is not a disaster given Longford are pretty decent in Pearse Park. Big issue with Meath and I have conversed with my Royal mates on this is the quality of players coming through from underage. Not there for a long time. May surface in a few yrs with some recent minor green shoots. Also club scene from an outside perspective appears average at best and these factors happening at the same time not helping. However things certainly can change and if ye beat Tyrone could get serious traction in terms of a run in the qualifiers.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 29/05/2018 19:57:10    2105405

Replying To RoylerKing:  "In fairness this current Meath teams performances this year have give us very little to be positive about. We'll live in hope we beat Tyrone but it's going to take an almighty Meath performance and for Tyrone to have a major off day."
In truth I'm still waiting for Tyrone to have a major on day!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 29/05/2018 20:26:22    2105411

Replying To Htaem:  "Look lads we have a chance against Tyrone, I fully acknowledge they are favourites and hold plenty of advantages over us but this is certainly not a lost cause. We all desperately want to see a performance, I'd imagine it's highly frustrating for management and the players that they just can't get things going.

But this is an opportunity to give us all a lift and should be targeted for that reason, we still have a tonne of work to do in Meath just to bring us up to modern standards after years of neglect but this would be a very welcome shot in the arm.

We see some green shoots at underage level at present but at senior level there's been nothing for a very long time. This has been highly frustrating for many Meath fans but let's get a big crowd out in Navan on June 9th and give the lads some support and encouragement."
Keep the faith my old friend. This is two teams in bad situations. Both have something to prove. But in navan I feel we just might have the edge.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/05/2018 21:43:24    2105424

Replying To royaldunne:  "Keep the faith my old friend. This is two teams in bad situations. Both have something to prove. But in navan I feel we just might have the edge."
I hope you're right royaldunne, we're due a good championship win at some stage, by jaysus we're being made to wait though, but fingers crossed.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 29/05/2018 22:07:31    2105426

Replying To Htaem:  "Look lads we have a chance against Tyrone, I fully acknowledge they are favourites and hold plenty of advantages over us but this is certainly not a lost cause. We all desperately want to see a performance, I'd imagine it's highly frustrating for management and the players that they just can't get things going.

We see some green shoots at underage level at present but at senior level there's been nothing for a very long time. This has been highly frustrating for many Meath fans but let's get a big crowd out in Navan on June 9th and give the lads some support and encouragement."
How is that causing a delay......surely its as straightforward as putting the football down for 5 pm.

Belt (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 29/05/2018 22:09:48    2105428

Replying To royaldunne:  "Keep the faith my old friend. This is two teams in bad situations. Both have something to prove. But in navan I feel we just might have the edge."
you must wear special glasses when you watch Meath play

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 29/05/2018 22:40:37    2105432

Royal Dunne your deluded. Their is not just a football chasm between Tyrone and Meath but their is a structure , organizational and coaching chasm as well . Tyrone may have been beaten by Monaghan but it was 16 each up to the death. Monaghan and Tyrone are very good Div1 sides , we on the other hand are arguably a Div3 side. Keep taking your pills because it's clouding your judgement. Tyrone will win, they have a game plan and we'll drilled and our lads are not coached well at all and are winging it every game .

Talking_Sense (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 29/05/2018 22:46:07    2105434

Ha Ye royaldunne like you were bright about so many things about Meath football so far....I'll give you an example, you slated MOD from start to finish even tho he won OB cup unlucky to get promoted to div 1 cause of Micheal Murphy kicking an outrageous point from a sideline to draw the game and not let Meath be promoted AND Andy is a great manager cause he is, even tho he is doing worse then Micko and and a lot of players left because of him and that's a fact...coming from players

SS6 (Meath) - Posts: 149 - 29/05/2018 22:54:50    2105435

Replying To ratlag:  "Jesus ya would swear it was a personal insult you were being given!! Outsid eof Meath and Tyrone who will want to see this game?? Rte, Sky or whatever other T.V. station there is will pick games that will draw the highest viewings.......Tyrone will barely get a crowd to watch them unless its against one of the big teams like Mayo, Dublin, Kerry and Meath are even lower down than that from a ratings perspective!! Personally I'd love to see it on T.V. but it would make no sense compared with the other games they have to choose from."
No qualifier games are been shown live on tv

MeathWawa (Meath) - Posts: 61 - 29/05/2018 23:34:33    2105445

Replying To MeathWawa:  "No qualifier games are been shown live on tv"
I see that. However there was rumors going around that both sky and rte had been approached about trying to show the game. If they wanted, as a edition to their already paid & booked for games. I don't know if either took up the offer.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/05/2018 09:20:34    2105489

On all known form we have little or no chance, Tyrone lost out very narrowly to one of the form teams in the country, we lost narrowly to Longford. I know that Tyrone have had a couple of departures from their squad since last year and have another couple of players, are down 21 players since the 2016 championship, and of course, Shane McEntee who has been an ever present for 2 seasons and is obviously a key member of our team is suspended. in the past number of years, Tyrone have been beaten by Monaghan, Dublin and Mayo. We have been beaten by Kildare, Donegal, Derry and Westmeath

longroadback (Meath) - Posts: 324 - 30/05/2018 09:50:51    2105495

Game is been shown live on rte, have a friend working in rte and its a go, will be announced early next week

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1047 - 30/05/2018 10:07:54    2105499

Replying To Crinigan:  "Can we nip this "we are fittest we have ever been" in the bud.

We are nowhere near fit enough and I'm sick of hearing it. This team to the man is about a stone and a half overweight. Look at the Dublin team, very lean and wiry, like the Meath team of the 80s. The Meath team are conditioned to be like rugby league players and I'm sure that's great for them when posing in the Palace but it's no good for their football and the proof is in the pudding.

Also given the behavior of clubs like Ashbourne (running buses to the Dublin match for their club members) maybe it's time players from genuine traditional Meath clubs were picked - no summerhill, o mahonys, kells, Skyrne, Simonstown players on team last weekend. I'm sick of looking at players who have won absolutely nothing at club level from clubs like Ratoath and Ashbourne. If you choke consistently at club level then you don't have what it takes at county level."
Because you failed to update the training in your club in line with the modern game at development level years ago you produced nothing. Only for individuals in a few clubs like Ashbourne and Ratoath there would be no players up to inter county level. Oddly they did not extend their good work onto Senior Level hence they don't have the right strategies for moving from winning underage club titles to senior club titles

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 30/05/2018 12:20:17    2105559

Replying To SS6:  "Ha Ye royaldunne like you were bright about so many things about Meath football so far....I'll give you an example, you slated MOD from start to finish even tho he won OB cup unlucky to get promoted to div 1 cause of Micheal Murphy kicking an outrageous point from a sideline to draw the game and not let Meath be promoted AND Andy is a great manager cause he is, even tho he is doing worse then Micko and and a lot of players left because of him and that's a fact...coming from players"
Is that coming from the same players who thought Mick O'Dowd was to nice, now they think Andy McEntee is to tough on them? I think that perception is being bandied about because of people judging them on what they behave like on the sideline. I'm sure Mick O'Dowd could go as tough on players as Andy is perceived to as he was a fairly tough man himself in his playing days, and also Andy is not this dictator he is made out to be either by people looking in from the outside who know nothing about them. After all Michael Dara McCauley and Conal did say he was the best manager they have ever worked under and they have worked under some pretty decent coaches (Jim Gavin and Pat Gilroy). People need to stop fixating on the manager, at the end of the day, the manager facilitates players ambitions, they provide the coaching, the tactics, s&c etc and they create the best surroundings possible for the players to play in, its up to the players to drive it and have pride in your county and your own individual performances! If you are waiting for a manager to give you that you shouldn't be there! That is the problem in Meath is that bar 5 or 6 players on the current panel, the rest have a negative mindset about county football before they have even arrived due to others spreading that negativity (i.e. what's the point, were not going to win anything Dublin are to strong). Until players with better mindsets are involved we may forget about it and that's why our current U17's and U20's and more need to be looked after, and I believe they don't have this mindset and hopefully wont develop it.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 932 - 30/05/2018 13:12:48    2105580

Replying To BigJoe14:  "Is that coming from the same players who thought Mick O'Dowd was to nice, now they think Andy McEntee is to tough on them? I think that perception is being bandied about because of people judging them on what they behave like on the sideline. I'm sure Mick O'Dowd could go as tough on players as Andy is perceived to as he was a fairly tough man himself in his playing days, and also Andy is not this dictator he is made out to be either by people looking in from the outside who know nothing about them. After all Michael Dara McCauley and Conal did say he was the best manager they have ever worked under and they have worked under some pretty decent coaches (Jim Gavin and Pat Gilroy). People need to stop fixating on the manager, at the end of the day, the manager facilitates players ambitions, they provide the coaching, the tactics, s&c etc and they create the best surroundings possible for the players to play in, its up to the players to drive it and have pride in your county and your own individual performances! If you are waiting for a manager to give you that you shouldn't be there! That is the problem in Meath is that bar 5 or 6 players on the current panel, the rest have a negative mindset about county football before they have even arrived due to others spreading that negativity (i.e. what's the point, were not going to win anything Dublin are to strong). Until players with better mindsets are involved we may forget about it and that's why our current U17's and U20's and more need to be looked after, and I believe they don't have this mindset and hopefully wont develop it."
I agree.....altho I don't agree with everything Andy does, I think jimmy mcguinness or Jim gavin could take over this team and have pretty much the same outcome as MOD or Andy. When the manager changes yet the same mistakes are being made by the players .....it surely points to them being the main issue??

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 885 - 30/05/2018 15:08:40    2105630

Sickening draw. Pity we couldn't land London or Louth and get the win to give the players some sort of confidence. It looks like it will be the sixth year in a row that an Ulster team knocks us out of the championship.

ISupposeSoSheehan (Meath) - Posts: 86 - 30/05/2018 15:15:52    2105633

Replying To southmeathgael:  "I agree.....altho I don't agree with everything Andy does, I think jimmy mcguinness or Jim gavin could take over this team and have pretty much the same outcome as MOD or Andy. When the manager changes yet the same mistakes are being made by the players .....it surely points to them being the main issue??"
If Jim Gavin brought Dublins money with him we be some team.....

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 30/05/2018 15:26:20    2105640