Meath V Tyrone

Replying To Poormouth:  "I hate to see our supporters publicly moaning so much about the ref. It reminds me of the Mayo supporters going back. We have had our fair share of luck with referees decision in the past so while I agree we didn't get some of the correct decisions at key moments in this game it comes around and goes around. Its an amateur game with amateur refs. We just need to take in on the chin and move on."
What luck have Meath ever bad with referees ? Please don't say 2010 when we should have got a penalty. Also that day we had a point waved wide.

MeathWawa (Meath) - Posts: 61 - 13/06/2018 04:56:47    2110840

Replying To meath1977:  "o hope of winning the game was not slateing anyone we didn't play at all against longford and a bad longford team beat us"
You know very well you were slating him on other comments !! Your saying 1 thing before a game saying mcentee should go then completely change your mind !!

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 13/06/2018 06:24:59    2110842

Replying To castleroyal:  "Biggie is 29 and has plenty of football left in him. Fair play to the lads on Saturday gave it their all. McEntee has to stay otherwise lads who walked away have won, if they don't want to play for their county let them off. Obviously there are lads who went away for college and work but lads who want a good time in usa and getting dollars for play are not worth worrying about."
Thought he was 30 this month.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/06/2018 08:02:38    2110853

Replying To Triple H:  "Biggy was a county minor in 2007, That would leave him only 29 this year. Was also on the 2007 senior panel. Has given Meath 11 years of great service. Gets terribly unfair treatment from some sections of the Meath support. Should never be asked to perform a running, tracking back game . Graham's position , bearing in mind those 11 gruelling years should be in the full forward line. He will be an important part of Meaths challenge in 2019."
Should he remain next year. I think you are absolutely right what his role should be.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/06/2018 08:03:55    2110854

Replying To bdbuddah:  "Just got to reading the post match comments on this thread now. I actually disagree with people who say Meath have went backwards under McEntee, before he came in the main thing people said they wanted was a return to the fight that used to be in Meath teams. While results are not going as well as I hoped I think the softness that had come into Meath football in the years before McEntee is not there anymore. The second half collapses that had been the norm in the 2 years before Andy came in was for me the lowest points I remember watching Meath, this was completely going against our tradition. Also people saying how close we were to being relegated this year are ignoring how close Division 2 was this year, 2 points separated 3'place and 7'th place in an 8 team division. The Longford game was bad but then Meath did not get much luck in the qualifier draw in drawing Tyrone, there was a lot of bad teams we could have been drawn with which could have got us up and running again and then were unfortunate in the match itself. The most disappointing thing for me this season was POR's interview (which if I remember right was right before we played Cavan having started the league well). I thought that was very dusloyal and disruptive. Also sad to see many players walking away, Andy has a very good management CV, if more of our best players had got behind him I think we would be in a better place now."
Excellent post. And cannot disagree with anything.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/06/2018 08:13:30    2110857

Replying To Triple H:  "Biggy was a county minor in 2007, That would leave him only 29 this year. Was also on the 2007 senior panel. Has given Meath 11 years of great service. Gets terribly unfair treatment from some sections of the Meath support. Should never be asked to perform a running, tracking back game . Graham's position , bearing in mind those 11 gruelling years should be in the full forward line. He will be an important part of Meaths challenge in 2019."
He has given us a superb service to Meath. I cant see him hanging up the boots yet. The chap wont even be 30 when we start back again next year and i think we have a couple more years left in him.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 13/06/2018 09:02:12    2110870

Biggy didn't look at all fit this year at any point, seemed to be carrying a few extra pound which isn't like him! Hope we see him in a Meath jersey again though, he has his bad days like anyone else but has been a great servant down through the years.

Meathmaster (Meath) - Posts: 251 - 13/06/2018 09:17:36    2110876

Replying To bdbuddah:  "Just got to reading the post match comments on this thread now. I actually disagree with people who say Meath have went backwards under McEntee, before he came in the main thing people said they wanted was a return to the fight that used to be in Meath teams. While results are not going as well as I hoped I think the softness that had come into Meath football in the years before McEntee is not there anymore. The second half collapses that had been the norm in the 2 years before Andy came in was for me the lowest points I remember watching Meath, this was completely going against our tradition. Also people saying how close we were to being relegated this year are ignoring how close Division 2 was this year, 2 points separated 3'place and 7'th place in an 8 team division. The Longford game was bad but then Meath did not get much luck in the qualifier draw in drawing Tyrone, there was a lot of bad teams we could have been drawn with which could have got us up and running again and then were unfortunate in the match itself. The most disappointing thing for me this season was POR's interview (which if I remember right was right before we played Cavan having started the league well). I thought that was very dusloyal and disruptive. Also sad to see many players walking away, Andy has a very good management CV, if more of our best players had got behind him I think we would be in a better place now."
Ye can dress it up as you like but Meath have not improved under Andy. Remember he had most of the players like Jonesy etc for a period and we were still dire. I would still stick with him but he needs a younger modern coach in with him

Talking_Sense (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 13/06/2018 09:53:54    2110886

Replying To Talking_Sense:  "Ye can dress it up as you like but Meath have not improved under Andy. Remember he had most of the players like Jonesy etc for a period and we were still dire. I would still stick with him but he needs a younger modern coach in with him"
Completely agree, he needs to shake up the backroom team. You look at Walsh in Galway, they were going nowhere until he freshened things up. A different voice can work wonders with in a team situation and i for one would love to see Mc Entee from Armagh involved. He will have learned more out of this year than anyone and if he is as passionate as we have seen after the Tyrone game we should all trust that he will do the right things for Meath GAA.

pretender (Meath) - Posts: 358 - 13/06/2018 11:20:21    2110925

Replying To MeathWawa:  "What luck have Meath ever bad with referees ? Please don't say 2010 when we should have got a penalty. Also that day we had a point waved wide."
The ref gave a lot of soft frees to Louth that day also the Geraghty goal vs Dublin i think it was 2007 blown for a push... and the Kildare one in 2011 ,Dodgy penalty conceded vs Tyrone a few years ago are to name some really bad ones but to be honest we remember all these but just get on with it and not complain however this time as Tyrone have cheated a few times against us down the years it all came to a head on Saturday. Refs do make mistakes but he made a lot in one game very sad for the players who have trained hard all year.

SheridansTry (Meath) - Posts: 180 - 13/06/2018 11:31:25    2110933

Replying To Meathmaster:  "Biggy didn't look at all fit this year at any point, seemed to be carrying a few extra pound which isn't like him! Hope we see him in a Meath jersey again though, he has his bad days like anyone else but has been a great servant down through the years."
Carrying a few extra pound? I actually thought Biggy was looking in great shape this year, and by no means overweight. If anything he seems to have gained more muscle and to me thats whats slowing him down, IMO.
Lads beside us Saturday were commenting on how he has built himself like a tank. Bigger with muscle yes, fat no.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 13/06/2018 11:43:42    2110945

Replying To Meathmaster:  "Biggy didn't look at all fit this year at any point, seemed to be carrying a few extra pound which isn't like him! Hope we see him in a Meath jersey again though, he has his bad days like anyone else but has been a great servant down through the years."
Yes indeed he certainly looked unfit ,and more annoying carrying extra weight. We complain about players that have left the scene. Those that remain should not automatically expect selection if they are not fit and overweight. I dont know why he was left on and Mickey Bourke replaced..Of course both players owe meath football nothing.. Bourke will play and give it everything till he is 40 if selected .
However its a new ball game now for all. I would expect our County Board to take stock and have a good chat with Andy with a view to giving him the help he needs and deserves.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1222 - 13/06/2018 11:47:47    2110951

Only got to watch the match back in full now and what's done is done and both sides had their chances.I still don't understand why the play was not stopped when Mc Cann elbowed Ben Brennan .You can clearly see the linesman going for his button to inform the ref,the ref lets the play go on and only stops the game when gives a foul against Wallace.He then consults the linesman who tells him what happened (again!)and he sends the Tyrone player off.Game should have been stopped for initial incident and free to Meath,we were a point up at that stage and would have the possibility of going two up.Ref was weak all night and in fairness pulled Tyrone up twice when they had clear advantage ,suppose we just have to take it!!

JD1677 (Meath) - Posts: 68 - 13/06/2018 11:51:52    2110954

Who on here knows what the lads weigh and what their body fat percentage is?? There is not one lad on that team who is FAT, come on seriously like!!

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 13/06/2018 12:19:01    2110986

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Who on here knows what the lads weigh and what their body fat percentage is?? There is not one lad on that team who is FAT, come on seriously like!!"
Agree no overweight person can play for 70 + mins. Reilly has slowed up a little as he has bulked up a lot and he has played a serious amount of games. He is more an extra half back now who still chips in with some scores. If he was playing back in the day as a forward only he would be scoring a lot more. i can remember a few years ago James McCarthy gave him a shoulder and nearly put him into the stands. This would not happen now.

SheridansTry (Meath) - Posts: 180 - 13/06/2018 12:53:30    2110999

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Who on here knows what the lads weigh and what their body fat percentage is?? There is not one lad on that team who is FAT, come on seriously like!!"
I'd agree with previous point on Biggy putting on muscle and losing a bit of the edge from his game. Certainly not overweight.

leftandwide (Meath) - Posts: 91 - 13/06/2018 12:56:50    2111002

Replying To grahamc9897:  "You know very well you were slating him on other comments !! Your saying 1 thing before a game saying mcentee should go then completely change your mind !!"
overall it was a very bad year but the Tyrone game showed the players that are there are playing for Andy they may give him the third year

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 13/06/2018 13:12:58    2111013

Replying To SheridansTry:  "Agree no overweight person can play for 70 + mins. Reilly has slowed up a little as he has bulked up a lot and he has played a serious amount of games. He is more an extra half back now who still chips in with some scores. If he was playing back in the day as a forward only he would be scoring a lot more. i can remember a few years ago James McCarthy gave him a shoulder and nearly put him into the stands. This would not happen now."
McCarthy blew him out of it that day, when Biggy was lighter on his feet & as you said this wouldn't happen now. Himself and Mickey Burke are the 2 most noticeable who have bulked up in muscle. It may go against Biggy with his speed nowadays but doesnt make him any less of a footballer he just needs to be positioned correctly to get the best out of him. We just have to accept he has slowed down but no means is he past it in my book he is still a top quality footballer.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 13/06/2018 13:56:47    2111037

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "McCarthy blew him out of it that day, when Biggy was lighter on his feet & as you said this wouldn't happen now. Himself and Mickey Burke are the 2 most noticeable who have bulked up in muscle. It may go against Biggy with his speed nowadays but doesnt make him any less of a footballer he just needs to be positioned correctly to get the best out of him. We just have to accept he has slowed down but no means is he past it in my book he is still a top quality footballer."
'A top quality footballer' who sadly failed to have a single shot on goal last Saturday. Sadly and it's a reality check for us all - Biggy is nowhere near a top forward in the country. He gives his all in every game but his days as an inter county player are numbered from what I'm hearing.

RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 13/06/2018 14:10:28    2111051

Replying To RoylerKing:  "'A top quality footballer' who sadly failed to have a single shot on goal last Saturday. Sadly and it's a reality check for us all - Biggy is nowhere near a top forward in the country. He gives his all in every game but his days as an inter county player are numbered from what I'm hearing."
Who said he was near the top forward in the country?? And yes he is a top quality footballer regardless of what your opinion on him his. Sadly he wasnt the only player who didnt have a shot at goal and in fairness hes not really a goal man now is he. His days are numbered, now there's a laugh, love to know who your sources are. To say he gives his all in every game is actually not true, there are days when he is off form and we see 50% - 75% of him. He will be back, if he wants to that is.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 13/06/2018 14:25:16    2111065